Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

News from CEDIM: Corona-Dashboard and Research Report 2017 - 2020

The Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM) is an interdisciplinary research institute at KIT in the fields of disasters, risks, and security. CEDIM conducts research on the causes, the handling and prevention of natural and technical risks and develops new models and concepts for this purpose. Currently, ten KIT institutes are involved in CEDIM. Recently Prof. Michael Kunz was elected as speaker for another 3 years; general manager is Dr. Susanna Mohr (both IMK-TRO).

Pandemics have not been the focus of CEDIM's research work so far. However, this has changed with the current Covid-19 pandemic, which shows many similarities to major natural disasters. Apart from the effects on system-relevant areas, in both cases the most valid, up-to-date and high-resolution data possible are an essential basis for decisions - a topic that has concerned CEDIM for many years. Since February 2020, CEDIM and Risklayer (CEDIM/KIT spin-off) teamed up with many volunteers to collect current Covid-19 case numbers on a sub-national level. The numbers are processed using the CATDAT database and distributed via the new CEDIM/Risklayer Explorer (Fig. 1; Germany/World). Compared to the official statistics of the Robert Koch Institute, the information collected by CEDIM/Risklayer is more precise, up-to-date and has a higher granularity – in particular for Germany, where it is partly available down to the municipal level. The interest in the data is considerable: they are processed and published by various media (ZDF, Tagesspiegel, BNN, MDR, etc.) and feed into the dashboard of the Johns Hopkins University. It is also planned to use the data within the frame of research projects. CEDIM researchers recently submitted a DFG proposal to investigate causal chains between non-pharmaceutical interventions (measures) and the course of case numbers.

Fig. 1: Current Covid-19 cases (as of 21.09.2020) worldwide (http://www.risklayer-explorer.com/event/6/detail)

The current CEDIM Research Report 2017-2020 (Fig. 2) gives an overview about this activity and other research work and activities of CEDIM in the last three years. The projects funded by CEDIM in the last funding phase had the objectives to investigate the resilience of existing and future energy and mobility systems using model analyses and case studies in test areas and to identify critical elements and processes decisive for failures of various systems. These projects were complemented by research on rapid loss estimations after natural disasters. In addition to the existing internet platform wettergefahren-fruehwarnung.de, which was relaunched with a new design and in English last year, the new interactive information portal risklayer-explorer.de was launched, on which information about current extreme events and disasters will become available – besides the Covid-19 statistics.
 

In addition, the Research Report 2017-2020 contains various reports on worldwide catastrophes, some of which have been examined more closely in the context of Forensic Disaster Analysis (FDA) by CEDIM. The objectives of this ex-post research approach are to assess disasters directly after their occurrence, to estimate the impacts, to assess the temporal development and to identify the main factors that determine the impact (see also here).
 

Finally, the Research Report 2017-2020 provides an overview about ongoing and completed third-party funded projects that have been acquired by CEDIM researcher, presents new research collaborations and report on various outreach activities of CEDIM.

Fig. 2: Recently published, the new CEDIM Research Report 2017 – 2020.

[Working group: Atmospheric risks]
Author: Michael Kunz
21.09.2020

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung

Neues aus CEDIM: Corona-Dashboard und Forschungsbericht 2017-2020

Das Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology, kurz CEDIM, ist eine Disziplinen-übergreifende Forschungseinrichtung des KIT auf den Themenfeldern Katastrophen, Risiken und Sicherheit. CEDIM forscht über Ursachen, Bewältigung und Prävention natürlicher und technischer Risiken und entwickelt hierfür neue Modelle und Konzepte. Derzeit sind zehn KIT-Institute an CEDIM beteiligt. Vor kurzem wurde Prof. Michael Kunz als Sprecher für weitere 3 Jahre gewählt; Geschäftsführerin ist Dr. Susanna Mohr (beide vom IMK-TRO).

