deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Tracing water over Africa

Water is arguably the most important element for life on Earth. Water is evaporated from the world’s oceans or transpired by plants, it is transported around the globe, condensates or freezes in clouds, falls out as rain or snow, evaporates in the air or reaches the ground as precipitation. Modelling this so-called atmospheric branch of the hydrological cycle in all detail is still a challenge, even for very large computers. One of the unresolved problems in this context is the fact that when we measure water vapour in the atmosphere, we can determine its amount but not where it came from, making it hard to identify errors in water transports or phase transitions in our models. 

Fig.1: Water vapour (H2O)–δD pair distributions observed from satellite in four different regions. The solid cyan and orange lines are example curves for drying by rain out (expected for the Atlantic and Alaska) and by mixing with dry air (expected for the Gulf of Persia and South Africa).

One possible solution to this problem is to determine the relatively small content of “heavy” water isotopologues, i.e. water molecules that contain heavier than normal hydrogen or oxygen atoms (e.g. expressed by δD, see Figure 1). This content depends on many factors such as the water temperature at evaporation or phase changes in the atmosphere and therefore gives hints about the provenance of the water. Such approaches have long been used to analyse rainwater or ice cores, but more recently instruments have been developed to measure isotopologues in the gas phase and to sense it remotely from the ground or even from satellites. In addition, water isotopologues have been implemented into weather and climate models for a better comparison with the increasing number of measurements.

The recently started project MOTIV (MOisture Transport pathways and Isotopologues in water Vapour), funded jointly by the German Research Foundation and the Swiss National Fund and led by Dr. Matthias Schneider, uses this powerful new approach to better assess reasons for errors in water transport or precipitation in the weather forecast models of the German Weather Service. The project brings together experts in atmospheric dynamics, computer modelling, remote sensing and informatics. Within KIT it involves members of two IMK Departments, TRO and ASF, as well as the Steinbuch Center for Computing plus external collaborators from ETH Zurich and the Free University Berlin.

Fig.2: Members of MOTIV at the first project meeting in Karlsruhe on 16 May 2018. From left: Franziska Aemisegger (ETHZ), Benjamin Ertl (SCC), Peter Knippertz (IMK-TRO), Matthias Schneider (IMK-ASF), Heini Wernli (ETHZ), Christopher Diekmann (IMK-ASF), Fabienne Dahinden (ETHZ), Stephan Pfahl (FUB, via Skype).

Due to the long-standing expertise in tropical meteorology in IMK-TRO’s Working Group “Atmospheric Dynamics” led by Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz one focus of the investigations is the region of the West African monsoon. This large atmospheric circulation system is notoriously hard to model, leading to unreliable weather prediction and low confidence in climate projections. It has long been suspected that substantial amounts of water coming in from the tropical Atlantic are “recycled” by precipitation and re-evaporation but this has never been demonstrated quantitatively. Other badly understood processes include the vertical transport of water by large thunderstorm complexes and by dry thermals over the hot Sahara desert. “MOTIV provides a whole new perspective on many factors determining the hydrological cycle”, says Knippertz, “and we are very excited to see the first results from our modelling and satellite data analysis.”

[Working group: Atmospheric Dynamics]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Dem Wasser über Afrika auf der Spur

Wasser ist das wichtigste Element für das Leben auf der Erde. Es verdunstet über den Ozeanen oder durch Pflanzen, Winde transportieren es über den ganzen Globus, es kondensiert oder gefriert in Wolken, regnet oder schneit aus, verdunstet wieder in der Luft oder erreicht den Boden als Niederschlag. Diesen so genannten atmosphärischen Teil des hydrologischen Zykluses im Detail zu modellieren ist immer noch eine große Herausforderung, selbst für sehr große Computer. Eins der ungelösten Probleme in diesem Zusammenhang ist die Tatsache, dass Wasserdampfmessungen uns zwar dessen Menge aber nicht dessen Herkunft anzeigen. Daher ist es schwer Fehler beim Wassertransport oder bei Phasenumwandlungen in unseren Modellen zu identifizieren.

