Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Practical tailored climate parameters for climate adapation

Many fields of action are affected by climate change - from urban planning and forestry to agriculture and the tourism industry - and require adaptation to the unavoidable consequences. The main aim of a study by the South German Climate Office at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology was therefore to introduce a concept for integrating adaptation knowledge into regional climate data analyses using so-called climate parameters. In principle, climate parameters describe meteorological conditions or threshold values of, for example, temperature or precipitation. This results in summer days, that are days with a maximum daily temperature of at least 25 ° C, or heavy precipitation days with, for example, more than 30 mm of precipitation. These parameters are very useful for weather warnings and as an indicator for the evaluation of a summer or trends in the context of climate change, but are usually not suitable for practical implementation.

For this reason, the study developed new climate parameters with a strong practical relevance. Several steps have been taken, starting with a survey and about 30 expert interviews on the experiences of climate influence in regional decision-making with a focus on Baden-Württemberg (Hackenbruch et al., 2017). The surveys were distributed with the support of the city council of Baden-Württemberg among its approx. 180 members. The response rate of 13% showed the keen interest in climate change adaptation. The next step was to quantify the experience of the experts and cities from the answers (e.g., "if it's really cold" or "not too dry over a longer period"). This means that, often in consultation, fixed limits for temperature, precipitation duration, etc. have been determined and defined as tailored climate parameters. In this way, for example, for the winter service, the climate parameter "salting day" was determined, which is defined as a day on which the temperature is less than or equal to 2 °C and more than 0.5 mm of precipitation (Schipper et al., 2019).

After quantifying the experiences, the climate parameters were displayed using the observation datasets HYRAS and E-OBS. As a result, some parameters needed to be adjusted to best suit the experience of experts and cities. After some confidence in the new climate parameters, they were calculated again, but now using an ensemble of regional climate simulations for the reference period (1971-2000) and the near future (2021-2050). From this, trends could be calculated, which in turn were presented to experts and cities (Figure 1).

 

Figure 1: Spatial distribution of „salting days“ according to observations (left) and climate model based changes in the near future (right).

 

Subsequently, the relevance of the tailored climate parameters was described by a so-called sensitivity assessment. This means that the experts and cities should estimate which changes require which adaptation measures. The estimate was made using a so-called "sensitivity traffic light" with the colours green, yellow and red, whereby the current situation did not necessarily had to be green, but could also be yellow or red (Figure 2).

 

Figure 2: The „sensitivity traffic light“

 

For individual regions of Baden-Württemberg maps based on these traffic light colors could now be drawn up, which show an overview of the need for adjustment in the near future (Figure 3).

 

Figure 3: Adaptation relevance for „salting days“ in the Stuttgart region based on the „sensitivity traffic light“ (Figure 2).

 

Hackenbruch, J., T. Kunz-Plapp, S. Müller, J.W. Schipper, 2017: Tailoring climate parameters to information needs for local adaptation to climate change. – Climate 5, 25. DOI: 10.3390/cli5020025.
Schipper, H., J. Hackenbruch, H. Lentink, S. Müller, 2017: Klimawandelanpassung in Städten – Klimasimulationen für Baden-Württemberg (German). – https://www.sueddeutsches-klimabuero.de/klimawandelanpassung.php.
Schipper, J. W., Hackenbruch, J., Lentink, H. S., Sedlmeier, K., 2019: Integrating adaptation expertise into regional climate data analyses through tailored climate parameters. Meteor. Z., Vol. 28, No. 1. DOI: 10.1127/metz/2019/0878.
UM Baden-Württemberg: https://um.baden-wuerttemberg.de/fileadmin/redaktion/m-um/intern/Dateien/Dokumente/4_Klima/Klimawandel/Anpassungsstrategie.pdf

[Working group: Regional Climate and Water Cycle]

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Praxisrelevante Klimakenngrößen für die Anpassung an den Klimawandel

Viele Handlungsfelder sind vom Klimawandel betroffen – von der Stadtplanung und Forstwirtschaft bis hin zur Landwirtschaft und der Tourismusbranche – und erfordern eine Anpassung an die unvermeidbaren Folgen. Das Hauptziel einer Studie des Süddeutschen Klimabüros am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie war daher die Einführung eines Konzepts zur Integration von Anpassungswissen in regionale Klimadatenanalysen mithilfe sogenannter Klimakenngrößen. Grundsätzlich beschreiben Klimakenngrößen meteorologischen Bedingungen oder Schwellenwerten von beispielsweise Temperatur oder Niederschlag. So ergeben sich Sommertage, also Tage mit einem Tagesmaximum der Temperatur von mindestens 25 °C oder Starkniederschlagstage mit beispielsweise mehr als 30 mm Niederschlag. Diese Kenngrößen sind für Wetterwarnungen und als Indikator für die Einschätzung eines Sommers oder den Trend im Rahmen des Klimawandels durchaus sinnvoll, sind aber zumeist nicht für die praktische Umsetzung geeignet.

