deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

First evaporation measurements at the Dead Sea

Fig.1: Onshore Eddy covariance station to measure evaporation from the Dead Sea water surface. This station is located at 429 m below mean sea level, and, thus, the lowest meteorological station on earth. B. Deny, KIT, IMK-TRO. Fig.2: Median diurnal cycles of the measured evaporation (black lines), including evaporation from the land surface for offshore wind conditions. Evaporation from the water surface (red line), where evaporation for offshore wind conditions (wind directions between 230° and 330°) was calculated with the multiple regression model.

Each year the water level of the Dead Sea drops by more than one meter and the water surface decreases significantly. Hereby, evaporation is a decisive factor. However, reliable, direct measurements of evaporation have not been available so far.

Researchers of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research led by Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier have developed a new concept for carrying out measurements of lake evaporation at the shore of the Dead Sea. During onshore wind conditions, evaporation could be measured directly, but during offshore winds no direct evaporation measurements from the water surface were available. A multiple regression model, developed by Dr. Jutta Vüllers, together with the relevant influencing variables of evaporation, namely wind speed and water vapor saturation deficit, were used to calculate evaporation for offshore wind conditions. Thus, the limitations of a shoreline station for lake water evaporation were overcome.

The measurements showed that evaporation mainly depends on three prevailing local wind systems, namely the lake breeze during the day, strong downslope winds in the evening, and strong along-valley northerly winds at night. In contrast to the diurnal cycle of evaporation in our latitudes, the maximum of evaporation occurs at the Dead Sea during the evening and night. This is due to the high wind speeds of the evening downslope winds and the nocturnal valley winds. The total evaporation for the period from March 2014 until March 2015 was 994±88 mm a-1. Average daily evaporation rates were 4.3 mm d-1 in July and only 1.1 mm d-1 in December.

In addition, evaporation formulas were evaluated which are based on meteorological input parameters, and which can be used to estimate evaporation. The best matches were found with the so called aerodynamic approach, which only takes wind speed and saturation deficit into account.

These results are important for a thorough analysis of the water balance of the Dead Sea. This is necessary to evaluate the consequences of a negative water balance for the climate of the region and to estimate the ecological and economical impact of the degradation of the coastal area and the production of minerals.

Our results are published here: https://www.hydrol-earth-syst-sci.net/22/1135/2018/

[Working group: Convective Systems]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Erste Verdunstungsmessungen am Toten Meer

Abb.1: Eddy-Kovarianz-Station zur Bestimmung der Verdunstung des Wassers des Toten Meeres vom Ufer aus. Mit 429 m unter dem Meeresspiegel ist dies die am tiefsten gelegene meteorologische Messstation der Welt. Foto: B. Deny, KIT, IMK-TRO. Abb.2: Mittlerer Tagesgang der gemessenen Verdunstung (schwarze Linie). Diese beinhaltet auch die Verdunstung der Landoberfläche während ablandiger Winde. Mittlerer Tagesgang der korrigierten Verdunstung (rote Linie). Hier wurde die Verdunstung der Wasseroberfläche mit Hilfe des multiplen Regressionsmodells für Windrichtungen zwischen 230° und 330° (Landwinde) berechnet.

Jedes Jahr fällt der Wasserspiegel des Toten Meeres um über einen Meter und die Wasseroberfläche verkleinert sich signifikant. Die Verdunstung ist dabei ein entscheidender Faktor. Verlässliche direkte Messungen der Verdunstung gab es jedoch bislang nicht.

Forscher des Instituts für Meterorologie und Klimaforschung unter der Leitung von Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier haben deshalb ein neues Konzept entwickelt, um  Messungen der Verdunstung des Seewassers vom Ufer des Toten Meeres aus durchführen zu können. Während auflandigen Windbedingungen konnte die Verdunstung direkt gemessen werden, für ablandige Winde stehen jedoch keine direkten Verdunstungsmessungen zur Verfügung. Hierfür wurde von Frau Dr. Jutta Vüllers ein multiples Regressionsmodell entwickelt. Unter Verwendung der maßgeblichen Einflussgrößen der Verdunstung, Windgeschwindigkeit und Wasserdampfsättigungsdefizit, konnte mit Hilfe des Modells die Verdunstung  für ablandige Windbedingungen berechnet werden.

Die Messungen ergaben, dass die Verdunstung maßgeblich von drei vorherrschenden lokalen Windsystemen abhängt, nämlich dem Seewind während des Tages, starken Hangabwinden am Abend und starken Talachsen-parallelen Nordwinden in der Nacht.  Im Gegensatz zu Tagesgängen der Verdunstung in mittleren Breiten, tritt das Maximum der Verdunstung am Toten Meer am Abend und in der Nacht auf. Dies liegt an den hohen Windgeschwindigkeiten der abendlichen Hangabwinde und der nächtlichen Talwinde. Die Gesamtverdunstung für den Zeitraum März 2014 bis März 2015 betrug 994±88 mm a−1. Die mittleren täglichen Verdunstungsraten lagen bei 4.3 mm d-1 im Juli und bei nur 1.1 mm d-1 im Dezember.

Zusätzlich wurden Verdunstungsformeln evaluiert, welche auf meteorologischen Eingabeparametern beruhen, und  mit deren Hilfe die Verdunstung abgeschätzt werden kann. Hierbei ergab sich die beste Übereinstimmung mit dem sogenannten aerodynamischen Ansatz, welcher ausschließlich Windgeschwindigkeit und Sättigungsdefizit berücksichtigt.

Diese Ergebnisse sind von großer Wichtigkeit, um die mittel- und langfristigen Folgen einer negativen Wasserbilanz des Toten Meeres im Hinblick auf das Klima der Region, sowie die ökologischen und ökonomischen Folgen der Verödung der Küstenstreifen und der Mineraliengewinnung aus dem Wasser des Sees ganzheitlich untersuchen und ein Wassermanagement etablieren zu können.

Sie finden unsere Forschungsergebnisse veröffentlicht unter: https://www.hydrol-earth-syst-sci.net/22/1135/2018/

[Arbeitsgruppe: Konvektive Systeme]