deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Overview of works on AMMA in the working group "Land Surfaces and Boundary Layer"

In West Africa convective systems play a key role in the water cycle, because they provide the predominant contribution to the annual rainfall. Investigations indicate that feedbacks exist between surface, atmosphere and convective rainfall in the West Africa. Despite West Africa is identified as a "hot spot" concerning the high sensitivity of land and atmosphere to each other, little is known about the land-atmosphere feedback during the different phases of the West African monsoon (WAM). This feedback loop includes the impact of soil moisture on the energy balance of the Earth's surface, the influence of the surface fluxes of heat and moisture on the planetary boundary layer (PBL) condition and atmospheric stratification, the triggering and modification of mesoscale convective systems (MCSs) by PBL inhomogeneities and, finally, the subsequent impact of MCSs on the conditions of the soil, surface and atmosphere. At IMK-TRO some aspects of this soil - surface - atmosphere - feedback loop are investigated:

  • Kohler et al. (2010) used surface observations from Dano/Burkina Faso (3°W, 11°N) to investigate the dependence of the soil moisture on the energy balance of the Earth's surface (Figure 1), boundary layer and pre-convective atmosphere.

 

AMMA_figure1

Figure 1: Volumetric soil moisture content, Θvol, at different depth (top), precipitation (middle) and soil temperature, T, at different levels (bottom) 2006. The measurements were performed during the AMMA campaign 2006 at Bontioli, Burkina Faso (3°W, 11°N).

 

  • In a second study Kohler et al. used measurements of soil moisture and soil temperature as well as observations of near-surface meteorological parameters and energy balance components to validate two multi-layer soil-vegetation models (SVAT).
  • Abdou et al. (2010) studied the diurnal cycle of the lower part of the boundary layer during the monsoon period.
  • Truckemüller (2008) used observations and Heidt (2006) and Gantner and Kalthoff (2010) model simulations to investigate the dependence of the initiation and modification of MCSs on soil moisture inhomogeneities. Precipitation of a mature system is significantly reduced approaching a dry band of soil moisture (Figure 2).

AMMA_figure2a AMMA_figure2b
Figure 2: 24 h accumulated precipitation in mm starting at 0600 h on 11 June 2006. (a) A band of dry soil between 1°W and 3°W is inserted into a homogenous soil moisture distribution in (b). (Taken from Gantner and Kalthoff, 2010)

 

  • Adler (2010) used temperature and humidity budget calculation to analyse the processes responsible for the evolution of convection-related parameters and for the triggering and evolution of convective rainfall.

AMMA_figure3a AMMA_figure3b
Figure 3: Vertical section of liquid water content (color coded) indicating the clouds (left) and of change in specific humidity because of phase change (color coded) and of vertical advection in g/(kg h) (Isolines without zero) (right) at 12.5°N. A positive change of humidity due to vertical advection supplies humidity that condensates in the clouds identified by a negative change of humidity due to phase change.

 

  • Klüpfel (2010) used soil moisture data from different sources (satellite data, model output data, surface observation) (Figure 4) to investigate their impact on the development of convective rainfall in COSMO model simulations.

AMMA_figure4a AMMA_figure4b
Figure 4: Soil moisture fields (volumetric soil moisture) observed from AMSR-E (left), composite for 31/07/2006 and from ALMIP Experiment 3 (Boone et al. 2009, right), performed with the ECMWF soil model HTESSEL (31/07/2006, 12 UTC).

 

  • Schwendike et al. (2010) analysed observations to study the impact of MCS systems on the soil, surface and boundary layer as well as their recovery time after MCS passages during the pre-onset phase of monsoon and summer monsoon.

