Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Less reliable wind energy production in Europe due to climate change?

Figure: Robust changes for the end of the 21st century (2071-2100) for mean annual wind energy production (Eout, in %), for intra-annual variability of wind energy production (in GWh), and the occurrence of low wind speed events (in 3-hourly dates per year).

In recent years, renewable energies started to play a key role for the energy supply sector in Europe. Moreover, the EU plans to further increase their share as part of the energy transition and thus reduce our carbon footprint. Within this context, wind has emerged as an important renewable energy source with high potential benefits. Since wind energy production is strongly influenced by the local weather and climate conditions, it may also be affected by climate change, both in terms of mean values and variability. Regional climate projections are a useful tool to quantify climate change impacts on the wind energy production in Europe.

Our study (Moemken et al., 2018) uses a spatially and temporally highly resolved multi-model ensemble based on nine global and regional climate model chains of the EURO-CORDEX initiative. The results show only marginal changes (mostly a slight decrease) in the projected average wind power production on the continental scale for Europe, within the range of +/-5% by the end of the 21st century compared to recent climate conditions. However, these changes can reach up to +/-20% for individual countries, and large seasonal differences were identified. Furthermore, the study reports an increased variability of wind energy production on different time scales (from a few hours to several years) for large areas in Northern, Central and Eastern Europe. In particular, the results indicate an increased occurrence of low wind speed events (wind speeds < 3 m/s) over the European continent, while at the same time the optimal wind conditions for electricity production (wind speeds between 11 and 20 m/s) decrease over the sea areas.

The projected changes pose a major challenge for the wind energy management in Europe. However, suitable countermeasures and the adaptation of planning strategies, e.g. the decentralized distribution of wind farms and the expansion of a pan-European electricity distribution network, could mitigate the impact of climate change on wind energy production in Europe.

Reference: Moemken J, Reyers M, Feldmann H, Pinto JG (2018) Future changes of wind speed and wind energy potentials in EURO-CORDEX ensemble simulations. Journal of Geophysical Research: Atmospheres, 123, doi: 10.1029/2018JD028473

http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2018_083_wie-der-klimawandel-die-windkraft-beeinflusst.php

[Working group: Regional Climate and Weather Hazards]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Wird die europäische Windenergieproduktion durch den Klimawandel weniger verlässlich?

Abbildung: Robuste Änderung für das Ende des 21. Jahrhunderts (2071-2100) in der mittleren jährlichen Windenergieproduktion (Eout, in %), der intra-annuellen Variabilität der Windenergieproduktion (in GWh) und der Auftrittshäufigkeit von Schwachwindphasen (in 3-stündige Termine pro Jahr).

Der Anteil von Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien liefert schon heute einen sehr wichtigen Beitrag zur Energieversorgung in Europa und soll im Zuge der Energiewende noch weiter ausgebaut werden. In diesem Zusammenhang hat sich Wind als wichtige und vielversprechende erneuerbare Energiequelle erwiesen. Die Energieproduktion aus Wind wird jedoch stark von den vorherrschenden Wetter- und Klimabedingungen beeinflusst und unterliegt somit dem Klimawandel. Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die europäische Windenergieproduktion können mit Hilfe von regionalen Klimaprojektionen untersucht werden.

In unserer Studie (Moemken et al., 2018) wird ein räumlich und zeitlich hochaufgelöstes Multi-Modell-Ensemble genutzt, das auf neun Global-Regional-Modellketten des EURO-CORDEX Projektes basiert. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass für den gesamten europäischen Kontinent Ende des 21. Jahrhunderts nur geringfügige Änderungen (zumeist ein schwacher Rückgang) in der mittleren Windstromproduktion zu erwarten sind. Diese liegen bei etwa +/-5 %. Für einzelne Länder sind die zu erwartenden Änderungen allerdings weitaus größer und erreichen bis zu +/-20 %. Zudem können die Änderungen starken saisonalen Schwankungen unterliegen. Weiter zeigt die Studie, dass für große Teile von Nord-, Mittel- und Osteuropa mit einer erhöhten Variabilität der Windenergieproduktion auf unterschiedlichen Zeitskalen (von wenigen Stunden bis zu mehreren Jahren) gerechnet werden muss. Insbesondere deuten die Ergebnisse auf ein vermehrtes Auftreten von Schwachwindphasen (Windgeschwindigkeiten < 3m/s) über dem europäischen Kontinent hin, während gleichzeitig die optimalen Windbedingungen für die Stromproduktion (Windgeschwindigkeiten zwischen 11 und 20m/s) über den Meeren abnimmt.

Die projizierten Veränderungen stellen eine große Herausforderung für die europäische Windenergienutzung dar. Durch geeignete Gegenmaßnahmen und die Anpassung von Planungsstrategien, beispielsweise den dezentralen Ausbau der Windenergie und den Ausbau des europäischen Stromverteilnetzes, könnte der Einfluss des Klimawandels auf die Windenergieproduktion aber abgeschwächt werden.

Referenz: Moemken J, Reyers M, Feldmann H, Pinto JG (2018) Future changes of wind speed and wind energy potentials in EURO-CORDEX ensemble simulations. Journal of Geophysical Research: Atmospheres, 123, doi: 10.1029/2018JD028473

http://www.kit.edu/kit/pi_2018_083_wie-der-klimawandel-die-windkraft-beeinflusst.php

[Arbeitsgruppe: Regionales Klima und Wettergefahren]