Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Does air pollution reduce rainfall in southern West Africa?

Air pollution is rising rapidly across densely populated southern West Africa with detrimental impacts on human health. But does the pollution also affect climate? This question was posed in a 2015 Nature Climate Change article by Knippertz et al. and investigated extensively as part of the DACCIWA (Dynamics-Aerosol-Chemistry-Cloud Interactions in West Africa) project (Knippertz et al. 2015b). Six years later, a new article by Pante et al. (2021) in the journal Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics warns that there are in fact first indications in observational data of an accelerating reduction of rainfall due to the increasing concentrations of aerosol particles over the region.

“Investigating this problem has been really challenging“, says Prof. Peter Knippertz, leader of the working group on “Atmospheric Dynamics” at IMK-TRO. The reasons for this are manifold:

  • Numerical models struggle to realistically represent the complex meteorology of the West African monsoon system.
  • There are no long-term aerosol measurements due to a lack of a surface network and cloud contamination in satellite data.
  • Changes in rainfall are not driven by pollution alone.
  • Aerosol effects change with season and geographically.

 

Rainfall trend from 2001–2017 during the little dry season (July-August) for CHIRPS data (coloured pixels) and station data (coloured circles). The influence of changes in sea-surface temperatures has been removed statistically from the trends. Topography is shown in grey shadings. Spatially averaged the trend amounts to –0.072 mm d-1 yr-1 (statistically significant on the α = 20 % level), which corresponds to a reduction from 150 to 112 mm over the investigation period. (Figure from Pante et al. 2021, ACP, CC-BY license)

“Given this difficult situation”, says Knippertz, “we decided to first remove the effect of changing sea surface temperature from the rainfall trends and then use indirect evidence from measurements of visibility, solar radiation and clouds to detect the pollution signal.” This way, the clearest evidence for a potential aerosol induced drying was found during the so-called “little dry season” in July-August (see Figure). During this season, biomass burning aerosol from Central Africa is imported into West Africa, mixes with local emissions from the many large cities along the Guinea Coast, and spreads quickly with the southerly monsoon winds. “The aerosol particles reduce the amount of sunlight reaching the ground” explains Prof. Andreas Fink, another author of the study, “which in turn reduces warming during the day and the triggering of local showers and thunderstorms.”

 

Air pollution (colour shading) and clouds over southern West Africa. (Figure from Knippertz et al. 2015, BAMS, © American Meteorological Society)

With weaker monsoon winds and no aerosol import from Central Africa during the second rainy season (September-October), the effect remains restricted to the coastal strip. During the first rainy season (mid-May to mid-July) a pollution impact could not be detected with the available data, probably due to a much higher spatial organization of rainfall.

Despite the limited database and low statistical significance of some of the trends, the authors conclude that the balance of all evidence combined strongly suggests a causal relationship between rainfall reduction and anthropogenic air pollution.  “This should be a wake-up call for politics in West Africa”, says Knippertz, “as a further increase of emissions will not only harm the health of the population but also endanger future water resources.”

References

Pante, G.; Knippertz, P., Fink, A. H.; Kniffka, A., 2021: The potential of increasing man-made air pollution to reduce rainfall over southern West Africa. Atmos. Chem. Phys., 21, 35–55, doi:10.5194/acp-21-35-2021.

Knippertz, P.; Evans, M.; Field, P. R.; Fink, A. H.; Liousse, C.; Marsham, J. H., 2015: The possible role of air pollution in climate change in West Africa. Nature Clim. Change, 5, 815–822. doi:10.1038/NCLIMATE2727

Knippertz, P.; Coe, H.; Chiu, C.; Evans, M.; Fink, A. H.; Kalthoff, N.; Liousse, C.; Mari, C.; Allan, R.; Brooks, B.; Danour, S.; Flamant, C.; Jegede, O. O.; Lohou, F.; Marsham, J. H., 2015b: The DACCIWA project: Dynamics-aerosol-chemistry-cloud interactions in West Africa. Bull. Amer. Meteorol. Soc., 96, 1451–1460. doi:10.1175/BAMS-D-14-00108.1

Working Group: "Atmospheric Dynamics"

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung

Reduziert Luftverschmutzung den Regen im südlichen Westafrika?

Die Luftverschmutzung im dicht besiedelten südlichen Westafrika nimmt rapide zu, mit erheblichen Auswirkungen auf die menschliche Gesundheit. Aber wirkt sich die Verschmutzung auch auf das Klima aus? Diese Frage wurde 2015 in einem Artikel in Nature Climate Change von Knippertz et al. gestellt und im Rahmen des DACCIWA-Projekts (Dynamics-Aerosol-Chemistry-Cloud Interactions in Westafrika; Knippertz et al. 2015b) ausgiebig untersucht. Sechs Jahre später nun warnt ein neuer Artikel von Pante et al. (2021) in der Zeitschrift Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics davor, dass es in Beobachtungsdaten tatsächlich erste Hinweise auf eine beschleunigte Reduzierung des Niederschlags aufgrund der zunehmenden Konzentration von Aerosolpartikeln in der Region gibt.

