deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

The Tropics, i.e. the area between the tropics of Cancer and Capricorn, cover about 40% of the Earth’s surface. Throughout the year the earth-ocean-atmosphere system gains energy in this region, which drives important components of the general circulation such as the Hadley cells, the “El Niño-Southern Oscillation (ENSO)”, monsoons and not least tropical cyclones. Including the subtropical parts of northern India and East Asia that are influenced by the Asian monsoon, the majority of the world’s population lives in the tropical climate zone – with tendency to rise.

Food security and livelihoods in many tropical countries depend on rain-fed agriculture and therefore on abundant but not too extreme precipitation, the most important climate parameter socio-economically in the Tropics. The predictability of tropical rainfall on time scales from few hours to several days, in many regions also on seasonal and decadal timescales, however, is surprisingly small. A prime example is the region of the West African monsoon, one of the research foci of the WG “Atmospheric Dynamics”. During boreal summer, extensive and long-lived convective complexes form in this region, some of which turn into seedlings for Atlantic hurricanes after crossing the West African coast. Numerical simulations of these cloud complexes, which often span more than 100,000 km², require a solid understanding and sound representation of surface energy fluxes, of turbulent fluxes of energy and momentum in the planetary boundary layer and in the thunder clouds as well as of cloud microphysical processes, which are influenced by Saharan dust and anthropogenic aerosols.

These enormous tropical thunderstorms cause an efficient interaction between small-scale processes near the surface and the larger-scale circulation. These complex processes are not resolved or simulated realistically in global weather forecast models. In a hitherto unprecedented comprehensive study regarding the predictability of convective rainfall over northern tropical Africa, Vogel et al (2018) demonstrated that nine numerical global weather forecast models did not provide more skillful forecast than statistical methods based on past observations. in turn, large-scale tropical and extratropical wave phenomena impact on the initiation and growth of tropical thunderstorm complexes. Members of the WG “Atmospheric Dynamics” have shown this in recent publications for southeast Asia (van der Linden et al. 2016; van der Linden et al. 2017) and West Africa (Engel et al. 2017; Knippertz et al. 2017).

An innovative research approach that members of the WG pursue at the moment in collaboration with colleagues from Applied Mathematics is to test if the better predictability of large-scale wave phenomena can be utilized in statistical methods to improve (extreme) rainfall predictions on the ground. Progress would be of immediate benefit for smallholding farmers in tropical Africa and Southeast Asia.

 

Atlantic winter storms cause the largest economic and insurance losses in Central Europe. Famous examples in Germany are the storms “Lothar” during Christmas 1999, “Kyrill” in January 2007 and “Friederike” in January 2018. Consequently, research on the predictability of such storms on different time and spatial scales has long been a focus for meteorology (Pantillon et al. 2017).

Known “ingredients” for the formation of extreme winter storms over the Atlantic are large temperature contrasts between subtropical and subpolar latitudes in the middle troposphere (ca. 5 km), i.e. a high baroclinicity, a resulting concentrated jet in about 9 km height and the incorporation of near-surface moist, warm and therefore energy-rich air masses of subtropical or even tropical origin. The last aspect, the so-called diabatic forcing of winter storms, has received increased attention in recent years due to the fact that a warming atmosphere has the potential to hold more moisture. For example, members of the WG “Atmospheric Dynamics” have been able to show that Lothar intensified in a more diabatic way while Kyrill was more classically dominated by baroclinic forcing. Also other destructive storms such as Klaus in January 2009 and Xynthia in February 2010 benefited from anomalously high moisture, partly of tropical origin (Fink et al. 2012).

Other topical research questions are related to smaller-scale phenomena at fronts. For example, heavy showers and thunderstorms were embedded in the cold front of Kyrill over eastern Germany, which is a possible explanation for the observed extreme and very heterogeneous peak gusts. Storm Christian in October 2013 caused record gales of up to 180 km/h in Schleswig-Holstein and Denmark, possibly associated with the touch-down of a so called “sting jet”. Reliable spatio-temporal predictions of peak gusts associated with extratropical winter storms remain a large challenge to our process understanding and modelling capabilities.

 

A long time it was thought that the Tropics had little impact on the weather and climate of the extratropics. This was motivated on the one hand by the idea of a closed tropical Hadley cell and on the other hand by the fact that the transition from extratropical westerlies to equatorial easterlies forms a barrier for Rossby wave propagation in linear, adiabatic theory. The advent of satellite imagery in the 1970s revealed the existence of large cloud bands stretching diagonally into the extratropics, so called “tropical plumes”, as visible evidence of tropical–extratropical interactions.

