deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

HYMEX / Hydrological Cycle in the Mediterranean Experiment

HYMEX / Hydrological Cycle in the Mediterranean Experiment
Contact:

Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier, Dr. S. Khodayar

links:
Project Group:

IMK-TRO

HyMeX-Logo

Cyclones and mesoscale convective systems often cause high-impact weather in the western Mediterranean. However, it is still a great challenge to predict where and under which conditions these systems lead to high-impact weather. While the synoptic conditions of these events are relatively well known, the processes and mechanisms governing the precise location of the systems are often unclear. The complexity of orography, land use, and soil texture as well as the difficulty to characterize the initial state of soil moisture and atmospheric variables with high spatial resolution are some reasons why high-impact weather is hard to predict.

 

 

 

mediterranean   orographie_koratien
Figure 1: Orography of the western Mediterranean region (left) and of the Corsica island (right)

 

 

To improve the understanding of the Mediterranean hydrological cycle, HyMeX (HYdrological cycle in Mediterranean EXperiment) was initiated. By means of high-resolution model simulations and available observations in the region, the processes behind the initation and intensification of convective systems resulting in heavy precipitation events with catastrophic consequences are investigated with particular focus on the relation to atmospheric water-vapor distribution.

Within the HyMeX measurement network, the Karlsruhe observatory for convection studies (KITcube) was installed on the Corsican Island. This position allowed to monitor the conditions in the pre-convective environment of high-impact weather, to quantify the contribution of the different processes leading to high-impact weather and to investigate the influence (orographically, thermally, aerodynamically) of the Corsican Island on the initiation and evolution of single and in cyclones embedded cumulonimbi and mesocale convective systems. In addition, the distribution of the instruments over the island allowed to analyze processes which range from the turbulent to the mesoscale and which impact the water-vapor distribution and the atmospheric stratification in the pre-convective environment.

 

 nordwest südost
Figure 2: Measurement site at Corte on the Corsican Island looking south-east. Figure 3: Measurement site at Corte on the Corsican Island  looking north-east.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

HYMEX / Hydrological Cycle in the Mediterranean Experiment

HYMEX / Hydrological Cycle in the Mediterranean Experiment
Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier, Dr. S. Khodayar

Links:
Projektgruppe:

IMK-TRO

HyMeX-Logo

Tiefdruckgebiete und mesoskalige konvektive Systeme führen häufig zu schadensintensiven Unwettern im westlichen Mittelmeerraum. Eine Vorhersage, wo und unter welchen Bedingungen diese Systeme zu Unwettern führen, ist immer noch eine große Herausforderung. Während die synoptischen Bedingungen dafür verhältnismäßig gut bekannt sind, ist unklar, welche Prozesse letztendlich den genauen Entstehungsort von Unwettern bestimmen. Ein Grund dafür ist die hohe räumliche Komplexität der Orographie, der Landnutzung und des Bodentyps sowie die Schwierigkeit, den Anfangszustand der Bodenfeuchte und der atmosphärischen Variablen mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung vorzugeben.

Mittelmeeer

Orographie_korsika

Abb. 1 (links wie auf jetziger Seite) Orographie des westlichen Mittelmeerraums (links) und von Korsika (rechts). Stationen des IMK-TRO auf Korsika              sind gekennzeichnet.

 

Um das Verständnis des mediterranen Wasserkreislaufs zu verbessern, wurde das HyMeX-Projekt (HYdrological cycle in Mediterranean EXperiment) initiiert. Anhand hochauflösender Modellsimulationen und verfügbarer Beobachtungen in der Region, werden die Prozesse untersucht, die zur Auslösung und Entwicklung konvektiver Systeme verbunden mit starken Niederschlagsereignissen und katastrophalen Folgen führen. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf dem Einfluss des atmosphärischen Wasserdampfgehalt.
Innerhalb des HyMeX-Messnetzes wurde das „Karlsruhe Observatory for Convection Studies“ (KITcube, link) auf der Insel Korsika betrieben. Dieser Messort erlaubte die Bedingungen im präkonvektiven Umfeld von schadensintensiven Unwettern zu dokumentieren,  die Beiträge der Prozesse, die zur Entwicklung des konvektiven Umfeldes beitragen, zu quantifizieren und  zu untersuchen, welchen Einfluss (orographisch, thermisch, aerodynamisch) Korsika auf die Entstehung und Entwicklung von einzelnen und in Tiefdruckgebieten eingelagerten Cumulonimben und mesoskaligen konvektiven Systemen hat. Des Weiteren erlaubte die Verteilung der Messgeräte auf der Insel die Analyse von Prozessen auf der turbulenten Skala bis hin zur Mesoskala und ihrem Einfluss auf die Wasserdampfverteilung und atmosphärische Schichtung im präkonvektiven Umfeld. 

 

Messstation Südost Messstation Nordost
 Abb. 2: Messstation in Corte auf Korsika mit Blick nach Südosten. Abb. 3: Messstation in Corte auf Korsika mit Blick nach Nordosten.