Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

MOSES - Modular Observation Solutions for Earth Systems

  • Contact:

    Dr. Andreas Wieser

  • Partner:

    Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ) from Leipzig,Research Centre Jülich (FZJ), Helmholtz Centre Potsdam - German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ)

In order to investigate extreme events and trends in the Earth System in detail, the Helmholtz Centres in the research field Earth and Environment are jointly developing the new earth observation system MOSES - Modular Observation Solutions for Earth Systems 

In the focus of interest are hydrological extremes, heat waves, ocean eddies and permafrost thaw for which the effects of short-term disturbances on entire event chains as well as long term trends were observed. In the case of "Hydrological Extremes", 7 Helmholtz centres are working hand in hand to measure and study the effects of an extreme events (e.g. heavy precipitation) from the source in the atmosphere to entire river systems, from landscape evolution due to flooding over nutrient and pollutant transports to changes in the rivers ecosystems and in the estuary.

 

 

The Elbe river was selected as the study area for the implementation phase of MOSES. The first two measurement campaigns, which focus on the interaction between the measuring devices and the near real time data exchange between the partners, are scheduled for April to July in 2019 and 2020.

The upper Elbe measurement campaign, coordinated by KIT, is taking place in the Müglitztal valley in Saxony. Besides the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research - Department Tropospheric Research (IMK-TRO) of KIT, the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ) from Leipzig, the Research Centre Jülich (FZJ) and the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam - German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ) are also involved in the measurements.

KIT deploys its mobile observatory KITcube (http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/4635.php/) to Dittersdorf, a station above the Müglitz Valley. KITcube's radar and lidar instruments, microwave profilers, radiosondes, energy balance stations and distrometers provide important data on the formation and evolution of heavy precipitation, as well as detailed information about precipitation distributions and evaporation (http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/9683.php).

 

Colleagues of FZJ are investigating the input of water vapour and trace substances into the stratosphere through convective systems using radiosondes with additional trace gas devices.

The scientists from the UFZ focus on soil moisture and river runoff. In order to monitor soil moisture development, UFZ is installing a mobile, wireless sensor network which measures soil moisture and temperature at different depths. In addition to the permanently installed sensor network, a mobile Cosmic Ray Rover with specially developed neutron sensors is used to observe the large-scale variation in soil moisture in the observation area. The GFZ monitors the evolution of the groundwater level by means of fixed and mobile gravimeters and additionally uses Cosmic Ray sensors to measure soil moisture.

Apart from the high-resolution precipitation, soil moisture and ground water data one of the most important products established in the implementation phase by the four partners in the upper Elbe Team is the complete water balance for the Müglitz catchment.  Starting with the 2020 campaign the data are handed over in near real time to the lower Elbe Team consisting of Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI), Helmholtz Center Geesthacht, Geomar, and UFZ.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

MOSES - Modular Observation Solutions for Earth Systems

MOSES - Modular Observation Solutions for Earth Systems
Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Andreas Wieser

Links:
Partner:

 Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ), Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ), Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam (GFZ)

Mit dem Ziel detaillierte Untersuchungen zu Extremereignisse und Trends im Erdsystem durchführen zu können entwickeln die Helmholtz Zentren im Bereich Erde und Umwelt derzeit gemeinsam das modulare Erdbeobachtungssystem MOSES - Modular Observation Solutions for Earth

Im Fokus von MOSES stehen die Bereiche „Hydrologische Extreme“, „Hitzewellen“, „Ozeanwirbel“ und das „Auftauen von Permafrost“, wobei sowohl der Einfluss von kurzeitigen Störungen entlang einer sogenannten Wirkungskette als auch langfriste Trends im Rahmen des Klimawandels beobachtet werden.  Im Falle der Wirkungskette „Hydrologische Extreme“ arbeiten 7 Helmholtz Zentren Hand in Hand um gemeinsam den Einfluss von Extremereignissen (z.B. Starkniederschläge) von der Quelle in der Atmosphäre über ein gesamtes Flusssystem bis hinein in dessen Mündungsgebiet zu untersuchen. Dabei werden Niederschlagsbildung, -Intensitäten und deren räumliche Verteilung, Bodenfeuchte, Oberflächen- und Grundwasser, Veränderungen in der Landschaft durch Überschwemmung, Nähr- und Schadstoffeintrag und -transport sowie deren Auswirkungen auf das Ökosystem gemeinsam und fachübergreifend untersucht.

 Als Untersuchungsgebiet für die Implementierungsphase von MOSES wurde die Elbe ausgewählt. Die ersten beiden Messkampagnen, bei denen der Fokus auf die übergreifende Messung mit neuesten Messtechniken und Echtzeitdatenaustauch zwischen den Partnern im Fokus stehen finden in den Jahren 2019 und 2020 jeweils von Mai bis Juli statt.

Die Messkampagnen am Oberlauf der Elbe weden dabei vom KIT koordiniert und findet im Müglitztal im sächsischen Osterzgebirge statt. Neben dem Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, Forschungsbereich Troposphäre (IMK-TRO) sind das Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ), das Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) und das Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam (GFZ) beteiligt.

Das KIT setzt dabei sein Messsystem KITcube (http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/4635.php/)  am Hauptstandort Dittersdorf bei Glashütte und an zwei weiteren Station in Zinnwald-Georgenfeld in der Gipfelregion des Osterzgebirges und Schlottwitz im Talbereich ein. Dabei liefern insbesondere das x-Band Niederschlagsradar, Doppler-Lidar Geräte, ein Mikrowellenprofiler, Radiosonden, Energiebilanzstationen und Parsivel Distrometer wertvolle Messdaten mit denen Entstehung und Entwicklung unterschiedlichster Starkniederschlagsereignisse untersucht und räumlich und zeitlich hoch aufgelöste Verteilungen von Niederschlag und Verdunstung bestimmt werden (http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/9683.php).

Unsere Kollegen vom FZJ untersuchen mit speziellen Radiosonden den Austausch von Feuchte und Spurengasen zwischen Troposphäre und unterer Stratosphäre, das UFZ betreibt ein drahtloses Bodenfeuchtesensornetzwerk, sowie einen Cosmic Ray Rover mit dem Bodenfeuchteverteilungen und deren Änderung im gesamten Untersuchungsgebiet bestimmt werden. Automatisierte Pegelmessungen zur Abflussbestimmung in kleineren Oberflächengewässern ergänzen das Landesmessnetz.  Das GFZ setzt mobile und fest installierte Gravimeter zur Grundwasserspiegelbestimmung im gesamten Messgebiet ein, die durch einen Cosmic Ray Sensor unterstützt werden.  

Aus all diesen Messungen lässt sich als eines der wichtigsten Produkte der zentrenübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit die Wasserbilanz für das gesamte Müglitztal aufstellen. Ab dem Jahr 2020 werden diese Daten in naher Echtzeit an die Wirkungskettenpartner im Bereich untere Elbe und Deutsche Bucht, die sich aus Alfred-Wegner-Institut (AWI), Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht, Geomar und UFZ bilden, weitergegeben.