On the other hand, research in the last 10-15 years in which the WG “Atmsopheric Dynamics” adopted a leading role disentangled the chain of processes involving extratropical Rossby waves that leads to a predictability of dry-season rainfall over West Africa about a week ahead (Knippertz and Fink 2008 ; Davis et al. 2013 ). Furthermore, an important role of the extratropics for the onset of the West African monsoon is currently discussed (Knippertz et al. 2017). In the study from van der Linden et al. (2017) it is postulated that an as of yet undocumented form of tropical-extratropical interaction lead to a better predictability of an catastrophic precipitation event in northeast Vietnam in summer 2015.

In the context of tropical-extratropical interactions, our WG conducts research in a world leading positions that ultimately shall lead to improvements in the prediction of tropical rainfall, but also to, for example, subseasonal forecasts of heat waves in Europe.

 

Mineral dust in the atmosphere consists of micrometer-scale particles that are lifted by strong winds over the world’s desert regions and are transported over thousands of kilometres, occasionally also to Germany as for example in April 2014. Every year several megatonnes of such particles are raised into the atmosphere, making mineral dust the most important component in the global aerosol budget in terms of mass.

The tiny mineral dust particles have a number of important impacts on the Earth’s climate system: (1) They reflect and absorb solar and terrestrial radiation and therefore affect the energy budget of the atmosphere. This can lead to changes in regional circulation systems and the planetary boundary layer, which ultimately modify near-surface wind and temperature patterns as well as clouds and precipitation. (2) In clouds they can foster the condensation of liquid water and the formation of ice particles and thereby affect cloud characteristics such as brightness, lifetime and precipitation efficiency and indirectly again the energy budget. (3) They contain iron and phosphorus that after deposition into oceans or rainforests enhance biological activity through fertilisation and this way impact on the Earth’s carbon cycle. In addition, dust plays an important role for the deterioration of air quality, in particular in combination with anthropogenic emission like for example in China, and for horizontal visibility, an important aspect for aviation safety.

However, many aspects of the global dust budget are currently insufficiently quantified. This reaches from physical properties like size, absorption behaviour and hygroscopicity over chemical composition to meteorological conditions for emission, transport and deposition. The WG “Atmospheric Dynamics” has large expertise in the analysis and modelling of dust storms and their representation in numerical models (Knippertz and Todd, 2012 ). Dust storms occur in different forms and sizes, stretching from dust devils with diameters of few meters to almost continental-scale outbreaks in connection with high- and low-pressure systems. Members of the group have recently quantified the contribution of cold pools generated from deep convective systems to dust emission over Africa for the first time, demonstrating considerable problems in the representation of this process in models (Marsham et al. 2011 ; Heinold et al. 2013 , Pantillon et al. 2016). Almost all mechanisms of dust emission are subject to a marked diurnal cycle, which is related, among other things, to the formation and breakdown of nocturnal low-level jets (Fiedler et al. 2013 ). Most of these pose considerable challenges to our dynamical understanding and modelling.

You will find more information about dust in the book “Mineral Dust - A Key Player in the Earth System” by P. Knippertz and J.-B. W. Stuut published in 2014.

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Die Tropen, d.h. das Gebiet zwischen den Wendekreisen des Krebses und des Steinbocks, umfassen etwa 40% der Erdoberfläche. In dieser Region gewinnt das System Erde-Ozean-Atmosphäre ganzjährig Energie. Mit diesem Energieüberschuss werden bedeutende Komponenten der allgemeinen atmosphärischen Zirkulation angetrieben, darunter die Hadleyzellen, das „El Niño-Southern Oscillation (ENSO)“ Phänomen, die Monsune der Erde und nicht zuletzt tropische Wirbelstürme. Werden die vom asiatischen Monsun beeinflussten, subtropischen Gebiete Nordindiens und Ostasiens hinzu gezählt, so leben in der tropischen Klimazone die meisten Menschen der Erde – mit steigender Tendenz.

In vielen, von der Landwirtschaft geprägten Ländern dieser Region hängt die Ernährungssicherheit und Lebensgrundlage von ausreichenden, aber nicht zu extremen Niederschlägen ab. Niederschlag ist daher der sozioökonomisch wichtigste Klimaparameter der Tropen. Dessen Vorhersagbarkeit auf Zeitskalen von wenigen Stunden bis zu mehreren Tagen ist aber erstaunlich gering. Ein gutes Beispiel ist die Region des westafrikanischen Monsuns, einer der Forschungsschwerpunkte der AG „Atmosphärische Dynamik“. Hier treten während des Nordsommers ausgedehnte und langlebige Gewitterkomplexe auf, von denen einige nach der Überquerung der westafrikanischen Küste zu Keimzellen von atlantischen Hurrikanen werden. Die Simulation dieser, oft mehr als 100.000 km² umfassenden Wolkenkomplexe erfordert u.a. eine genaue Kenntnis und Wiedergabe der Energieflüsse an der Erdoberfläche, der turbulenten Energie- und Impulsflüsse in der Grenzschicht und in den Gewitterwolken, sowie der durch Saharastaub und anthropogene Aerosole beeinflussten wolkenphysikalischen Prozesse.

