Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Forensic Disaster Analyses of Cyclone IDAI

Over a period of 2 weeks, the long-lived tropical system IDAI hit large parts of South East Africa in the first half of March 2019. In the beginning, it was only the precursors of a tropical cyclone that led to severe flooding in Malawi. A few days later, however, the system passed over the warm waters of the Mozambique Canal and went through all the developmental stages of a tropical cyclone, finally becoming a full-grown cyclone with sustained winds of 195 kph and gusts of up to 280 kph. Shortly after its peak intensity, IDAI fell ashore in Mozambique during the night of 14 to 15 March 2019 a few kilometers north of the city of Beira (Fig. 1). Its slow propagation speed combined with destructive storm surges, heavy winds and an enormous amount of precipitation led to considerable damage and flooding in the region. The remains of the weakening tropical system subsequently caused further severe floods with landslides far inland in the east of Zimbabwe.

 

Fig. 1: Track of IDAI, hardest hit areas (dark blue) and affected areas (light blue) in the states of southeastern Africa (Mozambique, Malawi and Zimbabwe; Source: reliefweb.int).

 

A total of around 3 million people were affected by IDAI and its impacts. IDAI claimed several hundred lives and left hundreds of thousands homeless and displaced across the region. To date, IDAI has been the most devastating and deadly tropical cyclone in Mozambique's history.

Currently, the interdisciplinary Forensic Disaster Analysis (FDA) Group at the Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM) – an interdisciplinary research center at the KIT in the field of disaster management, in which the IMK-TRO is also involved – is investigating the effects of the tropical storm in cooperation with the World Bank (Fig. 2). The aim of the FDA's activities is to evaluate a disaster immediately after it has occurred, to assess its impacts, to track its development over time and to identify the most important factors that are decisive for its impacts. Forensic refers to the combination of methods and findings from different disciplines with the aim of describing and reconstructing disasters and their key drivers as comprehensively as possible.

 

Fig. 2: Preliminary estimates of losses and footprints (Source: CEDIM FDA Group in cooperation with the World Bank).

 

Overview of past FDA activities of the CEDIM:
https://www.cedim.kit.edu/english/2926.php

Supplementary weather information on the cyclone IDAI:
http://www.wettergefahren-fruehwarnung.de/Ereignis/20190320_e.html

[Working group: Atmospheric Risks]
Author: Dr. Susanna Mohr
26.04.2019

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Forensische Katastrophenanalysen zum Zyklon IDAI

Über einen Zeitraum von 2 Wochen erfasste das langlebige Tropensystem IDAI in der ersten Hälfte des Märzes 2019 weite Teile Südostafrikas. Zuerst waren es nur die Vorläufer eines tropischen Wirbelsturms, die in Malawi zu schweren Überschwemmungen führten. Einige Tage später durchlief das System aber über dem warmen Wasser des Mosambikkanals alle Entwicklungsstufen eines Tropischen Wirbelsturms und wurde schließlich zu einem ausgewachsenen Zyklon mit anhaltenden Winden von 195 km/h und Böen von bis zu 280 km/h. Kurz nach seiner Spitzenintensität ging IDAI in der Nacht vom 14. auf den 15. März 2019 in Mosambik einige Kilometer nördlich der Stadt Beira an Land (Abb. 1). Seine langsame Verlagerungsgeschwindigkeit verbunden mit verheerende Sturmfluten, heftigen Winden und einer enormen Niederschlagssumme führten schließlich zu erheblichen Schäden und Überschwemmungen in der Region. Auch anschließend verursachten die Überreste des sich abschwächenden tropischen Systems weitere schwere Überschwemmungen verbunden mit Erdrutschen weit bis ins Landesinnere im Osten Simbabwes.

 

Abb. 1: Verlauf des Zyklones IDAI inkl. der am stärksten betroffene Gebiete (dunkelblau) und betroffene Gebiete (hellblau) in den Staaten des südöstlichen Afrika (Mosambik, Malawi und Simbabwe; Quelle: reliefweb.int).

 

Insgesamt waren rund 3 Millionen Menschen von IDAI und seinen Auswirkungen betroffen. IDAI forderte mehrere hundert Menschenleben und ließ Hunderttausende obdachlos und vertrieben in der Region zurück. Bis dato war IDAI für Mosambik der verheerendste und tödlichste tropische Wirbelsturm der Geschichte werden.

Aktuell untersucht die interdisziplinäre Forensic Disaster Analysis (FDA) Group am Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM) – eine interdisziplinäre Forschungseinrichtung des KIT im Bereich des Katastrophenmanagements, an der auch das IMK-TRO beteiligt ist – zusammen mit der Weltbank im Rahmen einer Kooperation die Auswirkungen des tropischen Sturms (Abb. 2). Ziel der FDA-Aktivitäten ist unmittelbar nach dem Eintreten einer Katastrophe diese zu bewerten, die Folgen abgeschätzt, die zeitliche Entwicklung nachverfolgt und die wichtigsten Faktoren identifiziert, die für die Auswirkungen maßgeblich sind. Forensisch bezeichnet dabei das Zusammenführen von Methoden und Erkenntnissen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen mit dem Ziel, Katastrophen und ihre maßgeblichen Treiber möglichst um­fassend zu beschreiben bzw. zu rekonstruieren.

 

Abb. 2: Vorläufige Schadensschätzungen und Footprints (Quelle: CEDIM FDA Group in Kooperation mit der Weltbank).

 

Übersicht vergangener FDA-Aktivitäten des CEDIM:
https://www.cedim.kit.edu/2926.php

Ergänzende Wetterinformationen zum Zyklone IDAI:
http://www.wettergefahren-fruehwarnung.de/Ereignis/20190320_e.html

[Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Risiken]
Autorin: Dr. Susanna Mohr
26.04.2019