deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Working Group "Atmospheric Risks"

Group leader PD Dr. Michael Kunz, Deputy group leader Dr. Susanna Mohr

Meteorological extreme events, such as winter storms, heavy precipitation, hail, or convective wind gusts are often associated with serious impacts for the society and their assets. These events, however, occur not everywhere with the same intensity, but exhibit a high spatial and temporal variability especially due to topographic influences. Further, it is expected that the probability and intensity of extreme events will change as a result of climate change.

AG_Kunz

Within this context, various research projects are carried out in the working group "Atmospheric Risks". In the course of the relevant weather systems are hailstorms, mesoscale precipitation systems and convective wind gusts. The following scientific questions are addressed:

  • How can the hazard of extreme weather events be estimated in high spatial resolution? Where do the highest intensities (storm, hail) occur?
  • What are the trends of meteorological extremes in the past and what is expected for the future?
  • What is the role of orography in the amplification or weakening of atmospheric disturbances?
  • Which severe weather events can be expected in the next few days and where?

To answer these questions, various observational data sets (station data, radar data, radiosonde data, loss data from insurance companies) and simulation results from operational weather prediction models and regional climate models are evaluated and analyzed by applying modern statistical methods. These works are supplemented by modeling studies with numerical and diagnostic models to reproduce the relevant physical processes in detail and, thus, to gain a better understanding of these phenomena.

 

Current News

willis
10th Year Anniversary of Willis Research Network

Our European hail model is one of the flagship projects of the Willis Research Network.

more...
Paper_neu_300px.jpg
New papers!

With the titles "Interaction of severe convective gusts with a street canyon" and "Harmonizing and comparing single-type natural hazard risk estimations"

more...
Muehr_Hagel_800px.jpg
SAVE THE DATE: 2nd European Hail Workshop

19 -21 April 2017, University of Bern, Switzerland

more...
 


Here you found older News

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Arbeitsgruppe "Atmosphärische Risiken"

Gruppenleiter Prof. Dr. Michael Kunz, Stellv. Gruppenleiterin Dr. Susanna Mohr

Meteorologische Extremereignisse wie Winterstürme, Starkniederschläge,  Hagel oder konvektive Starkwindereignisse  sind häufig mit schwerwiegenden Folgen für die Gesellschaft und ihre Werte verbunden. Sie treten allerdings nicht überall mit der gleichen Intensität auf, sondern weisen vor allem aufgrund von topografischen Einflüssen eine hohe räumliche und zeitliche Variabilität auf. Darüber hinaus ist zu erwarten, dass sich die Häufigkeit und Intensität von Extremereignissen als Folge des Klimawandels ändern wird.

AG_Kunz

Zu diesem Themenkomplex werden in der Arbeitsgruppe „Atmosphärische Risiken“ verschiedene Forschungsarbeiten durchgeführt. Derzeit werden vor allem Hagelstürme, mesoskalige Niederschlagssysteme und konvektive Starkwindereignisse hinsichtlich ihrer statistischen Eigenschaften näher untersucht. Folgende wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen stehen dabei im Vordergrund der Forschungsarbeiten:

  • Wie kann die Gefährdung durch meteorologische Extremereignisse in hoher räumlicher Auflösung abgeschätzt werden? Wo treten die höchsten Intensitäten auf?
  • Welche Trends können in der Vergangenheit beobachtet werden und was ist in der Zukunft zu erwarten?
  • Welche Rolle spielt die Orografie bei der Verstärkung oder Abschwächung atmosphärischer Störungen?
  • Welche meteorologischen Extremereignisse sind in den nächsten Tagen wo zu erwarten?

Zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen werden verschiedene Beobachtungsdaten (Stationsdaten, Radardaten, Radiosondendaten, Schadendaten verschiedener Versicherungen) und Simulationsergebnisse operationeller Wettervorhersagemodelle und regionaler Klimamodelle ausgewertet und mit Hilfe moderner statistischer Methoden analysiert. Diese Arbeiten werden ergänzt durch Modellstudien mit numerischen und diagnostischen Modellen, um die relevanten physikalischen Prozesse im Detail abzubilden und besser zu verstehen.

 

Aktuelle News

Willis_Flagship2017.png
Willis Hagel Projekt ist eines der "Flagship" Projekte von Willis Tower Watson

link

2017_138_Am Fuss der Zugspitze die meisten Gewitter.jpg_72dpi.jpg
Am Fuß der Zugspitze gibt es die meisten Gewitter

Aktuelle Pressemitteilung des KIT aus unsrer AG

mehr...
 


Hier geht es zum News-Archive