Diese gewaltigen Tropengewitter verursachen eine effiziente Wechselwirkung zwischen kleinskaligen Prozessen in Bodennähe und der großskaligen Zirkulation. Diese komplexen Prozesse werden in globalen Wettervorhersagemodellen nicht aufgelöst bzw. nicht richtig wiedergegeben. In der bisher umfangreichsten Studie zur Wettervorhersagbarkeit von Gewitterregen in Westafrika zeigen Vogel et al. (2018), dass neun globale Vorhersagemodelle keine besseren Prognosen liefern als eine aus Beobachtungen abgeleitete statistische Prognose. Umgekehrt beeinflussen großskalige tropische und extratropische Wellenphänomene die Auslösung und Organisation dieser Gewitterkomplexe. Dies zeigen mehrere Studien, welche Mitarbeiter der AG „Atmosphärische Dynamik“ jüngst für Südostasien (van der Linden et al. 2016; van der Linden et al. 2017) und Westafrika (Engel et al. 2017; Knippertz et al. 2017) veröffentlicht haben.

Ein innovativer Forschungsansatz, welche die AG zusammen mit Kollegen aus der angewandten Mathematik verfolgt ist es nun zu testen, ob die bessere Vorhersagbarkeit der Wellenphänomene über statistische Verfahren nicht für eine bessere Vorhersagbarkeit von (Extrem-)Niederschlägen am Boden genutzt werden kann. Fortschritte würden von unmittelbarem Nutzen für die Kleinbauern im tropischen Afrika und Südostasien sein.

Spezielle Interessensgebiete

 

Atlantische Winterstürme verursachen die höchsten volks- und versicherungswirtschaftlichen Schäden in Mitteleuropa. Bekannte Beispiele für Deutschland sind die Orkane „Lothar“ im Dezember 1999, „Kyrill“ im Januar 2007 und „Friederike” im Januar 2018. Dementsprechend steht die Erforschung und Vorhersagbarkeit auf verschiedenen Zeit und Raumskalen seit Jahrzehnten im Mittelpunkt der Meteorologie (Pantillon et al. 2017).

Bekannte „Zutaten“ für die Entstehung extremer Winterstürme über dem Atlantik sind starke Temperaturgradienten zwischen Subtropen und sub-polaren Breiten in der mittleren Troposphäre (ca. 5 km), d.h. eine starke Baroklinität, ein sich daraus ergebendes, eng gebündeltes Starkwindband in etwa 9 km Höhe und der Einbezug bodennaher warmfeuchter und damit energiereicher Luftmassen subtropischer oder sogar tropischer Herkunft. Diesem letztgenannten diabatischen Antrieb der Winterstürme wurden in letzter Zeit im Angesicht einer sich erwärmenden und daher potentiell mehr Feuchte enthaltenden Atmosphäre viel Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt. Beispielsweise konnten Mitarbeiter der AG „Atmosphärische Dynamik“ zeigen, dass sich Lothar stärker diabatisch und Kyrill in klassischer Weise stärker baroklin intensiviert hat. Auch die Stürme Klaus im Januar 2009 und Xynthia im Februar 2010 profitierten überdurchschnittlich von hohen Feuchten zum Teil tropischen Ursprungs (Fink et al. 2012).

Weitere aktuelle Forschungsfragen betreffen kleiner-skalige Phänomene an Fronten. In die Kaltfront von Kyrill über Ostdeutschland waren starke Schauer- und Gewitterkomplexe eingelagert, was möglicherweise die extremen und heterogen verteilten Spitzenböen erklärt. Der Orkan Christian brachte in Schleswig-Holstein und Dänemark im Oktober 2013 Rekordböen von bis zu 180 km/h, was mit der Bodenberührung eines so genannten „sting jets“ (dt.: „Stacheljet“) zu tun haben könnte. Verlässliche raumzeitliche Vorhersagen von Spitzenböen extratropischer Winterstürme stellen derzeit eine große Herausforderung an das Prozessverständnis und für die Modellierung dar.

 

Lange Zeit herrschte die Vorstellung vor, dass die Tropen kaum Auswirkungen auf das Wetter und Klima der Extratropen haben. Dies rührte einerseits von der Vorstellung einer abgeschlossenen tropischen Hadleyzelle her, andererseits stellt in der linearen, adiabatischen Theorie der Übergang von extratropischen Westwinden zu äquatorialen Ostwinden eine Barriere für Rossbywellen dar. Mit Aufkommen von Satellitenbildern in den 1970er Jahren wurden schräg in die Extratropen reichende Wolkenbänder, sogenannte „tropical plumes“, als sichtbare Phänomene tropisch-extratropischer Wechselwirkungen identifiziert.

