Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Proposed topics for Bachelor theses

As of September 2020

This list should give an overview of some possible bachelor thesis topics at the IMK. If you are interested in certain research areas and topics that are not listed here, please do not hesitate to contact the heads of the research groups or scientists directly.

On these pages you will find the working groups of the departments IMK-AAF, IMK-ASF and IMK-TRO.

 

AG Blumenstock (IMK-ASF)

Kontakt

Dr. Thomas Blumenstock Tel. 22838, thomas.blumenstock∂kit.edu
Dr. Frank Hase, Tel. 22434, frank.hase∂kit.edu
  • Auswertung von Spurengasen aus MIR-Spektren von der Messstation am Campus Nord und die Diskussion der resultierenden Zeitreihen

           Betreuung: T. Blumenstock, F. Hase

 

AG Braesicke (IMK-ASF)

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke, Tel. 22191, peter.braesicke∂kit.edu
PD Dr. Thomas Clarmann, thomas.clarmann∂kit.edu
Dr. Tobias Kerzenmacher, Tel. 28274, tobias.kerzenmacher∂kit.edu
  • Das ungewöhnliche Verhalten der quasi-zweijährigen Schwingung (QBO) im Jahr 2016

           Betreuung: P. Braesicke, T. Kerzenmacher

 

AG Cermak (IMK-ASF und IPF)

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak, Tel. 24510/43675, jan.cermak∂kit.edu
Hendrik Andersen, Tel. 24304/44130, hendrik.andersen∂kit.edu
  • Evaluierung satellitengestützter Wolkenerkennung in Wüstenregionen

           Betreuung: J. Cermak

  • Räumliche Muster der Aerosollast aus Satllitendaten

           Betreuung: J. Cermak

 

AG Grams (IMK-TRO)

Kontakt

Dr. Christian Grams , Phone: 26544, grams∂kit.edu

Dr. Dominik Büeler, Phone: 26537, dominik.bueeler∂kit.edu

Dr. Julian Quinting, Phone: 26537, julian.quinting∂kit.edu

 

Liebe Studierende,

wir haben immer einige Ideen für Bachelorarbeiten zu aktuellen Forschungsthemen aus unserer Gruppe. Bitte meldet euch einfach direkt bei uns.

Mögliche Themen sind:

  • "Der Einfluss der Madden-Julian-Oszillation auf Wetterregime im Atlantisch-Europäischen Raum auf Zeitskalen von einigen Wochen bis Monaten."

  • "Können wir Bodenwetter anhand von Wetterregimen besser vorhersagen?"

  • "Gibt es einen Zusammenhang zwischen Saharastaubausbrüchen und Vorhersagefehlern für Europa?"

Weitere Informationen findet ihr auf unserer MSc/BSc Gruppenseite: https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/9295.php

Wir freuen uns auf eure Kontaktaufnahme!

Christian Grams, Dominik Büeler, and Julian Quinting

 

AG Hoose (IMK-TRO)

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Corinna Hoose , Tel. 43587, corinna.hoose∂kit.edu 
O. Bruno , Tel. 42761, olimpia.bruno∂kit.edu

           Supervisors: O. Bruno, C. Hoose

           Supervisor:s Q. Coopman, C. Hoose

 

AG Höpfner/Friedl-Vallon (IMK-ASF)

Kontakt

PD Dr. Michael Höpfner, Tel. 25948, michael.hoepfner∂kit.edu
Felix Friedl-Vallon, Tel. 24834, felix.friedl-vallon∂kit.edu

Wir bieten an:

Analyse von verschiedenen flugzeug- und ballongetragenen Fernerkundungsexperimenten von der oberen Troposphäre bis zur mittleren Stratosphäre und deren Interpretation z.B. mittels Chemie-/Klimamodellen.

