Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Artificial intelligence helps to verify processes in NWP and climate models

Physical processes on the weather time-scale importantly modulate the large-scale midlatitude circulation. In particular, the most rapidly ascending air streams in extratropical cyclones, so-called warm conveyor belts (WCBs), have a major impact on the dynamics and are sources and magnifiers of forecast uncertainty. Thus, an adequate representation of WCBs is desirable in numerical weather prediction and climate models. Most often, WCBs are defined on the base of Lagrangian trajectories which are computationally expensive to calculate and require data at high spatio-temporal resolution. Thus, systematic evaluations of the representation of WCBs in large numerical weather prediction (NWP) and climate model data sets are missing.

A major goal of the Helmholtz Young Investigator Group “Sub-seasonal Atmospheric Predictability: Understanding the Role of Diabatic Outflow” (SPREADOUT) at IMK-TRO is to develop statistical techniques that allow the identification of WCBs without performing expensive trajectory computations [1]. Most recently, convolutional neural network (CNN) models were trained to predict the occurrence of WCBs using a combination of meteorological predictors which are physically meaningful to describe the WCB and which are routinely available in NWP forecast and climate model projections. The validation of the CNN models against a trajectory-based data set confirms that the deep learning based approach reliably replicates the climatological frequency of WCBs as well as their footprints at instantaneous time steps [2].

With its comparably low computational costs the new deep learning based diagnostic is ideally suited to systematically verify WCBs in large datasets such as ensemble reforecast or climate model projections. Further, the diagnostic can be easily applied to different modeling systems such as the ICON NWP model (Fig. 1). Accordingly, model intercomparisons concerning the representation of WCBs will be conducted in future studies. A first systematic verification of WCBs in ECMWF‘s subseasonal to seasonal reforecasts highlights that significant systematic biases in the occurrence frequency of WCBs exist (Fig. 2) and that reliable predictions of WCBs are not possible beyond 10 days forecast lead time [3].

 

Fig. 1: Exemplary application of CNN-based WCB diagnostic to ICON forecast. Colored dots indicate ascending air parcels identified with the trajectory-based approach. Green contour denotes ascent region identified with the CNN-based WCB diagnostic. Further are shown mean sea level pressure (gray contours), WCB inflow region (red contour) and WCB outflow region (blue contour) as identified with the CNN-based WCB diagnostic. Figure provided by Annika Oertel.

 

Fig. 2: Frequency bias of WCB ascent for DJF 1997-2017 (shading) at 7 days forecast lead time. Robustness is indicated by the point hatching (first, weaker level) and the line hatching (second, stronger level). The black contours indicate a climatological WCB ascent frequency of 1, 5, 10, 15%. Figure provided by Jan Wandel.

 

Overall, the novel diagnostic demonstrates how deep learning methods may be used to advance our fundamental understanding of processes on the weather time-scale that are involved in forecast uncertainty and systematic biases in NWP and climate models.

References:
[1] Quinting, J. F., and C. M. Grams (2021). Towards a systematic evaluation of warm conveyor belts in numerical weather prediction and climate models. Part I: Predictor selection and logistic regression model. Journal of Atmospheric Sciences, in revision.

[2] Quinting, J. F., and C. M. Grams (2021). Deep Learning for the Verification of Warm Conveyor Belts in NWP and Climate Models. Part I: Model development. In preparation.

[3] Wandel, J., J. F. Quinting, C. M. Grams (2021). Towards a systematic evaluation of warm conveyor belts in numerical weather prediction and climate models. Part II: Verification of operational reforecasts. Journal of Atmospheric Sciences, submitted.

Julian Quinting, Working Group: “Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability” LINK: https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/7425.php

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung

Künstliche Intelligenz für die Verifikation von Prozessen in Wettervorhersagemodellen

Physikalische Prozesse auf der Wetterzeitskala modulieren maßgeblich die großräumige Zirkulation in den mittleren Breiten. Insbesondere die am schnellsten aufsteigenden Luftströme in außertropischen Tiefdruckgebieten, sogenannte Warm Conveyor Belts (WCBs), haben einen großen Einfluss auf die Dynamik und sind Quellen von Vorhersageunsicherheiten. Daher ist eine korrekte Darstellung der WCBs in numerischen Wettervorhersage- und Klimamodellen wünschenswert. Üblicherweise werden WCBs mit Hilfe von Lagrangeschen Trajektorien identifiziert, deren Berechnung vergleichsweise rechenintensiv ist und Daten mit hoher räumlicher und zeitlicher Auflösung erfordert. Daher fehlen bisher systematische Verifikationen der WCBs in Wettervorhersage- und Klimamodellen.

