deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Research group "Clouds and storm tracks", group leader: Dr. Aiko Voigt

Welcome on the website of the BMBF-funded junior research group "Cloud-radiative interactions with the North Atlantic Storm Track".

We research the coupling between clouds and the extratropical circulation of the atmosphere, and its role for climate and climate change. We are in particular interested in those aspects of the cloud-radiative coupling that involve radiative interactions. Cloud-radiative interactions have since long been studied in the context of how climate changes at the global scale. Their consequences for regional climate change, which is predominantly shaped by the circulation of the atmosphere, is less known, however, in particular in mid- and highlatitude regions. By closing this gap in knowledge we aim to contribute to an improved understanding of Earth‘s climate and better predictions of its future.

We use a combination of global climate simulations and ultra high-resolution regional simulations, together with the analysis of various observational data sets and theoretical concepts.

We also study other aspects of global climate dynamics and modeling. For example, we investigate the circulation impact of aerosol and the dynamics of tropical rain belts. We lead the climate model intercomparison projects „Easy Aerosol“ and „TRACMIP: Tropical Rain belts with an Annual cycle and a Continent Model Intercomparison Project“.These activities are organized under the umbrella of the WCRP Grand Challenge in Clouds, Circulation and Climate Sensitivity.

Our junior group is part of the German-wide research initiative HD(CP)2: High Definition Clouds and Precipitation for Advancing Climate Prediction and receives most of its funding from the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and FONA.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Nachwuchsgruppe "Wolken und Sturmzugbahnen", Leiter: Dr. Aiko Voigt

Willkommen auf der Website der BMBF-Nachwuchsgruppe "Cloud-radiative interactions with the North Atlantic Storm Track".

Wir erforschen die Kopplung von Wolken mit der großskaligen Zirkulation der Atmosphäre in den mittleren und hohen Breiten und ihre Rolle für das heutige und zukünftige Klima. Insbesondere beschäftigen wir uns mit denjenigen Aspekten der Kopplung, die durch Wolkenstrahlungswechselwirkungen hervorgerufen werden. Wolkenstrahlungswechselwirkungen stehen seit langem im Zentrum der Klimaforschung und des Klimawandels auf der globalen Skala. Ihre Rolle für den regionalen Klimawandel, welcher maßgeblich durch die atmosphärische Zirkulation geprägt wird, ist jedoch besonders in den Gebieten der mittleren und hohen Breiten wenig bekannt. Diese Wissenslücke wollen wir schließen und damit zu einem besseren Verständnis des Erdklimasystems und zu besseren Klimaprognosen beitragen.

Für unsere Arbeit setzen wir auf eine Kombination von globalen Klimasimulationen und ultrahochaufgelösten Regionalsimulationen, die wir mit Beobachtungsdaten und theoretischen Konzepten vergleichen.

Wir beschäftigen uns außerdem mit allgemeinen Fragestellungen der globalen Klimadynamik und Klimamodellierung. Dazu gehören der Einfluss von Aerosolen auf die Atmosphärenzirkulation und die Dynamik von tropischen Regenbändern. Als Teil dieser Forschungsaktivitäten leiten wir die Klimamodellvergleichsprojekte "Easy Aerosol" und "TRACMIP: Tropical Rain belts with an Annual cycle and a Continent Model Intercomparison Project" und sind mit dem WCRP Grand Challenge on Clouds, Circulation and Climate Sensitivity verknüpft.

Die Nachwuchsgruppe ist Teil des deutschlandweiten Forschungsprojekts HD(CP)2: High Definition Clouds and Precipitation for Advancing Climate Predicition und wird hauptsächlich vom BMBF und FONA unterstützt.