Abb.1: Wasserdampf (H2O)–δD-Paar-Verteilungen aus Satellitenbeobachtungen in vier verschiedenen Regionen. Die durchgezogenen blaugrünen und orangenen Linien sind Beispielkurven für Austrocknung durch Regen (erwartet über dem Atlantik und Alaska) und durch Vermischen mit trockener Luft (erwartet über dem Persischen Golf und Südafrika).

Eine mögliche Lösung für dieses Problem ist die Bestimmung des relativ kleinen Anteils von „schweren“ Wasserisotopologen, d.h. Wassermolekülen mit schwerer als normalen Wasserstoff- oder Sauerstoffatomen (z.B. ausgedrückt durch δD, siehe Abbildung 1). Dieser Anteil hängt von vielen Faktoren wie zum Beispiel der Wassertemperatur bei der Verdunstung oder von Phasenänderungen in der Atmosphäre ab und gibt daher Hinweise auf die Herkunft des Wassers. Solche Ansätze werden schon seit Langem für die Analyse von Regenwasser oder Eisbohrkerne benutzt, aber erst seit Kurzem sind Instrumente entwickelt worden, um Isotopologen in der Gasphase zu messen bzw. sie vom Boden oder aus dem All per Fernerkundung zu bestimmen. Außerdem wurden Wasserisotopologe inzwischen in Wetter- und Klimamodelle eingebaut, um diese besser mit der wachsenden Anzahl von Beobachtungen vergleichen zu können.

Das vor Kurzem gestartete Projekt MOTIV (MOisture Transport pathways and Isotopologues in water Vapour) nutzt diesen vielversprechenden neuen Ansatz zur Untersuchung von Fehlerquellen im Wassertransport und Niederschlag im Wettervorhersagemodellen des Deutschen Wetterdienstes. Das Projekt wird gemeinsam von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und dem Schweizer Nationalfond gefördert und von Dr. Matthias Schneider geleitet. In diesem Projekt arbeiten Experten in atmosphärischer Dynamik, Fernerkundung und Informatik zusammen. Innerhalb des KIT sind das Mitglieder der zwei IMK-Departments TRO und ASF sowie des Steinbuch Center for Computing plus externe Wissenschaftler der ETH Zürich und der Freien Universität Berlin.

Abb.2: Mitglieder von MOTIV beim ersten Projekttreffen in Karlsruhe am 16. Mai 2018. Von links: Franziska Aemisegger (ETHZ), Benjamin Ertl (SCC), Peter Knippertz (IMK-TRO), Matthias Schneider (IMK-ASF), Heini Wernli (ETHZ), Christopher Diekmann (IMK-ASF), Fabienne Dahinden (ETHZ), Stephan Pfahl (FUB, via Skype).

Aufgrund der langjährigen Expertise in tropischer Meteorologie in der Arbeitsgruppe „Atmosphärische Dynamik“ am IMK-TRO (Leitung Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz) liegt ein Focus der Untersuchungen in der Region des westafrikanischen Monsuns. Dieses großräumige Zirkulationssystem ist bekanntermaßen schwierig zu modellieren, was zu unzuverlässigen Wettervorhersagen und unsicheren Klimaprojektionen führt. Man hat schon lange vermutet, dass erhebliche Menge von Wasser auf ihrem Weg vom tropischen Atlantik ins Landesinnere „recycelt“ werden, d.h. ausregnen und wiederverdunsten, aber dieser Prozess konnte bisher nie quantifiziert werden. Andere kaum verstandene Prozesse sind der Vertikaltransport von Wasser durch große Gewitterkomplexe oder durch trockene Thermik über der heißen Sahara. “MOTIV gibt uns eine vollkommen neue Perspektive auf viele Faktoren im hydrologischen Zyklus”, sagt Knippertz, “und wir sind sehr gespannt auf die ersten Ergebnisse unserer Modell- und Satellitendatenanalyse.”

[Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Dynamik]