Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Proposed topics for Master Theses

As of September 2020

This list is an overview of possible topics for your Master's Thesis at IMK. If you are interested in a special research field or like to analyze topics that are not listed here, don't hesitate to contact the respective working group leaders or researchers.

On this Webseite you find more information about the working groups of the departments IMK-AAF, IMK-ASF and IMK-TRO.

 

WG Blumenstock, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Thomas Blumenstock, Phone: 22838, thomas.blumenstock∂kit.edu
Dr. Matthias Schneider, Phone: 26222, matthias.schneider∂kit.edu

Optimieren des MUSICA MetOp/IASI Satellitenprozessors (H2O, HDO, N2O, CH4, HNO3) durch Berücksichtigung von Wasserkontinuums-Effekten und dessen Validierung anhand von NDACC/FTIR und GRUAN Referenzdaten

Supervision: M. Schneider

Klimatologische Vergleiche von gemessener und modellierter Isotopogen-Zusammensetzung des troposphärischen Wasserdampfes (MUSICA NDACC/FTIR bodengebundene Fernerkundungsmessdaten versus ECHAM5-wiso und ICON-ART-iso Modelldaten)

More Information about the Topic: http://www.imk-asf.kit.edu/english/musica.php

Supervision: M. Schneider, R. Ruhnke (AG, IMK-MOD)

 

WG Braesicke, IMK-ASF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke, Phone: 22191, peter.braesicke∂kit.edu

Thermal Tropopause

Supervision: P. Braesicke

Quasi-biennial Oscillation(QBO) in 2016

Supervision: P. Braesicke

The trace gas fingerprint of the Indian Summer Monsoon

Supervision: P. Braesicke

Exchange Processes between Troposphere and Stratosphere

Supervision: P. Braesicke

 

WG Cermak, IMK-ASF und IPF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak, Phone: 24510/43675, jan.cermak∂kit.edu
Folke Olesen, Phone: 22109, folke.olesen∂kit.edu
Dr. Frank Göttsche, Phone: 23821, frank.goettsche∂kit.edu

Satellite remote sensing of Namib-region fog

Supervision: J. Cermak, H. Andersen

Generation of land-cover maps from thermal surface parameters and vegetation indices

Supervision: F. Göttsche

Satellite estimaes of solar radiation in West Africa (mit AG Knippertz)

Supervision: A. Kniffka, J. Cermak, P. Knippertz

Development of a technique to detect and predict fog dissipation based on satellite observations

Supervision: J. Cermak

Infrared spectroscopy of selected surfaces (Namibia or Germany) for satellite data validation

Supervision: F. Olesen

 

WG Grams, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Christian Grams , Phone: 26544, grams∂kit.edu
Dr. Dominik Büeler, Phone: 26537, dominik.bueeler∂kit.edu
Dr. Julian Quinting, Phone: 26537, julian.quinting∂kit.edu

Dear students,

we always have ideas for exciting Master’s thesis research projects partly in collaboration with other groups at IMK-TRO. Please contact us directly to discuss your research interests, time plan, and specific research topics. Some possible topics include:

"Modulation of surface weather by weather regimes in the European region. Do forecasts based on regimes provide better skill on subseasonal time scales?"
"Do Saharan dust outbreaks in spring affect predictability in Europe? (co-supervised by AG Vogel)"
"The impact of extratropical transition of tropical cyclones on the midlatitude flow on subseasonal time scales."
"The linkage of serial cyclone clustering and weather regimes (co-supervised by AG Pinto and AG Grams)."

You find more information on our MSc/BSc group website https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/9295.php

We are looking forward hearing from you.

Christian Grams, Dominik Büeler, and Julian Quinting

 

WG Hoose, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Corinna Hoose , Phone: 43587, corinna.hoose∂kit.edu 
Dr. Christian Barthlott, Phone: 46751, christian.barthlott∂kit.edu

Impact of orographic structures on cloud and precipitation formation above Corsica (Description)

Supervision: C. Barthlott, C. Hoose

 

WG Höpfner/Friedl-Vallon, IMK-ASF

Contact

PD Dr. Michael Höpfner, Phone: 25948, michael.hoepfner∂kit.edu
Felix Friedl-Vallon, Phone: 24834, felix.friedl-vallon∂kit.edu
Dr. Wolfgang Woiwode, Phone: 23024, wolfgang.woiwode∂kit.edu
Sören Johansson, Phone: 26971, soeren.johansson∂kit.edu
We offer:
Analyse von verschiedenen flugzeug- und ballongetragenen Fererkundungsexperimenten von der oberen Troposphäre bis zur mittleren Stratosphäre und deren Interpretation z.B. mittels Chemie-/Klimamodellen.

