deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

New insights into century-scale rainfall variability over Africa

News_0604_komplett
Figure: Annual time series over the length of record for multi-regional sectors shown in the inset. Rainfall is expressed as a spatially-averaged standardized departures (Nicholson et al. 2018, DOI: 10.1016/j.gloplacha.2017.12.014).

Due to rain-fed smallholder farming practices across much of sub-Saharan Africa, hydro-meteorological extreme events such as droughts and floods often mean famine and sometimes even political unrest. A salient example are the recent droughts in the Greater Horn of Africa region that also stirred a vivid discussion among scientists whether these droughts can be attributed to ongoing climate change or are reflecting longer-term, but natural climate variations. A substantial contribution towards answering this question is the investigation of past rainfall fluctuations – yet Africa is notorious for its data sparseness.

Over the last two decades, researchers of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) led by Prof. Dr. Andreas H. Fink have compiled observations from many different sources into the flexible and easy-to-use “Karlsruhe African Surface Station Database” (KASS-D). This was only possible through close collaboration with many African researchers and institutions. Containing several millions of rainfall and other weather observations already and growing steadily, KASS-D is an invaluable and rich resource for climate and weather research in Africa at KIT and beyond. For two recent publications, KASS-D was combined with rain gauge archives from two renowned climatologists – Prof. Dr. Sharon Nicholson (Florida State University) and Dr. Chris Funk (University of California at Santa Barbara) – to create the so far longest and most comprehensive gauge series for Africa encompassing most of the continent for the last 125–175 years.

In the first publication (Nicholson et al. 2018, DOI: 10.1002/joc.5530), the recent recovery of rainfall in the West African Sahel is investigated. While the Sahelian drought in the 1970s/1980s is unprecedented in the instrumental period since 1854, a full recovery is not observed, the recovery is stronger in the eastern Sahel than in the western part, and characterized by stronger year-to-year fluctuations. A climate regime shift occurred in 1968 that also changed teleconnections to the ocean temperature fluctuations known as Atlantic and Pacific El Niños. Also at the populous Guinea Coast, annual rainfall since about the late 1960s has been lower than ever since 1886. Taking the explosive population growth into account, this causes increasing water scarcity across West Africa.

A continent-wide view on centennial rainfall variability is given in the second invited publication (Nicholson et al. 2018, DOI: 10.1016/j.gloplacha.2017.12.014). The change to more arid conditions around 1968 occurred in parallel south and north of the Sahara (see figure). For the continent as a whole, more arid conditions began in the 1980s. In equatorial regions, the first rainy season in boreal spring has become drier, while the second rainy season in boreal autumn has gotten wetter. The study also shows that due to a recent decline in meteorological stations, ground truth on rainfall trends is not available for some important regions such as the large Congo rainforest.  Both studies corroborate the value of surface meteorological observations in Africa to quantify rainfall variability and their potential causes.

(Working group: Atmospheric Dynamics)

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Neue Einblicke in säkulare Niederschlagsschwankungen in Afrika

News_0604_komplett
Abbildung: Zeitreihen jährlicher standardisierter Niederschlagsanomalien für die Gesamtlänge der Beobachtungszeiträume in verschiedenen Klimazonen Afrikas. (Nicholson et al. 2018, DOI: 10.1016/j.gloplacha.2017.12.014).

Aufgrund des kleinbäuerlichen Regenfeldbaus im subsaharischen Afrika verursachen hydro-meteorologische Extremereignisse wie Dürren oder Überflutungen oft Hungerkrisen und manchmal sogar politische Unruhen. Ein herausragendes Beispiel ist die derzeitige Dürresituation am Großen Horn von Afrika. Unter Wissenschaftlern hat sie eine lebhafte Debatte ausgelöst, inwieweit dieses Ereignis dem Klimawandel oder längerfristiger, aber natürlichen Schwankungen des Klimasystems Erde-Ozean zuzuordnen ist. Wichtige Beiträge zu Klärung dieser Frage verspricht die Untersuchung vergangener Schwankungen der Niederschläge – Afrika ist jedoch bekannt für seinen notorischen Mangel an Beobachtungsdaten.

In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten haben Forscher des Instituts für Meterorologie und Klimaforschung unter Leitung von Prof. Andreas H. Fink afrikanische Wetterbeobachtungen aus verschiedenen Quellen zusammengetragen und in der flexiblen und einfach zu handhabenden “Karlsruhe African Surface Station Database” (KASS-D) abgelegt. Die Sammlung dieses umfangreichen Datenkollektivs war nur durch enge Kooperationen mit verschiedensten afrikanischen Institutionen und Forschern möglich. Mit Ihren mehreren Millionen Niederschlags- und weiteren Wetterbeobachtungen ist KASS-D eine wertvolle Quelle für die Klima- und Wetterforschung in Afrika am KIT und darüber hinaus. Für zwei jüngste Veröffentlichungen wurden die Niederschlagsdaten in KASS-D mit den Daten der Archive zweier sehr bekannter Klimatologen– Prof. Sharon E. Nicholson (Florida State Universität) und Dr. Chris Funk (University of California, Santa Barbara) – mit dem Ziel verschmolzen, die bisher längsten und umfangreichsten Niederschlagszeitreihen für Afrika zu generieren. Sie umfassen den gesamten Kontinent und meist 125 bis 175 Jahre lang.

Die jüngste „Erholung“ in der Ergiebigkeit der Monsunregen im westlichen Sahel wird in der ersten Publikation untersucht (Nicholson et al. 2018, DOI: 10.1002/joc.5530). Während die bekannte Saheltrockenheit der 1970er und 1980er Jahre mindestens seit 1854 einzigartig ist, ist derzeit noch keine komplette “Erholung” der Regenmengen zu beobachten. Darüber hinaus nehmen die Regen im Ostsahel stärker als im Westsahel zu, wobei diese Entwicklung von sehr starken Schwankungen von Jahr-zu-Jahr begleitet wird. Weiterhin gab es um 1968 eine abrupte Veränderung im Klimagrundzustand, durch welche sich auch die Fernwirkungen zum atlantischen und pazifischen El  Niño Ereignis verändert haben. An der bevölkerungsreichen Guineaküste sind die Niederschläge seit den späten 1960 niedriger als in jeder anderen Periode seit 1886. Durch die explosive wachsende Bevölkerung verursacht dies zunehmende Wasserknappheit in West Afrika.

Eine kontinentweite Untersuchung säkularer Niederschlagsvariabilität enthält die zweite Publikation (Nicholson et al. 2018, DOI: 10.1016/j.gloplacha.2017.12.014). Der Wechsel zu trockenen Bedingungen um 1968 fand gleichzeitig nördlich und südlich der Sahara statt (siehe Abbildung). Für den Kontinent als ganzes treten trockenere Bedingungen seit 1980 auf. In den Äquatorialregionen wurde die erste Regenzeit im Frühjahr trockener während die zweite Regenzeit im Herbst feuchter wurde. Die Studie zeigt auch, dass für viele bedeutende Regionen aufgrund des Auflassens vieler Wetterstationen ein Niederschlagstrend jüngster Zeit nicht bestimmbar ist. Dies gilt z.B. für den Kongo-Regenwald. Beide Studien bekräftigen den großen Wert von bodengestützten Wetterbeobachtungen zur Quantifizierung der Niederschlagsvariabilität und ihrer Ursachen in Afrika.

(Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Dynamik)