Supervision: M. Höpfner, G. Wetzel, W. Woiwode, S. Johansson

 

AG Knippertz, IMK-TRO

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz, Tel. 43565, peter.knippertz∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Andreas Fink, Tel. 48711, andreas.fink∂kit.edu

           Betreuung: A. H. Fink, M. Maranan

  • Fallstudien zur Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit von Winterstürmen

           Betreuung: P. Knippertz, L. Eisenstein

           Betreuung: A. H. Fink. J. Pinto, F. Becker

 
 

AG Leisner, IMK-AAF

Kontakt

Dr. Alexei Kiselev, Tel. 26662, Email alexei.kiselev∂kit.edu
Dr. Ahmed Abdelmonem, Tel. 24520, ahmed-abdelmonem∂kit.edu
Dr. Nadine Hoffmann, Tel. 28689, nadine.hoffmann∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Thomas Leisner, Tel. 24865, Email thomas.leisner∂kit.edu
  • Eisnukleation in unterkühlten Meerwassertropfen

           Betreuung: A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann

  • Lichtstreuung an levitierten gefrorenen Wassertropfen mit rauen Oberflächen

           Betreuung: A. Kiselev

  • Einfluss von Frostschutzprotein auf das Wachstum von Eiskristallen

           Betreuung: A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann

  • Sekundäreisproduktion in Meerwassertropfen

           Betreuung: A. Kiselev, T. Leisner

  • Probing adsorption and deposition ice nucleation of water on the sapphire substrate using optical methods

           Betreuung: A. Abdelmonem, T. Leisner

 

AG Möhler, IMK-AAF

Kontakt

Dr. Ottmar Möhler, Tel. 24287, ottmar.moehler∂kit.edu

Dr. Larissa Lacher, Tel. 23979, larissa.lacher∂kit.edu

Dr. Kristina Höhler, Tel. 28690 , kristina.hoehler∂kit.edu
  • Pallas Cloud Experiment – atmosphärische Wolkeneisbildung durch Aerosole in Nordfinnland

           Betreuung: L. Lacher

  • Jahreszeitenabhängige Eisaktivität atmosphärischer Aerosole am Sonnblick Observatorium

            Betreuung: K. Höhler

 

AG Pinto, IMK-TRO

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Joaquim G. Pinto, Tel. 28467, joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu
Dr. Julia Mömken, Tel. 22805, julia.moemken∂kit.edu
Dr. Lisa-Ann Kautz, 22805, lisa-ann.kautz∂kit.edu
Dr. Patrick Ludwig, Tel. 24942, patrick.ludwig∂kit.edu
  • Predictability of the wind chill temperature in medium range ensemble forecasts during the 2018 late winter cold spell in Europe

           Betreuung: L.A Kautz, J.G. Pinto            

           Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

  • Storm tracks variability under glacial climate conditions based on PMIP3 simulations

           Betreuung: J.G. Pinto, P. Ludwig

           Project: Paleolink (PAGES)

 

AG Schädler, IMK-TRO

Kontakt

Dr. Marcus Breil, Tel. 24793, marcus.breil∂kit.edu

Dr. Gerd Schädler, Tel. 22085, gerd.schaedler∂kit.edu

  • Verbesserung der Niederschlagssimulation im Westlichen Sahel durch eine stochastische Variation der Wurzeltiefen

           Betreuung: M. Breil, G. Schädler (Beschreibung zum Thema)

  • Die Auswirkung von Aufforstung auf den Strahlungshaushalt in Europa

           Betreuung: M. Breil, G. Schädler (Beschreibung zum Thema)

 

AG Schnaiter, IMK-AAF

Kontakt

Dr. Martin Schnaiter, Tel. 24332, martin.schnaiter∂kit.edu
Dr. Emma Järvinen, Tel. 25971, emma.jaervinen∂kit.edu
  • Nachweis und Charakterisierung von Eispartikeln in arktischen Mischphasenwolken - Auswertung von Flugzeugmessdaten

           Betreuung: E. Järvinen, M. Schnaiter

 

AG Vogel, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Bernhard Vogel, Phone: 24233, bernhard.vogel∂kit.edu

Aerosol processes and interactions

  • Do Saharan dust outbreaks in spring affect weather predictability in Europe?

                        Co-Supervision AG Vogel and AG Grams

  • Development of a simplified aerosol model for operational weather prediction applications

                        Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Optical properties of sub-grid clouds and their dependence on aerosols

                        Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Chemical processing of aerosols during atmospheric transport

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, H. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

  • How would the great green wall in Africa affect the dust emissions?

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

Data processing and model validation

  • Validation of DWD desert dust forecast data using satellite and ground-based measurements

                       Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

  • Analysis of aerosol budgets and trends using model and satellite data

                       Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

Machine learning applications in aerosol modeling

  • Parameterization of aerosol emissions using artificial neural network 

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

  • Parameterization of aerosol properties and interactions using artificial neural network 

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour