Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

1st ClimXtreme – Module A meeting takes place in Karlsruhe

On the 9th and 10th of January 2020, the IMK held the first Climate change and eXtreme Events (ClimXtreme) project meeting, devoted to Module A, Physics and Processes.

On the 9th and 10th of January 2020, the IMK held the first Climate change and eXtreme Events (ClimXtreme) project meeting, devoted to Module A, Physics and Processes. Over thirty international colleagues of ten leading German research institutions gathered at the IMK-TRO building at Campus North to discuss and share ideas on the recently started project ClimXtreme. The whole steering group (A. Hense - Uni Bonn, C. Kottmeier - IMK-TRO, F. Kaspar -DWD and U. Ulbrich – FU Berlin) also attended this special meeting.

This German-based initiative, funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), aims at answering two of the, probably, most frequently asked questions to climate change scientists. To which extent, has past climate change lead to more weather extremes? And will the expected future climate change modify the occurrence of such weather types? The impact of climate change on the earth system needs further understanding and statistical quantification for weather extremes to assess, for instance, to which extent can be the observed changes in weather extremes attributed to human influences.

To this end, ClimXtreme will analyse the large existing ensembles of climate and weather simulations from German and international research programs such as MiKlip, HD(CP)2, REKLIM, CMIP or CORDEX, which cover many thousand simulation years, comparing them with state-of-the-art observations and reanalysis data to ensure the validation of the obtained results. A highlight of the project is the employment of a joint computing evaluation system, fostered by the Free University of Berlin (FREVA) that works as a collaborative hub for data storage and software development. FREVA will allow a faster data and code exchange between the different groups in an easy to use low-end web application. Precisely, is the collaboration between interdisciplinary working groups one of the best assets of ClimXtreme, since not only atmospheric physics and processes will be studied (Module A), but also the Statistics and Attribution (Module B) and the Impact View (Module C).

IMK-TRO is the largest participant of the Module A (Physics and Processes) with four subprojects aiming at an improved process understanding of different extreme weather types in Central Europe. In particular, extreme precipitation will be studied within the subproject A1 “Scale Dependent Processes Representation and Sensitivity Analysis for Most Extreme Events (SEVERE). The focus of A5 “The role of multi-scale Dynamical Processes in shaping recent and future extreme Heat waves over Germany (DynProHeat)” is on heat waves. The dynamics and statistics of cyclones and large-scale circulations will be analysed in A6 “Intensity and structural changes of extreme mid-latitude cyclones change in a warming climate” (CyclEx). Finally, the influence of large-scale processes and mechanisms on severe convective storms variability and characteristics will be assessed in A7 “Long-term Variability and serial Clustering of Severe Thunderstorms in a changing climate” (VarCluST).

We wish a successful start to ClimXtreme and many fruitful and interesting results in anticipation of the Kick-off meeting to take place in April in Berlin!

 

Figure 1. Group picture of the 1st ClimXtreme - Module A meeting at IMK on 9th-10th January, 2020

 

Webpages:

Project page: www.climxtreme.de

Funding announcement: https://www.bmbf.de/foerderungen/bekanntmachung-1477.html

 

Contact:

Christoph Kottmeier (christoph.kottmeier∂kit.edu)

Joaquim G. Pinto (joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu)

Hendrik Feldmann (hendrik.feldmann∂kit.edu)

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

1. ClimXtreme - Modul A Treffen findet in Karlsruhe statt

Am 9. und 10. Januar 2020 fand am IMK das erste Projekttreffen des Modul A, Physik und Prozesse des Projektes “Klimawandel und Extremereignisse” (ClimXtreme) statt.

Am 9. und 10. Januar 2020 fand am IMK das erste Projekttreffen des Modul A, Physik und Prozesse des Projektes “Klimawandel und Extremereignisse” (ClimXtreme) statt. Über dreißig internationale Kollegen von zehn führenden deutschen Forschungseinrichtungen kamen im Gebäude der IMK-TRO auf dem Campus Nord zusammen, um das kürzlich gestartete Projekt ClimXtreme zu diskutieren und Ideen auszutauschen. Die gesamte Lenkungsgruppe (A. Hense - Uni Bonn, C. Kottmeier - IMK-TRO, F. Kaspar -DWD und U. Ulbrich – FU Berlin) nahm ebenfalls an dieser Sondersitzung teil.

