deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

AMMA: The Atlantic Inflow: atmosphere-land-ocean interaction at the south-western edge of the Saharan heat low

AMMA: The Atlantic Inflow: atmosphere-land-ocean interaction at the south-western edge of the Saharan heat low
Contact:

, Prof. Dr. S. Jones

Project Group:

Weather Systems: Modeling and hazard analysis

Description

In this finished study we have investigated the Saharan heat low (SHL) dynamics with regard to the interactions of the SHL with the monsoon flow to the South and the maritime boundary layer to the West. A key tool were numerical weather simulations using the meso-scale COSMO-model  (V3.19). We used COSMO to perform an operational forecast in support of the GERBILS (GERB Intercomparison of Longwave and Shortwave radiation) campaign which took place in West Africa from 18 June to 31 June 2007. GERBILS aimed to investigate the radiative feedback of dust on the thermodynamics in the region of the southern edge of the Sahara. Sixth scientific flights with the FAAM BAe 146 research aircraft were conducted between Niamey, Niger and Nouakchott, Mauritania.

model domain for COSMO GERBILS forecasts

figure 1: model domain for COSMO GERBILS forecasts, the colour shaded section shows model orography; the grey shaded large domain indicates surface temperature.

The COSMO forecasts were computed on the HP XC6000 supercomputer at the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (RZ-news 2007/03 (german)). We used the ECMWF analyses and forecasts as initial and boundary data. The COSMO runs were initialised at 00 UTC and 12 UTC and computed for 72h. The model domain covered major parts of Mauritania and Mali and thus the standard flight track along 18°N (figure 1). The horizontal resolution was 0.0625° (7km) and 35 levels were used in the vertical.

Aircraft and dropsonde data were used to validate the COSMO model in a desert environment.

 

 

 

 

 

model_obs_4panel

figure 2: The aircraft (black line) and dropsonde (red lines) data was interpolated to produce a section of potential temperature (top) and humidity mixing ratio (bottom). The following figures show these sections at the right, sections from corresponding model data at the left. Keep in mind, that the interpolation routine causes artefacts where no data is available, e.g. in particular at lower-levels at the western edge of the section. See thesis for model validation on individual profiles in the monsoon, Saharan and coastal region.

The character of the measurements determines an emphasis on the heat and moisture budget. The comparison showed that COSMO represents the vertical structure of the atmosphere accurately. It locates the different features of the West African monsoon, such as the monsoon layer, the convective internal boundary layer, the Saharan residual layer, and the Saharan Air Layer (SAL) at correct heights. The horizontal position of these features differs slightly from measurements. The height of the top of the SAL is remarkably well predicted. This leads amongst other things to good forecasts of mid-level altocumulus clouds at the top of the SAL. The potential temperature in the model seems to be generally around 1K too high and humidity mixing ratio around 1 g/kg too low. As COSMO does not include dust it struggles with representing fine layers (observable in meteorological quantities as well) which are highly linked to dust loading. The validation encouraged us to use COSMO for further investigations of the temporal and spatial evolution in the south-western Saharan region.

The analysis of the temporal and spatial evolution of the baroclinic zone in the west of the Saharan heat low using COSMO data, showed a complex mesoscale meteorological system with a distinct diurnal cycle at the Mauritanian coast, which we call the "Atlantic Inflow". This system consists of the sea breeze front at the western Atlantic coast of West Africa, the baroclinic zone marking the transition towards the SABL/monsoon layer, and the perturbation of the mid-level troposphere through an induced gravity wave and a distinct frontal circulation.

mode1Z omega_18N_2419
figure 3a: schematic sketch of the Atlantic Inflow and characteristic features figure 3b: cross section of vertical velocity (blue: ascent, red: descent), virtual potential temperature and horizontal wind at 18°N

The horizontal extent of the Atlantic Inflow front becomes evident by a strong horizontal temperature gradient and an increase in wind speed combined with a change in wind direction to westerlies behind the front.

fronts9502406_21

figure 4: magnitude of virtual potential temperature gradient (shaded and black contours, with a contour interval of 0.05 K/km), horizontal wind vectors (black arrows, m/s), and the 288 K dewpoint temperature isotherm at 950hPa.

 

At 15 UTC a stationary front becomes established at the coast. At 18 UTC the front starts moving inland in the low levels and it reaches the Tagant mountains (more than 400km inland) at around 2 UTC. The Atlantic Inflow shows deepest inland penetration south of 20°N and north of the Inter Tropical Discontinuity (ITD).

The terrain in western Mauritania is favourable for the inland penetration. South of 20°N a wide coastal plain extends from the coast at 16°W to the foot of the Tagant mountains at 12°W, which form the first orographic barrier east of the coast and reaches 400-600 m above mean sea level. The sea breeze front is a result of the strong temperature gradient between the ocean and land surface. The cold Canary current and upwelling deep waters lead to a cold ocean surface (22°C) and a rather cool air layer at the Mauritanian coast (see figure 1). In contrast the strong daytime insolation heats the land surface to more than 45°C. Thus a strong temperature and density gradient is evident along the Mauritanian coast. However as an analysis of the heat and moisture budgets in the COSMO forecasts revealed, during the day turbulent mixing due to dry convection over land hinders the inland movement of the cooler air. The cooling due to horizontal advection is balanced by warming due to turbulent diffusion. In the late afternoon horizontal advection dominates and the low-level front starts moving inland, reaching the Tagant after midnight.

