deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

The Vaisala Award: AMMA Radiosonde Team led by Prof. Doug Parker, Prof. Andreas Fink, and Dr. Serge Janicot

 

The AMMA Radiosonde team led by Prof. Doug Parker, Prof. Andreas Fink, and Dr. Serge Janicot is awarded the 2014 Vaisala Award for their outstanding contribution to observational meteorology in West Africa. During the main AMMA field campaign from June-September 2006, some 7,000 soundings were made from 24 operational stations, representing the greatest density of radiosondes ever launched in the region.

 

In order to achieve this tremendous effort, the team organised and coordinated the opening of new stations, technical upgrades to existing stations and an enhanced frequency of launches as well as training of staff. The realisation of this programme was a major challenge on scientific, logistical and organisational grounds and required the involvement of and interaction with numerous West African weather services and supranational organisations.

The AMMA radiosonde initiative has created a unique and very valuable dataset that has been used extensively for research and model evaluation as well as data assimilation experiments ever since. It created great awareness in the scientific and operational communities about the state of the observational network in this sensitive monsoon region, not least through a highly cited publication in BAMS. The lessons learned in AMMA have significance for the upper-air network throughout the continent.

 

Award ceremony of the Vaisala Award at 20th May, 2015, in London at the Royal Meteorological Society (RMetS); from left to right: Prof. Doug Parker, University of Leeds; the chairperson of the Royal Meteorological Society Dr. Liz Bentley; Prof. Andreas Fink, KIT, Karlsruhe.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Vaisala Award: Das AMMA-Radiosondenteam, bestehend aus Prof. Doug Parker, Prof. Andreas Fink und Dr. Serge Janicot wurde ausgezeichnet

 

Das AMMA-Radiosondenteam, geleitet von Prof. Doug Parker, Prof. Andreas Fink und Dr. Serge Janicot, wurde mit dem Vaisala Award 2014 für ihren besonderen Beitrag zur Beobachtung von meteorologischen Größen in West-Afrika ausgezeichnet. Während der Hauptmesskampagne von AMMA, die sich von Juni bis September 2006 erstreckte, wurden 7.000 Untersuchungen über 24 Stationen durchgeführt, welche die höchste Dichte von Radiosondenmessungen die je in dieser Gegend gestartet wurden, repräsentiert.

 

Damit dies gelingen konnte organisierte und koordinierte das Team die Eröffnung von neuen Stationen durch Inbetriebnahme als auch Überprüfung der Geräte und führte technische Verbesserungen an schon existierenden Stationen durch. Die Realisierung dieses Programmes war ein harter Kampf aus wissenschaftlicher, logistischer und organisatorischer Sicht und erforderte die Einbindung und das Zusammenspiel mit zahlreichen Wetterdiensten Westafrikas und übernationalen Organisationen. 

Das AMMA Radiosondenprojekt brachte einen einzigartigen und sehr nützlichen Datensatz, der umfangreich für die Forschung und Modelauswertungen eingesetzt wurde und als Datenassilmiliationexperimente. Dies schaffte eine bedeutende Erkenntnis über die Lage des Beobachtungsnetz in dieser senisiblen Monsunregion für wissenschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Gesellschaften, nicht zuletzt auch durch eine häufig zitierte Publikation in BAMS. Das erforschte aus dem AMMA-Projekt hat eine Bedeutung für die obere Atmosphäre ganz Afrikas.

 

Preisverleihung des Vaisala-Award am 20. Mai 2015 in London bei der Royal Meteorological Society (RMetS); von links nach rechts: Prof. Doug Parker, University of Leeds; die Vorsitzende der Royal Meteorological Society Dr. Liz Bentley; Prof. Andreas Fink, KIT, Karlsruhe.