Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Mineral dust transport causes dimming of the sky and stained cars. Does it also affect our electricity production?

Last weekend (06.02.2021) , the prevailing weather situation caused a strong transport of Saharan dust to Europe. This led to a notable dimming of the sky not only in Switzerland (Fig. 1) and Austria (Fig. 2), but also in Baden-Wuerttemberg (Fig. 3) where the event was well observable. The fact that Saharan dust was present in the atmosphere became clearly visible by the subsequent precipitation and the associated dust deposition on cars (Fig.4).

Fig. 1 Sernfttal, Switzerland
Fig. 2 Zell, Austria, @U. Schreyer

Using the model system ICON-ART, developed at IMK, German Weather Service performs pre-operational mineral dust forecasts since 2017. These forecasts aim to better predict the reduction of photovoltaic production due to elevated mineral dust concentrations in the atmosphere, and thus to improve forecasts of the photovoltaic yield.

The daily forecasts are available on the WMO Sand and Dust Storm Warning Advisory and Assessment System website (https://sds-was.aemet.es/forecast-products/dust-forecasts/forecast-comparison) and soon at https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/10581.php.

Fig. 3: Kressbronn, @D. Stache
Fig. 4: Karlsruhe

The animation (Fig. 5) of predicted mineral optical depth shows the release of mineral dust on 05.02.21 over the Atlas Mountains and the subsequent transport to Europe. At the time the forecast was made, the dust was still on the ground in the desert. Hurricane-force gusts were recorded at weather stations in the Atlas Mountains (e.g. 117 km/h on 05.02.21 in Midelt, Morocco) in front of a far south reaching low pressure system in the upper atmosphere and the associated cold front. The high wind speeds close to the surface ultimately led to the release of the dust, which was then transported in a southerly flow toward the Mediterranean Sea. There, a low-pressure system formed and the asscociated so-called warm conveyor belt lifted the dust to higher altitudes and transported it with the polar jet across the Mediterranean Sea towards the Alps. The dust reached the Alps on 06.02.21. At the observatory at Jungfraujoch, Switzerland a maximum dust concentration of more than 700 µg m-3 was measured (NABEL (BAFU/Empa)). The daily threshold value in Germany is 50 µg m-3 (35 exceedances per year allowed). Figure 6 shows the simulated PM10 concentration and the aerosol optical thickness (AOD) for comparison.

 
Fig. 5: Temporal development of AOD simulated with ICON-ART.
Fig. 6: Measured (NABEL-network) and simulated PM10 concentration,
and simulated AOD at Jungfraujoch, Switzerland (06.02.2021)

What was the impact of the dust event on the solar energy yield in Germany?  Mineral dust in the atmosphere modifies radiation (as seen in the photos) on the one hand, but also influences cloud formation. Both processes together are currently ignored in weather forecast models, which led to a significant overestimation (up to 50%) of the predicted solar energy yield for the southwest last weekend (Fig. 7). At IMK-TRO, we are working on an improved description of these processes in operational weather forecasting in the PermaStrom project (https://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2020_060_aerosole-beeinflussen-solarstromertrag-in-europa.php). 

Fig. 7: Forecasted and actual PV-yield for southwest Germany
Datasource: https://transparency.entsoe.eu/

 

Contact person:

Bernhard Vogel, Ali Hoshyaripour, WG Aerosols, Trace Gases and Climate Processes

Christian Grams, Julian Quinting, WG Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung

Die dunkle Seite des Staubes

Am letzten Wochenende (06.02.21) verursachte die vorliegende Wettersituation einen starken Transport von Saharastaub nach Europa. Dieses führte nicht nur in der Schweiz (Abb. 1) und Österreich (Abb. 2) zu einer deutlichen Verfärbung des Himmels, auch in Baden-Württemberg (Abb. 3) war das Ereignis gut zu beobachten. Dass es sich um Saharastaub in der Atmosphäre handelt, wurde durch den nachfolgenden Niederschlag und die damit verbundene Deposition auf Autos (Abb.4) deutlich sichtbar.

