deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Social risk cultures of weather extremes in context of climate change

Social risk cultures of weather extremes in context of climate change
Contact:

Dr. S. Mohr, Dr. M. Kunz, Dr. M. Döring (Uni Hamburg)

Project Group:

IMK-TRO

Funding:

Helmholtz Climate Initiative REKLIM

Partner:

Universität Hamburg, Helmholtz-Zentrum Gesthaacht (HZG), Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ)

Hitze

Fig.: Strategies to cope with heat in the city: close window shutters during daytime, or take a rest in the shade in a public garden (Photo: T. Kunz-Plapp)..
 
Motivation and general aim

With climate change, in Germany an increase of extreme atmospheric and hydrometeorological events on regional scale is likely such as severe convection, hail, heavy precipitation, winter storms or heat waves. These extreme events individuals and societies have to respond and adapt to take place on different spatial and temporal scales: from local events with duration of minutes (convective storm, hail), to regional events lasting hours, days or even weeks (winter storms, storm surges, flood, heat waves, droughts). Accordingly, their impacts are different, as well as the possibilities to mitigate and prevent impacts and to adapt to future events. To develop and implement adequate risk management and adaptation strategies, it is at the same time necessary to understand the social risk cultures and the frames these risk cultures provide for the ways people conceive, experience extreme events, and how they incorporate experiences and risk interpretations into their response and adaptation practices. At the same time, the relationship between risk interpretation and its translation into action is complex. In particular the role of experience is regarded as crucial.

The project „Social risk cultures of extreme weather events in context of climate change“ investigates in a live-world-perspective experiencing, risk interpretation and risk action regarding several types of extreme weather events within in their regional and socio cultural foundation against the background of climate and the way it may change. The two main scientific research aims are to better understand human-environment-interaction in its cultural foundations and to better understand the interaction of experience, the risk perception and risk action in a life-world context. Questions for investigation are:

  • To what extent do people experience climate change?

  • How do people in affected regions perceive and cope with extreme weather events?

  • How do people rate their personal risk to be affected by extreme weather events?

  • How far does climate change represent a background against with extreme weather events are assessed?

  • How does the perception and interpretation of extreme weather events differ among regions in Germany and among those with and without experience of an extreme event?

  • How do patterns of risk interpretation change after an extreme weather event?

  • How do patterns of risk interpretation and action change according to socio-economic indicators?

  • How are risk interpretation and risk action interrelated with the different spatial and temporal scales of extreme events?

  • What is the status of risk action (preparedness and adaptation) to prevent damage from future hazard events?

In the first project phase the risk culture will be explored in their dimensions of experience, risk interpretation, response and adaptation to extreme events in context of climate change using qualitative interviews in several regions in Germany having been affected by different extreme events. In the second phase, a German-wide survey will be carried out to enable the comparison of social risk cultures across different regions in Germany.

The project is carried out within the framework of the Helmholtz Regional Climate Initiative REKLIM as a joint project of RERKLIM Topics 6 and 7 in cooperation with the University of Hamburg, the Helmholtz Centre Geesthacht (HZG), and the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ).

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Soziale Risikokulturen von Extremwetterereignissen im Kontext des Klimawandels

Soziale Risikokulturen von Extremwetterereignissen im Kontext des Klimawandels
Ansprechpartner:

Dr. S. Mohr, Dr. M. Kunz, Dr. M. Döring (Uni Hamburg)

Projektgruppe:

IMK-TRO

Förderung:

Helmholtz-Verbunds Regionale Klimaänderungen (REKLIM)

Partner:

Universität Hamburg, Helmholtz-Zentrum Gesthaacht (HZG), Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ)

Hitze

Abb.: Strategien zum Umgang mit Hitze in der Stadt: Rollläden tagsüber schließen oder eine Pause im Schatten im Park (Foto: T. Kunz-Plapp).
 
