deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Curriculum Bachelor Meteorology

The Meteorology Bachelor's degree program is not restricted to admission. The study can generally only be started in the winter semester. The standard period of study is six semesters and comprises 180 credits.

The study of meteorology is a physical study with a special focus on the physics of the atmosphere. The bachelor's program meteorology is therefore almost identical to the bachelor program physics in the first three semesters and consists in particular of courses in physics and mathematics and the corresponding examination requirements in these semesters.

In addition, students acquire basic meteorological knowledge during the first semesters. From the fourth semester, the knowledge about meteorological relationships in courses on theoretical meteorology, synoptics (meteorology) numerics and statistics as well as the circulation and composition of the atmosphere. Through the meteorological internship and the weather forecast seminar, the students will learn how to apply and implement the acquired meteorological expertise.

As part of the meteorological internship and the bachelor thesis, students can learn how to handle meteorological data sets. These include the application of statistical methods, the graphical representation and the handling of special software (data processing and programming). It is also possible to participate in international measurement campaigns.

Obligatory is the acquisition of additional key qualifications (such as language, writing, presentation). Good knowledge of the English language should be present or acquired. The standard period of study is 6 semesters. However, the KIT is very keen to give students the opportunity to adapt the curricula to individual needs and, if necessary, to slow them down.

Meteorology is a small field of study compared to the subjects of physics or computer science. At KIT start max. 50 students per year with the study of meteorology. The excellent care ratio and the proximity to current research work of the institute create the best study conditions.

At the KIT, in addition to the bachelor's degree program in meteorology, there is also the master's degree program in meteorology. Although the bachelor's program is an independent, professional qualification, one is at KIT one endeavors to establish the master's degree as a standard conclusion.

The master's program Meteorology builds on the bachelor's program. It is a further broadening and deepening of knowledge. The academic work with the preparation of a master's thesis takes up a lot of space. Furthermore, interdisciplinary links with other natural sciences (such as physics, geophysics, geology, chemistry, ...) are possible. If the students choose this as a minor subject, interdisciplinary scientific competencies can be acquired. The standard period of study in the Master is 4 semesters.


Information on the subject areas of the bachelor's program:

The bachelor's program is divided into 8 subjects, which in turn can be subdivided into 4 general topics:

  • Meteorology,
  • Physics,
  • Mathematic and Computer Science and
  • Interdisciplinary Qualifications.

The subjects are in turn subdivided into modules that consist of several courses (a detailed description of the modules and events can be found in the module manual Bachelor Meteorology and Physics):

  1. Meteorology
    • Fundamentals of Meteorology
      The focus is on the acquisition of the physical fundamentals of meteorology and climatology as well as a fundamental understanding of the relevant physical and chemical processes taking place in the atmosphere, the Earth's climate system and the essential elements of the weather.
    • Theoretical meteorology:
      The students acquire knowledge about hydro- and thermodynamic processes in the atmosphere on the basis of physical laws as well as related mathematical solutions. In addition, they will learn theoretical models for the description of atmospheric phenomena and radiation processes in the atmosphere.
    • Applied Meteorology:
      Both practical and theoretical fundamentals for the application of different meteorological measuring methods as well as the evaluation of measured data will be tested. The physical analysis, diagnosis and prognosis of current weather events will be mediated by theory and a weekly analysis and discussion of the current weather. The lectures on numerical methods, which are developed in different programming languages, and statistics provide the basis for working with numerical models.
    • Bachelor thesis:
      In the bachelor thesis, each student is confronted with a current research topic and independently develops results, which are compiled and presented in a scientific paper.
  2. Physics
    • Experimental Physics:
      Here students acquire knowledge about the experimental basics and the mathematical description of classical mechanics, hydromechanics, special relativity, classical electrodynamics, optics and classical thermodynamics. During the internship, students perform physical measurements and experimental setups in the fields of optics, electrodynamics and electronics.
    • Theoretical and Modern Physics:
      In classical theoretical physics, students acquire basic mathematical knowledge and skills, using simple mechanical problems as an example, the treatment of the analytical mechanics of point masses, rigid bodies, and the continuum at the center. In the lecture on modern physics, the students will learn the following topics: Special Theory of Relativity, Quantum Physics, Atomic Physics, Solid State Physics and Nuclear and Elementary Particle Physics.
  3. Mathematics and Computer Science
    • Higher mathematics:
      The students acquire knowledge in the areas of analysis, vector analysis and linear algebra as well as function theory, differential equations and integral transformations.
    • Programming and computer usage:
      Basic knowledge of a programming language, currently C ++, and the learning of independent program development are in the focus of this event.
  4. Interdisciplinary qualifications: Soft skills (for example, academic writing / presentation, language courses or work techniques)

