Proposed Topics for Master`s Theses

sprungmarken_marker_11303

As of April 2022

Excerpt from the SPO §14 (2): The master’s thesis topic can only be given out by university teachers (“Hochschullehrer(in)”), habilitated scientists, and leading scientists (“leitende(r) Wissenschaftler(in)”) according to Article 14, par. 3, clause 1, KITG. In addition, the examination committee can authorize other examiners to give out the topic according to Article 17, pars. 2-4. The student shall be given the possibility of making proposals for the topic.

This list is an overview of possible topics for your Master's Thesis at IMK. If you are interested in a special research field or like to analyze topics that are not listed here, don't hesitate to contact the respective working group leaders or researchers.

 

 

WG Arneth, IMK IFU

Contact

Prof. Almut Arneth, almut.arneth∂kit.edu
Topics  
Will increase CO2 help feed the world?
Description German, English
A. Arneth
How much do fires cost?
Description German, English
A. Arneth

 

WG Blumenstock, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Thomas Blumenstock, Phone: 22838, thomas.blumenstock∂kit.edu
Dr. Matthias Schneider, Phone: 26222, matthias.schneider∂kit.edu
Topics Supervision
Optimieren des MUSICA MetOp/IASI Satellitenprozessors (H2O, HDO, N2O, CH4, HNO3) und dessen Validierung anhand von NDACC/FTIR und GRUAN Referenzdaten M. Schneider
Klimatologische Vergleiche von gemessener und modellierter Isotopen-Zusammensetzung des troposphärischen Wasserdampfes (MUSICA NDACC/FTIR bodengebundene Fernerkundungsmessdaten versus ECHAM5-wiso und ICON-ART-iso Modelldaten)     M. Schneider, R. Ruhnke (AG, IMK-MOD)

More Information about the Topic: https://www.imk-asf.kit.edu/english/musica.php

 

WG Braesicke, IMK-ASF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke, Phone: 22191, peter.braesicke∂kit.edu
Topics Supervision
Thermal Tropopause P. Braesicke
Quasi-biennial Oscillation(QBO) in 2016 P. Braesicke
The trace gas fingerprint of the Indian Summer Monsoon P. Braesicke
Exchange Processes between Troposphere and Stratosphere P. Braesicke
Quantification of Greenhouse Gas Emissions in Thessaloniki, Greece P. Braesicke, F. Hase

 

WG Cermak, IMK-ASF und IPF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak, Phone: 24510/43675, jan.cermak∂kit.edu
Folke Olesen, Phone: 22109, folke.olesen∂kit.edu
Dr. Frank Göttsche, Phone: 23821, frank.goettsche∂kit.edu
Topics Supervisors
Satellite remote sensing of Namib-region fog J. Cermak, H. Andersen
Generation of land-cover maps from thermal surface parameters and vegetation indices F. Göttsche
Development of a technique to detect and predict fog dissipation based on satellite observations J. Cermak
Infrared spectroscopy of selected surfaces (Namibia or Germany) for satellite data validation F. Olesen

 

WG Grams, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Christian Grams , Phone: 26544, grams∂kit.edu
Dr. Annika Oertel, Phone: 26537, annika.oertel∂kit.edu
Dr. Julian Quinting, Phone: 26537, julian.quinting∂kit.edu

Dear students,

we always have ideas for exciting Master’s thesis research projects partly in collaboration with other groups at IMK-TRO. Please contact us directly to discuss your research interests, time plan, and specific research topics. Some possible topics include:

Topic Supervision
Structure of a dry intrusion and its link to high impact weather in Germany C. Grams, J. Quinting
How does air pollution influence the precipitation and cloud structure in extratropical cyclones? A. Oertel, C. Hoose, C. Grams
How does sea surface temperature influence warm conveyor belt ascent and the associated precipitation and cloud structure? A. Oertel, C. Hoose, C. Grams
How does the model representation of (micro-)physical heating rates influence warm conveyor belt ascent: A model-intercomparison using ICON and the IFS? A. Oertel
Machine learning-based predictions of the intensity of warm conveyor belts associated with extratropical cyclones J. Quinting
Predictability of surface weather on subseasonal timescales due to the influence of weather regimes M. Osman
Representation of the relationship between the MJO and WRs by S2S models M. Osman
What is the effect of Rossby wave packets on the forecast skill of European weather regimes? J. Quinting, M. Osman
What is the internal variability of surface weather during a given weather regime? C. Grams, J. Dorrington
Model vs. Observation: Finding reasons for improper ICON model predictions during the Swabian MOSES 2021 field campaign J. Quinting, J. Wilhelm

You find more information on our MSc/BSc group website https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/9295.php

We are looking forward hearing from you.