Motivation und Ziel

Im Kontext des Klimawandels ist in Deutschland auf regionaler Ebene eine Zunahme verschiedener extremer atmosphärischer und hydrometeorologischer wie z.B. Stürme, Hitze, Gewitter mit Hagel oder Starkniederschlägen wahrscheinlich. Diese Extremereignisse vollziehen sich auf unterschiedlichen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen: von kleinräumigen, häufig weniger als eine Stunde dauernden kurzen Ereignissen (Gewitter, Hagel, Sturzflut) bis ganze Regionen betreffende und bis zu einem oder mehreren Tagen oder gar Wochen andauernden Ereignissen (Wintersturm, Sturmflut, Hochwasser, Hitzewellen, Dürre). Dementsprechend unterschiedlich sind auch die Auswirkungen und die Möglichkeiten zur Schadensminderung und zur Anpassung. Gleichzeitig ist es zur Entwicklung gesellschaftlich adäquater Anpassungsstrategien erforderlich, die sozialen Risikokulturen zu verstehen, innerhalb derer extreme Wettergefahren lokal erfahren und erlebt werden, in Lernprozesse inkorporiert und in Praktiken zum Umgang mit Extremereignissen und zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel überführt werden. Aus verschiedenen sozialwissenschaftlichen Studien ist bekannt, dass die Beziehung zwischen Wissen um Risiken und der Übersetzung in konkrete Handlungen und Verhaltensweisen sehr komplex ist. Insbesondere der Erfahrung von Extremereignissen wird dabei eine Schlüsselrolle zugewiesen.

Im Projekt „Soziale Risikokulturen von Extremwetterereignissen im Kontext des Klimawandels“ werden daher in einem lebensweltlichen Ansatz Erfahrung, Risikointerpretation und Risikohandeln im Zusammenhang mit verschiedenen Extremereignissen in ihrer jeweiligen regionalen Verortung untersucht. Wissenschaftliche Ziele sind v.a. ein besseres Verständnis soziokultureller Rahmungen der Mensch-Umwelt-Interaktion und ein besseres Verständnis der Interaktion von Erfahrung, Risikointerpretation und Handeln im lebensweltlichen Kontext. Hierzu werden u.a. folgende Fragen untersucht:

  • Wie bzw. welchem Ausmaß wird Klimawandel erfahren?
  • In wieweit bildet der Klimawandel einen Hintergrund für die Beurteilung von extremen Wetterereignissen?
  • Wie werden Extremereignisse in betroffenen Regionen erfahren und wie werden sie bewältigt?
  • Wie unterscheidet sich die Wahrnehmung und Interpretation extremer Wettereignisse in verschiedenen Regionen Deutschlands?
  • Wie verändern sich Wahrnehmungs- und Interpretationsmuster nach extremen Wettereignissen?
  • Wie unterscheiden sich die Risikointerpretation und das Risikohandeln in Abhängigkeit von der Erfahrung extremer Wetterereignisse?
  • Welche Art von Schutz- und Anpassungsmaßnahmen werden ergriffen?
  • Wie hängen Risikointerpretation und Risikohandeln mit den verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen extremer Wetterereignisse zusammen?
  • In wieweit hängen Muster der Risikointerpretation und des Risikohandelns vom jeweiligen Lebenskontext ab (Lebenssituation und -zufriedenheit, Gesundheit, sozioökonomische Situation, gesellschafts- und umweltbezogene Einstellungen)?

In der ersten Projektphase werden die Erfahrung, Bewältigung und Anpassung an Extremereignisse im Kontext des Klimawandels mit Hilfe von qualitativen Interviews in verschiedenen betroffenen Regionen in Deutschland exploriert. In der zweiten Projektphase werden die sozialen Risikokulturen mit Hilfe einer quantitativen Umfrage deutschlandweit untersucht.

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen der Helmholtz Initiative REKLIM (Regionale Klimaänderungen) in Kooperation mit der Universität Hamburg, dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Gesthaacht (HZG) und dem Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ) als gemeinsame Aktivität der Topics 6 und 7 durchgeführt.