deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Topics for your Master's Thesis

As of May 06, 2019

 

 

This list is an overview of possible topics for your Master's Thesis at IMK. If you are interested in a special research field or like to analyze topics that are not listed here, don't hesitate to contact the respective working group leaders or researchers.

Here you find more information about the working groups of the departments IMK-AAF, IMK-ASF and IMK-TRO.


Contact

Dr. Thomas Blumenstock, Phone: 22838, thomas.blumenstock∂kit.edu
Dr. Matthias Schneider, Phone: 26222, matthias.schneider∂kit.edu
  • Optimieren des MUSICA MetOp/IASI Satellitenprozessors (H2O, HDO, N2O, CH4, HNO3) durch Berücksichtigung von Wasserkontinuums-Effekten und dessen Validierung anhand von NDACC/FTIR und GRUAN Referenzdaten

            Supervision: M. Schneider

  • Klimatologische Vergleiche von gemessener und modellierter Isotopogen-Zusammensetzung des troposphärischen Wasserdampfes (MUSICA NDACC/FTIR bodengebundene Fernerkundungsmessdaten versus ECHAM5-wiso und ICON-ART-iso Modelldaten)

            Supervision: M. Schneider, R. Ruhnke (AG, IMK-MOD)

More Information about the Topic: http://www.imk-asf.kit.edu/english/musica.php


Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke, Phone: 22191, peter.braesicke∂kit.edu
  • Thermal Tropopause

            Supervision: P. Braesicke

  • Quasi-biennial Oscillation(QBO) in 2016

            Supervision: P. Braesicke

  • Indic Summer Monsoon

            Supervision: P. Braesicke

  • Exchange Processes between Troposphere and Stratosphere

             Supervision: P. Braesicke


Contact

Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak, Phone: 24510/43675, jan.cermak∂kit.edu
Folke Olesen, Phone: 22109, folke.olesen∂kit.edu
Dr. Frank Göttsche, Phone: 23821, frank.goettsche∂kit.edu
  • Satellite remote sensing of Namib-region fog

            Supervision: J. Cermak, H. Andersen

  • Generation of land-cover maps from thermal surface parameters and vegetation indices

            Supervision: F. Göttsche

  • Satellite estimaes of solar radiation in West Africa (mit AG Knippertz)

            Supervision: A. Kniffka, J. Cermak, P. Knippertz

  • Development of a technique to detect and predict fog dissipation based on satellite observations

            Supervision: J. Cermak

  • Infrared spectroscopy of selected surfaces (Namibia or Germany) for satellite data validation

            Supervision: F. Olesen


Contact

Dr. Christian Grams , Phone: 26544, grams∂kit.edu
Dr. Dominik Büeler, Phone: 26537, dominik.bueeler∂kit.edu
Dr. Julian Quinting, Phone: 26537, julian.quinting∂kit.edu
  • The linkage of serial cyclone clustering and weather regimes (co-supervision by AG Pinto and AG Grams)

            Supervision: C. Grams, J.G. Pinto

            Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

  • The impact of extratropical transition of tropical cyclones on the midlatitude flow on subseasonal time scales

  • Modulation of surface weather by weather regimes in the European region. Do forecasts based on regimes provide better skill on subseasonal time scales?

All topics will be co-supervised by members of the working group. For Details contact C. Grams / D. Büeler / J. Quinting.

  • Do Saharan dust outbreaks in spring affect predictability in Europe?

    • Co-Supervision AG Vogel and AG Grams

                              Supervisors: C. Grams, J. Quinting, H. Vogel, B. Vogel

Feel free to contact us for more information. We are also open for own research ideas in the field of large-scale dynamics and predictability.


Contact

Prof. Dr. Corinna Hoose , Phone: 43587, corinna.hoose∂kit.edu 
Dr. Christian Barthlott, Phone: 46751, christian.barthlott∂kit.edu
  • Einfluss orographischer Strukturen auf die Wolken- und Niederschlagsentstehung über Korsika (Description)

            Supervision: C. Barthlott, C. Hoose

  • Enhancement of cloud property dataset from tracking algorithm with active measurements and reanalysis databases (Description)

            Supervision: Dr. Q. Coopman, Prof. Dr. C. Hoose

  • Cloud properties from active measurementes from space-based instruments and use of forward simulations of Doppler Radar(Description)

          Supervision:Dr. Q. Coopman, Prof. Dr. C. Hoose

  • Idealized squall line setup in ICON (Description)

            Supervision: Dr. H. Beydoun, Prof. Dr. C. Hoose

  • Secondary ice formation (Description)

            Supervision: Dr. H. Beydoun, Prof. Dr. C. Hoose


Contact

PD Dr. Michael Höpfner, Phone: 24329, michael.hoepfner∂kit.edu
Felix Friedl-Vallon, Phone: 24834, felix.friedl-vallon∂kit.edu
Dr. Wolfgang Woiwode, Phone: 23024, wolfgang.woiwode∂kit.edu
Sören Johansson, Phone: 26971, soeren.johansson∂kit.edu
 
We offer:
Analyse von verschiedenen flugzeug- und ballongetragenen Fererkundungsexperimenten von der oberen Troposphäre bis zur mittleren Stratosphäre und deren Interpretation z.B. mittels Chemie-/Klimamodellen.

