deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

The enigma of low-level clouds over southern West Africa

KITcube_Afrika_2
Figure 1: Savè supersite Benin © Sébastien Chastanet

A unique, high-quality data set was obtained during the DACCIWA (Dynamics-Chemistry-Cloud Interactions in West Africa) ground-based field campaign with the mobile platform KITcube employed in summer 2016 at the Savè supersite in Benin in southern West Africa. A synergetic use of in-situ and remote sensing observations allowed the detailed investigation of the effect of low-level clouds (LLC) on the boundary layer conditions and the identification of controlling processes and factors for LLC formation.

During the 7 weeks of the campaign, a large day-to-day as well as intra-night variability of the vertical extent and onset times of LLC was observed, including several LLC-free nights. The conditions in the atmospheric boundary layer over southern West Africa during the monsoon season are typically dominated by a south-westerly monsoon flow and an embedded nocturnal low-level jet (LLJ). In a recent publication a comprehensive overview of the conditions related to the LLC  including their formation, maintenance and tansition to convective clouds is  given [1].

The first detailed observational analyses [2,3] of the complete diurnal cycle of the nocturnal LLC and the processes leading to their formation, maintenance and dissolution over southern West Africa enhance our understanding on how and why these clouds form. The analyses reveal that atmospheric conditions during LLC cases can be divided into up to five different phases, namely the stable, jet, stratus fractus, stratus and convective phase. Each of the nocturnal phases exhibits typical conditions in the atmospheric boundary layer: the stable phase is characterized by a surface inversion which forms after sunset when the horizontal wind speed in the Monsoon layer is weak. The jet phase starts with the arrival of the Atlantic inflow from the Gulf of Guinea during which a LLJ wind profile and differential horizontal cold air advection are prominent. Once saturation is reached LLC form either as stratus or stratus fractus leading to an upward shift of the LLJ axis [3].

The detailed analysis of a typical case reveals that the effect of horizontal cold-air advection, related to the Atlantic Inflow, has the dominant role on the observed strong cooling of -1.2 K per hour, which causes the increase of relative humidity at the rate of 6 % per hour and, consequently, the formation of LLC. After the LLC form, turbulent mixing is considered to be an important factor leading to the cooling below the cloud base, while strong radiative cooling at the cloud top with a rate of approximately −2 K per hour helps to maintain thick stratus. In the morning, surface heating causes the vertical divergence of the sensible heat flux and, consequently, continuous warming of the CBL, lifting of the cloud base and dissolution of LLC [2]. The analysis of 11 LLC nights confirms the decisive role of horizontal advection and turbulent mixing on the cooling in the atmospheric boundary layer preceding the LLC formation. On the average, about 50 % of the cooling are caused by horizontal advection and 20 % can be explained by turbulent mixing [3].

Figure 2: Distribution of cloud-base height occurrence during the whole 48 days period at Savè supersite

[1] Kalthoff, N.; Lohou, F.; Brooks, B.; Jegede, G.; Adler, B.; Babić, K.; Dione, C.; Ajao, A.; Amekudzi, L. K.; Aryee, J. N. A.; Ayoola, M.; Bessardon, G.; Danuor, S. K.; Handwerker, J.; Kohler, M.; Lothon, M.; Pedruzo-Bagazgoitia, X.; Smith, V.; Sunmonu, L.; Wieser, A.; Fink, A. H.; Knippertz, P. 2018: An overview of the diurnal cycle of the atmospheric boundary layer during the West African monsoon season: Results from the 2016 observational campaign. Atmospheric Chem. Phys., 18, 2913-2928.

[2] Babić, K.; Adler, B.; Kalthoff, N; Andersen, H.; Dione, C.; Lohou, F.; Lothon, M.; Pedruzo-Bagazgoitia, X. 2018: The observed diurnal cycle of nocturnal low-level stratus clouds over southern West Africa: a case study. To be submitted to Atmos. Chem. Phys.

[3] Adler, B.; Babić, K.; Kalthoff, N.; Lohou, F.; Lothon, M.; Dione, C.; Pedruzo-Bagazgoitia, X.; Andersen, H. 2018: Nocturnal Low-Level Clouds in the Atmospheric Boundary Layer over Southern West Africa: an Observation-based Analysis of Conditions and Processes. To be submitted to Atmos. Chem. Phys.

[Working group: Land Surfaces and Boundary Layer]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Das Rätsel niedriger stratiformer Bewölkung über dem südlichen Westafrika

KITcube_Afrika_2
Abbildung 1: Die Messstation bei Savè in Benin © Sébastien Chastanet

Ein einzigartiger, qualitativ hochwertiger Datensatz wurde während der DACCIWA (Dynamics-Chemistry-Cloud Interactions in West Africa) Feldkampagne mit der mobilen Plattform KITcube im Sommer 2016 auf der Savè-Supersite in Benin in Südwestafrika gewonnen. Eine synergetische Nutzung von In-situ- und Fernerkundungsbeobachtungen ermöglichte die detaillierte Untersuchung des Einflusses von Low-Level-Wolken (LLC) auf die Grenzschichtbedingungen und die Identifizierung von Steuerungsprozessen und Faktoren für die LLC-Bildung.

