deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Measurements of atmospheric dust concentration at the Dead Sea

In May 2018, the measuring network of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research at the Dead Sea was further expanded. Two further measuring stations were installed in the southern part of the Dead Sea. A meteorological station on the east side in Jordan and another energy balance station at the western shore of the Dead Sea in Israel, which can be used to determine not only weather and climate conditions but also the evaporation of water. The research focus is on the small-scale variation of the wind field in the valley, which is among other things influenced by the terrain configuration, and its influence on evaporation from the lake surface. Since evaporation is strongly dependent on wind speed, the characteristics of different wind systems in the region are of great importance. The measurements show that due to the complex terrain and the heterogeneous conditions in the valley, there are great differences between the western and eastern shores of the Dead Sea. The strong foehn events that regularly occur on the west side in the early evening can only rarely be observed on the east side. On the eastern side, however, a strong along-valley flow can be observed, which shows comparable wind speeds to the downslope winds and thus provide comparable conditions for evaporation.

Fig.1: Mass concentration and relevant meteorological parameters measured in Masada on 10.5.2018.

In addition, two of three planned aerosol spectrometers were mounted along a transect across the valley axis. Over a period of one year they measure the aerosol concentrations in 32 size classes. Outside the valley at an altitude of approx. 700 m above sea level, at the slope  at 7 m above sea level (Fig. 1) and at the bottom of the valley at approx. 410 m below sea level. The data which is expected from the measurements can provide insight into the inner structure of dust storms that pass over the valley or through the valley. Furthermore, it is possible to analyse the background pollution of the atmosphere with desert dust and its dependence on height and stratification.

Fig.2: New aerosol spectrometer at Masada measuring site and a dust storm at the Dead Sea.

These data are needed to validate model simulations with the weather forecast system ICON-ART (ICOsahedral Nonhydrostatic - Aerosol and Reactive Trace gases) and to optimize the spatial resolution. The first measurements of a dust event at the beginning of May 2018 (Fig. 2, exemplary picture) already show promising results and interesting differences in dust pollution between the mountain ridge and the valley. A brief change in the wind direction along the valley axis causes a sharp drop in dust concentration within the valley during this period.

Current measurement values from Israel can be found at http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/19.php

[Working group: Convective Systems]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Messung atmosphärischer Staubkonzentrationen am Toten Meer

Im Mai 2018 wurde das Messnetz des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung am Toten Meer weiter ausgebaut. Zwei weitere Messstationen wurden im südlichen Teil des Toten Meeres errichtet. Eine meteorologische Station auf der Ostseite in Jordanien und eine weitere Energiebilanzstation am Westufer in Israel, mit deren Hilfe neben den Wetter- und Klimabedingungen auch die Verdunstung von Wasser bestimmt werden kann. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf der kleinräumigen, u.a. von der Geländekonfiguration beeinflussten Variation des Windfeldes im Tal und dessen Einfluss auf die Verdunstung von der Seeoberfläche. Da die Verdunstung maßgeblich von der Windgeschwindigkeit abhängt, ist die Ausprägung unterschiedlicher Windsysteme in der Region von großer Bedeutung. Wie die Messungen zeigen, gibt es aufgrund des komplexen Geländes und den heterogenen Bedingungen im Tal große Unterschiede zwischen dem West- und dem Ostufer des Toten Meeres. Die auf der Westseite am frühen Abend regelmäßig auftretenden starken Föhnevents können an der Ostseite nur sehr selten beobachtet werden. Dafür ist an der Ostseite eine starke talachsenparallele Strömung zu beobachten, die vergleichbare Windgeschwindigkeiten wie die Hangabwinde aufweist und somit vergleichbare Bedingungen für die Verdunstung liefert.

Abb.1: Massenkonzentration und relevante meteorologische Größen, gemessen in Masada am 10.5.2018.

Ergänzend wurden entlang einer Transsekte quer zur Talachse zwei von drei geplanten Aerosolspektrometern angebracht. Diese messen über den Zeitraum von einem Jahr die Aerosolkonzentrationen in 32 Größenklassen. Außerhalb des Tals in ca. 700 m Höhe über NN, am Hang in Meereshöhe (Abb. 1) und auf der Talsohle ca. 410 m unter dem Meeresspiegel. Die hier zu erwartenden Daten können Einsicht in die innere Struktur von Staubstürmen liefern, die über das Tal hinweg bzw. durch das Tal hindurch ziehen. Weiterhin besteht die Möglichkeit die Hintergrundbelastung der Atmosphäre mit Wüstenstaub und deren Höhen- bzw. Schichtungsabhängigkeit zu analysieren.

Abb.2: Neues Aerosolspektrometer am Messstandort Masada und Staubsturm am Toten Meer.

Diese Daten werden benötigt um Modellsimulationen mit dem Wettervorhersagesystem ICON-ART (ICOsahedral Nonhydrostatic - Aerosol and Reactive Trace gases) zu validieren und besonders bezüglich der räumlichen Auflösung zu optimieren. Die ersten Messungen eines Staubevents Anfang Mai 2018 (Abb. 2, exemplarisches Bild) zeigen bereits vielversprechende Ergebnisse und interessante Unterschiede der Staubbelastung zwischen dem Gebirgsrücken und dem Tal. Durch eine nur kurzzeitige Änderung der Windrichtung entlang der Talachse kommt es innerhalb des Tals während dieses Zeitraums zu einem starken Rückgang der Staubkonzentration.

Aktuelle Messwerte aus Israel finden sie unter http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/19.php

[Arbeitsgruppe: Konvektive Systeme]