deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Strong increase of heat stress in Germany in the near future

The last decades have shown that heat stress is playing an increasingly important role for human health and well-being. The increase of extreme temperatures is very often accompanied by increased humidity. Combined, this leads to a reduced ability of the human body to release heat. Even mid-latitudes are now affected by heat waves with sometimes lethal consequences. To quantify heat stress, one- or two-parameter indices, i.e. either temperature or a combination of temperature and humidity were used in the past. However, human thermal comfort depends on more meteorological factors than these two, and on physiological ones as well. Important thermal environmental parameters are air temperature, radiation temperature, humidity and wind, physiological ones are metabolic rate and clothing.

In a recent Ph.D. thesis (Brecht 2019), the impact of climate change on heat stress is analysed using a well-accepted, state-of-the-art metric accounting for the factors mentioned above: the UTCI (Universal Thermal Climate Index); the UTCI is expressed as an equivalent temperature as shown in Fig. 1.
Based on an ensemble of regional climate simulations created with the regional climate model COSMO-CLM, the effects of climate change on the UTCI with a focus on heat stress events are analysed for Germany, as well as the effects of climate change on the distribution and intensity on weather types and their connections with heat stress events. In order to calculate UTCI thresholds, a multivariate bias correction preserving the relationships between the individual parameters was performed on hourly data for the first time.

The projected climate changes between 1981–2000 and 2031–2050 entail significant increases of both the mean UTCI and the number, duration and intensity of heat stress events (see Fig. 2). In some regions of Germany, especially in the South and the East and including large metropolitan areas, about 50% more days with strong heat stress (UTCI ≥ 32 °C) and more than 100% more days with very strong heat stress (UTCI ≥ 38 °C) are projected. The projected future frequency distribution of the hourly UTCI can be described by a shift to higher values with an almost unchanged form of distribution.

The analysis of the projected changes of weather patterns show, up to a few exceptions, no significant changes of the weather pattern distribution, but the characteristics of the air masses associated with the weather types change towards warmer and more humid conditions. It was also found that significantly more heat stress events occur in cities than in the surrounding areas, mainly due to the reduced nightly cooling in the cities.
The results suggest that sustainable protection against increased, longer and stronger heat stress can only be achieved by limiting global warming combined with adaptation measures especially in urban areas (improved building technology indoors and outdoors as well as careful spatial planning) in order to maintain public health.
 

Fig. 1:_ UTCI threshold definitions

 

 

 

 

Fig. 2: Number of days (d) with the UTCI maximum greater than or equal to 32 °C (top) and 38 °C (bottom) in 1981-2000 (ctrl) and 2031-2050 (proj) based on the bias corrected ensemble mean

 

Reference: Brecht, B. 2019: Die urbane Wärmebelastung unter Einfluss lokaler Faktoren und zukünftiger Klimaänderungen. https://publikationen.bibliothek.kit.edu/1000096295

Working Group: "Regional Climate and Water Cycle"

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Starker Anstieg der Wärmebelastung in Deutschland in naher Zukunft

Die vergangenen Dekaden haben gezeigt, dass die Wärmebelastung von zunehmender Bedeutung für die menschliche Gesundheit wird.  Extreme Temperaturen treten häufig zusammen mit hoher Luftfeuchte auf; diese Kombination beeinträchtigt erheblich die Fähigkeit des menschlichen Körpers, Wärme abzugeben. Sogar mittlere Breiten sind jetzt von Hitzewellen mit teils tödlichen Folgen betroffen. Um die Wärmebelastung quantitativ zu erfassen, wurden in der Vergangenheit oft ein- oder zweiparametrige Indices, d.h. die Temperatur alleine oder die Kombination von Temperatur und Feuchte, verwendet. Der thermische Komfort des Menschen hängt jedoch von einer Reihe weiterer meteorologischer und physiologischer Faktoren wie Wind, Strahlung, Stoffwechselrate und Kleidung, ab.

In einer kürzlich fertig gestellten Dissertation (Brecht 2019) wurde der Einfluss eines sich ändernden Klimas auf die Wärmebelastung unter Verwendung eines anerkannten Index, dem UTCI (Universal Thermal Climate Index), untersucht. Der UTCI berücksichtigt die genannten Faktoren und wird als Äquivalenttemperatur mit den in Abb. 1 gezeigten Belastungsschwellen angegeben.

Ausgehend von einem Ensemble regionaler Klimasimulationen, welche mit dem regionalen Klimamodell COSMO-CLM erzeugt wurden, wurden die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Wärmebelastung in Deutschland und auf die Änderung der Häufigkeitsverteilung von Wetterlagen, welche mit Wärmebelastung einhergehen, untersucht. Zur Berechnung der UTCI-Schwellenwerte wurde erstmals ein Bias-Korrekturverfahren, welches die Beziehungen zwischen den einzelnen Parametern erhält, angewandt.

Die projizierten Klimaänderungen zwischen 1981-2000 und 2031-2050 bringen signifikante Zunahmen des mittleren UTCI sowie der Anzahl, Dauer und Intensität von Wärmebelastungsereignissen mit sich (Abb. 2). In einigen Regionen, vor allem im Süden und Osten einschließlich großer Ballungsräume, treten über 50% mehr Tage mit starker Wärmebelastung (UTCI > 32°C) und über 100% mehr Tage mit sehr starker Wärmebelastung (UTCI>38°C) auf. Im Tagesgang erhöht sich der mittlere UTCI bei annähernd gleicher Form der Verteilungskurve.

Bei den Wetterlagen ergibt sich bis auf wenige Ausnahmen keine signifikante Änderung der Häufigkeitsverteilung, aber die mit den Wetterlagen verbundenen Luftmasseneigenschaften verschieben sich hin zu wärmeren und feuchteren Bedingungen. Ein weiteres Ergebnis der Arbeit ist, dass Wärmebelastungsereignisse in Städten deutlich häufiger auftreten als in ihrer Umgebung, was vor allem auf die geringere nächtliche Abkühlung in Städten zurückzuführen ist.

Insgesamt ergibt sich, dass ein langfristiger Schutz gegen starke Wärmebelastung nur durch Begrenzung der globalen Erwärmung in Verbindung mit Anpassungsmaßnahmen (verbesserte Bautechnologie im Innen- und Außenraum sowie angepasste Stadtplanung) möglich ist.

 

Fig. 1:_ UTCI threshold definitions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fig. 2: Number of days (d) with the UTCI maximum greater than or equal to 32 °C (top) and 38 °C (bottom) in 1981-2000 (ctrl) and 2031-2050 (proj) based on the bias corrected ensemble mean

Literatur: Brecht, B. 2019: Die urbane Wärmebelastung unter Einfluss lokaler Faktoren und zukünftiger Klimaänderungen. https://publikationen.bibliothek.kit.edu/1000096295

Arbeitsgruppe: "Regionales Klima und Wasserkreislauf"