deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Flash floods in megacities of Africa and Southeast Asia

The megacities of Africa and Southeast Asia are showing rapid growth. But lack of urban planning and infrastructure increase the risk of severe flood disasters in times of climate change.

In West Africa, there have been a number of extreme rain events over the last few years, affecting major cities and costing lives, but also causing major property damage. Disastrous examples, which happened not a long time ago, are the flooding in 2017 in Freetown (Sierra Leone), 2012 in Dakar (Senegal) or 2009 in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso). There hasn’t been any special warning for Freetown, the capital of Sierra Leone, by the state weather service in August 2017. Yet 450 people lost their lives through landslides and mudslides caused by the extreme rainfalls.

For this reason, on the one hand the IMK-TRO and local partners are researching the meteorological process chains that lead to these extreme events. On the other hand, the researchers are testing the predictability of these extreme events with the help of numerical and statistical weather forecast models. Are there any differences? What is more promising: a look into the past or the application of physical weather models? In terms of predictability for a few days, the results are sometimes sobering: a recent study for West Africa found that neither individual nor the total of nine global weather forecast models had more predictive quality than prediction derived from past observations. For the event in Ho Chi Minh City, even with high-resolution models, it has not been possible to predict the extreme rain for the next day. In this context, it seems astonishing that the extreme event in August 2015, which haunted the coast of Northeast Vietnam, has been well predictable as early as three days ago.

In which weather situations, however, are sufficient early warning times of about three days given? Are there any alternative methods for predicting with physical models? These are important aims of the research at the IMK, which are partly embedded in the Transregio Waves2Weather funded by the German Research Society.

For more details, have a look at the ESKP-special topic “Metropolises under pressure (in german)”:
https://themenspezial.eskp.de/metropolen-unter-druck/naturgefahren-und-staedte/blitzfluten-in-afrika-und-suedostasien/

Further Literature:
Vogel, P., P. Knippertz, A.H. Fink, A. Schlueter, and T. Gneiting, 2018: Skill of Global Raw and Postprocessed Ensemble Predictions of Rainfall over Northern Tropical Africa. Wea. Forecasting, 33, 369–388, https://doi.org/10.1175/WAF-D-17-0127.1

[Working group: Atmospheric Dynamics]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Blitzfluten in Großstädten Afrikas und Südostasiens

Die Millionenstädte Afrikas und Südostasiens zeigen ein rasantes Wachstum. Doch mangelnde Stadtplanung und Infrastruktur erhöhen das Risiko schwerer Flutkatastrophen in Zeiten des Klimawandels.

In Westafrika gab es in den letzten Jahren immer wieder einige extreme Regenereignisse, die Großstädte betrafen und Menschenleben kosteten, aber auch großen Sachschaden anrichteten. Nicht lange zurückliegende, verheerende Beispiele sind beispielsweise die Überflutungen 2017 in Freetown (Sierra Leone), 2012 in Dakar (Senegal) oder 2009 in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso). Für Freetown, der Hauptstadt von Sierra Leone, gab der staatliche Wetterdienst damals im August 2017 keine besondere Warnung heraus. Doch Hangrutschungen und Schlammlawinen, ausgelöst durch die extremen Regenfälle, kosteten mehr als 450 Menschen das Leben.

Das IMK-TRO erforscht deshalb mit Partnern vor Ort zum einen die meteorologischen Prozessketten, die zu diesen Extremereignissen führen. Zum anderen prüfen die Forscher die Vorhersagbarkeit dieser Extremereignisse unter Zuhilfenahme von numerischen und statistischen Wettervorhersagemodellen. Ergeben sich hierbei Unterschiede? Was ist erfolgsversprechender: ein Blick in die Vergangenheit oder die Anwendung von physikalischen Wettermodellen? Mit Blick auf die Vorhersagbarkeit für wenige Tage zeigen sich dabei zum Teil ernüchternde Resultate: In einer jüngst veröffentlichten Studie für Westafrika konnte festgestellt werden, dass weder einzelne noch die Gesamtheit von neun globalen Wettervorhersagemodellen mehr Vorhersagequalität besitzt als eine aus vergangenen Beobachtungen abgeleitete Vorhersage. Für das Ereignis in Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt ist es bisher selbst mit hochaufgelösten Modellen nicht gelungen, den extremen Regen für den nächsten Tag vorherzusagen. Erstaunlich ist in diesem Zusammenhang, dass das Extremereignis im August 2015, welches die Küste Nordostvietnams heimsuchte, wiederum schon drei Tage vorher recht gut vorhersagbar war.

In welchen Wettersituationen sind jedoch ausreichende Vorwarnzeiten von etwa drei Tagen gegeben? Gibt es eventuell alternative Methoden zur Vorhersage mit physikalischen Modellen? Das sind wichtige Ziele der Forschungen am IMK, welche teilweise in den von der Deutschen Forschungsgesellschaft geförderten Transregio Waves2Weather eingebettet sind.

Mehr dazu im ESKP-Themenspezial "Metropolen unter Druck":
https://themenspezial.eskp.de/metropolen-unter-druck/naturgefahren-und-staedte/blitzfluten-in-afrika-und-suedostasien/

Weiterführende Literatur:
Vogel, P., P. Knippertz, A.H. Fink, A. Schlueter, and T. Gneiting, 2018: Skill of Global Raw and Postprocessed Ensemble Predictions of Rainfall over Northern Tropical Africa. Wea. Forecasting, 33, 369–388, https://doi.org/10.1175/WAF-D-17-0127.1

[Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Dynamik]