deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

White Christmas: A challenge for Subseasonal Prediction!?

Weather regimes and stratospheric conditions together change odds for regional weather extremes and subseasonal predictability in winter.

Christmas 2019 is approaching and people are wondering early in December “What are the odds of a cold, snowy White Christmas?” or “Will it be a warm and windy holiday season as in previous years?” Questions alike are not only of public interest, they are also relevant to various socio-economic activities such as renewable energies or the transportation sector. Episodes of exceptionally warm or cold temperatures, strong or weak winds, or heavy precipitation typically last for several days and affect continent-size regions.

Figure 1: a) Weather regime frequency for all winter days during strong (left bar), neutral (middle), and weak (right) states of the stratospheric polar vortex. Colours mark different regimes and pale colours indicate values below the climatological winter mean. b) Weather regime frequency during days of a regional weather extremes. Type of extreme is indicated above each sub-figure. Regions abbreviated as follows: CEU: Central Europe, NORD: Northern Europe, EEU: Eastern Europe, MED: western Mediterranean, BALK: Balkans.

Weather on these spatio-temporal scales is governed by weather regimes, which are large-scale circulation patterns in the lowest 10 km of the atmosphere. Further up – in the stratosphere – the circulation during winter is dominated by strong circumpolar westerly winds forming the stratospheric polar vortex (SPV). The intensity of the SPV usually changes gradually within a few weeks, but occasionally the westerly winds break down abruptly, which is called “sudden stratospheric warming” (SSW). Because of the dynamical coupling between the stratosphere and the troposphere below, extreme anomalous states of the SPV can induce persistent surface weather conditions. In particular, SSWs are believed to be followed by cold and calm conditions in Europe.

Figure 2: ECMWF Subseasonal ensemble forecast issued on 14 November 2019. Stacked bars indicate the forecast probability for each of the 7 weather regimes (colours as labelled) or no regime (grey) every 6 hours. Bottom rows show the ensemble mean and control forecasts. The stacked bar on the right indicates the climatological frequency centred on the end date (25 December) of the forecast.

In a recent study [1], we found that not only the most extreme states of the SPV change the odds for specific weather regimes but more generally also above-normal, normal, or below-normal SPV conditions (Figure 1a). Nevertheless, large-scale weather extremes in different European sub-regions, happen during any SPV state. This can be explained by the fact that most large-scale weather extremes occur during more than one preferred weather regime (Figure 1b). Interestingly, a few weather regimes occur irrespective of the SPV state. These regimes thus provide pathways to weather extremes that might be unexpected with respect to the current SPV state. For example, the Atlantic Trough (AT) regime occurs during any SPV state and thus provides a pathway to high wind events in Central Europe also during weak SPV states, while other regimes causing such events (ZO, ScTr) are suppressed.

These findings suggest that numerical weather prediction models require not only a correct stratosphere-troposphere coupling but also a correct representation of weather regimes to fully exploit the potential predictability from the stratosphere. Indeed, the subseasonal forecast issued by ECMWF correctly indicated a dominance of mild and windy regimes (ZO, ScTr, AT) in the first half of December 2019 more than four weeks ahead (Figure 2). These regimes will dominate until Christmas. So at least for Central Europe the chances for White Christmas are low. However, models consistently predict a change of the prevailing regime over the holidays, giving a little hope for belated snow at least for some of us.

Ongoing research in the LSDP group now investigates systematically how the forecast skill for surface weather depends on the SPV state and the correct representation of weather regimes [2] and what determines the specific regime response and associated surface weather following SSW events [3]. 

Link: Group: Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/7425.php

Authors: Dominik Büeler, Christian M. Grams, Julian F. Quinting

Date: 18 December 2019

[1] Beerli, R., and C. M. Grams, 2019: Stratospheric modulation of the large-scale circulation in the Atlantic–European region and its implications for surface weather events. Q.J.R. Meteorol. Soc., 145, 3732–3750, doi:10.1002/qj.3653.

[2] Büeler, D., R. Beerli, H. Wernli, and C. M. Grams, 2020: Stratospheric influence on ECMWF sub-seasonal forecast skill for European energy-industry-relevant surface weather. In preparation for Q.J.R. Meteorol. Soc..

[3] Domeisen, D. I. V., C. M. Grams, and L. Papritz, 2019: The role of North Atlantic-European weather regimes in the surface impact of sudden stratospheric warming events. Weather and Climate Dynamics Discussions, submitted.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Weiße Weihnachten: Eine Herausforderung für Subsaisonale Wettervorhersagen!?

Das Zusammenspiel von Wetterregimen und stratosphärische Bedingungen verändert subsaisonale Vorhersagbarkeit und die Wahrscheinlichkeit von regionalen Wetterextremen im Winter.

Weihnachten 2019 rückt näher und die Menschen fragen sich bereits Anfang Dezember: „Gibt es weiße Weihnachten?“ Oder „Wird es wie in den Vorjahren eine warme und windige Weihnachtszeit?“ Fragen wie diese sind nicht nur von öffentlichem Interesse, sondern auch für verschiedene wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten wie die erneuerbaren Energien oder den Verkehrssektor relevant. Episoden mit außergewöhnlich warmen oder kalten Temperaturen, starken oder schwachen Winden oder starken Niederschlägen dauern in der Regel mehrere Tage und betreffen Regionen von der Größe eines Kontinents.