Forschungen der letzten 10-15 Jahre, an denen die AG “Atmosphärische Dynamik” maßgeblich beteiligt war, haben die Prozessketten entschlüsselt, die zu tropischen Wolkenfahnen und Trockenzeitniederschlägen in Westafrika führen (Knippertz und Fink 2008 ; Davis et al. 2013). Eine bedeutende Rolle der Extratropen für den Zeitpunkt des Beginn des westafrikanischen Monsuns wird diskutiert (Knippertz et al. 2017). In der Arbeit von van der Linden et al. (2017) wird vermutet, dass eine bisher nicht dokumentierte Form der tropisch-extratropischen Wechselwirkung zu einer erhöhten Vorhersagbarkeit eines katastrophalen Niederschlagsereignisses in Nordvietnam im Sommer 2015 führte.

Die AG arbeitet im Kontext der tropischen-extratropischen Wechselwirkungen in führender Position an Fragen, inwieweit diese Vorhersagbarkeit von Tropenregen, aber auch von Hitzewellen auf Zeitskalen von Wochen in Europa verbessern könnten.

Spezielle Interessensgebiete

 

Mineralstaub in der Atmosphäre besteht aus Partikeln im Mikrometerbereich, die durch starke Winde in den Wüstenregionen dieser Erde aufgewirbelt und über Tausende von Kilometer verfrachtet werden, immer wieder auch mal nach Deutschland wie z.B. im April 2014. Jedes Jahr gelangen mehrere Megatonnen solcher Partikel in die Atmosphäre. Mineralstaub ist damit massenmäßig der wichtigste Anteil am globalen Aerosolhaushalt.

Die winzigen Mineralstaubpartikel haben eine Reihe von wichtigen Auswirkungen im Klimasystem der Erde: (1) Sie reflektieren und absorbieren solare und terrestrische Strahlung und greifen daher in den Energiehaushalt der Atmosphäre ein. Dies kann zu Veränderungen in regionalen Zirkulationssystemen und der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht führen, die letzten Endes bodennahe Wind- und Temperaturmuster sowie Wolken und Niederschlag verändern. (2) Sie können in Wolken die Kondensation von Flüssigwasser und die Bildung von Eispartikeln befördern und damit Wolkeneigenschaften wie Helligkeit, Lebensdauer und Niederschlagseffizienz beeinflussen und somit indirekt den Energiehaushalt. (3) Sie enthalten Eisen und Phosphor, die bei Deposition in Ozeanen oder Regenwäldern durch Düngung biologische Aktivität verstärken und damit den Kohlenstoffkreislauf der Erde beeinflussen können. Darüber hinaus spielt Staub eine wichtige Rolle in der Verringerung von Luftqualität, vor allem in Kombination mit anthropogenen Emission wie z.B. in China, und für die horizontale Sichtweite, die u.a. für die Flugsicherheit wichtig ist.

Dennoch sind viele Aspekte des globalen Staubhaushaltes derzeit unzureichend quantifiziert. Dies reicht von physikalischen Eigenschaften wie Größe, Absorptionsverhalten und Benetzbarkeit über chemische Zusammensetzung zu meteorologischen Bedingungen für Emission, Transport und Deposition. Die Expertise der AG „Atmosphärische Dynamik“ liegt vor allem in der Analyse von Staubstürmen und deren Wiedergabe in numerischen Modellen (Knippertz und Todd, 2012 ). Staubstürme treten in verschiedensten Formen und Größen auf, vom Staubteufel mit wenigen Metern Durchmesser bis hin zu fast kontinentalskaligen Ausbrüchen im Zusammenhang mit Hoch- und Tiefdruckgebieten. Mitglieder der Gruppe haben unlängst zum ersten Mal Beiträge von durch Gewitter erzeugten „Cold Pools“ über Afrika zur Staubemission quantifiziert und schwerwiegende Probleme in der Modellierung nachgewiesen (Marsham et al. 2011 , Heinold et al. 2013 , Pantillon et al. 2016). Fast alle Mechanismen der Staubemission zeigen einen ausgeprägten Tagesgang, der u.a. mit der Bildung und Auflösung von nächtlichen „Low-Level-Jets“ zusammenhängt (Fiedler et al. 2013 ). Die meisten stellen eine erhebliche Herausforderung an das dynamische Verständnis und die Modellierung dar.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema Mineralstaub findet man auch im 2014 erschienenen Buch „Mineral Dust - A Key Player in the Earth System“  von P. Knippertz und J.-B. W. Stuut.