 

Curriculum Bachelor meteorology (Standard period of study 6 semesters)

Fig .: Curriculum of the Bachelor program (as of August 2018)
Abbreviations: CP = credit point, V: lecture, Ü: exercise, S: seminar, information in semester hours per week.

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Studienablauf Bachelor Meteorologie

Der Meteorologie-Bachelorstudiengang ist nicht zulassungsbeschränkt. Das Studium kann generell nur zum Wintersemester aufgenommen werden. Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt sechs Semester und umfasst 180 LP.

Das Studium der Meteorologie ist ein physikalisches Studium mit spezieller Ausrichtung auf die Physik der Atmosphäre. Der Bachelorstudiengang Meteorologie ist daher in den ersten drei Semestern nahezu identisch zum Bachelorstudiengang Physik und besteht in diesen Semestern insbesondere aus Lehrveranstaltungen zur Physik und Mathematik und den entsprechenden Prüfungsanforderungen.

Zusätzlich erwerben Studierende in den ersten Semestern die meteorologischen Grundlagenkenntnisse. Ab dem vierten Semester wird das Wissen über meteorologische Zusammenhänge in Lehrveranstaltungen zur Theoretischen Meteorologie, Synoptik (Wetterkunde) Numerik und Statistik sowie zur Zirkulation und Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre. Durch das meteorologische Praktikum und dem Seminar zur Wettervorhersage erfahren die Studierenden die Anwendung und Umsetzung des erworbenen meteorologischen Fachwissens.

Im Rahmen des meteorologischen Praktikums und der Bachelorarbeit können die Studierenden den Umgang mit meteorologischen Datensätzen lernen. Dazu gehören die Anwendung statistischer Verfahren, die grafische Darstellung sowie der Umgang mit spezieller Software (Datenverarbeitung und Programmieren). Außerdem besteht die Möglichkeit, an internationalen Messkampagnen teilzunehmen.

Obligatorisch ist der Erwerb zusätzlicher Schlüsselqualifikationen (z.B. Sprach-, Schreib-, Präsentationskurse). Gute Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache sollten vorhanden sein oder erworben werden. Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt 6 Semester. Das KIT ist aber sehr darum bemüht, Studierenden die Möglichkeit zu geben, die Studienpläne an individuelle Bedürfnisse anzupassen und bei Bedarf zu entschleunigen.

Bei der Meteorologie handelt es sich im Vergleich zu den Studienfächern Physik oder Informatik um ein kleines Studienfach. Am KIT  beginnen max. 50 Studierende pro Jahr mit dem Studium der Meteorologie. Das hervorragende Betreuungsverhältnis und die Nähe zu aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten des Instituts schaffen so beste Studienbedingungen.

Angeboten werden am KIT neben dem Bachelorstudiengang Meteorologie auch der Masterstudiengang Meteorologie. Obwohl der Bachelorstudiengang ein eigenständiger, berufsqualifizierender Abschluss ist, ist man am KIT ist man bestrebt, den Masterabschluss als Regelabschluss zu etablieren.

Der Masterstudiengang Meteorologie baut auf dem Bachelorstudiengang auf. In ihm erfolgt eine weitere Verbreiterung und Vertiefung des Wissens. Breiten Raum nimmt dabei das wissenschaftliche Arbeiten mit der Anfertigung einer Masterarbeit ein. Des Weiteren sind interdisziplinäre Verknüpfungen mit anderen Naturwissenschaften (z.B. Physik, Geophysik, Geologie, Chemie,…) möglich. Wählen die Studierenden diese als Nebenfach, können fachübergreifende wissenschaftliche Kompetenzen erworben werden. Die Regelstudienzeit im Master beträgt 4 Semester.


Informationen zu den Themenbereichen des Bachelorstudiengangs:

Das Bachelorstudium ist formal in 8 Fächer aufgeteilt, die wiederum in 4 übergeordnete Themenbereiche eingeordnet werden können:

  • Meteorologie,
  • Physik,
  • Mathematik und Informatik und
  • Überfachliche Qualifikationen.

Die Fächer sind wiederum gegliedert in Module, die aus mehreren Lehrveranstaltungen bestehen (eine ausführliche Beschreibung der Module und Veranstaltungen findet ihr im Modulhandbuch Bachelor Meteorologie und Physik):

  1. Meteorologie
    • Grundlagen Meteorologie
      Im Mittelpunkt steht der Erwerb der physikalischen Grundlagen der Meteorologie und Klimatologie sowie eines grundlegenden Verständnisses der in der Atmosphäre ablaufenden relevanten physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse, des Klimasystems der Erde und der wesentlichen Elemente des Wettergeschehens.
    • Theoretische Meteorologie:
      Die Studierenden eignen sich Wissen über die hydro- und thermodynamischen Prozesse in der Atmosphäre auf der Basis physikalischer Gesetzmäßigkeiten sowie zugehörige mathematische Lösungsmöglichkeiten an. Zusätzlich lernen sie theoretische Modellvorstellungen zur Beschreibung atmosphärischer Phänomene und Strahlungsprozesse in der Atmosphäre kennen.
    • Angewandte Meteorologie:
      Es werden sowohl praktische und theoretische Grundlagen zur Anwendungen unterschiedlicher meteorologischer Messverfahren als auch die Auswertung von Messdaten erprobt. Die physikalische Analyse, Diagnose und Prognose des aktuellen Wettergeschehens wird anhand der Theorie und einer wöchentlichen Analyse und Diskussion über das aktuelle Wetter vermittelt. Die Vorlesungen zu numerischen Methoden, die in verschiedenen Programmiersprachen erarbeitet werden, und der Statistik schaffen die Basis für das Arbeiten mit numerischen Modellen.
    • Bachelorarbeit:
      In der Bachelorarbeit setzt ich jeder Studierende mit einem aktuellen Foschungsthema auseinander, erarbeitet sich selbstständig Ergebnisse, welche in einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit zusammengetragen und präsentiert werden.
  2. Physik
    • Experimentalphysik:
      Hier erwerben die Studierende Kenntnisse über die experimentellen Grundlagen und die mathematische Beschreibung der klassischen Mechanik, der Hydromechanik, der speziellen Relativitätstheorie, der klassischen Elektrodynamik, der Optik und klassischen Thermodynamik. Im Praktikum führen die Studierenden physikalische Messungen und Versuchsaufbauten aus den Bereichen Optik, Elektrodynamik und Elektronik durch.
    • Theoretische und Moderne Physik:
      Bei der klassischen Theoretischen Physik erwerben die Studierenden grundlegende, mathematische Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten am Beispiel einfacher mechanischer Probleme, der Behandlung der analytischen Mechanik der Punktmassen, starrer Körper und der Kontinua im Mittelpunkt. In der Vorlesung zur modernen Physik lernen die Studierenden folgende Themengebiete kennen: Spezielle Relativitätstheorie, Quantenphysik, Atomphysik, Festkörperphysik und Kern- und Elementarteilchenphysik.
  3. Mathematik und Informatik
    • Höhere Mathematik:
      Die Studierenden eignen sich Wissen in den Gebieten der Analysis, Vektoranalysis und linearen Algebra sowie der Funktionentheorie, Differentialgleichungen und Integraltransformationen an.
    • Programmieren und Rechnernutzung:
      Grundkenntnisse einer Programmiersprache, aktuell C++, und das Erlernen selbstständiger Programmentwicklung stehen in dieser Veranstaltung im Mittelpunkt.
  4. Überfachliche Qualifikationen (z.B. wissenschaftliches Schreiben/Präsentieren, Sprachkurse oder Arbeitstechniken)

 

Studienplan Bachelor Meteorologie (Regelstudienzeit 6 Semester)

Abb.: Studienplan des Bachelorstudiengangs (Stand August 2018)
Abkürzungen: LP= Leistungspunkt, V:Vorlesung, Ü: Übung, S: Seminar, Angaben in Semesterwochenstunden.