Abbildung 1: a) Häufigkeit von Wetterregimen im Winter während starker (linker Balken), neutraler (Mitte), and schwacher (rechts) Intensität des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels. Farben markieren die verschiedenen Regime und blasse Farben zeigen Werte unterhalb des klimatologischen Wintermittels an. b) Häufigkeit von Wetterregimen während regionalen Extremwetterereignissen. Die Art des Extremereignisses ist über den Unterabbildungen angezeigt. Regionen sind wie folgt abgekürzt: CEU: Mitteleuropa, NORD: Nordeuropa, EEU: Osteuropa, MED: westliches Mittelmeer, BALK: Balkan.

Auf diesen Raum- und Zeitskalen wird das Wetter von sogenannten Wetterregimen bestimmt – großräumigen Strömungsmustern, die in den untersten 10 km der Atmosphäre vorherrschen. Darüber - in der Stratosphäre - wird die Strömung im Winter von starken polumspannenden Westwinden dominiert, die den stratosphärischen Polarwirbel bilden. Die Intensität des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels ändert sich normalerweise allmählich innerhalb einiger Wochen, aber gelegentlich bricht der stratosphärische Polarwirbel abrupt zusammen, was als "plötzliche Stratosphärenerwärmung" bezeichnet wird. Aufgrund der dynamischen Kopplung zwischen der Stratosphäre und der darunter liegenden Troposphäre können extrem anomale Zustände des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels langanhaltend das bodennahe Wetter beeinflussen. Insbesondere wird angenommen, dass in Europa kalte und schwachwindige Bedingungen auf eine plötzliche Stratosphärenerwärmung folgen.

 

Eine kürzlich erschienene Studie [1] zeigt nun, dass nicht nur die extremsten Zustände des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels die Wahrscheinlichkeit für das Auftreten bestimmter Wetterregime verändern, sondern auch bereits ganz allgemein überdurchschnittliche, normale oder unterdurchschnittliche Intensitäten des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels (Abbildung 1a). Dennoch können großräumige Wetterextreme in verschiedenen europäischen Regionen unabhängig vom Zustand des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels auftreten. Dies lässt dadurch erklären, dass die meisten großräumigen Wetterextreme unter mehr als einem bevorzugten Wetterregime auftreten (Abbildung 1b). Nun ist es von Bedeutung, dass einige Wetterregime interessanterweise ebenfalls unabhängig vom Zustand des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels auftreten. Diese Regime können dann zu Wetterextremen führen, die im aktuellen Zustand des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels allgemein nicht erwartet werden. Beispielsweise ist das Regime „Trog im Atlantik“ (AT) in jedem Zustand des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels gleich häufig.

Figure 2: Subsaisonale Ensemble Vorhersage des EZMW vom 14. November 2019. Gestapelte Balken (alle 6h) zeigen die Wahrscheinlichkeit für jedes der 7 Wetterregime (Farben wie angegeben) oder für „kein Regime“ (grau) an. Die unteren Zeilen zeigen die Regimevorhersage für das Ensemble Mittels und die Kontrollvorhersage an. Der gestapelte Balken rechts zeigt die klimatologische Frequenz an zentriert auf den das Enddatum (25. Dezember) der Vorhersage an.

Es kann somit auch während eines schwachen stratosphärischen Polarwirbels Sturmereignisse in Mitteleuropa verursachen, während andere Regime, die normalerweise solche Sturmereignisse verursachen (ZO, ScTr), unterdrückt sind. Diese Ergebnisse lassen uns schlussfolgern, dass numerische Wettervorhersagemodelle nicht nur die Kopplung von Stratosphäre und Troposphäre, sondern auch großskalige Wetterregime korrekt wiedergeben müssen um die Stratosphäre als Quelle subsaisonaler Vorhersagbarkeit voll auszuschöpfen. Tatsächlich deutete die subsaisonale Vorhersage des Europäischen Zentrums für Mittelfristige Wettervorhersage bereits mehr als vier Wochen im Voraus korrekterweise eine Dominanz von milden und windigen Regimen (ZO, ScTr, AT) in der ersten Dezemberhälfte 2019 an (Abbildung 2). Diese Regime werden bis Weihnachten anhalten. Zumindest für Mitteleuropa sind damit die Chancen für Schnee an an Weihnachten gering. Aktuelle Vorhersagen sagen jedoch konsistent eine Änderung des vorherrschenden Regimes während der Feiertage voraus, was zumindest einigen von uns etwas Hoffnung auf verspäteten Schnee lässt.

Laufende Forschungsarbeiten unserer Gruppe untersuchen nun systematisch, wie die Vorhersagebarkeit von Bodenwetter vom Zustand der Stratosphäre und der korrekten Darstellung von Wetterregimen abhängt [2] und was die genaue Regimeausprägung und das damit verbundene Oberflächenwetter nach einer plötzlichen Stratosphärenerwärmung bestimmt [3].

Link: Gruppe: Grossskalige Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/7425.php 

Autoren: Dominik Büeler, Christian M. Grams, Julian F. Quinting

Datum: 18 Dezember 2019

[1] Beerli, R., and C. M. Grams, 2019: Stratospheric modulation of the large-scale circulation in the Atlantic–European region and its implications for surface weather events. Q.J.R. Meteorol. Soc., 145, 3732–3750, doi:10.1002/qj.3653.

[2] Büeler, D., R. Beerli, H. Wernli, and C. M. Grams, 2020: Stratospheric influence on ECMWF sub-seasonal forecast skill for European energy-industry-relevant surface weather. In preparation for Q.J.R. Meteorol. Soc..

[3] Domeisen, D. I. V., C. M. Grams, and L. Papritz, 2019: The role of North Atlantic-European weather regimes in the surface impact of sudden stratospheric warming events. Weather and Climate Dynamics, submitted.