deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

State-of-the-art data bases to advance understanding on extreme weather

As a result of global warming, the type, frequency and intensity of extreme events are expected to rise. Changes in some types of extreme events have already been observed, for example, increases in the frequency and intensity of heat waves and heavy precipitation events. These changes will be more drastic in certain areas of the globe. The Mediterranean regions have been identified as one of the two main “hot-spots” of the climate change.

The capability to predict such dramatic events is still a great challenge. Despite the significant progress made in terms of climate monitoring as well as weather and extreme event forecasting during recent years, many uncertainties remain. Further improvements now depend to a large extent on the availability of high spatial-temporal resolution global observations of crucial variables such as soil water content and atmospheric water vapour. State-of-the-art space missions, such as the European Space Agency (ESA) Soil Moisture and Ocean Salinity (SMOS) mission, together with the use of new technologies, such as Global Positioning Systems (GPSs) could fill this gap. The SMOS mission provides a unique data set of global measurements of surface soil moisture already successfully downscaled to 1 km horizontal resolution. Additionally, as part of HyMeX (Hydrological Cycle in the Mediterranean Experiment) efforts an exceptional data set of GPS measurements together post-processed with a 10-minute frequency is available.

Figure 1: Position of GPS stations from several European networks, jointly post-processed to offer a unique merged product with a 10-minute frequency in the framework of HyMeX.

In the framework of the BMBF founded PREMIUM (Predictive models for Extremes and High Impact Weather under Climate Change) project the Junior research group “Extreme weather in a changing climate” exploits an innovative approach by using the synergy of the above described state-of-the-art high-spatial resolution data sets for initialization and assimilation in the high-resolution convection-permitting regional climate modelling system COSMO-CCLM across spatio-temporal scales, from days to decades temporal scale and up to 500 m resolution. Our purpose is to fill some knowledge gaps and reduce uncertainties improving the modelling and understanding of climatic and weather extremes and the responsible mechanisms.

First results already reveal the benefit of using the newly released data sets; an improved representation of extreme weather and a better understanding of the processes shaping these phenomena due to the higher spatio-temporal resolution of the available observations support this fact.

For more information please visit our web-page: http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/6760.php

[Working group: Extreme Weather in a Changing Climate]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Neueste Datensätze für ein verbessertes Verständnis von extremen Wetterereignissen

Als Folge der globalen Erwärmung ist ein Anstieg in der Häufigkeit und Intensität unterschiedlicher Arten extremer Events zu erwarten. Die Veränderung einiger Arten von Extremereignissen wurde bereits beobachtet, beispielsweise der Anstieg in der Häufigkeit und Intensität von Dürreperioden und Starkregenereignissen. Diese Veränderungen werden in bestimmten Regionen der Erde dramatischer ausfallen. Hierbei wurde die Mittelmeerregion als eine von zwei primären „Hot-Spots“ des Klimawandels identifiziert.

Die Fähigkeit, solche dramatischen Events vorherzusagen, ist weiterhin eine große Herausforderung. Trotz signifikanten Fortschritts hinsichtlich Klimabeobachtung sowie der Prognose von Wetter und Extremereignissen innerhalb der letzten Jahre, bleiben einige Unsicherheiten erhalten. Weitere Verbesserungen hängen in hohem Maße von der Verfügbarkeit zeitlich-räumlich hochaufgelöster globaler Beobachtungen essentieller Variablen wie der Bodenfeuchte und dem atmosphärischen Wasserdampf ab. Neueste Weltraummissionen, wie zum Beispiel die „European Space Agency (ESA) Soil Moisture and Ocean Salinity“ (SMOS) Mission kann zusammen mit dem Einsatz von neuen Technologien wie der „Global Positioning Systems“ (GSPs) diese Lücke füllen. Die SMOS-Mission liefert einen einzigartigen Datensatz globaler Beobachtungen der Oberflächenbodenfeuchte, welche schon erfolgreich auf eine 1km-Auflösung herunterskaliert wurde. Zusätzlich als ein Teil der HyMeX (Hydrological Cycle in the Mediterranean Experiment) Bemühungen wurde ein außergewöhnlicher Datensatz von GPS-Beobachtungen samt Nachbearbeitung zur Verfügung gestellt.

Abbildung 1: Position der GPS-Stationen mehrerer europäischer Netzwerke, welche in einer gemeinsamen Nachbearbeitung im Rahmen von HyMeX auf ein einheitliches Produkt mit einer 10-minütigen Auflösung zusammengeführt wurden.

Im Rahmen des BMBF geförderten PREMIUM (Predictive models for Extremes and High Impact Weather under Climate Change) Projekts der Nachwuchsgruppe „Extremwettereignisse und Klimawandel“ wird ein innovatives Konzept verwendet. Dieses nutzt die Synergie aus den obengenannten hochaufgelösten Datensätzen für die Initialisierung und Assimilierung des hochaufgelösten, konvektionserlaubenden, regionalen Klimamodells COSMO-CCLM. Verschiedene räumlich-zeitliche Skalen von Tagen bis zu Dekaden und einer räumlichen Auflösung von bis zu 500m werden simuliert. Unser Ziel ist es, die fehlenden Wissenslücken durch die Verbesserung der Modellierung und des Verständnisses von Klima- und Wetterextremen und den damit verbundenen Mechanismen zu füllen und Vorhersageunsicherheiten zu reduzieren.

Erste Ergebnisse weisen bereits einen positiven Effekt der Nutzung solcher neuveröffentlichten Datensätze auf. Eine verbesserte Repräsentation von extremen Wetterereignissen und ein besseres Verständnis der Prozesse, die zu solchen Phänomenen führen, wurde durch eine höhere räumlich-zeitliche Auflösung der verfügbaren Beobachtungen erreicht.

Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie unsere Homepage: http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/6760.php

[Arbeitsgruppe: Extremwetterereignisse und Klimawandel]