Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Welcome to the Bachelor's Degree in Meteorology

The Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a dynamic institution with an excellent reputation for first-class research and high-quality education. The three-year BSc program in meteorology provides a basic education in the atmospheric sciences.

The bachelor's program has an independent, professionally qualifying profile. During the course of study, a broad basic knowledge in all central areas of meteorology and climatology, as well as sound knowledge in physics and mathematics are imparted. In addition to the scientific fundamentals, methodological competence and qualifications related to the field of work are taught in particular. The additional acquisition of knowledge in programming as well as additive key qualifications, the so-called soft skills, complete the profile.

In this programme you will learn in many different ways - through lectures, paper or computer-based exercises, practical field and laboratory training and team activities with fellow students. In the final Bachelor's thesis, which takes three months to complete, the skills and knowledge acquired during the course of study are to be applied as a guide to professional activities or to a consecutive Master's programme. Relevant information is collected, evaluated and interpreted in order to derive scientifically sound judgements.

For the successful completion of the KIT bachelor's program in meteorology, 180 credit points must be earned throughout the course of study. The academic degree "Bachelor of Science" (B.Sc.) is then awarded.

The Bachelor's programme lays the foundations for the Master's programme, which is taught in English and which is reserved for a stronger profile and more in-depth study.

At KIT you will be taught by leading experts in the field of meteorology. As one of the largest institutions for atmospheric research in Germany, we are in the unique position to offer a wide range of topics, each taught by an active researcher in the respective field. This is possible because the KIT is both a classical state university and a research center funded by the German government within the Helmholtz Association.

The Atmospheric Science Program of KIT was recently rated "Excellent" by an international team of experts. Professor Joaquim Pinto, for example, joined the IMK in 2016 as head of the AXA Research Fund, where he is relevant for the insurance industry. Professor Peter Knippertz is often in Africa for research purposes, where he studies the important West African monsoon system. This includes field work, often with students from the MSc Meteorology Program. My own work on microphysical processes in clouds was awarded a prestigious ERC Starting Grant by the European Research Council.

Karlsruhe is a great place to live and learn. With over 300,000 inhabitants, Karlsruhe offers all the cultural advantages of a city, but is small enough so that you can reach everything by bicycle. Located in the Upper Rhine Valley, Karlsruhe is one of the sunniest and warmest places in Germany. The nearby Black Forest and the Palatinate Forest invite you to make great day trips, go hiking, cycling, skiing - and watch the weather! Or visit the beautiful French Alsace on the other side of the Rhine! Even without knowledge of German, life in this international, hospitable and open-minded city should not be a problem!

Come and join us!

Professor Corinna Hoose

Dean of Studies, BSc Program in Meteorology


kama kama
Pr. Dr. Corinna Hoose, Dean of Studies BSc Program Meteorology

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
.
kama

Bachelorstudiengang Meteorologie | Willkommen im Studiengang

kama
kama
Pr. Dr. Corinna Hoose, Studiendekanin BSc-Programm Meteorologie

Das Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine dynamische Institution mit einem ausgezeichneten Ruf für erstklassige Forschung und qualitativ hochwertige Bildung. Das dreijährige BSc-Programm in Meteorologie bietet eine Grundlagenausbildung in den atmosphärischen Wissenschaften.

Der Bachelorstudiengang hat ein eigenständiges, berufsqualifizierendes Profil. Während des Studiums werden ein breit angelegtes Grundwissen in allen zentralen Gebieten der Meteorologie und Klimatologie, sowie fundierte Kenntnisse in Physik und Mathematik vermittelt. Neben den wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen werden vor allem Methodenkompetenz und berufsfeldbezogene Qualifikationen vermittelt. Der zusätzliche Erwerb von Kenntnissen in Programmieren sowie von additiven Schlüsselqualifikationen, den so genannten Soft Skills, runden das Profil ab.

In diesem Programm lernst du auf viele verschiedene Arten - durch Vorlesungen, papier- oder computerbasierte Übungen, praktischen Unterricht im Feld und Labor und Teamaktivitäten mit Kommilitonen. In der abschließenden Bachelorarbeit, deren Bearbeitungszeit drei Monate beträgt, sollen - als Hinleitung auf berufliche Tätigkeiten oder auf ein konsekutives Masterstudium - die im Studium erworbenen Fähigkeiten und das Wissen angewandt werden. Hierzu werden relevante Informationen gesammelt, bewertet und interpretiert, um daraus wissenschaftlich fundierte Urteile abzuleiten.

Für den erfolgreichen Abschluss des Bachelorstudienganges Meteorologie am KIT sind während des gesamten Studiums Studienleistungen im Umfang von 180 Leistungspunkten zu erwerben. Als akademischer Grad wird dann der "Bachelor of Science" (B.Sc.) verliehen.

Der Bachelorstudiengang legt die Grundlagen für den englischsprachigen Masterstudiengang, dem eine stärkere Profilbildung und Vertiefung vorbehalten ist.

Am KIT wirst du von führenden Experten auf dem Gebiet der Meteorologie unterrichtet. Als eine der größten Institutionen für Atmosphärenforschung in Deutschland sind wir in der einzigartigen Situation, ein breites Spektrum an Themen anzubieten, die jeweils von einem aktiven Forscher in dem jeweiligen Bereich unterrichtet werden. Dies ist möglich, weil das KIT gleichzeitig eine klassische Landesuniversität und ein von der Bundesregierung im Rahmen der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft gefördertes Forschungszentrum ist.

Das Atmospheric Science Program des KIT wurde kürzlich von einem internationalen Expertenteam mit "Ausgezeichnet" bewertet. Professor Joaquim Pinto zum Beispiel kam 2016 als Leiter des AXA Research Fund zum IMK, wo er für die Versicherungswirtschaft relevant ist. Professor Peter Knippertz ist zu Forschungszwecken oft in Afrika, wo er das wichtige westafrikanische Monsunsystem untersucht. Dazu gehört auch die Feldarbeit, oft mit Studierenden des MSc Meteorology Program. Meine eigene Arbeit über mikrophysikalische Prozesse in Wolken wurde vom Europäischen Forschungsrat mit einem renommierten ERC Starting Grant ausgezeichnet.

Karlsruhe ist ein großartiger Ort zum Leben und Lernen. Mit über 300.000 Einwohnern bietet Karlsruhe alle kulturellen Vorzüge einer Stadt, ist aber klein genug, so dass du alles mit dem Fahrrad erreichen kannst. Im Oberrheintal gelegen, ist Karlsruhe einer der sonnigsten und wärmsten Orte Deutschlands. Der nahe gelegene Schwarzwald und der Pfälzer Wald lädt zur tollen Tagesausflüge, zum Wandern, Radfahren, Skifahren - und zum Beobachten des Wetters ein! Oder besuch das wunderschöne französische Elsass auf der anderen Seite des Rheins! Auch ohne Deutschkenntnisse sollte das Leben in dieser internationalen, gastfreundlichen und aufgeschlossenen Stadt kein Problem sein!

Komm und mach mit!

Professor Corinna Hoose

Studiendekanin, BSc-Programm in Meteorologie