deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Working group "Land Surfaces and Boundary Layer", Leader Dr. Norbert Kalthoff

Grenzschicht_overlayer

 


The group Land Surfaces and Boundary Layer exists since 1985 at the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research. The focus of the group is:

 

  • the interaction of land surface and atmosphere on different scales,
  • mesoscale wind systems and regional climate, and
  • the dispersion of trace gases in mesoscale range
  • determination of water in soil and snow for meteorological evaluation,
  • development of aquametric measuring methods in different mixtures,
  • design and test of instruments,
  • introduction and presentation of aquametry in the new defined part of the meteorology and
  • representation of the aquametry in subsurface sensing.

 

Goals are to attain a better understanding of the atmospheric processes and to contribute to verification and improvement of mesoscale models. Measuring systems range from surface stations and balloon carried equipment over remote sensing methods to airborne measuring devices. Another goal of the group is excellent measurement accuracy on large surfaces and in different materials.

Most of the human life takes place in the 1 to 2 km thick atmospheric boundary layer, which thereby attains eminent importance. The condition of the boundary layer is defined, besides the synoptical influences, through the energy conversion at the earth surface. Regional differences in the energy conversion result from regional differences in the land surface characteristics (land use, terrain). This leads to:

 

  • the formation of regional wind regimes, e.g. mountain and valley winds or land and sea winds – thus wind regimes, which are of essential importance for the transport characteristics in the boundary layer,
  • different height expansions of the boundary layer and to a different vertical mixing ratio of trace gases, and
  • differences in regional climate.

 

Aim of the work is the quantitative description of relevant climate processes, to be able to describe the parameterisation of the energy conversion processes at the earth surface, the turbulence in the atmospheric boundary layer and in the free troposphere correctly.

Field experiments using different measuring systems thereby serve to gain adequate data sets for the comparison and improvement of mesoscale models.
If you wish further information please refer to our publications (papers, posters) and our dissertations or contact us directly (team).

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Arbeitsgruppe "Landoberflächen und Grenzschicht", Leiter Dr. Norbert Kalthoff


Die Gruppe Landoberflächen und Grenzschicht besteht seit 1986 am Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung und wurde 2005 durch die Verschmelzung mit der Arbeitsgruppe Elektrophysikalische Aquametrie erweitert. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind:

 

  • die Wechselwirkung zwischen Landoberfläche und Atmosphäre auf verschiedenen Skalen,
  • Turbulenz und Austauschprozesse in der Grenzschicht sowie zwischen Grenzschicht und freier Troposphäre,
  • Regionale Windsysteme und regionales Klima
  • Ausbreitung von Spurenstoffen im mesoskaligen Bereich
  • Bestimmung von Wasser- und Eisgehalt in Böden, Schnee und Erdmaterialien
  • und die Entwicklung von innovativen Messmethoden zur flächenhaften Bestimmung der Bodenfeuchte

 

Zielsetzung ist, zu einem verbesserten Verständnis der atmosphärischen Prozesse und deren Wechselwirkung mit dem Untergrund zu gelangen und zur Überprüfung und Verbesserung von mesoskaligen Modellen beizutragen. Die Messsysteme reichen von bodengebundenen und ballongetragenen Geräten über Fernerkundungsverfahren hin zu flugzeuggestützten Messplattformen.

Das menschliche Leben spielt sich im Wesentlichen innerhalb der 1 bis 2 km mächtigen atmosphärischen Grenzschicht ab, der dadurch eine besondere Bedeutung zukommt. Der Zustand der Grenzschicht wird, neben den synoptischen Einflüssen, unter anderem durch die Energieumsetzung an der Erdoberfläche bestimmt. Regionale Unterschiede in der Energieumsetzung ergeben sich aus den regionalen Unterschieden der Landoberflächeneigenschaften (Landnutzung, Geländegestalt). Folge davon sind:

 

  • die Ausbildung regionaler Windsysteme, wie z.B. Berg- und Talwinde oder Land- und Seewinde – Windsysteme also, die von wesentlicher Bedeutung für die Transporteigenschaften in der Grenzschicht sind.
  • unterschiedliche Höhenentwicklungen der Grenzschicht und die damit verbundene unterschiedlich starke vertikale Durchmischung von Spurenstoffen
  • Unterschiede im Regionalklima.

 

Ziel der Arbeiten ist die quantitative Beschreibung klimarelevanter Prozesse, um die Parametrisierung der Energieumwandlungsprozesse an der Erdoberfläche, die Turbulenz in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht und der freien Troposphäre zutreffend beschreiben zu können.
Feldexperimente unter Einsatz unterschiedlicher Messsysteme, insbesondere dem KITcube, dienen dabei der Gewinnung geeigneter Datensätze für den Vergleich und die Verbesserung mesoskaliger Modelle.

Wenn Sie weitere Informationen wünschen, sei auf unsere Veröffentlichungen (Publikationen, Poster) und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten verwiesen, oder nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf (Team).