Christian Grams, Annika Oertel, and Julian Quinting

 

WG Handwerker, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Jan Handwerker, Phone: 22847, jan.handwerker∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision
Extracting cloud base heights from Doppler-Lidar measurements (Description) A. Wieser, andreas.wieserkit.edu, J. Handwerker, jan.handwerker∂kit.edu
Analysis of Doppler lidar wind profile retrievals during the Swabian-MOSES measurement campaign (Description) Philipp Gasch, philipp.gasch∂kit.edu, Annika Oertel, annika.oertel∂kit.edu

 

WG Höpfner/Friedl-Vallon, IMK-ASF

Contact

PD Dr. Michael Höpfner, Phone: 25948, michael.hoepfner∂kit.edu
Felix Friedl-Vallon, Phone: 24834, felix.friedl-vallon∂kit.edu
Dr. Wolfgang Woiwode, Phone: 23024, wolfgang.woiwode∂kit.edu
Sören Johansson, Phone: 26971, soeren.johansson∂kit.edu
 
We offer:

Analysis of various aircraft and balloon-borne remote sensing experiments from the upper troposphere to the middle stratosphere and their interpretation, with,  e.g., chemical / climate models.

Topic Supervision
https://www.imk-asf.kit.edu/english/Jobs_FFB.php G. Wetzel, M. Höpfner

 

WG Hoose, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Corinna Hoose , Phone: 43587, corinna.hoose∂kit.edu 
Barbara Dietel, barbara.dietel∂kit.edu
Christian Barthlott, christian.barthlott∂kit.edu

 

WG Hoshyaripour, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Ali Hoshyaripour, Phone: 23277, ali.hoshyaripour∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision
Aerosol processes and interactions
How would the great green wall in Africa affect the dust emissions? A. Hoshyaripour
Mispredicted clouds during the Saharan dust outbreak in March 2021: role of dust-cloud interaction A. Hoshyaripour
Volcanic ash as ice nuclei: new parameterization A. Hoshyaripour
Validation of ICON-ART experiments during MOSES campaign 17-25 June 2021: aerosol size and optics A. Hoshyaripour
Validation of ICON-ART experiments during MOSES campaign 17-25 June 2021: ice nucleation potential of aerosols A. Hoshyaripour
Eruption of Tonga volcano January 2022 A. Hoshyaripour
Mixing of volcanic aerosols with Saharan dust during the La Palma eruption 2021 A. Hoshyaripour
Data processing and AI
Validation of desert dust forecast data using satellite and ground measurements (with DWD) A. Hoshyaripour
Analysis of aerosol budgets and trends using model and satellite data (with DWD) A. Hoshyaripour
Parameterization of aerosol emissions using artificial neural network A. Hoshyaripour
Parameterization of aerosol properties and interactions using artificial neural network A. Hoshyaripour
AI-based plume rise model for biomass-burning aerosols (with NASA) A. Hoshyaripour
Tracer transport with convolutional neural network (with DKRZ) A. Hoshyaripour

 

WG Järvinen/Schnaiter

Contact

Dr. Emma Järvinen, Phone: 23941, emma.jaervinen∂kit.edu
Dr. Martin Schnaiter, Phone: 26079, martin.schnaiter∂kit.edu

WG Klose, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Martina Klose,  martina.klose∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision
Can particle speed be inferred from field observations with optical gate devices? M. Klose

Variability in mineral dust aerosol estimated from global model simulations: Contributions from natural and anthropogenic (agricultural) sources

M. Klose
Flow around aerosol sensor M. Klose

 

Please find more information on our group page.

