deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

KITcube: Overall monitoring system for probing the atmosphere

KITcube: Overall monitoring system for probing the atmosphere
Contact:

Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Dr. Andreas Wieser,
Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier ,
Dr. Bianca Adler

links:

With KITcube the advanced mobile integrated observation system the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research has created a measurement system that allows temporally and spatially high-resolution measurements within a volume of 10 x 10 x 10 km3. By combining active and passive remote sensing instruments with classical in situ sensors, which probe the same volume at the same time, maximum synergy is achieved. KITcube resolves all relevant atmospheric processes and allows detailed process studies, which finally leads into a better knowledge for model-based predictions. KITcube is characterized by a high flexibility. It can be deployed for measurement campaigns to sites around the globe and operated over long time for atmospheric monitoring.

Research fields

The observation system KITcube focuses on four topics:

  • Model evaluation: KITcube data capture processes on different scales and allow the evaluation of different types of numerical models from Large Eddy Simulations (LES) to mesoscale prediction systems.
  • Clouds & Precipitation: The formation and development of clouds and precipitation is one research topic that is addressed with KITcube. The instrumentation enables access to better understanding of cloud microphysical processes. Beside the temporally and spatially development of cloud structures and the resulting precipitation also mixing processes can be studied and different hydrometeors are detected.
  • Convection: For convection studies KITcube measurements are conducted to investigate why convection is triggered in certain areas at a particular time and under which conditions shallow convection develops into deep convection.
  • Turbulence: By means of remote sensing systems KITcube can probe the entire boundary layer at almost the same time and determine horizontal and vertical structures in the convective boundary layer. Thus it is possible to survey the structure of gusts and to minimize the statistical error of turbulence measurements.

 

For more information about the individual measuring instruments klick on the links in the following graphic.

Doppler-Lidar

Microwave
Radiometer

Sodar
GPS IWV
Radiosonde
 
Cloud Radar
Ceilometer
X-Band Radar
K-Band Radar
Disdrometer
Rain Gauge
Cloud Camera
Photometer
 
Turbulence Station Energy Balance Station Meteo. Tower Mobile Meteo. Station Scintillometer

 

Measuring campaigns - KITcube in field

KITcube is deployed to national and international measuring campaigns to investigate both basic aspects of atmospheric research and applied issues. In addition to the standard equipment of KITcube, additional instruments are integrated to cover specific measurement demands. During measuring campaigns external research teams are provided with an ideal working environment and infrastructure for operating their own measuring equipment within KITcube.

 

Hatzenbühl

A first set-up and measuring phase with KITcube took place between 2010 and 2011 in the palatinate village Hatzenbühl. Therby all measuring systems as well as the central data acquisition and processing were operated together the first time. This opportunity was also used to celebrate an opening ceremony with the Presidential Committee of the KIT.

 

 

 

HyMeX

Within the framework of the Hydrological cycle in Mediterranean Experiment (HyMeX) the first special observation period (SOP 1) was conducted in autumn 2012 in the western Mediterranean. HyMeX aims to improve the understanding and quantification of the hydrological cycle and related processes in the Mediterranean with emphasis on high-impact weather events, inter-annual decadal variability and associated trends in the context of global warming. During SOP 1 KITcube was positioned at one of HyMeX's supersites on the island of Corisca. The deployment of KITcube at this position allowed to study the impact of the mountainous island on initiation and modification of isolated deep convection and provided upstream conditions for the intense precipitation events affecting continental south-eastern France and northern and central Italy. The KITcube instruments were deployed at two main sites: one at Corte in the Tavignano Valley in the centre of the island and one at San Giuliano on the east coast.

 

 

 

 

HD(CP)2

The HD(CP)² Observational Prototype Experiment (HOPE) was performed in April and May 2013. For this field campaign KITcube was installed in the vicinity of Forschungszentrum Jülich. The unique approach of the measurement campaign was the density of the measurement network: Within less than 5 km distance two other measurement systems were installed and operated the universities of Cologne and Bonn, by MPI for Meteorology as well as by TROPOS in Leipzig. Instruments at these locations were for example microwave radiometers, wind profilers as well as cloud and X-band radars. Research goals of IMK during HOPE were on the one hand the determination of the energy balance components at the land surface, additionally considering nearby stations of the TERENO project and on the other hand the investigation of the structure of turbulence in the boundary layer. Therefore, one of the WindTracer Doppler-lidars was located about 3 km west of the main KITcube supersite together with a second energy balance station. Using Dual Doppler techniques, coherent structures were detected in the horizontal wind field. Moreover, this measurement setup allows for simultaneous observations of turbulence profiles at multiple locations. At the KITcube supersite, two additional lidar systems were installed and operated by the University of Hohenheim, measuring temperature and humidity in the boundary layer with high temporal resolution. By combining these measurements with Doppler-lidar wind measurements of KITcube, vertical profiles of turbulent fluxes can be determined. The profiles derived in this way are an important contribution for the validation of LES performed within HD(CP)².