„Die Untersuchung dieses Problems war eine echte Herausforderung“, sagt Prof. Peter Knippertz, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe für „Atmosphärische Dynamik“ am IMK-TRO. Die Gründe dafür sind vielfältig:

  • Numerische Modelle haben Probleme, die komplexe Meteorologie des westafrikanischen Monsunsystems realistisch darzustellen.
  • Es gibt keine langfristigen Aerosoldaten aufgrund des fehlenden Stationsnetzwerks und von Wolkenkontamination in Satellitendaten.
  • Änderungen der Niederschläge werden nicht allein durch Verschmutzung verursacht.
  • Die Aerosoleffekte variieren saisonal und geografisch.

 

Niederschlagstrend von 2001 bis 2017 während der kleinen Trockenzeit (Juli bis August) für CHIRPS- (farbige Pixel) und Stationsdaten (farbige Kreise). Der Einfluss von Änderungen der Meeresoberflächentemperaturen wurde statistisch aus den Trends entfernt. Die graue Schattierung zeigt die Topographie. Der räumlich gemittelte Trend beträgt –0,072 mm d-1 Jahr-1 (statistisch signifikant auf dem Niveau α = 20%), was einer Verringerung von 150 auf 112 mm im Untersuchungszeitraum entspricht. (Abbildung aus Pante et al. 2021, ACP, CC-BY-Lizenz)

"Angesichts dieser schwierigen Situation", sagt Knippertz, "haben wir beschlossen, zuerst den Effekt der Änderung der Meeresoberflächentemperatur aus den Niederschlagstrends zu entfernen und dann indirekte Belege aus Messungen der Sichtweite, der Sonnenstrahlung und der Wolken zu verwenden, um das Verschmutzungssignal zu erfassen." Auf diese Weise wurde der deutlichste Hinweis auf eine mögliche aerosolinduzierte Regenunterdrückung während der sogenannten „kleinen Trockenzeit“ von Juli bis August gefunden (siehe Abbildung). Während dieser Saison wird Aerosol aus Verbrennung von Biomasse aus Zentralafrika nach Westafrika importiert, vermischt sich mit lokalen Emissionen aus den vielen großen Städten entlang der Guineaküste und breitet sich schnell mit den südlichen Monsunwinden aus. „Die Aerosolpartikel reduzieren die Menge an Sonnenlicht, die den Boden erreicht“, erklärt Prof. Andreas Fink, ein weiterer Autor der Studie, „was wiederum die Erwärmung während des Tages und die Auslösung lokaler Schauer und Gewitter verringert.“

Luftverschmutzung (Farbschattierung) und Wolken über dem südlichen Westafrika. (Abbildung aus Knippertz et al. 2015, BAMS, © American Meteorological Society)

Während der zweiten Regenzeit (September bis Oktober) sind die Monsunwinde schwächer und Aerosolimporte aus Zentralafrika bleiben aus, so dass der Effekt auf den Küstenstreifen beschränkt ist. Während der ersten Regenzeit (Mitte Mai bis Mitte Juli) konnten mit den verfügbaren Daten keine Auswirkungen der Luftverschmutzung festgestellt werden, wahrscheinlich aufgrund einer viel höheren räumlichen Organisation der Niederschläge.

Trotz der begrenzten Datenbasis und der geringen statistischen Signifikanz einiger Trends kommen die Autoren zu dem Schluss, dass die Gesamtsicht aller Evidenzen einen kausalen Zusammenhang zwischen der Niederschlagsreduktion und der anthropogenen Luftverschmutzung nahe legt. "Dies sollte ein Weckruf für die Politik in Westafrika sein", sagt Knippertz, "da eine weitere Erhöhung der Emissionen nicht nur die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung beeinträchtigt, sondern auch zukünftige Wasserressourcen gefährdet."

Referenzen
Pante, G.; Knippertz, P., Fink, A. H.; Kniffka, A., 2021: The potential of increasing man-made air pollution to reduce rainfall over southern West Africa. Atmos. Chem. Phys., 21, 35–55, doi:10.5194/acp-21-35-2021

Knippertz, P.; Evans, M.; Field, P. R.; Fink, A. H.; Liousse, C.; Marsham, J. H., 2015: The possible role of air pollution in climate change in West Africa. Nature Clim. Change, 5, 815–822. doi:10.1038/NCLIMATE2727

Knippertz, P.; Coe, H.; Chiu, C.; Evans, M.; Fink, A. H.; Kalthoff, N.; Liousse, C.; Mari, C.; Allan, R.; Brooks, B.; Danour, S.; Flamant, C.; Jegede, O. O.; Lohou, F.; Marsham, J. H., 2015b: The DACCIWA project: Dynamics-aerosol-chemistry-cloud interactions in West Africa. Bull. Amer. Meteorol. Soc., 96, 1451–1460. doi:10.1175/BAMS-D-14-00108.1

Arbeitsgruppe: "Atmosphärische Dynamik"