deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Short description of the model system COSMO-ART

Aerosol particles modify atmospheric radiative fluxes and interact with clouds. As documented in the IPCC 2007 report the global influence of natural and anthropogenic aerosols on the atmosphere is not well understood. On regional scale the knowledge is even worse.

Thus, beside observations, numerical models are important tools to improve our current understanding of the role of natural and anthropogenic aerosol particles for the state of the atmosphere. On a global scale there are a large number of model systems and corresponding applications of models addressing the quantification of the effect of anthropogenic aerosol particles on climate change. Due to a lack of computer capacity global climate models however often include simplifications and approximations.

When studying feedback processes between aerosol particles and the atmosphere it is necessary to use online coupled model systems. Here, online coupled means that one identical numerical grid for the atmospheric variables and for the gaseous and particulate matter is used. In addition identical physical parameterisations are used for atmospheric processes such as turbulence and convection. In such a fully online coupled model system all variables are available at the same time step without spatial or temporal interpolation. It allows studying feedback processes between meteorology, emissions and chemical composition. Those online coupled models have to treat the relevant physical, chemical, and aerosol dynamical processes at a comparable level of complexity. Meteorological pre- or postprocessors are not needed.

Studying atmospheric processes with grid sizes down to a few kilometres requires a non-hydrostatic formulation of the model equations on the regional scale where phenomena such as mountain and valley winds, land-sea breezes or lee waves become important.

Therefor the online-coupled model system COSMO-ART was developed, which is based on the operational weather forecast model COSMO (Consortium for Small-scale Modelling) of the German Weather Service (DWD).

Processes such as gas-phase chemistry, aerosol dynamics, and the impact of natural and anthropogenic aerosol particles on the state of the atmosphere are taken into account. As the radiative fluxes are modified based on the currently simulated aerosol distribution a quantification of several feedback processes is possible.

 

for more details on model description:

Vogel, B., Vogel, H., Bäumer, D., Bangert, M., Lundgren, K., Rinke, R., and Stanelle, T.: The comprehensive model system COSMO-ART – Radiative impact of aerosol on the state of the atmosphere on the regional scale, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 9, 8661-8680, doi:10.5194/acp-9-8661-2009, Document

 

 

or feel free to write an e-mail: bernhard vogelPeb4∂kit edu

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Übersicht über das Modellsystem COSMO-ART

Aerosole modifizieren die atmosphärischen Strahlungsflüsse und interagieren mit Wolken. Wie im Bericht des IPCC von 2007 dokumentiert, ist der globale Einfluss von natürlichem und anthropogenem Aerosolen auf die Atmosphäre nicht gut verstanden. Auf regionaler Skala ist der Wissensstand noch schlechter.

So sind neben Beobachtungen numerische Modelle wichtige Werkzeuge um das aktuelle Verständnis um die Rolle von natürlichen und anthropogenen Aerosolpartikeln auf den Zustand der Atmosphäre zu verbessern. Auf globaler Skala existieren eine große Anzahl an Modelsystemen und entsprechende Anwendungen von Modellen, um den Effekt von anthropogenen Aerosolpartikeln auf den Klimawandel zu verifizieren.

Aber durch den Mangel an Computerkapazität schließen globale Modelle oft Vereinfachungen und Approximationen ein.

Um die Rückkopplungsprozesse zwischen Aerosolen und der Atmosphäre zu studieren ist es wichtig online gekoppelte Modellsysteme zu verwenden. Online gekoppelt bedeutet hier, dass ein identisches numerisches Gitter für die atmosphärischen Variablen sowie die gasförmigen und partikulären Stoffe verwendet wird. Zusätzlich werden identische physikalische Parametrisierungen für atmosphärische Prozesse wie Turbulenz und Konvektion verwendet. In so einem völlig online gekoppeltem Modellsystem sind alle Variablen zum selben Zeitschritt ohne räumliche oder zeitliche Interpolation verfügbar. Dies erlaubt Rückkopplungsprozesse zwischen der Meteorologie, Emissionen und chemischen Zusammensetzung. Diese online-gekoppelten Modelle müssen die relevanten physikalischen, chemischen und aerosol-dynamischen Prozesse auf einem vergleichbaren Level an Komplexität behandeln. Meteorologische Vor- oder Nachbearbeitung ist nicht nötig.

Das Untersuchen atmosphärischer Prozesse mit Gittergrößen bis auf wenige Kilometer benötigt eine nicht-hydrostatische Formulierung der Modellgleichungen auf regionaler Skala, bei der Phänomene wie Berg-Tal Winde, Land-See-Zirkulation oder Leewellen an Bedeutung gewinnen.

Hierfür wurde das online-gekoppelte Modellsystem COSMO-ART entwickelt, welches auf dem operationellem Wettervorhersagemodell COSMO (Consortium for Small-scale Modelling) des Deutschen Wetterdienstes (DWD) aufbaut.

Prozesse wie Gasphasenchemie, Aerosoldynamik und der Einfluss von natürlichen und anthropogenen Aerosolpartikeln auf den Zustand der Atmosphäre werden berücksichtigt. Da die Strahlungsflüsse, basierend auf der aktuell simulierten Aerosolverteilung modifiziert werden, ist die Quantifizierung einiger Rückkopplungsprozesse möglich.

 

Für weitere Details zur Modellbeschreibung:

Vogel, B., Vogel, H., Bäumer, D., Bangert, M., Lundgren, K., Rinke, R., and Stanelle, T.: The comprehensive model system COSMO-ART – Radiative impact of aerosol on the state of the atmosphere on the regional scale, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 9, 8661-8680, doi:10.5194/acp-9-8661-2009, Document


oder Anfrage per E-Mail: bernhard vogelWhl9∂kit edu