Pandemien standen bisher nicht im Fokus der Forschungsarbeiten von CEDIM. Das hat sich aber durch die aktuelle Covid-19 Pandemie geändert, die viele Parallelen zu großen Naturkatastrophen aufweist. Neben den Auswirkungen auf systemrelevante Bereiche, sind in beiden Fällen möglichst valide, aktuelle und hoch-aufgelöste Daten eine essentielle Grundlage für Entscheidungen – ein Thema, das CEDIM seit vielen Jahren beschäftigt. Seit Februar dieses Jahres sammeln Mitarbeiter von CEDIM und Risklayer GmbH (Spin-off CEDIM) zusammen mit zahlreichen Freiwilligen via Crowdsourcing aktuelle Covid-19 Fallzahlen auf subnationaler Ebene, bereiten diese mit Hilfe der Datenbank CATDAT auf und machen sie über den neuen CEDIM/Risklayer-Explorer (Abb. 1) zugänglich (Deutschland/Welt). Gegenüber den offiziellen Zahlen des Robert Koch-Instituts sind die von CEDIM/Risklayer gesammelten Zahlen wesentlich valider, aktueller und weisen eine höhere Granularität auf – insbesondere für Deutschland, wo sie zum Teil bis auf Gemeindeebene vorliegen. Das Interesse an diesen Daten ist erheblich: neben der Nutzung von verschiedenen Medien (ZDF, Tagesspiegel, BNN, MDR u.a.) fließen sie unter anderem auch in das Dashboard der John Hopkins University ein. Außerdem ist geplant, die Daten im Rahmen verschiedener Forschungsprojekte zu nutzen. So haben vor kurzem Mitarbeiter des CEDIM ein DFG-Antrag gestellt, in dem Kausalketten zwischen nicht-pharmazeutischer Interventionen (Maßnahmen) und dem Verlauf der Fallzahlen untersucht werden sollen.

Abb. 1: Aktuelle Covid-19 Fälle (Stand: 21.09.2020) weltweit (http://www.risklayer-explorer.com/event/6/detail)

Der aktuelle CEDIM Research Report 2017-2020  (Abb. 2) gibt einen Überblick über diese und die weiteren Forschungsarbeiten und Aktivitäten von CEDIM in den vergangenen drei Jahren. Die durch CEDIM geförderten Projekte in der letzten Förderphase hatten zum Ziel, anhand von Modellanalysen und Fallstudien in beispielhaften Testgebieten die Resilienz bestehender und zukünftiger Energie- und Mobilitätssysteme durch Naturkatastrophen zu untersuchen und dabei kritische Elemente und Prozesse zu identifizieren, die für das Versagen verschiedener Systeme maßgeblich sind. Ergänzt wurden diese Projekte durch Arbeiten zur schnellen Schadenschätzung nach Katastrophen. Neben der bereits bestehenden Internet-Plattform wettergefahren-fruehwarnung.de, die im vergangenen Jahr einen Relaunch erfahren hat, ging im März dieses Jahres auch das Informationsportal riskplayer-explorer.de online, über das in Zukunft – neben den Covid-19 Fallzahlen – Informationen über aktuelle Katastrophen verfügbar sind.
 

Außerdem enthält der Research Report 2017-2020 verschiedene Berichte zu weltweiten Katastrophen, die zum Teil im Rahmen von forensischen Katastrophenanalysen (Forensic Disaster Analysis, FDA) von CEDIM näher untersucht wurden. Das Ziel dieses ex-post Forschungsansatzes ist es,  unmittelbar nach dem Eintreten einer Katastrophe diese zu bewerten, die Folgen abzuschätzen, die zeitliche Entwicklung nachzuverfolgen und die wichtigsten Faktoren zu identifizieren, die für die Auswirkungen maßgeblich sind
(siehe auch hier.)
 

Schließlich gibt der Research Report 2017-2020 einen Überblick über laufende und abgeschlossene Drittmittelprojekte, die von CEDIM-Mitarbeitern eingeworben wurden, neue Forschungskooperationen und die vielfältigen Wissentransferaktivitäten von CEDIM.

Abb.2: Frisch erschienen, der neue CEDIM Forschungsbericht 2017-2020

[Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Risiken]
Autor: Michael Kunz
21.09.2020