 

WG Knippertz, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz, Phone: 43565, peter.knippertz∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Andreas Fink, Phone: 48711, andreas.fink∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision
The Ouagadougou flood: Modelling extreme convection in the Sahel A. H. Fink, M. Maranan
Unravelling the secrets of low clouds during the dry season in Gabon A. H. Fink, R. van der Linden
Why do models fail to reproduce low clouds over West Africa? P. Knippertz, A. Lemburg
Skill of Ensemble Predictions of Rainfall in Vietnam A. H. Fink, R. van der Linden, E. Walz

 

WG Kunz, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Michael Kunz, Phone: 22840, Email michael.kunz∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision
Statistische Niederschlagsanalysen im Kontext des Klimawandels für Georgien S. Mohr, M. Kunz
Analyse der Umgebungsbedingungen konvektiver Starkniederschlagsereignisse in Deutschland auf der Grundlage von RADOLAN Daten und Reanalysen S. Mohr, M. Kunz
Tageszeitliche Entwicklung der konvektiven Umgebungsbedingungen basierend auf hoch-aufgelösten COSMO-EU Modellanalysen J. Wilhelm, M. Kunz
Model vs. Observation: Finding reasons for improper ICON model predictions during the Swabian MOSES 2021 field campaign J. Wilhelm, J Quinting

 

WG Leisner, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Alexei Kiselev, Phone: 26662, Email alexei.kiselev∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Thomas Leisner, Phone: 24865, Email thomas.leisner∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision
Elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchung von Eiswachstum auf natürlichen Mineraloberflächen A. Kiselev
Eismultiplikation beim Gefrieren unterkühlter Wolkentropfen A. Kiselev, T. Leisner
Kontaktgefrieren levitierter Wolkentropfen N. Hoffmann, A. Kiselev
Charakterisierung von Eiskeimfähigkeit natürlicher Mineralstaubpartikel A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann

  

WG Möhler, IMK-AAF

Contact

 

WG Pinto, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Joaquim Pinto, Phone: 28467, joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu

Dr. Florian Ehmele, Tel. 22844, florian.ehmele∂kit.edu

Dr. Patrick Ludwig, Tel. 24942, patrick.ludwig∂kit.edu

Dr. Julia Mömken, Tel. 22805, julia.moemken∂kit.edu

Dr. Assaf Hochman, Tel. 24942, assaf.hochman∂kit.edu

Dr. Alberto Caldas-Alvares, Tel. 23277, alberto.caldas-alvarez∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision

Characterisation of rainfall variability for Lake Victoria at the regional scale using a statistical-dynamical approach

Project: CORDEX FPS ELVIC

P. Ludwig, J.G. Pinto, A.H. Fink

Estimation of diabatic processes in extratropical cyclones in ERA-5 Reanalysis

Project: ClimXtreme A

H. Lentink, J.G. Pinto

What led to the strong snow accumulation in the northern Alpine ranges in January 2019?

Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

J.G. Pinto, A.H. Fink

Future changes of precipitation statistics at high resolution for Central Europe using a semi-physical stochastic precipitation model

Project: RegIKlim, ClimXtreme

F.Ehmele

Wind energy potentials over different regions of the world in CORDEX-CORE regional climate projections

Project: RegIKlim     

J. Mömken, H. Feldmann, J.G. Pinto

Scale dependency of precipitation representation in downscaled simulations from the Miklip ensemble

Project: ClimXtreme - A1 Severe

A. Caldas-Alvarez, H. Feldmann, J.G. Pinto

High-resolution climate projections over the Eastern Mediterranean

A. Hochman

 

WG Ruhnke, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Roland Ruhnke, Phone: 27497, roland.ruhnke∂kit.edu
Dr. Björn-Martin Sinnhuber, Phone: 24735, bjoern-martin.sinnhuber∂kit.edu
Christian Scharun, Phone: 28446, christian.scharun∂kit.edu
Topics Supervison
Quantifying and modeling methane emissions with the WALLACE workflow Christian Scharun
Analyse der Wechselwirkung zwischen dem Treibhausgas Methan und seinem bevorzugten chemischen Reaktionspartner OH Roland Ruhnke
Analyse von Modellsimulationen im Rahmen der internationalen Chemistry Climate Modelling Initiative (CCMI) Björn-Martin Sinnhuber

More Information about the Working Group: http://www.imk-asf.kit.edu/english/mod.php

 

WG Saathoff, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Harald Saathoff, Phone: 22897, harald.saathoff∂kit.edu

 

WG Sinnhuber, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Miriam Sinnhuber, Phone: 24908, miriam.sinnhuber∂kit.edu,

imk-asf.kit.edu/english/msk.php

Topic Supervision
Solare Aktivität im Sonnensystem und darüber hinaus: Modellstudien zum Einfluss von stellarer Aktivität auf die Atmosphären von Mars, Venus und terrestrischen Exoplaneten M. Sinnhuber