Analysis of various aircraft and balloon-borne remote sensing experiments from the upper troposphere to the middle stratosphere and their interpretation, with,  e.g., chemical / climate models.

For example:

  • Analyse von Wasserdampf und den Isotopomeren HDO und H2(18)O aus tropischen MIPAS-Ballon Messungen (Description)

           Supervision: G. Wetzel, M. Höpfner


Contact

Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Phone: 24230, norbert.kalthoff∂kit.edu
Dr. Jan Handwerker, Phone: 22847, jan.handwerker∂kit.edu
  • Untersuchung der Turbulenz in der tropischen Grenzschicht mit Hilfe von Lidar, Radarwindprofiler und Drohne (Description)

            Supervision: N. Kalthoff, B. Adler

  • Radar und Dämpfung durch Windenergieanlagen (Description)

            Supervision:J. Handwerker

  • Erfassung der vertikalen Struktur der urbanen Grenzschicht in Stuttgart

           Supervision: N. Kalthoff, O. Kisileva

  • Vergleich von Tagesgängen der Grenzschicht mit Bewölkung in Wetafrika

            Supervision: N. Kalthoff, B. Adler, K. Babic


Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz, Phone: 43565, peter.knippertz∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Andreas Fink, Phone: 48711, andreas.fink∂kit.edu

            Supervision: A. H. Fink, M. Maranan

            Supervision: A. H. Fink, R. van der Linden

            Supervision: P. Knippertz, G. Pante

            Supervision: P. Knippertz, G. Pante

            Supervision: P. Knippertz, G. Pante

 


Contact

Prof. Dr. Michael Kunz, Phone: 22840, Email michael.kunz∂kit.edu
  • Statistische Niederschlagsanalysen im Kontext des Klimawandels für Georgien

              Supervision: S. Mohr, M. Kunz

  • Analyse der Umgebungsbedingungen konvektiver Starkniederschlagsereignisse in Deutschland auf der Grundlage von RADOLAN Daten und Reanalysen

              Supervision: S. Mohr, M. Kunz

  • Tageszeitliche Entwicklung der konvektiven Umgebungsbedingungen basierend auf hoch-aufgelösten COSMO-EU Modellanalysen

              Supervision: J. Wilhelm, M. Kunz

  • Verlagerung von Superzellen in West- und Mitteleuropa aus der Kombination von Radartracks und Reanalysen

              Supervision: M. Kunz, M. Schmidberger


Contact

Dr. Alexei Kiselev, Phone: 26662, Email alexei.kiselev∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Thomas Leisner, Phone: 24865, Email thomas.leisner∂kit.edu
  • Elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchung von Eiswachstum auf natürlichen Mineraloberflächen

            Supervision: A. Kiselev

  • Eismultiplikation beim Gefrieren unterkühlter Wolkentropfen

            Supervision: A. Kiselev, T. Leisner

  • Kontaktgefrieren levitierter Wolkentropfen

            Supervision: N. Hoffmann, A. Kiselev

  • Charakterisierung von Eiskeimfähigkeit natürlicher Mineralstaubpartikel

            Supervision: A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann


Contact

Dr. Ottmar Möhler, Phone 24287, ottmar.moehler∂kit.edu
Dr. Kristina Höhler, Phone 28690, kristina.hoehler∂kit.edu
Nsikanabasi Umo, Phone 23734, nsikanabasi.umo∂partner.kit.edu
  • Entwicklung und Anwendung einer neuen Methode zur Untersuchung der partikelgrößenabhängigen Eisnukleation

        Supervision: K. Höhler
  • Untersuchung zur Eisaktivität von Staub aus der Polarregion

             Supervision: N. Umo


Contact

Prof. Dr. Joaquim Pinto, Phone: 28467, joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu
  • Estimation of diabatic processes in extratropical cyclones in ERA-5 Reanalysis

            Supervision: L.-A. Kautz, J.G. Pinto

            Project: ClimXtreme A (BMBF)

  • Recurrence of drought events in Iberia in EURO-CORDEX regional climate climate projections

            Supervision: J. Mömken, J.G. Pinto

            Project: Recurrent Droughts in Iberia (DFG)

  • Evaluation of differrent downscaling methods for precipitation affecting the main river catchments in Central Europe

            Supervision: F. Ehmele, J.G. Pinto

            Project: Flood Risk for Central Europe (AON)

  • What lead to the strong snow accumulation in the northern Alpine ranges in January 2019?

            Supervision: J.G. Pinto, A.H. Fink

            Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

  • Characterisation of rainfall variability for Lake Victoria at the regional scale using a statistical-dynamical approach

            Supervision: P. Ludwig, J.G. Pinto, A.H. Fink

            Project: CORDEX FPS ELVIC (CORDEX)

  • Analysis of the dynamics of windstorm Christian (27.-28. October 2013) using the ICON model and impacts over Europe

            Supervision: H. Lentink, J.G. Pinto

            Project: Windstorm Risk for Central Europe (AON)

  • Characteristics of selected major sudden stratospheric warming events and their links to European cold waves in extended range ensemble forecast

            Supervision: L.-A. Kautz, J.G. Pinto

            Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

  • Distribution of Permafrost in Europe during last Glacial Maximum

            Supervision: P. Ludwig, J.G. Pinto

            Project: Paleolink (PAGES)

  • The linkage of serial cyclone clustering and weather regimes (co-supervision by AG Pinto and AG Grams)

            Supervision: C. Grams, J.G. Pinto

            Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)


Contact

Dr. Björn-Martin Sinnhuber, Phone: 24735, bjoern-martin.sinnhuber∂kit.edu
  • Untersuchung der troposphärischen Ozonverteilung mit ICON-ART

            Supervision: R. Ruhnke

  • Analyse von Chemie-Klimamodellsimulationen im Rahmen der internationalen Chemistry Climate Modelling Initiative (CCMI)

            Supervision: B.-M. Sinnhuber

  • Entwicklung eines Gitter-Boltzmann dynamischen Kerns für das Wettervorhersagemodell ICON/ Development of a Lattice Boltzmann dynamical core for the weather forecasting model ICON (Description)

            Supervision: B.-M. Sinnhuber


Contact

Dr. Harald Saathoff, Phone: 22897, harald.saathoff∂kit.edu
  • Bestimmung von Partikelbildungsraten und Partikelwachstumsraten aus Simulationskammerexperimenten mit organischen Aerosolen (Description)

  • Untersuchung der räumlichen Verteilung atmosphärischer Aerosolpartikel mittels eines 3D-Scanning Aerosol LIDARS (Description)

  • Entwicklung massenspektroskopischer Methoden für die Analyse einzelner Aerosolpartikel (Description)

Supervision: H. Saathoff


Contact

Dr. Gerd Schädler, Phone: 22085, gerd.schaedler∂kit.edu
  • Bereich Paläoklima: Entwicklung und Anwendung einer Strategie zum Vergleich von modellierten Isotopendaten mit Proxy-Daten

  • Bereiche Paläoklima/Mittelfristige Klimaprognosen: Vergleich verschiedener Klassifizierungsverfahren für Wetterlagen

Supervision: G. Schädler


Contact

Dr. Miriam Sinnhuber, Phone: 24908, miriam.sinnhuber∂kit.edu,

imk-asf.kit.edu/english/msk.php

  • ICON-ART Modellstudien zur Vorbereitung der SOUTHRAC-Flugzeugkampagne

            Supervision: M. Sinnhuber

  • ICON-ART Modellstudien zur Sensitivität von Klimavorhersagen

            Supervision: M. Sinnhuber


Contact

Dr. Bernhard Vogel, Phone: 24233, bernhard.vogel∂kit.edu
  • Do Saharan dust outbreaks in spring affect predictability in Europe?

    • Co-Supervision AG Vogel and AG Grams

                              Supervisors: C. Grams, J. Quinting, H. Vogel, B. Vogel

  • Entwicklung eines einfachen Aerosolmodells zur operationellen Anwendung in der Wettervorhersage

             Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Quantifizierung der Auswirkungen von Kondensstreifen auf die Phozovoltaikproduktion in Deutschland für ein Referenzjahr

             Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Optische Eigenschaften subgridskaliger Wolken und deren Abhängigkeit von Aerosolen

             Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Simulation von sekundären Partikeln als Folge von starken Vulkanausbrüchen

             Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Auswirkungen der Depostition von Mineralstaub auf das Phystoplanktopn

             Supervision: B. Vogel


Contact

Dr. Aiko Voigt, Phone: 24324, aiko.voigt∂kit.edu

             Supervision: C. Braun, A. Voigt

             Supervision: N. Albern, A. Voigt

              Supervision: G. Papavasileou, A. Voigt