 

Diese vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Initiative hat das Ziel, zwei der wohl am häufigsten gestellten Fragen an Wissenschaftler zum Thema Klimawandel zu beantworten: Inwieweit hat der Klimawandel in der Vergangenheit zu mehr Wetterextremen geführt? Und wird der erwartete zukünftige Klimawandel das Auftreten solcher Wettertypen verändern? Um die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf das Erdsystem zu untersuchen bedarf es eines besseren Verständnisses und einer statistischen Quantifizierung dieser Wetterextreme, um beispielsweise beurteilen zu können, in welchem Ausmaß die beobachteten Veränderungen von Wetterextremen auf menschliche Einflüsse zurückzuführen sind.

 

Zu diesem Zweck werden in ClimXtreme die existierende großen Ensembles von Klima- und Wettersimulationen aus deutschen und internationalen Forschungsprogrammen wie MiKlip, HD(CP)2, REKLIM, CMIP oder CORDEX, die insgesamt viele tausend Simulationsjahre umfassen, analysiert und mit den neuesten Beobachtungen und Reanalysedaten verglichen, um die Validierung der erzielten Ergebnisse sicherzustellen. Ein Highlight des Projekts ist der Einsatz eines gemeinsamen Computerauswertungssystems, das von der Freien Universität Berlin (FREVA) entwickelt wurde und als kollaborative Drehscheibe für Datenspeicherung und Softwareentwicklung arbeitet. FREVA wird einen schnelleren Daten- und Code-Austausch zwischen den verschiedenen Gruppen in einer einfach zu bedienenden Low-End-Webanwendung ermöglichen. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen interdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppen bietet neue Möglichkeiten, da nicht nur die Atmosphärenphysik und deren Prozesse (Modul A), sondern auch die statistischen Methoden und Attribution (Modul B) und die Wirkungsanalyse (Modul C) untersucht werden.

 

Das IMK ist mit vier Teilprojekten der größte Partner von Modul A. Die Projekte haben ein verbessertes Verständnis der Prozesse, die zu den verschiedenen Typen extremer Wetterereignisse in Mitteleuropa führen, zum Ziel. Im Einzelnen werden Extremniederschlägen im Projekt A1 "Skalenabhängige Prozessdarstellung und Sensitivitätsanalyse für die schwersten Extremereignisse“ (SEVERE).  Hitzewellen stehen im Fokus des Projekts A5 "Die Rolle multiskaliger dynamischer Prozesse bei der Gestaltung jüngster und zukünftiger extremer Hitzewellen über Deutschland“ (DynProHeat). Die Dynamik und Statistik von Zyklonen und großräumigen Zirkulation wird in A6 "Intensität und Strukturveränderungen extremer Zyklonen mittlerer Breiten in einem sich erwärmenden Klima" (CyclEx) analysiert. Schließlich werden die Variabilität und Charakteristika schwerer konvektiver Stürme in A7 "Langzeitvariabilität und zeitliche Clusterbildung schwerer Gewitter in einem sich ändernden Klima" (VarCluST) untersucht.

 

Wir wünschen einen erfolgreichen Start von ClimXtreme und viele fruchtbare und interessante Ergebnisse in Erwartung des Kick-off-Treffens, das im April in Berlin stattfinden wird!

 

 

Figure 1. Group picture of the 1st ClimXtreme - Module A meeting at IMK on 9th-10th January, 2020

 

Webpages:

Project page: www.climxtreme.de

Funding announcement: https://www.bmbf.de/foerderungen/bekanntmachung-1477.html

Contact:

Christoph Kottmeier (christoph kottmeierGiu1∂kit edu)

Joaquim G. Pinto (joaquim pintoQlj9∂kit edu)

Hendrik Feldmann (hendrik feldmannJew1∂kit edu)