 

 

Literature

  • Abdou K., Parker D. J., Brooks B., Kalthoff N., Lebel T., 2010: The diurnal cycle of lower boundary-layer wind in the West African monsoon. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 66–76, DOI: 10.1002/qj.536.
  • Adler, B., 2010: Der Einfluss von Landoberflächeninhomogenitäten auf die Auslösung und Entwicklung eines mesoskaligen konvektiven Systems: Eine budgetbasierte Modellanalyse. Diploma thesis.
  • Gantner, L., Kalthoff, N., 2010: Sensitivity of a modelled life cycle of a mesoscale convective system to soil conditions over West Africa. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 471-482, DOI: 10.1002/qj.425.
  • Hofheinz, P., 2008: Auslösebedingungen und tageszeitliche Entwicklung von Konvektion während des Westafrikanischen Monsuns 2006. Diploma thesis.
  • Heidt, S., 2006: Simulation konvektiver Episoden im tropischen Westafrika mit dem Lokal-Modell des Deutschen Wetterdienstes. Diploma thesis.
  • Kohler, M., Kalthoff, N., Kottmeier, Ch., 2010: The impact of soil moisture modifications on CBL characteristics in West Africa: A case-study from the AMMA campaign. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 442–455, DOI: 10.1002/qj.430.
  • Schwendike, J., Kalthoff, N., Kohler, M., 2010: The impact of mesoscale convective systems on the surface and boundary layer structure in West Africa: case studies from the AMMA campaign. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 566-582,  DOI: 10.1002/qj.599.
  • Truckenmüller, M., 2008: Mesoskalige konvektive Systeme während des Westafrikanischen Monsuns: Analyse der Messdaten und Modellergebnisse der AMMA-Episode SOP2. Diploma thesis.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Zusammenstellung der Arbeiten zu AMMA in der AG Landoberflächen und Grenzschicht

In Westafrika spielen konvektive Systeme eine wichtige Rolle für den Wasserkreislauf, da sie den überwiegenden Beitrag zu den Jahresniederschlägen liefern. Untersuchungen zeigen, dass in Westafrika Rückkopplungen zwischen Erdoberfläche, Atmosphäre und konvektivem Niederschlag bestehen. Obwohl Westafrika als ein "hot spot" für solche Rückkopplungen gilt, ist das Wissen über diese Interaktionen während der verschiedenen Phasen des westafrikanischen Monsuns gering. Im Rahmen des AMMA-Projektes werden vom IMK einige Aspekte der Wechselwirkungsprozesskette Boden-Atmosphäre untersucht. Diese umfassen den Einfluss der Bodenfeuchte auf die Energiebilanz der Erdoberfläche, die Abhängigkeit des Grenzschichtzustandes von den turbulenten Flüssen latenter und fühlbarer Wärme am Boden sowie den Einfluss des Grenzschichtzustandes auf die konvektive Instabilität der Atmosphäre. Die Auswirkungen von Bodenfeuchte- und Grenzschichtinhomogenitäten auf die Auslösung und Modifikation mesoskaliger konvektiver Systeme ist Bestandteil von konvektionsauflösenden Modellsimulationen. Um die Auswirkungen von MCSs auf den Boden- und Atmosphärenzustand zu analysieren, stehen Radiosonden-, Sodar- und Bodenmessungen zur Verfügung. Einige Ergebnisse zur Boden-Atmosphären-Wechselwirkung sind:

  • Kohler et al. (2010) verwendeten Bodenbeobachtungen von Dano/Burkina Faso (3°W, 11°N), um den Zusammenhang zwischen Bodenfeuchte und der Energiebilanz der Erdoberfläche (Abbildung 1), der Grenzschicht und der präkonvektiven Atmosphäre zu untersuchen.

 

AMMA_figure1

Abbildung 1: Volumenanteil der Bodenfeuchte, Θvol, in verschiedenen Tiefen (oben), Niederschlag (mitte) und Bodentemperatur, T, in verschiedenen Niveaus (unten) 2006. Die Messungen wurden während der AMMA Kampagne 2006 in Bontioli, Burkina Faso (3°W, 11°N), durchgeführt.

 

  • In einer weiteren Studie verwendeten Kohler et al. Messungen von Bodenfeuchte und -temperatur, sowie bodennahe Beobachtungen meteorologischer Parameter und Energiebilanzkomponeten um zwei Mehrschichten-Boden-Vegetations-Modelle (SVAT) zu validieren.
  • Abdou et al. (2010) untersuchten den Tagesgang des unteren Teils der Grenzschicht während des Monsuns.
  • Truckemüller (2008) verwendete Beobachtungen und Heidt (2006) und Gantner and Kalthoff (2010) Modellsimulationen um den Zusammenhang zwischen der Auslösung und Entwicklung von MCSs und Bodenfeuchteinhomogenitäten zu untersuchen. Der Niederschlag eines ausgereiften Systems reduziert sich bei der Annäherung an ein trockenes Band mit geringer Bodenfeuchte deutlich (Abbildung 2).

