Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

About IMK-TRO

IMK Building, Campus North

 

Physik Tower Campus South

The Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research - Department Troposphere (IMK-TRO) is one of four departments of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK)

The other three departments of the IMK are  IMK-ASF, IMK-AAF and IMK-IFU.

Both the IMK-TRO and the IMK-ASF have been operated jointly by the Research Center and the University of Karlsruhe for more than two decades. They can therefore be seen as the nucleus of the merger of the research center and university into the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

The institute participates in the KIT Centers ""Climate and Environment"  and "MathSee" and contributes significantly to the program topic  "Atmosphere under Global Change" of the Helmholtz Association in the research area "Earth and Environment".

The university lecturers cover the courses in meteorology (Bachelor and Master). In research, fundamental investigations on weather systems, boundary layer meteorology, cloud physics, trace substance households, climate and weather-related hazards are carried out.

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung

Über IMK-TRO

IMK Building, Campus North

 

Physik Tower Campus South

Das Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung - Department Troposphäre (IMK-TRO) ist einer von vier Departments des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK).

 

Die anderen drei Departments des IMK sind IMK-ASF, IMK-AAF und IMK-IFU.

 

Sowohl IMK-TRO als auch IMK-ASF wurden bereits seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten gemeinsam vom Forschungszentrum und der Universität Karlsruhe betrieben. Sie können somit als Keimzelle der Verschmelzung von Forschungszentrum und Universität zum Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) gelten.

 

Das Institut ist an den KIT-Zentren "Klima und Umwelt" und "MathSee" beteiligt und trägt maßgeblich zum Programmthema "Atmosphere under Global Change" der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft im Forschungsbereich "Erde und Umwelt" bei.

 

Die Hochschullehrer decken die Studiengänge zum Fach Meteorologie (Bachelor und Master) ab. In der Forschung werden grundlegende Untersuchungen zu Wettersystemen, Grenzschichtmeteorologie, Wolkenphysik, Spurenstoffhaushalten, Klima und wetterbedingten Gefährdungen durchgeführt.