Während der 7-wöchigen Kampagne wurde eine große Tages- und Nachtvariabilität der vertikalen Ausdehnung und des Einsetzens der LLC beobachtet, einschließlich mehrerer LLC-freier Nächte. Die Bedingungen in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht über dem südlichen Westafrika während der Monsunzeit werden typischerweise von einem südwestlichen Monsunstrom und einem eingebetteten nächtlichen „low-level jet“ (LLJ) dominiert. In einer vor kurzen erschienenen Publikation wurde ein umfassender Überblick über die Bedingungen im Zusammenhang mit der LLC einschließlich ihrer Entstehung, Erhaltung und des Übergangs zu konvektiven Wolken gegeben [1].

Die ersten detaillierten Beobachtungsanalysen [2,3] des gesamten Tageszyklus der nächtlichen LLC und der Prozesse, die zu ihrer Entstehung, Aufrechterhaltung und Auflösung über Südwestafrika führen, verbessern unser Verständnis darüber, wie und warum sich diese Wolken bilden. Die Analysen zeigen, dass die atmosphärischen Bedingungen während der LLC-Fälle in bis zu fünf verschiedene Phasen eingeteilt werden können, nämlich die stabile, jet, stratus fractus, stratus und konvektive Phase. Jede der nächtlichen Phasen weist typische Bedingungen in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht auf: Die stabile Phase ist durch eine Bodeninversion gekennzeichnet, die sich nach Sonnenuntergang bildet, wenn die horizontale Windgeschwindigkeit in der Monsunschicht schwach ist. Die Jetphase beginnt mit der Ankunft des „Atlantic inflow“ aus dem Golf von Guinea, wobei ein LLJ-Windprofil und eine differentielle horizontale Kaltluftadvektion charakteristisch sind. Sobald Sättigung erreicht ist, bilden sich LLC entweder als Stratus oder Stratus fractus, was zu einer Verschiebung der LLJ-Achse nach oben führt [3].

Die detaillierte Analyse eines typischen Falles zeigt, dass horizontale Kaltluftadvektion im Zusammenhang mit dem Atlantic inflow die beobachtete starke Abkühlung von -1,2 K pro Stunde maßgeblich verursacht. Diese Abkühlung führt zu einem Anstieg der relativen Luftfeuchtigkeit mit einer Rate von 6 % pro Stunde und damit zur Bildung von LLC. Nach der Bildung der LLC trägt turbulente Durchmischung maßgeblich zur Abkühlung unterhalb der Wolkenbasis bei, während eine starke Strahlungsabkühlung an der Wolkenobergrenze mit einer Rate von ca. -2 K pro Stunde dazu beiträgt, einen vertikal mächtigen Stratus zu erhalten. Am Morgen führt die Erwärmung der Erdoberfläche zur vertikalen Divergenz des sensiblen Wärmestroms und damit zur kontinuierliche Erwärmung der CBL, das Anheben der Wolkenbasis und die Auflösung der LLC [2]. Die Analyse von 11 LLC-Nächten bestätigt die entscheidende Rolle der horizontalen Advektion und turbulenten Durchmischung bei der Abkühlung in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht vor der LLC-Bildung. Im Durchschnitt werden etwa 50 % der Abkühlung durch horizontale Advektion verursacht und 20 % lassen sich durch turbulentes Mischen erklären [3].

Abbildung 2: Höhenverteilung der Wolkenuntergrenze an der Station Savè basierend auf einem 48-tägigen Datensatz

[1] Kalthoff, N.; Lohou, F.; Brooks, B.; Jegede, G.; Adler, B.; Babić, K.; Dione, C.; Ajao, A.; Amekudzi, L. K.; Aryee, J. N. A.; Ayoola, M.; Bessardon, G.; Danuor, S. K.; Handwerker, J.; Kohler, M.; Lothon, M.; Pedruzo-Bagazgoitia, X.; Smith, V.; Sunmonu, L.; Wieser, A.; Fink, A. H.; Knippertz, P. 2018: An overview of the diurnal cycle of the atmospheric boundary layer during the West African monsoon season: Results from the 2016 observational campaign. Atmospheric Chem. Phys., 18, 2913-2928.

[2] Babić, K.; Adler, B.; Kalthoff, N.; Andersen, H.; Dione, C.; Lohou, F.; Lothon, M.; Pedruzo-Bagazgoitia, X. 2018: The observed diurnal cycle of nocturnal low-level stratus clouds over southern West Africa: a case study. To be submitted to Atmos. Chem. Phys.

[3] Adler, B.; Babić, K.; Kalthoff, N.; Lohou, F.; Lothon, M.; Dione, C.; Pedruzo-Bagazgoitia, X.; Andersen, H. 2018: Nocturnal Low-Level Clouds in the Atmospheric Boundary Layer over Southern West Africa: an Observation-based Analysis of Conditions and Processes. To be submitted to Atmos. Chem. Phys.

[Arbeitsgruppe: Landoberflächen und Grenzschicht]