AMMA_figure2a AMMA_figure2b
Abbildung 2: Gesamtniederschlag über 24 h in mm ab 0600 h am 11. Juni 2006. (a) Zwischen 1°W und 3°W wird ein Band mit geringer Bodenfeuchte in die homogene Bodenfeuchteverteilung von (b) eingefügt. (Aus Gantner and Kalthoff, 2010)

 

  • Adler (2010) verwendete Budgetrechnungen für Temperatur und Feuchte um die Prozesse zu untersuchen, welche für die Entwicklung konvektionsrelevanter Parameter und die Auslösung und Entwicklung von konvektivem Niederschlag verantwortlich sind.

AMMA_figure3a AMMA_figure3b

Abbildung 3: Vertikalschnitt des Flüssigwassergehalts (farbkodiert), der die Wolken anzeigt (links) und der Änderung der spezifischen Feuchte aufgrund eines Phasenübergangs (farbcodiert) und der vertikalen Advektion in g/(kg h) (Isolinien ohne Null) (rechts) bei 12,5°N. Eine positive Veränderung der Luftfeuchtigkeit durch vertikale Advektion liefert Feuchtigkeit, die in den Wolken kondensiert und über eine negative Veränderung der Luftfeuchtigkeit durch den Phasenübergang identifiziert werden kann.

 

  • Klüpfel (2010) verwendete Bodenfeuchtedaten aus verschiedenen Quellen (Satellitendaten, Modelldaten und Bodenbeobachtungen) (Abbildung 4) um deren Einfluss auf die Entwicklung konvektiver Niederschläge in COSMO-Modellsimulationen zu untersuchen.

AMMA_figure4a AMMA_figure4b
Abbildung 4: Bodenfeuchtefelder (Volumenanteil der Bodenfeuchte) beobachtet von AMSR-E (links), Komposite für den 31.07.2006, und aus dem ALMIP Experiment 3 (Boone et al. 2009, rechts), erstellt mit dem Bodenmodell HTESSEL des EZMW (31.07.2006, 12 UTC).

 

  • Schwendike et al. (2010) analysierten Beobachtungen um den Einfluss von MCS-Systemen auf Boden, Erdoberfläche und Grenzschicht und deren Erholungszeit nach MCS-Passagen vor Beginn des Monsuns und während des Sommer-Monsuns zu untersuchen.

 

 

Literatur

  • Abdou K., Parker D. J., Brooks B., Kalthoff N., Lebel T., 2010: The diurnal cycle of lower boundary-layer wind in the West African monsoon. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 66–76, DOI: 10.1002/qj.536.
  • Adler, B., 2010: Der Einfluss von Landoberflächeninhomogenitäten auf die Auslösung und Entwicklung eines mesoskaligen konvektiven Systems: Eine budgetbasierte Modellanalyse. Diplomarbeit.
  • Gantner, L., Kalthoff, N., 2010: Sensitivity of a modelled life cycle of a mesoscale convective system to soil conditions over West Africa. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 471-482, DOI: 10.1002/qj.425.
  • Hofheinz, P., 2008: Auslösebedingungen und tageszeitliche Entwicklung von Konvektion während des Westafrikanischen Monsuns 2006. Diplomarbeit.
  • Heidt, S., 2006: Simulation konvektiver Episoden im tropischen Westafrika mit dem Lokal-Modell des Deutschen Wetterdienstes. Diplomarbeit.
  • Kohler, M., Kalthoff, N., Kottmeier, Ch., 2010: The impact of soil moisture modifications on CBL characteristics in West Africa: A case-study from the AMMA campaign. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 442–455, DOI: 10.1002/qj.430.
  • Schwendike, J., Kalthoff, N., Kohler, M., 2010: The impact of mesoscale convective systems on the surface and boundary layer structure in West Africa: case studies from the AMMA campaign. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136, 566-582,  DOI: 10.1002/qj.599.
  • Truckenmüller, M., 2008: Mesoskalige konvektive Systeme während des Westafrikanischen Monsuns: Analyse der Messdaten und Modellergebnisse der AMMA-Episode SOP2. Diplomarbeit.