Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Topics for Bachelors Theses

As of December 16th, 2019

 

This list should provide an overview of some possible bachelor thesis topics at the IMK. If you are interested in research topics and topics that are not listed here, please do not hesitate to contact the group leaders or researchers directly.

On these pages you will find the working groups of the departments IMK-AAF, IMK-ASF and IMK-TRO.

 


Contact

Dr. Thomas Blumenstock Tel. 22838, thomas.blumenstock∂kit.edu
Dr. Frank Hase, Tel. 22434, frank.hase∂kit.edu
  • Auswertung von Spurengasen aus MIR-Spektren von der Messstation am Campus Nord und die Diskussion der resultierenden Zeitreihen

         Supervision: T. Blumenstock, F. Hase

 


Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke, Tel. 22191, peter.braesicke∂kit.edu
PD Dr. Thomas Clarmann, thomas.clarmann∂kit.edu
Dr. Tobias Kerzenmacher, Tel. 28274, tobias.kerzenmacher∂kit.edu
  • Das ungewöhnliche Verhalten der quasi-zweijährigen Schwingung (QBO) im Jahr 2016

         Supervision: P. Braesicke, T. Kerzenmacher

 


Contact

Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak, Tel. 24510/43675, jan.cermak∂kit.edu
Hendrik Andersen, Tel. 24304/44130, hendrik.andersen∂kit.edu
  • Evaluierung satellitengestützter Wolkenerkennung in Wüstenregionen

         Supervision: J. Cermak

  • Räumliche Muster der Aerosollast aus Satllitendaten

         Supervision: J. Cermak

 


Contact

Dr. Christian Grams , Phone: 26544, grams∂kit.edu
Dr. Dominik Büeler, Phone: 26537, dominik.bueeler∂kit.edu
Dr. Julian Quinting, Phone: 26537, julian.quinting∂kit.edu

 

Dear students

we always have some ideas for bachelor theses on current research topics from our group. Please contact us directly.

Possible topics are:

  •     "The influence of the Madden-Julian oscillation on weather regimes in the Atlantic-European region on time scales  from a few weeks to months."
  •     "Can we better predict ground weather using weather regimes?"
  •     "Is there a connection between Sahara dust eruptions and forecast errors for Europe?

Further information can be found on our MSc/BSc group page: https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/9295.php

We look forward to hearing from you!

Christian Grams, Dominik Büeler, and Julian Quinting


Contact
Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier, Tel. 22843, ulrich.corsmeier∂kit.edu

  • Reichweite und Wechselwirkung von Windsystemen unterschiedlicher Raum- und Zeitskalen am Toten Meer

         Supervision: U. Corsmeier (Beschreibung zum Thema)

  • Klimavariabilität im Tal des Toten Meeres

         Supervision: U. Corsmeier (Beschreibung zum Thema)

 


Contact

Prof. Dr. Corinna Hoose , Tel. 43587, corinna.hoose∂kit.edu 
O. Bruno , Tel. 42761, olimpia.bruno∂kit.edu

         Supervision: O. Bruno, C. Hoose

         Supervision: Q. Coopman, C. Hoose

 


Contact

PD Dr. Michael Höpfner, Tel. 24329, michael.hoepfner∂kit.edu
Felix Friedl-Vallon, Tel. 24834, felix.friedl-vallon∂kit.edu

Wir bieten an:

Analyse von verschiedenen flugzeug- und ballongetragenen Fernerkundungsexperimenten von der oberen Troposphäre bis zur mittleren Stratosphäre und deren Interpretation z.B. mittels Chemie-/Klimamodellen.

