deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

ICON-ART

 

ICON-ART, where ART stands for Aerosols and Reactive Trace gases, is an extension of ICON (ICOsahedral Nonhydrostatic model; developed at the German Weatherservice (DWD) and the Max-Plank-Institute of Meteorology Hamburg (MPI-M)) to enable the simulation of gases, aerosol particles and related feedback processes in the atmosphere. In its current stage, ICON-ART is capable of simulating mineral dust and sea salt aerosol and the interactions of these aerosol types with clouds. Additionally, in a joint development with German Weatherservice (DWD), the dispersion of volcanic ash particles and radioactive tracers has been made available for operational forecast. The Global Modelling Group (MOD) of IMK-ASF has introduced ozone depleting short-lived trace gases in the stratosphere, a linearized ozone chemistry and a photolysis module. For a further description of ICON-ART, see

Rieger et al.: ICON-ART 1.0 - a new online coupled model system from the global to regional scale (2015).

 

Licence

To receive an ICON-ART licence, please contact Bernhard Vogel.

Application Examples

Acetone volume mixing ratio due to biogenic emissions from MEGAN-MACC in ICON-ART with resolution R2B06 at model level 84 (about 500 m above surface).

Mass mixing ratio of volcanic ash originating from an artificial volcano eruption in Iceland lasting for 21 hours in about 2400 m.

Vertically integrated aerosol optical depth of mineral dust aerosol.

Training course for the model system ICON-ART

The 2nd training course for the model system ICON-ART was held from October 12 to October 15, 2015 in the Hessian city Langen. It was organized in collaboration with the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the German Weather Service (DWD). Nearly 30 participants provided an insight into the future weather prediction model ICON and performed initial simulations. They got information about the importance of aerosols (small liquid or solid particles suspended in the air) for weather patterns, aviation and climate in theory and practice.

The participants were able to perform simulations with ICON-ART. They calculated the dispersion of volcanic ash plumes by virtual eruption of different volcanoes, a simple ozone chemistry and a radioactive accidental release. Furthermore, the spread of sea salt particles could be simulated. Sea salt has a large share of the global aerosol amount and is assumed, among others, to play an important role for the formation of clouds.

We are pleased to repeat this course next year. The ICON-ART team Dipl.-Met. Daniel Rieger, M. Sc. Jennifer Schroeter, Dipl.-Met. Carolin Walter and Dr. Heike Vogel from KIT is led by Dr. Bernhard Vogel. The training course was supported by Dr. Florian Prill, Dipl.-Met. Jochen Förstner, Dr. Daniel Reinert from DWD.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

ICON-ART

 

ICON-ART, wobei ART für Aerosols and Reactive Trace gases steht, ist eine Erweiterung von ICON (ICOsahedrisches Nichthydrostatisches Modell, entwickelt vom Deutschen Wetterdienst (DWD) und dem Max-Plank-Institut für Meteorologie Hamburg (MPI-M)) um die Simulation von Gasen, Aerosolpartikeln und die damit verbundenen Rückkopplungsprozesse in der Atmosphäre zu ermöglichen. Im derzeitigen Entwicklungsstadium kann mit ICON-ART die Ausbreitung von Mineralstaub- und Seesalzaerosol und deren Wechselwirkungen mit Wolken simuliert werden. Zusätzlich wurde in einer gemeinsamen Entwicklung mit dem Deutschen Wetterdienst (DWD) die Ausbreitung von Vulkanaschepartikeln und radioaktiven Substanzen für die operationelle Vorhersage verfügbar gemacht. Die Gruppe Globale Modellierung (MOD) des IMK-ASF hat dem Modell stratosphärische ozonabbauende kurzlebige Spurengase, eine linearisierte Ozonchemie und ein Photolysemodul hinzugefügt. Für eine nähere Beschreibung von ICON-ART sei verwiesen auf

Rieger et al.: ICON-ART 1.0 - a new online coupled model system from the global to regional scale (2015).

 

Lizenz

Um eine ICON-ART Lizenz zu erhalten, wenden Sie sich bitte an Bernhard Vogel.

Anwendungsbeispiele

Aceton Volumenmischungsverhältnis, angetrieben durch biogene Emissionen des Projekts MEGAN-MACC, simuliert mit ICON-ART mit einer Auflösung von R2B06 auf Modell-Level 84 (etwa 500 m über der Erdoberfläche).

Massenmischungsverhältnis von Vulkanasche, die von einem künstlichen Vulkan auf Island über 21 Stunden emittiert wurde. Dargestellt in einer Höhe von etwa 2400 m.

Vertikal integrierte Aerosol Optische Dicke (AOD) von Mineralstaub.

Trainingskurs für das Modellsystem ICON-ART

Vom 12. bis 15. October 2015 fand im hessischen Langen der 2. ICON-ART Trainingskurs statt. Dieser wurde vom Deutschen Wetterdienst (DWD) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK-TRO) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) organisiert. Dabei konnten die knapp 30 Teilnehmer nicht nur einen Einblick in das zukünftige Wettervorhersagemodell ICON gewinnen und erste Simulationen damit durchführen. Es wurde ihnen auch die Bedeutung von Aerosolen (kleine, flüssige oder feste Schwebeteilchen in der Luft) für Wettergeschehen, Luftfahrt und Klima in Theorie und Praxis nahe gebracht.

Die Teilnehmer konnten Simulationen mit ICON-ART durchführen. Diese umfassten die Ausbreitung einer Vulkanaschefahne, wobei die Teilnehmer virtuell verschiedene Vulkane ausbrechen lassen konnten, Chemiesimulationen mit einer einfachen Ozonchemie und ein radioaktiver Störfall. Des Weiteren konnte die Ausbreitung von Seesalzpartikeln simuliert werden. Seesalz hat einen großen Anteil an der globalen Aerosolmenge und nimmt unter anderem in der Wolkenbildung eine wichtige Rolle ein.

Wir freuen uns darauf, diesen Kurs auch im nächsten Jahr wieder ausrichten zu können. Das ICON-ART Team unter der Leitung von Dr. Bernhard Vogel umfasste Dipl.-Met. Daniel Rieger, M. Sc. Jennifer Schröter, Dipl.-Met. Carolin Walter und Dr. Heike Vogel vom KIT. Unterstützung erhielt es von Dr. Florian Prill, Dipl.-Met. Jochen Förstner und Dr. Daniel Reinert vom DWD.