deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Convective wind gusts in Germany

Due to their local-scale nature of severe convective storms and an inadequate covering of measurement stations of the German Weather Service (DWD), there was a considerable lack of knowledge regarding the spatial and temporal distribution of those events. Against this background, the interdisciplinary project „Convective Wind Gusts (ConWinG)“ was initiated at IMK-TRO and at the Institute of Hydromechanics (IfH) for a few years in order to investigate these phenomena more in detail.

However, what exactly are convective strong wind gusts? These strong wind events are usually triggered by thunderstorm events – especially during the warm summer months. Due to the falling precipitation and cooling processes in a thunderstorm cloud, a local downdraft develops (downbursts, see Youtube), which is deflected horizontally after hitting the surface (Wakimoto, 2001).

Various studies have already shown that convective gusts can reach even higher wind speeds compared to extratropical storms (winter storms). Wind peaks of more than 50 m/s have already been recorded. In Germany, the highest measured convective gust was observed on July 29, 2005 at the station Zinnwald (Ore Mountains) with a maximum wind speed of 52.6 m/s (Mohr et al., 2017). However, due to damage estimates after such events, it is believed that wind speeds comparable to those of a F3 tornado (70-92 m/s) are also possible.

As part of the DFG project "ConWinG" an event catalog for Germany from observation data of the German Weather Service (DWD, 1992-2014) has been created and the events were statistically evaluated. For the first time, it was possible to determine various characteristic features of convective gusts such as temporal and spatial variability, return periods or gust factors (Mohr et al., 2017).

The results show, for example, that the occurrence probability of convective gusts increases from North to South Germany; however, no further spatial structures, such as a relation to orography or climate conditions, can be identified regarding their strength or likelihood. The distribution of the maxima shows that severe convective gusts of 30 m/s are possible everywhere in Germany. Similar to other convective phenomena (lightning, hail) convective gusts occur in Germany mainly in the warm summer season (especially May to August), when the atmospheric conditions favor the formation of deep moist convection. Most of the events are observed in June and July (for example, 53% of events ≥ 18 m/s, red in Fig.).

Fig.: Mean seasonal distribution (running 11-day) of relative frequency of convective gusts exceeding a threshold of 18 m/s (red) and 25 m7s (blue; Germany, 1992 – 2014; source: S. Mohr/IMK-TRO).

The wind load standards for buildings or structures currently contain only the characteristics of turbulent gusts. By contrast, convective wind events with strong vertical wind components and their interaction with urban structures are currently not considered. One reason for this is that, as described above, their strengths and dimensions have not been sufficiently known and their occurrence probability has been underestimated. With the results obtained in the sub-project of the IMK-TRO, the IfH had now the opportunity to better estimate the wind load on typical urban structures creating a first scientific basis that can be included in the standards in the future (Richter, 2017).

Further references:

Mohr, 2018: ESKP-Artikel „Konvektive Starkwindereignisse in Deutschland“. Earth System Knowledge Platform, Germany [only in German].

Mohr, S., Kunz, M., Richter, A., and Ruck, B. (2017): Statistical characteristics of convective wind gusts in Germany, Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., 17, 957-969, doi:10.5194/nhess-17-957-2017.

Richter, A. (2017): Die Wechselwirkung von Fallböen mit typischen urbanen Bebauungsstrukturen. Dissertation, Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften (BGU), Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), Karlsruhe, doi:10.5445/IR/1000077291.

Wakimoto, R. M. (2001): Severe Convective Storms, chap. Convectively driven high wind events, 255–298, Meteor. Monogr., The American Meteorological Society, Bosten, USA.

[Working group: Atmospheric Risks]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Konvektive Starkwindereignisse in Deutschland

Da konvektive Windböen aufgrund ihrer geringen räumlichen Ausdehnung nicht vollständig und flächendeckend durch Stationsmessungen des Deutschen Wetterdienstes (DWD) erfasst werden, bestand in Deutschland bisher ein erhebliches Wissensdefizit hinsichtlich ihrer räumlichen und zeitlichen Verteilung. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde von ein paar Jahren am IMK-TRO und am Institut für Hydromechanik (IfH) das interdisziplinäre Projekts „Convective Wind Gusts (ConWinG)“ ins Leben gerufen, um diese Phänomene genauer zu untersuchen.