Supervision: M. Höpfner, G. Wetzel, W. Woiwode, S. Johansson

 


Contact

Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Tel. 24230, norbert.kalthoff∂kit.edu
Dr. Andreas Wieser, Tel. 22841, andreas.wieser∂kit.edu
  • Classification of weather situations leading into heavy precipitation events in the Eastern Ore Mountains (Kurzbeschreibung)

         Supervision: A. Wieser, J. Handwerker

 


Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz, Tel. 43565, peter.knippertz∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Andreas Fink, Tel. 48711, andreas.fink∂kit.edu

           Supervision: A. H. Fink, M. Maranan

            Supervision: A. H. Fink/ P. Knippertz, L. Eisenstein

 


Contact

Dr. Alexei Kiselev, Tel. 26662, Email alexei.kiselev∂kit.edu
Dr. Ahmed Abdelmonem, Tel. 24520, ahmed-abdelmonem∂kit.edu
Dr. Nadine Hoffmann, Tel. 28689, nadine.hoffmann∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Thomas Leisner, Tel. 24865, Email thomas.leisner∂kit.edu
  • Eisnukleation in unterkühlten Meerwassertropfen

         Supervision: A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann

  • Lichtstreuung an levitierten gefrorenen Wassertropfen mit rauen Oberflächen

         Supervision: A. Kiselev

  • Einfluss von Frostschutzprotein auf das Wachstum von Eiskristallen

         Supervision: A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann

  • Sekundäreisproduktion in Meerwassertropfen

         Supervision: A. Kiselev, T. Leisner

  • Probing adsorption and deposition ice nucleation of water on the sapphire substrate using optical methods

         Supervision: A. Abdelmonem, T. Leisner

 


Contact

Dr. Ottmar Möhler, Tel. 24287, ottmar.moehler∂kit.edu
Dr. Larissa Lacher, Tel. 23979, larissa.lacher∂kit.edu
Dr. Kristina Höhler, Tel. 28690 , kristina.hoehler∂kit.edu
  • Pallas Cloud Experiment – atmosphärische Wolkeneisbildung durch Aerosole in Nordfinnland

             Supervision: L. Lacher

  • Jahreszeitenabhängige Eisaktivität atmosphärischer Aerosole am Sonnblick Observatorium

              Supervision: K. Höhler

 


Contact

Prof. Dr. Joaquim G. Pinto, Tel. 28467, joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu
Dr. Julia Mömken, Tel. 22805, julia.moemken∂kit.edu
Dr. Lisa-Ann Kautz, 22805, lisa-ann.kautz∂kit.edu
Dr. Patrick Ludwig, Tel. 24942, patrick.ludwig∂kit.edu
  • Predictability of the wind chill temperature in medium range ensemble forecasts during the 2018 late winter cold spell in Europe

         Supervision: L.A Kautz, J.G. Pinto            

         Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

  • Storm tracks variability under glacial climate conditions based on PMIP3 simulations

         Supervision: J.G. Pinto, P. Ludwig

         Project: Paleolink (PAGES)


Kontakt
Dr. Marcus Breil, Tel. 24793, marcus.breil∂kit.edu

Dr. Gerd Schädler, Tel. 22085, gerd.schaedler∂kit.edu

  • Verbesserung der Niederschlagssimulation im Westlichen Sahel durch eine stochastische Variation der Wurzeltiefen

             Betreuung: M. Breil, G. Schädler (Beschreibung zum Thema)

  • Die Auswirkung von Aufforstung auf den Strahlungshaushalt in Europa

             Betreuung: M. Breil, G. Schädler (Beschreibung zum Thema)


Contact

Dr. Martin Schnaiter, Tel. 24332, martin.schnaiter∂kit.edu
Dr. Emma Järvinen, Tel. 25971, emma.jaervinen∂kit.edu
  • Nachweis und Charakterisierung von Eispartikeln in arktischen Mischphasenwolken - Auswertung von Flugzeugmessdaten

         Supervision: E. Järvinen, M. Schnaiter


Contact

Dr. Bernhard Vogel Tel. 24233, bernhard.vogel∂kit.edu
Dr. Heike Vogel, Tel. 23951, heike.vogel∂kit.edu
  • "Gibt es einen Zusammenhang zwischen Saharastaubausbrüchen und Vorhersagefehlern für Europa?"

            (co-supervision AG Vogel und AG Grams)

         Supervision: C. Grams, J. Quinting, H. Vogel, B. Vogel


Contact

Dr. Aiko Voigt, Tel. 24324, aiko.voigt∂kit.edu