Ein Hauptziel der Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppe "Sub-seasonal Atmospheric Predictability: Understanding the Role of Diabatic Outflow" (SPREADOUT) am IMK-TRO ist es, statistische Verfahren zu entwickeln, die die Identifikation von WCBs ohne aufwendige Trajektorienberechnungen ermöglichen [1]. Kürzlich wurden sogenannte Convolutional Neural Network (CNN)-Modelle trainiert, um die Auftrittswahrscheinlichkeit von WCBs ohne Trajektorienberechnung vorherzusagen.  Dazu wurde eine Kombination von meteorologischen Prädiktoren verwendet, die zum Einen physikalisch bedeutsam sind und zum Anderen routinemäßig in Prognosen von Wettervorhersagemodellen und Klimamodellprojektionen verfügbar sind. Die Validierung der CNN-Modelle gegen einen trajektorienbasierten Datensatz bestätigt, dass der deep-learning-basierte Ansatz die klimatologische Häufigkeit von WCBs sowie deren räumliche Struktur zuverlässig wiedergibt [2].

Mit ihren vergleichsweise geringen Rechenkosten ist die neue deep-learning-basierte Methode ideal geeignet, um WCBs in großen Datensätzen wie Ensemblevorhersagen oder Klimamodellprojektionen systematisch zu verifizieren. Darüber hinaus kann die Diagnose einfach auf verschiedene Vorhersagesysteme wie das ICON Wettervorhersagemodell (Abb. 1) angewendet werden, so dass Modellvergleiche in zukünftigen Studien möglich sind.Eine erste systematische Verifikation von WCBs in den sub-saisonalen bis saisonalen Vorhersagen des ECMWF zeigt, dass signifikante systematische Fehler in der Auftretenshäufigkeit von WCBs existieren (Abb. 2) und dass eine zuverlässige Vorhersage von WCBs nicht über 10 Tage hinaus möglich ist [3].

Abb. 1: Beispielhafte Anwendung der CNN-Modelle auf eine Wettervorhersage mit dem ICON-Modellsystem. Farbige Punkte kennzeichnen aufsteigende WCB-Luftpakete, die mit Hilfe von Trajektorien identifiziert wurden. Die grüne Kontur kennzeichnet die Aufstiegsregion des WCBs, welche mit der CNN-basierten Methode identifiziert wurde. Weiterhin sind der Luftdruck auf Meereshöhe (graue Konturen), die WCB-Einströmregion (rote Kontur) und die WCB-Ausströmregion (blaue Kontur) dargestellt. Abbildung erstellt von Annika Oertel.

 

Abb. 2: Systematischer Fehler in der klimatologischen Häufigkeit von WCB Aufstiegsregionen gemittelt über die Winter 1997-2017 (Schattierung) in 7-Tages-Vorhersagen. Die Robustheit wird durch die Punktschraffur und die Linienschraffur angezeigt. Die schwarzen Konturen zeigen die klimatologische Häufigkeit von WCB Aufstiegsregionen an (1, 5, 10, 15%). Abbildung erstellt von Jan Wandel.

 

Insgesamt zeigt die neuartige Methode, wie deep-learning-basierte Ansätze eingesetzt werden können, um unser grundlegendes Verständnis von Prozessen auf der Wetterzeitskala zu verbessern und die Gründe für systematische Fehler in Wettervorhersage- und Klimamodellen herauszufinden.

Literatur:
[1] Quinting, J. F., and C. M. Grams (2021). Towards a systematic evaluation of warm conveyor belts in numerical weather prediction and climate models. Part I: Predictor selection and logistic regression model. Journal of Atmospheric Sciences, in revision.

[2] Quinting, J. F., and C. M. Grams (2021). Deep Learning for the Verification of Warm Conveyor Belts in NWP and Climate Models. Part I: Model development. In preparation.

[3] Wandel, J., J. F. Quinting, C. M. Grams (2021). Towards a systematic evaluation of warm conveyor belts in numerical weather prediction and climate models. Part II: Verification of operational reforecasts. Journal of Atmospheric Sciences, submitted.

Julian Quinting, Arbeitsgruppe “Großräumige Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit” LINK: https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/7425.php