Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Understanding and predicting tropical rain belts

Monsoon-Bild

Rainfall in the tropics is critical to many societies and ecosystems. This makes reliable projections of tropical rainfall changes key to climate adaption efforts in a warming world. Global climate models are plagued by persistent biases in the simulation of tropical rainfall and its response to climate change, because their resolution is too coarse to resolve many of the important cloud and precipitation processes. Nevertheless, tropical rainfall is organized in the large-scale structures of the monsoons and the ITCZ whose dynamics are shaped by large-scale energetic and momentum constraints. This suggests that building a coherent understanding of tropical rainfall can benefit from an understanding of these large-scale influences and their coupling with small scale cloud and precipitation processes.

To this end the young investigator group of Dr. Aiko Voigt, in close collaboration with Prof. Michela Biasutti from Columbia University in New York City and Prof. Jacob Scheff from the University of North Carolina Charlotte, is leading the international modeling effort „TRACMIP: Tropical Rain belts with an Annual cycle and a Continent Model Intercomparison Project.“ TRACMIP compares a set of five simulations with 14 state-of-the art global climate models run in idealized aquaplanet and land setups. The simulations explore the dynamics of tropical rainfall, the interactions between the ocean‘s ITCZ and the land monsoons, and the link between processes acting on timescales from hours to decades. The aim  is to help articulate the role that large-scale energetic and momentum constraints play in shaping tropical rain fall. The need for a better understanding of these constraints was pointed out in a recent review paper in Nature Geoscience co-authored by Aiko Voigt.

TRACMIP is a freely available set of model simulations with a total size of around 10 TB. Over the last months, Dr. Aiko Voigt has collaborated with the German Climate Computing Centre in Hamburg to homogenize the TRACMIP simulations and to published them on the data portal of the Earth System Grid Federation. As a result TRACMIP is now available in the same way as the widely used datasets from the model intercomparison projects CMIP5 and CMIP6.

At IMK-TRO, TRACMIP is analyzed by Dr. Aiko Voigt together with doctoral student Elzina Bala, who is supported by a DAAD fellowship, and Msc student Freia Then. TRACMIP contributes to the WCRP „Grand Challenge on Clouds, Circulation and Climate Sensitivity.“ TRACMIP was also presented at the international workshop „Monsoons and Tropical Rain Belts“, which was held at the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste in July 2018 and was co-organized by Aiko Voigt.

 

Contact person:
Dr. Aiko Voigt, Young Investigator Group „Clouds and Storm Tracks“, IMK-TRO, KIT

 

References:

TRACMIP Introduction Article: Voigt, A., M. Biasutti et al. (2016), The tropical rain belts with an annual cycle and a continent model intercomparison project: TRACMIP, Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems, 8, 1868–1891, doi:10.1002/2016MS000748.

Nature Geoscience Review Article: Biasutti, M., A. Voigt et al. (2018), Monsoons: global energetics and local physics as drivers of past, present and future monsoons, Nature Geoscience, 11, 392-400, doi:10.1038/s41561-018-0137-1.

ICTP 2018 Workshop on Monsoons: http://indico.ictp.it/event/8457/

Monsoon picture monsoonbild_20190215.jpg: Ali Nishan, https://www.flickr.com/photos/millzero/1892542343; CC BY-NC 2.0 license

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Forschung zu tropischen Regenbändern und ihrer Klimawandelantwort

Monsoon-Bild

Viele Gesellschaften und Ökosysteme in den Tropen hängen entscheidend vom Niederschlag ab. Daher sind verlässliche Vorhersagen dazu, wie die tropischen Regenbänder auf den Klimawandel reagieren, von entscheidender Bedeutung für Klimawandelanpassungsstrategien. Klimamodelle können aufgrund ihrer recht groben Maschenbreiten solche Vorhersagen nur eingeschränkt liefern, da sie kleinskalige Wolken- und Niederschlagsprozesse nicht direkt simulieren können. Das Verständnis von tropischen Regenbänder und ihrer Darstellung in Modellen könnte jedoch verbessert werden, indem die Kopplung der planetaren Zirkulation mit kleinskaligen Wolken- und Niederschlagsprozessen genauer untersucht wird.

Zu diesem Thema leitet die Nachwuchsgruppe von Dr. Aiko Voigt das internationale Modellvergleichsprojekt „TRACMIP: Tropical Rain belts with an Annual cycle and a Continent Model Intercomparison Project“ zusammen mit Prof. Michela Biasutti von der Columbia University in New York (USA) und Prof. Jacob Scheff von der University of North Carolina Charlotte (USA). TRACMIP vergleicht die Simulationen von 14 globalen Klimamodellen. Dabei stehen insbesondere die Interaktion zwischen der Innertropischen Konvergenzzone über den Ozeanen und den Monsunzirkulationen über den Kontinenten im Mittelpunkt, sowie die Interaktion zwischen Prozessen auf verschiedenen Zeitskalen. Ziel der TRACMIP Simulationen ist es, ein besseres Verständnis von planetaren Energie- und Impulsbilanzen für den regionalen Niederschlag in den Tropen zu ermöglichen. Dieses Ziel wurde in einem Übersichtsartikel zu Monsunen herausgearbeitet, der vor kurzem im Fachjournal Nature Geoscience erschienen ist und von Aiko Voigt mitverfasst wurde.

TRACMIP ist ein frei zugänglicher Modelldatensatz und umfasst etwa 10 TB Daten. In den letzen Monaten hat Aiko Voigt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Klimarechenzentrum in Hamburg die TRACMIP Modelldaten vereinheitlicht und auf dem Portal der Earth Sytem Grid Foundation veröffentlicht. Damit sind die TRACMIP Daten nun auf die gleiche bequeme Art wie die vielfach genutzten Datensätze der Modellvergleichsprojekte CMIP5 und CMIP6 Daten verfügbar.

Am IMK-TRO untersucht Aiko Voigt die TRACMIP Daten zusammen mit der Doktorandin Elzina Bala (gefördert durch ein DAAD Stipendium) und Masterstudentin Freia Then. TRACMIP trägt zum „Grand Challenge on Clouds, Circulation and Climate Sensitivität“ bei, das vom World Climate Research Programme organisiert wird. Ausserdem wurde TRACMIP auf einem internationalen Workshop zum Thema Monsun, der im Juli 2018 am International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste von Aiko Voigt mitorganisiert wurde, vorgestellt.

 

Kontaktperson:
Dr. Aiko Voigt, Nachwuchsgruppe „Wolken und Sturmzugbahnen“, IMK-TRO, KIT

 

Weiterführende Informationen:

Publikation zum TRACMIP Projekt: Voigt, A., M. Biasutti et al. (2016), The tropical rain belts with an annual cycle and a continent model intercomparison project: TRACMIP, Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems, 8, 1868–1891, doi:10.1002/2016MS000748.

Nature Geoscience Übersichtsartikel: Biasutti, M., A. Voigt et al. (2018), Monsoons: global energetics and local physics as drivers of past, present and future monsoons, Nature Geoscience, 11, 392-400, doi:10.1038/s41561-018-0137-1.

ICTP 2018 Workshop zum Thema Monsun: http://indico.ictp.it/event/8457/

Monsoon picture monsoonbild_20190215.jpg: Ali Nishan, https://www.flickr.com/photos/millzero/1892542343; CC BY-NC 2.0 license