The analysis of the heat and moisture budgets also showed that through its advection of cool and moist maritime air the Atlantic Inflow has an important impact on the regional heat and moisture budgets.

 

For a more detailed discussion we refer to our contribution to the QJRMS Special Issue on AMMA WP 2.1:

C. M. Grams, S. C. Jones, J. H. Marsham, D. J. Parker, J. M. Haywood, V. Heuveline, The Atlantic Inflow to the Saharan heat low: observations and modelling. Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136(s1), 125-140, doi:10.1002/qj.429 (http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal/122394603/abstract).

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

AMMA: Der "Atlantic Inflow": Atmosphäre-Land-See Wechselwirkung am südwestlichen Rand des Sahara-Hitzetiefs

AMMA: Der "Atlantic Inflow": Atmosphäre-Land-See Wechselwirkung am südwestlichen Rand des Sahara-Hitzetiefs
Ansprechpartner:

, Prof. Dr. S. Jones

Projektgruppe:

Wettersysteme: Modellierung und Gefährdungsanalyse

Beschreibung

In dieser abgeschlossen Arbeit haben wir die Dynamik des Sahara-Hitzetiefs im Hinblick auf seine Wechselwirkung mit der Monsunströmung im Süden und der maritimen Grenzschicht im Westen untersucht. Dabei waren numerische Wettervorhersagen mit dem mesoskaligen COSMO-Modell (V3.19) das wichtigste Hilfmittel. Zur Unterstützung der Messkampagne GERBILS (GERB Intercomparison of Longwave and Shortwave radiation), die in Westafrika vom 18. bis 31. Juni 2007 stattfand, haben wir operationelle Wettervorhersagen mit dem COSMO-Modell durchgeführt. Hauptziel von GERBILS war die Untersuchung des Effekts auf die Thermodynamik im Gebiet des Südrandes der Sahara. Insgesamt wurden mit dem britischen Forschungsflugzeug FAAM BAe 146 sechs Forschungsflüge zwischen Niamey, Niger und Nouakchott, Mauretanien, durchgeführt.

Modellgebiet der COSMO GERBILS Vorhersagen

Abbildung 1: Modellgebiet der COSMO GERBILS Vorhersagen, der Ausschnitt in Farbschattierung zeigt die Modellorographie; der grau schattierte Bereich zeigt eine typische Oberflächentemperaturverteilung in Nordafrika.

Die COSMO Vorhersagen wurden auf dem Großrechner HP XC6000 des Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie durchgeführt (RZ-news 2007/03). Als Anfangs- und Randwerte wurden die Analysen und Vorhersagen des ECMWF benutzt. Die COSMO Vorhersagen wurden täglich um 00 UTC und 12 UTC gestartet und für 72h gerechnet. Das Modellgebiet umfasste ein Gebiet in Mauretanien und Mali, welches um die geplante Flugstrecke entlang von 18°N zentriert war (Abb. 1). Die horizontale Auflösung betrug 0,0625° und 35 Schichten in der Vertikalen wurden verwendet.

Die Güte der COSMO Vorhersagen wurde mit Hilfe der insitu Messungen des Flugzeuges und der Dropsonden geprüft.

 

 

 

model_obs_4panel

Abbildung 2: Die Flugzeugmessungen (schwarze Linie) und Dropsondenmessungen (rote Linie) wurden entlang der Flugstrecke interpoliert, um einen Querschnitt von potentieller Temperatur (oben) und spezifischer Feuchte (unten) zu erhalten. Die hier gezeigten Abbildungen zeigen diese Querschnitte auf der rechten Seite zusammen mit Querschnitten der entsprechenden Modeldaten auf der linken Seite. Man beachte, dass durch die Interpolation in Bereichen, in denen keine Daten vorliegen Artefakte entstehen. Dies ist insbesondere in unteren Schichten am westlichen Rand des Querschnitts der Fall.

Die Art der Messungen begründet einen Fokus auf den Wärme- und Wasserhaushalt. Der Vergleich zeigte, dass COSMO die vertikale Struktur der Atmosphäre korrekt wiedergibt. Verschiedene Teile des Westafrikanischen Monsuns, wie die Monsunschicht, die konvektive interne Grenzschicht, die Residualschicht und die Saharan Air Layer (SAL) werden in den richtigen Höhen vorhergesagt. Die horizontale Position dieser Schichten weicht leicht von den Messungen ab. Die Höhe der SAL ist bemerkenswert gut im Modell wiedergegeben. Dies führt neben anderen Einflüssen zu einer guten Vorhersage von Altocumulus-Bewölkung in der mittleren Troposphäre. Die potentielle Temperatur scheint im Model um ca. 1K zu hoch zu sein und das Mischungsverhältnis um 1g/kg zu trocken. Da in den COSMO Vorhersagen kein Staub vorkommt, kann das Modell die Feinschichtung (welche sich auch in meteorologischen Größen niederschlägt), die stark mit der Staubkonzentration verbunden ist nicht wiedergeben. Insgesamt zeigte die Modellvalidierung, dass die COSMO für die Untersuchung der zeitlichen und räumlichen Entwicklung meteorologischer Systeme am südwestlichen Rand der Sahara geeignet ist.