Doch was genau sind überhaupt konvektive Starkwindböen? Diese Starkwindereignisse werden in der Regel durch Gewitterereignisse – vor allem während der warmen Sommermonate – ausgelöst. Bedingt durch den fallenden Niederschlag und durch Abkühlungsprozesse (diabatische Phasenübergange) in der Gewitterwolke entsteht ein lokaler Abwind (Downbursts; siehe Youtube), der nach dem Auftreffen auf der Erdoberfläche horizontal umgelenkt wird und anschließend bodennah eine divergierende horizontale Strömung erzeugt (Wakimoto, 2001).

Verschiedene Studien haben bereits gezeigt, dass konvektive Böen im Vergleich zu großen außertropischen Sturmtiefs (Winterstürmen) noch höhere Windgeschwindigkeiten erreichen können. Windspitzen von mehr als 50 m/s wurden bereits aufgezeichnet. In Deutschland wurde die stärkste gemessene konvektive Böe am 29. Juli 2005 an der Station Zinnwald (Erzgebirge) mit einer maximalen Windgeschwindigkeit von 52,6 m/s beobachtet (Mohr et al., 2017). Aufgrund von Schadenschätzungen nach solchen Ereignissen wird aber davon ausgegangen, dass auch Windgeschwindigkeiten vergleichbar mit denen eines F3-Tornados (d.h. 70 – 92 m/s) möglich sind.

Im Rahmen des DFG-Projekts „ConWinG“ wurde nun ein Ereigniskatalog für Deutschland aus Beobachtungsdaten des Deutschen Wetterdienstes (DWD; 1992–2014) erstellt und die Ereignisse statistisch ausgewertet. Daraus konnten erstmalig verschiedene charakteristische Merkmale der Böen wie zeitliche und räumliche Variabilitäten, Wiederkehrperioden und Böenfaktoren bestimmt werden (Mohr et al., 2017).

Die Ergebnisse zeigen beispielsweise, dass die Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit konvektiver Böen von Nord- nach Süddeutschland zunimmt; subskalige räumliche Muster, beispielsweise durch den Einfluss der Orografie, konnten dagegen nicht identifiziert werden. Anhand der Verteilung der Maxima wird deutlich, dass schwere konvektive Böen von über 30 m/s überall in Deutschland möglich sind. Ähnlich wie bei anderen konvektiven Phänomenen (Blitz, Hagel) treten konvektive Böen in Deutschland vorwiegend in der warmen Jahreszeit auf (vor allem Mai bis August), wenn die atmosphärischen Bedingungen die Bildung organisierter Gewittersysteme begünstigen. So sind die meisten Ereignisse vor allem im Juni und Juli (z.B. 53% der Ereignisse ≥ 18 m/s) zu beobachten (siehe Abb. rote Linie).

Abb.: Mittlere saisonale Verteilung (gleitender Mittelwert 11 Tage) für die relative Häufigkeit konvektiver Böen, die >/= 18 m/s (rot) bzw. 25 m/s (blau) sind (Deutschland, 1992 – 2014, Quelle: S. Mohr/IMK-TRO).

Die gegenwärtig gültigen Windlastnormen für Gebäude oder Tragwerke beinhalten aktuell nur die Charakteristik turbulenter Böen. Konvektive Starkwindereignisse mit ausgeprägter vertikaler Geschwindigkeitskomponente und ihre Wechselwirkung mit städtischen Bebauungsstrukturen werden dagegen derzeit noch nicht berücksichtigt. Dies liegt unter anderem daran, dass, wie oben beschrieben, ihre Stärken und Dimensionen bisher nicht hinreichend bekannt waren und ihre Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit unterschätzt wurde. Mit den gewonnenen Ergebnissen in dem Teilprojektes des IMK-TRO bestand nun am IfH die Möglichkeit, die Windlast auf typische städtische Bebauungsstrukturen besser abzuschätzen, wodurch eine erste wissenschaftliche Basis entstand, die zukünftig in den Normen berücksichtigt werden kann (Richter, 2017).

Quellen und weiterführende Informationen:

Mohr, 2018: ESKP-Artikel „Konvektive Starkwindereignisse in Deutschland“. Earth System Knowledge Platform, Deutschland.

Mohr, S., Kunz, M., Richter, A., and Ruck, B. (2017): Statistical characteristics of convective wind gusts in Germany, Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., 17, 957-969, doi:10.5194/nhess-17-957-2017.

Richter, A. (2017): Die Wechselwirkung von Fallböen mit typischen urbanen Bebauungsstrukturen. Dissertation, Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften (BGU), Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), Karlsruhe, doi:10.5445/IR/1000077291.

Wakimoto, R. M. (2001): Severe Convective Storms, chap. Convectively driven high wind events, 255–298, Meteor. Monogr., The American Meteorological Society, Bosten, USA.

[Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Risiken]