 

 

 

DESERVE

The Dead Sea region faces big water-related challenges. Among them are sea level decline, desertification, flash floods, ascending brines polluting freshwater, sinkhole development, and the repeated occurrence of earthquakes. Climate change and extensive exploitation of groundwater and surface water even aggravate the situation. These challenges can only be mastered in an interdisciplinary research effort involving all riparian countries. DESERVE is designed as a cross-disciplinary and cooperative international project of the Helmholtz Centers KIT, GFZ, and UFZ with well-established partners of the riparian countries. Within DESERVE, the research of IMK-TRO focuses on the operation of a long-term meteorological monitoring network with several meteorological stations in combination with intensive special observation periods with KITcube, and numerical modelling.

 

 

 

DACCIWA

In summer 2016, a field campaign will be conducted in South West Africa within the framework of DACCIWA (Dynamics-aerosol-chemistry-cloud interactions in West Africa). The measurements involve research aircrafts and a wide range of surface-based instrumentation at three sites in Ghana, Benin and Nigeria. The KITcube will be deployed at Savé in Benin for approximately two months. The main focus of these measurements is to identify meteorological controls on the whole process chain from the formation of nocturnal stratus clouds, via the daytime transition to convective cloud, and the formation of deep precipitating clouds.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

KITcube: Gesamtbeobachtungssystem zur Sondierung der Atmosphäre

KITcube: Gesamtbeobachtungssystem zur Sondierung der Atmosphäre
Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Dr. Andreas Wieser,
Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier

Links:

Mit dem KITcube verfügt das Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung über ein mobiles integriertes Messsystem, das zeitlich und räumlich hochaufgelöste Messungen in der Troposphäre durchführen kann. Durch den gleichzeitigen Einsatz verschiedenster Messgeräte kann eine Vielzahl an Messgrößen in einem würfelförmigen Messvolumen von 10 x 10 x 10 km3 bestimmt werden. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich alle relevanten atmosphärischen Prozesse detailiert zu untersuchen und letztlich neue Erkenntisse zur modellbasierten Vorhersage der untersuchten Wettererscheinungen zu gewinnen. Der KITcube zeichnet sich durch seine hohe Einsatzflexibilität aus. Er kann sowohl als mobile Einrichtung an beliebigen Messorten betrieben werden als auch im Dauerbetrieb für atmosphärisches Monitoring eingesetzt werden.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Das Beobachtungssystem KITcube legt den Fokus auf vier Themengebiete:

  • Modellevaluierung: Der KITcube ermöglicht es verschiedene Modelle zu evaluieren und deckt bei Messungen Prozesse auf unterschiedlichen Skalen ab. Die Spannbreite liegt zwischen Large Eddy Simulation (LES) und mesoskaligen Systemen.
  • Wolken und Niederschlag: Die Entstehung und Entwicklung von Wolken und Niederschlag ist eines der Forschungsschwerpunkte, die mit dem KITcube eingehend untersucht werden können. Die umfassende Instrumentierung ermöglicht einen Zugang zu einem tieferen Verständis wolkenphysikalischer Prozesse. Neben der zeitlichen und räumlichen Entwicklung von Wolkenstrukturen und resultierendem Niederschlag, können zudem Mischprozesse untersucht und verschiedene Hydrometeore identifiziert werden.
  • Konvektion: Bei Konvektionsuntersuchungen dient der KITcube zur Klärung der Frage, warum in bestimmten Gebieten zu bestimmten Zeiten Konvektion ausgelöst wird und wann sich flache Konvektion zu hochreichender entwickelt.
  • Turbulenz: Mit Hilfe von Fernerkundungsverfahren kann die gesamte Grenzschicht nahezu gleichzeitig erfasst und vertikale Strukturen in der konvektiven Grenzschicht bestimmt werden. Damit ist es möglich die Struktur von Böen zu vermessen und den statistischen Fehler der Turbulenzmessungen der Grenzschicht deutlich zu reduzieren.

 

Weitere Informationen zu den einzelnen Messgeräten sind durch Anklicken in der folgenden Grafik verfügbar.

Doppler-Lidar

Mikrowellen-
radiometer

Sodar
GPS IWV
Radiosonde
Wolkenradar
Ceilometer
X-Band Radar
K-Band Radar
Distrometer
Regenmesser
Wolkenkamera
Photometer
Turbulenzstation Energiebilanzstation Meteo. Profilmast Mobiler Meteo. Mast Szintillometer

 

Messkampagnen - KITcube im Einsatz

Eingesetzt wird der KITcube in großen nationalen und internationalen Messprogrammen mit dem Ziel, sowohl grundlegende Fragen der Atmosphärenforschung als auch anwendungsbezogene Fragestellungen zu untersuchen. Temporär werden in das Konzept des KITcubes neben der Standardinstrumentierung auch weitere Messgeräte eingegliedert. Externe Forschergruppen finden bei Messkampagnen im KITcube eine ideale Arbeitsumgebung und Infrastruktur zum Betrieb eigener Messgeräte.

 

Hatzenbühl

Die Aufbauphase und der erste Einsatz des KITcube erfolgten zwischen 2010 und 2011 im pfälzischen Hatzenbühl, bei dem testweise alle Messsysteme aufgebaut wurden. Gleichzeitig wurde diese Gelegenheit genutzt, um eine Einweihungsfeier mit dem Präsidium des KIT zu gestalten.

 

 

HyMeX

Im Rahmen des HyMeX-Projektes (Hydrological cycle in Mediterranean Experiment) fand die erste Intensivmesskampagne (SOP 1) im Herbst 2012 im westlichen Mittelmeerraum statt. HyMeX zielt darauf ab, das Verständnis über den hydrologischen Wasserkreislaufs und verwandte Prozesse im Mittelmeerraum zu verbessern. Besonderes Interesse gilt dabei schadensintensiven Unwettern, der dekadischen Variabilität und damit verbundenen Trends. Der KITcube wurde an einem der Hauptmessstandorte während SOP 1 auf der Insel Korsika betrieben. Das erlaubte es, den Einfluss der gebirgigen Insel auf die Auslösung und Entwicklung hochreichender isolierter Konvektion zu untersuchen. Außerdem lieferten die Messungen die Anströmbedingungen, die zu Starkniederschlägen im südöstlichen Frankreich und nördlichen und zentralen Italien führten. Die KITcube-Geräte waren auf zwei Standorte verteilt: Corte im Tavignano Tal im Zentrum der Insel und San Giuliano an der Ostküste.

 

 

 

HD(CP)2

Das HD(CP)² Observational Prototype Experiment (HOPE) wurde im April und Mai 2013 durchgeführt. Der KITcube wurde dafür in der Nähe des Forschungszentrums Jülich aufgebaut. Eine Besonderheit der Messkampagne war die Dichte des Messnetzes: In wenigen Kilometern Entfernung lagen die Standorte von zwei weiteren Beobachungssystemen, die von den Universitäten Köln und Bonn, vom MPI in Hamburg sowie von TROPOS in Leipzig betrieben wurden. An diesen befanden sich unter anderem verschiedene Mikrowellenradiometer, Wind Profiler sowie Wolken- und Niederschlagsradare. Wichtige von Seiten des IMK verfolgte Ziele während HOPE waren die Bestimmung der Energiebilanzkomponenten an der Landoberfläche unter Einbeziehung von nahegelegenen Stationen des TERENO Projektes sowie die Untersuchung der Turbulenzstruktur in der Grenzschicht. Dazu war der zweite WindTracer etwa 3 km westlich der eigentlichen KITcube Supersite stationiert. Durch das Dual Doppler Verfahren konnten so kohärente Strukturen im horizontalen Windfeld detektiert werden. Außerdem ermöglichte dieser spezielle Messaufbau die simultane Beobachtung von Turbulenzprofilen an mehreren Standorten. An der KITcube Supersite standen weiterhin zwei Lidargeräte der Universität Hohenheim, die zeitlich hochaufgelöste Messungen der Temperatur und Feuchte in der Grenzschicht ermöglichen. Durch die Kombination dieser Messungen mit den Radialwindmessungen des WindTracer können Profile der turbulenten Flüsse bestimmt werden, die einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Evaluierung der im Rahmen von HD(CP)² durchgeführten LES leisten.

 

 

DESERVE

Die Region am Toten Meer steht großen Herausforderungen bezüglich Wasser gegenüber. Zu ihnen zählen der Rückgang des Meeresspiegels, die Desertifikation, Überschwemmungen, aufsteigende Salzsolen, die das Trinkwasser verunreinigen, die Ausbildung von Dolinen und wiederkehrendes Auftreten von Erdbeben. Der Klimawandel sowie die extensive Nutzung von Grund- und Oberflächenwasser verschärfen diese Situation zudem. Diese Herausforderungen können nur durch interdisziplinären Forschungsaufwand und unter Einbeziehung aller Anrainerstaaten bewältigt werden. DESERVE ist als ein interdisziplinäres und internationales Kooperationsprojekt der Helmholtz-Zentren KIT, GFZ und UFZ mit bewährten Partnern der Anrainerstaaten konzipiert. Im Rahmen von DESERVE konzentriert sich die Forschung des IMK-TRO auf die Durchführung eines langzeitlichen meteorologischen Monitoring-Netzwerks mit mehreren meteorologischen Stationen in Kombination mit speziellen intensiven Beobachtungsperioden mit KITcube und numerischer Modellierung.

 

 

 

DACCIWA

Im Rahmen des DACCIWA-Projektes (Dynamics-aerosol-chemistry-cloud interactions in West Africa) findet im Sommer 2016 eine Messkampagne Südwestafrika statt. Die Messplattformen beinhalten Forschungsflugzeuge und eine große Anzahl bodengebundener Instrumente in Ghana, Benin und Nigeria. Für einen Zeitraum von etwa zwei Monaten wird der KITcube wird in Savé in Benin betrieben werden. Die Hauptziele dieser Messungen sind es die meteorologischen Bedingungen zu bestimmen, die die komplette Prozesskette umfassen, angefangen von der Entwicklung nächtlicher Stratuswolken, über den dynamischen Übergang zu konvektiven Wolken bis hin zur Entwicklung von Konvektion mit Niederschlag.