Aus diesem Grund wurden im Rahmen der Studie neue Klimakenngrößen entwickelt, die einen starken Praxisbezug haben. Dafür wurden mehrere Schritte durchgeführt, angefangen mit einer Befragung und ca. 30 Experteninterviews zu den Erfahrungen des Klimaeinflusses bei der regionalen Entscheidungsfindung mit Fokus auf Baden-Württemberg (Hackenbruch et al. 2017). Die Befragungen wurden mit Unterstützung des Städtetages Baden-Württemberg unter dessen ca. 180 Mitgliedern verteilt. Die Antwortquote von 13 % zeigte das grundsätzliche Interesse am Thema Klimawandelanpassung. Im nächsten Schritt wurde die Erfahrung der Experten und Städte aus den Antworten (z. B. „wenn’s richtig kalt ist“ oder „nicht zu trocken über einer längeren Periode“) quantifiziert. Das heißt, es wurden, oft in Rücksprache, feste Grenzen für Temperatur, Niederschlagsdauer usw. festgelegt und als maßgeschneiderte Klimakenngröße definiert. Auf diese Weise wurde zum Beispiel für den Winterdienst die Klimakenngröße „Streutag“ definiert, die definiert ist als Tag an denen die Temperatur kleiner oder gleich 2 °C ist und mehr als 0,5 mm Niederschlag fällt (Schipper et al. 2019).

Nach dieser Quantifizierung der Erfahrungen wurden die Klimakenngrößen mit den Beobachtungsdatensätzen HYRAS und E-OBS dargestellt. Daraufhin wurden die Kenngrößen teilweise angepasst, um den Erfahrung der Experten und Städten so gut wie möglich zu entsprechen. Nachdem ein gewisses Vertrauen in die neuen Klimakenngrößen vorhanden war, wurden sie abermals berechnet, allerdings nun mit einem Ensemble regionaler Klimasimulationen für den Referenzzeitraum (1971–2000) und die nahe Zukunft (2021–2050). Daraus ließen sich Trends berechnen, die wiederum den Experten und Städten vorgelegt wurden (Abbildung 1).

 

Abbildung 1: Räumliche Verteilung der Streutage für die Beobachtungen (links) und die Klimamodell-basierten Änderungen in der nahen Zukunft (rechts).

 

Anschließend wurde die Relevanz der maßgeschneiderten Klimakenngrößen durch eine sogenannte Sensitivitätsbewertung beschrieben. Das bedeutet, dass die Experten und Städte abschätzen sollten, welche Änderungen welche Anpassungsmaßnahmen erforderlich machen. Die Abschätzung erfolgte mithilfe einer sogenannten „Sensitivitätsampel“ mit den Farben Grün, Gelb und Rot, wobei die momentan vorhandene Situation nicht zwangsläufig Grün sein musste, sondern auch Gelb oder Rot sein konnte (Abbildung 2).

 

Abbildung 2: Die „Sensitivitätsampel“

 

Für einzelne Regionen Baden-Württembergs konnte nun auf Grundlage dieser Ampelfarben Karten erstellt werden, die einen Überblick über die Anpassungsnotwendigkeit in naher Zukunft zeigen (Abbildung 3).

 

Abbildung 3: Anpassungsnotwendigkeit für „Streutage“ in der Region Stuttgart auf Grundlage der Sensitivitätsampel“ (Abbildung 2).

 

Diese Einschätzung der Notwendigkeit von Anpassungsmaßnahmen in einem sich verändernden Klima wurde im Rahmen dieser Studie für die neun Handlungsfelder aus der Anpassungsstrategie Baden-Württembergs durchgeführt (UM Baden-Württemberg) und eine Auswahl der Klimakenngrößen in einer Broschüre veröffentlicht (Schipper et al. 2017). Wir konnten zeigen, dass eine Kopplung der Expertise von Klimawissenschaftlern und Entscheidungsträgern zu einem besseren Verständnis der regionalen Herausforderungen des Klimawandels und dessen Auswirkungen führt. Die Ergebnisse der Studie zeigten zudem das große Potenzial maßgeschneiderter Klimakenngrößen durch die Integration von praktischem Wissen in der Analyse von regionalen Klimasimulationen.

 

Hackenbruch, J., T. Kunz-Plapp, S. Müller, J.W. Schipper, 2017: Tailoring climate parameters to information needs for local adaptation to climate change. – Climate 5, 25. DOI: 10.3390/cli5020025.
Schipper, H., J. Hackenbruch, H. Lentink, S. Müller, 2017: Klimawandelanpassung in Städten – Klimasimulationen für Baden-Württemberg (German). – https://www.sueddeutsches-klimabuero.de/klimawandelanpassung.php.
Schipper, J. W., Hackenbruch, J., Lentink, H. S., Sedlmeier, K., 2019: Integrating adaptation expertise into regional climate data analyses through tailored climate parameters. Meteor. Z., Vol. 28, No. 1. DOI: 10.1127/metz/2019/0878.
UM Baden-Württemberg: https://um.baden-wuerttemberg.de/fileadmin/redaktion/m-um/intern/Dateien/Dokumente/4_Klima/Klimawandel/Anpassungsstrategie.pdf

[Arbeitsgruppe: Regionales Klima und Wasserkreislauf]