Bei der Analyse der zeitlichen und räumlichen Entwicklung der baroklinen Zone am Westrand des Saharahitztiefs entdeckten wir an der mauretanischen Küste ein komplexes mesoskaliges meteorologisches System mit ausgeprägtem Tagesgang, welches wir "Atlantic Inflow" nennen. Der "Atlantic Inflow" setzt sich zusammen aus der Seewindfront an der westlichen Atlantikküste Westafrikas, der baroklinen Zone am Übergang von Saharagrenzschicht bzw. Monsunschicht zur maritimen Grenzschicht an der Küste und Störungen in der mittleren und hohen Troposphäre, die durch eine induzierte Schwerewelle und eine ausgepräge Frontalzirkulation entstehen.

mode1Z omega_18N_2419
Abbildung 3a: Skizze des Atlantic Inflow und seiner typischen Teilsysteme Abbildung 3b: Querschnitt der Vertikalgeschwindigkeit (blau: Aufsteigen, rot: Absinken), virtuellen potentiellen Temperatur und des Horizontalwindes entlang von 18°N

Ein starker horizontaler Temperaturgradient und ein Ansteigen der Windgeschwindigkeit bei gleichzeitiger Winddrehung auf Westwind hinter der Front verdeutlicht die horizontale Erstreckung des Atlantic Inflow.

fronts9502406_21

Abbildung 4: Betrag des horizontalen Gradienten der virtuellen potentiellen Temperatur (grau schattiert und schwarze Linien alle 0.05 K/km), horizontaler Windvektor (schwarze Pfeile, m/s), und die 288 K Taupunktstemperatur Isotherme auf 950hPa.

 

Gegen 15 UTC bildet sich entlang der Küste eine stationäre Seewindfront. Um 18 UTC beginnt sich die Front in den unteren Schichten landeinwärts zu bewegen. Sie erreicht das Tagant-Plateau (mehr als 400km im Landesinnern) um ca. 2 UTC. Der Atlantic Inflow zeigt das weiteste landeinwärtige Vordringen südlich von 20°N und nördlich der Inter Tropical Discontinuity (ITD).

Im Westen Mauretaniens begünstigt das Gelände ein landeinwärtiges Vordringen von Wettersystemen. Südlich von 20°N erstreckt sich eine weite Küstenebene von der Küste bei ca. 16°W bis zum Fuße des Tagantplateau bei ca. 12°W. Mit einer Höhe von 400-600 m ü NN stellt dieses das erste orographische Hindernis hinter der Küste dar. Die Seewindfront entsteht aufgrund des großen Temperaturgradienten zwischen der Oberflächentemperatur des Atlantik und des Wüstensandes. Der kalte Kanarenstrom und aufsteigendes Tiefenwasser führen zu einer kalten Meeresoberfläche (22°C) und einer relativ kühlen Luftschicht an der mauretanischen Küste (Abb. 1). Die starke Einstrahlung am Tage heizt dagegen die Landoberfläche auf mehr als 45°C auf. Auf diese Weise entsteht ein starker Temperatur und Dichtegradient entlang der mauretanischen Küste. Die Untersuchung des Wärme- und Wasserhaushaltes zeigte jedoch, dass tagsüber turbulente Durchmischung durch starke trockene Konvektion über Land das landeinwärtige Vordringen der kühleren Luftmasse verhindert. Es entsteht ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Kaltluftadvektion vom Atlantik und Erwärmung durch turbulente Durchmischung über Land. Erst am späten Nachmittag, wenn die Einstrahlung nachlässt, überwiegt die Advektion und die bodennahe Front beginnt landeinwärts vorzudringen.

Die Analyse des Wärme- und Wasserhaushalts zeigte weiter, dass der Atlantic Inflow durch die Advektion feuchter, kühler Luftmassen einen bedeutenden Einfluss auf den regionalen Wärme- und Wasserhaushalt hat.

 

Für tiefergehende Informationen verweisen wir auf unseren Beitrag zum AMMA WP 2.1 Sonderband des QJRMS:

C. M. Grams, S. C. Jones, J. H. Marsham, D. J. Parker, J. M. Haywood, V. Heuveline, The Atlantic Inflow to the Saharan heat low: observations and modelling. Quarterly Journal of the Royal Meteorological Society, Quart. J. Roy. Meteor. Soc., 136(s1), 125-140, doi:10.1002/qj.429 (http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal/122394603/abstract).