Abb. 1 Sernfttal, Schweiz
Abb. 2 Zell, Österreich, @U. Schreyer

Mit dem Modellsystem ICON-ART, das am IMK entwickelt wurde, werden beim Deutschen Wetterdienst seit 2017 präoperationelle Mineralstaubvorhersagen durchgeführt. Ziel dieser Vorhersagen ist es, die Reduktion der Photovoltaikproduktion durch erhöhte Mineralstaubkonzentrationen in der Atmosphäre besser vorhersagen zu können und damit auch eine verbesserte Prognose des Photovoltaikertrags.

Die täglichen Vorhersagen können auf der Webseite des WMO Sand and Dust Storm Warning Advisory and Assessment System (https://sds-was.aemet.es/forecast-products/dust-forecasts/forecast-comparison) und in Kürze auch unter https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/10581.php eingesehen werden.

Abb. 3: Kressbronn, @D. Stache
Abb. 4: Karlsruhe

Die Animation (Abb. 5) zeigt die Freisetzung des Mineralstaubs am 05.02.21 über dem Atlas Gebirge und den anschließenden Transport nach Europa. Zu dem Zeitpunkt als die Vorhersage erstellt wurde, befand sich der Staub in der Wüste noch am Boden. Vorderseitig eines weit nach Süden reichenden Höhentiefs und der damit verbundenen Kaltfront wurden an Wetterstationen im Atlasgebirge orkanartige Böen registriert (z.B. 117 km/h am 05.02.21 in Midelt, Marokko). Die hohen Windgeschwindigkeiten nahe des Bodens führten letztendlich zur Freisetzung des Staubs, welcher dann eingelagert in eine südliche Strömung Richtung Mittelmeer verfrachtet wurde. Dort bildete sich ein Tiefdruckgebiet dessen sogenanntes Warmluftförderband (warm conveyor belt) den Staub in größere Höhen gehoben hat und mit dem Polarjet über das Mittelmeer hinweg in Richtung der Alpen verfrachtete. Die Alpen erreichte der Staub am 06.02.. Am Observatorium am Jungfraujoch, Schweiz wurde eine maximale Staubkonzentration von über 700 µg m-3 gemessen (NABEL (BAFU/Empa)). Der Tagesgrenzwert in Deutschland liegt bei 50 µg m-3 (35 Überschreitungen pro Jahr zulässig). Die Abbildung 6 zeigt zum Vergleich die simulierte PM10 Konzentration und die Aerosol Optische Dicke (AOD).

 
Abb. 5: Mit ICON-ART simulierte zeitliche Entwicklung der AOD.
Abb. 6: Beobachtete (NABEL-Meßnetz) und simulierte PM10 Konzentration,
sowie simulierte AOD am Jungfraujoch, Schweiz (06.02.2021)

Welche Bedeutung hatte das Staubereignis auf die Ausbeute an Solarenergie in Deutschland?  Mineralstaub in der Atmosphäre modifiziert zum einen die Strahlung (wie auf den Fotos zu sehen), beeinflusst aber zum anderen auch die Wolkenbildung. Beide Prozesse zusammen werden derzeit in den Wettervorhersagemodellen nicht berücksichtigt, was am vergangenen Wochenende zu einer deutlichen Überschätzung (bis zu 50 %) des prognostizierten Solarenergieertrags für den Südwesten geführt hat (Abb. 7). Am IMK-TRO arbeiten wir im  Projekt PermaStrom (https://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2020_060_aerosole-beeinflussen-solarstromertrag-in-europa.php) an einer verbesserten Beschreibung dieser Prozesse in der operationellen Wettervorhersage.

Abb. 7: Prognostizierter und eingespeister PV-Eintrag für Südwestdeutschland.
Datenquelle: https://transparency.entsoe.eu/

 

Ansprechpartner:

Bernhard Vogel, Ali Hoshyaripour, AG Spurenstoffmodellierung und Klimaprozesse

Christian Grams, Julian Quinting, AG Großräumige Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit