deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Organization Inside of the Chaos

Very precise: Measurement setup of the YIG in Jülich.
 
Much movement: The arrows show direction and strength of the wind, areas with convergence are highlighted with colors.
 
Variable: Wind in the direction of flow, measured in meters per second.

Dr. Katja Träumner and her Young Investigator Group have developed a new measurement approach which helps to a better understanding of turbulence in the atmospheric boundary layer.The Council for Research and Promotion of Young Scientists (CRYS) at KIT has now attested to the YIG very good work.

 

Twirling leafs or circling gliders are indications of turbulence in the atmospheric boundary layer. Turbulence is classified typically as chaotic and in detail not predictable. “Yet, it is also known that inside this chaotic system kinds organisation can develop”, says Katja Träumnerfrom the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research, “that under certain circumstances movements organize themselves”. One main task in meteorology is to describe the processes in the atmosphere and togive them parameters so that forecast model are able to reproduce them. The basis for that are observations. To observe self-organization in the turbulent wind field it is necessary to measure with high spatial and temporal resolution. Founded in 2010, the KIT Young Investigator Group “Exploring coherent structures using dual Doppler lidar systems” has developed, in theory and practically, a new measurement approach using laser-based remote sensing techniques. The YIG successfully deployed it during an international field campaign.

The observed wind fields show impressive details of the self-organization of the turbulent wind near the surface: During situations with considerable background wind the movement organises in bands of enhanced and reduced wind speed which a several hundred meters long. During calm situations, narrow zones of convergence develop, which could join to cell-like structures. That means, the linked updrafts can organize themselves in alveolar patterns.

KIT supports the YIG for four years with money from the Exzellence Initiative. Every year, the YIG is provided with approximately 80.000 €.

With money from the Exzellence Initiative, KIT has installed 38 Young Investigator Groups. They are designed to support young scientists, to make them self-reliantin an early stage and to strengthen the research profileof KIT.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Ordnung im Chaos

Ganz genau: Messaufbau der YIG in Jülich.

 

Viel Bewegung: Die Pfeile zeigen die Windrichtung und Stärke, farbig hinterlegt sind die Bereiche mit Konvergenz.

 

Variabel: Wind in Strömungsrichtung in Metern pro Sekunde. (Fotos: YIG)

Die Young Investigator Group (YIG) von Dr. Katja Träumner hat einen Messansatz entwickelt, der ein besseres Verständnis für Turbulenz in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht ermöglicht.Das Council for Research and Promotion of Young Scientists (CRYS) am KIT hat der YIG nun sehr gute Arbeit bescheinigt.

 

Blätterwirbel oder kreisende Segelflieger sind Anzeichen für Turbulenz in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht. Turbulenz gilt in der Öffentlichkeit als chaotisch und nicht im Detail vorhersagbar. „Es ist aber bekannt, dass in diesem Chaos Ordnung entstehen kann“, sagt Katja Träumnervom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, „dass sich unter bestimmten Umständen die Bewegungen organisieren.“ Eine Aufgabe der Meteorologie ist es, Vorgänge in der Atmosphäre richtig zu beschreiben und mit Parametern zu versehen, so dass Modelle diese Vorgänge reproduzieren können. Grundlage dafür sind Beobachtungen. Um die Organisation im Windfeld beobachten zu können, ist es notwendig, räumlich und zeitlich hoch aufgelöst zu messen. Die 2010 gegründete YIG“Exploringcoherentstructuresusing dual Doppler lidarsystems” am KIT hat dafür theoretisch und praktisch einen neuen Messansatz entwickelt, der auf laser-gestützter Fernerkundung basiert, und erfolgreich in einer internationalen Feldmesskampagne eingesetzt.

Die im Laufe der Kampagne aufgenommenen Messdaten zeigen eindrucksvolle Details im Verhalten des Windes: Unter windigen Bedingungen organisiert sich die Luftbewegung in Bändern von erhöhter und verringerter Windgeschwindigkeit, die mehrere hundert Meter lang sind. Ist es windstill, können schmale Konvergenzzonen beobachtet werden, in denen Luftbewegungen zusammenfließen und die sich zu zellförmigen Strukturen vereinigen können. Die damit verbundenen Aufwinde, so Träumner, „organisieren sich in annähernd wabenförmigen Mustern“.

Das KIT fördert die YIG über insgesamt vier Jahre mit Mitteln aus der Exzellenzinitiative. Pro Jahr stehen der YIG rund 80.000 Euro zur Verfügung.

Mit Mitteln aus der Exzellenzinitiative hat das KIT insgesamt 38 YolungInvestigator Groups eingerichtet. Sie dienen der Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses, seiner frühen Selbständigkeit und der Stärkung des Forschungsprofils des KIT.