deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Two YIN grants for interdisciplinary research

The Young Investigator Network (YIN) is the platform and democratic representation of the interests of young investigator research group leaders at KIT. To stimulate cooperations across disciplinary boundaries among its members, YIN awards start-up grants. In 2019, the two young investigator group leaders from IMK-TRO, Dr. Aiko Voigt and Dr. Christian Grams, have each won a YIN Grant. Dr. Voigt in addition received the YIN Award.

The project „The Geometry of Big-Data Clouds“ studies cloud structures by means of modern tools from mathematics. To this end Dr. Aiko Voigt from IMK-TRO and Prof. Petra Schwer, a mathematician from University Magdeburg and KIT YIN alumni, combine their expertise in high-resolution modeling with the ICON climate model and geometric group theory. The project addresses the need for fundamentally new strategies in analyzing the big-data output from the next generation of climate models, which will simulate the global atmosphere with resolutions of 2km and will routinely generate model data in the order of TerraByte and PetaByte. The  central idea is to use a cubulation method from geometric group theory that can identify connected cloud components on the native triangular grid of ICON. This will then be used to identiy cloud structures and to characterize their geometry (e.g., surface area and volume, ratio of horizontal and vertical boundaries), which can for example affect the radiative interactions of clouds with the atmospheric circulation. The project is part of the KIT Center MathSEE. The developed tools can also be used in the recently funded Phase 2 of the Collaborative Research Center 165 “Waves to Weather“, in which Dr. Voigt is leading a subproject on clouds and three-dimensional radiative effects. In addition, the project received the YIN Award 2019 as an honorary recognition signed by Prof. Oliver Kraft, Vice President for Research at KIT.

A second YIN grant was awarded to Christian Grams from IMK-TRO and Tom Brown from the Institute for Automation and Applied Informatics at KIT to study “The role of meteorological variability imposed by weather regimes in energy systems dominated by wind and solar power”. When energy systems reach a high share of wind and solar power it becomes more and more difficult to cope with long-lasting country-wide lulls accompanied by high cloud cover (“Dunkelflaute”). In cold winter weather the situation exacerbates if heating becomes electrified. This can be ameliorated by continent-scale transmission networks, which smooth the variable feed-in from wind and solar over large areas, but the required new power lines are unlikely to be built, given the resistance often found among the local communities. A solution might be long-term storage technology but this highly increases the costs of future energy systems. In this interdisciplinary project we combine expertise in energy system modelling and weather variability to assess the optimal use of renewable energy sources and storage technology in future energy system scenarios for Europe. Specifically we will identify the weather patterns that would be operationally challenging for wind-and-solar-dominated energy systems with focus on both electricity generation and demand. The project is part of Tom Brown’s Helmholtz Young Investigator Group “Energy System Modelling” and Christian Grams’ Helmholtz Young Investigator Group “Subseasonal Predictability: Understanding the Role of Diabatic Outflow”, both hosted at KIT.

The YIN grant aims to trigger explorative, interdisciplinary research ideas which ideally result in third-party funded research projects.

Contact persons:
Dr. Aiko Voigt, Young Investigator Group „Clouds and Storm Tracks“, IMK-TRO, KIT
Dr. Christian Grams, Young Investigator Group „Large-Scale Dynamics and Predictability“, IMK-TRO, KIT

Working groups:
Junior research group: Clouds and storm tracks
Junior Investigator Group: Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability

YIN Logo, copyright: www.yin.kit.edu

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

YIN Förderung für zwei interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte

Das Young Investigator Network (YIN) agiert als Plattform und demokratische Interessenvertretung des wissenschaftlichen Führungskräftenachwuchs am KIT.  Um Kooperationen und neue Forschungsideen über Fachgrenzen hinweg zwischen seinen Mitglieder anzustoßen, lobt YIN Anschubfinanzierungen aus. In der letzten Ausschreibungsrunde waren die beiden Nachwuchsgruppenleiter des IMK-TRO, Dr. Aiko Voigt und Dr. Christian Grams, jeweils mit einem Antrag erfolgreich. Der Antrag von Dr. Voigt hat dabei auch den YIN Award gewonnen.

Das Projekt „The Geometry of Big-Data Clouds“ untersucht Wolkenstrukturen mit Hilfe moderner mathematischer Werkzeuge. Dafür kombinieren Dr. Aiko Voigt vom IMK-TRO und Prof. Petra Schwer, Mathematikerin an der Universität Magdeburg und KIT YIN Alumni, ihre Expertise in der hochaufgelösten Modellierung mit dem ICON Klimamodell und geometrischer Gruppentheorie. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, neue Analysestrategien für die nächste Generation von Klimamodellen zu entwickeln. Diese werden die globale Atmosphäre mit einer horizontalen Gitterauflösung von 2km berechen und so routinemäßig “Big-Data” Modelldaten in der Größenordnung von vielen Terrabyten bis hin zu einigen Petabyte erzeugen. In dem Projekt werden Dr. Voigt und Prof. Schwer eine Kubulationsmethode aus der geomtrischen Gruppentheorie anwenden, die es erlaubt, zusammenhängende Wolkenstrukturen auf dem unstrukturierten Dreiecksgitter des ICON Modells zu identifizieren. Dies wollen die beiden Forscher nutzen, um die geometrischen Eigenschaften der Wolken zu charakterisieren (z. Bsp. Öberfläche, Volume und Verhältnis von horizontalen zu vertikalen Wolkenrändern), welche die Strahlungseingenschaften der Wolken beeinflussen und damit ihre Interaktion mit der atmosphärischen Zirkulation. Das Projekt ist Teil des KIT Zentrums MathSEE. Seine Ergebnisse sind auch relevant für die kürzlich bewilligte 2. Phase des SFB/Transregio “Waves to Weather“, in dem Dr. Voigt ein Teilprojekt zu Wolken und 3-dimensionaler Strahlung leitet. Das Projekt hat den YIN Award 2019 erhalten, welcher vom KIT Vizepräsidenten Prof. Oliver Kraft verliehen wird  und das beste YIN Projekt auszeichnet.

Ein weiteres YIN Grant wurde an Christian Grams vom IMK-TRO und Tom Brown vom Institut für Automation und Angewandte Informatik des KIT verliehen.  In ihrem Projekt untersuchen sie zukünftige Energiesysteme mit hohem Anteil von Wind- und Solarenergie.  Solche Energiesysteme sind anfällig für lang anhaltende Perioden mit geringen Windgeschwindigkeiten und starker Bewölkung - sogenannte “Dunkelflauten”. Diese Situationen verschärfen sich bei kalten Winterwetter, wenn in Zukunft auch das Heizen mehr und mehr elektrifiziert wird und damit auch der Strombedarf steigt. Europaweite Stromnetze könnten die variable Wind- und Solarstromproduktion zwar über große Gebiete ausgleichen. Angesichts lokaler Widerstände ist es aber fraglich ob die dafür benötigten Stromtrassen wirklich gebaut werden. Eine mögliche jedoch teure Lösung könnten Speichertechnologien wie “power-to-gas“ sein. In diesem interdisziplinären Projekt kombinieren wir unsere Expertise in Energiesystemmodellierung und Wettervariabiliät um zu verstehen wie wir den bestmöglichen Nutzen aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen und Speichertechnologien in verschiedenen Szenarien zukünftiger Energiesysteme Europas ziehen können. Insbesondere werden wir Wettersituationen identifizieren, die den stabilen Betrieb von Energiesystemen mit Dominanz von Wind- und Solarstrom gefährden, wobei sowohl Stromproduktion als auch -nachfrage im Fokus stehen. Das Projekt ist Teil der von Tom Brown geleiteten Helmholtz Nachwuchsgruppe “Energy System Modelling” und der von Christian Grams geleiteten Helmholtz Nachwuchsgruppe “Subseasonal Predictability: Understanding the Role of Diabatic Outflow”, welche beide am KIT angesiedelt sind.

Das YIN Grant möchte explorative, interdisziplinäre Forschungsideen anregen, die idealerweise zu neuen drittmittelfinanzierten Forschungsprojekten führen.

Kontakpersonen:
Dr. Aiko Voigt, Nachwuchsgruppe „Wolken und Sturmzugbahnen“, IMK-TRO, KIT
Dr. Christian Grams, Nachwuchsgruppe „Großräumige Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit“, IMK-TRO, KIT

Arbeitsgruppen:
Junior research group: Clouds and storm tracks
Junior Investigator Group: Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability

YIN Logo, copyright: www.yin.kit.edu