Analysis of various aircraft and balloon-borne remote sensing experiments from the upper troposphere to the middle stratosphere and their interpretation, with,  e.g., chemical / climate models.

For example:

  • Analysis of water vapour and its isotopomeres HDO and H2(18)O from infrared remote sensing observations of MIPAS-Balloon and GLORIA aircraft in the tropics and in the Asian monsoon.

           Supervision: G. Wetzel, M. Höpfner

 

WG Kalthoff, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Norbert Kalthoff, Phone: 24230, norbert.kalthoff∂kit.edu
Dr. Jan Handwerker, Phone: 22847, jan.handwerker∂kit.edu

Extracting cloud base hights from Doppler-Lidar measurements (Description)

Supervision: A. Wieder, J. Handwerker

Investigation of cross-valley circulations in the Inn Valley using aircraft measurements collected during the CROSSINN project (Description)

Supervision: N. Babic, B. Adler, A. Gohm

Evaluation of drop size spectra and comparison to dual-pol radar measurements (Description)

 Supervision: J. Handwerker, A. Wieser

 

AG Knippertz, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz, Phone: 43565, peter.knippertz∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Andreas Fink, Phone: 48711, andreas.fink∂kit.edu

The Ouagadougou flood: Modelling extreme convection in the Sahel

Supervision: A. H. Fink, M. Maranan

Unravelling the secrets of low clouds during the dry season in Gabon

Supervision: A. H. Fink, R. van der Linden

Why do models fail to reproduce low clouds over West Africa?

 Supervision: P. Knippertz, A. Lemburg

Skill of Ensemble Predictions of Rainfall in Vietnam

Supervision: A. H. Fink, R. van der Linden, E. Walz

 

AG Kunz, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Michael Kunz, Phone: 22840, Email michael.kunz∂kit.edu
  • Statistische Niederschlagsanalysen im Kontext des Klimawandels für Georgien

              Supervision: S. Mohr, M. Kunz

  • Analyse der Umgebungsbedingungen konvektiver Starkniederschlagsereignisse in Deutschland auf der Grundlage von RADOLAN Daten und Reanalysen

              Supervision: S. Mohr, M. Kunz

  • Tageszeitliche Entwicklung der konvektiven Umgebungsbedingungen basierend auf hoch-aufgelösten COSMO-EU Modellanalysen

              Supervision: J. Wilhelm, M. Kunz

AG Leisner, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Alexei Kiselev, Phone: 26662, Email alexei.kiselev∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Thomas Leisner, Phone: 24865, Email thomas.leisner∂kit.edu

Elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchung von Eiswachstum auf natürlichen Mineraloberflächen

Supervision: A. Kiselev

Eismultiplikation beim Gefrieren unterkühlter Wolkentropfen

Supervision: A. Kiselev, T. Leisner

Kontaktgefrieren levitierter Wolkentropfen

Supervision: N. Hoffmann, A. Kiselev

Charakterisierung von Eiskeimfähigkeit natürlicher Mineralstaubpartikel

Supervision: A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann

 

AG Möhler, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Ottmar Möhler, Phone 24287, ottmar.moehler∂kit.edu
Dr. Kristina Höhler, Phone 28690, kristina.hoehler∂kit.edu
Dr. Larissa Lacher, Phone 23979, larissa.lacher∂kit.edu
Nsikanabasi Umo, Phone 23734, nsikanabasi.umo∂partner.kit.edu

Laboratory and field measurements of ice formation of atmospheric aerosols as a function of particle size (Labor- und Feldmessungen zur Eisbildung von atmosphärischen Aerosolen in Abhängigkeit von der Partikelgröße)

  Quantifying Ice-Nucleating Particle sizes in Suspensions using a new Laser Diffraction Instrument (Description)

Field measurements of atmospheric ice-nucleating particles in Iceland (Feldmessungen von atmosphärischen eisbildenden Partikeln in Island)

 

AG Pinto, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Joaquim Pinto, Phone: 28467, joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu

Estimation of diabatic processes in extratropical cyclones in ERA-5 Reanalysis

Supervision: L.-A. Kautz, J.G. Pinto

Project: ClimXtreme A (BMBF)

Evaluation of differrent downscaling methods for precipitation affecting the main river catchments in Central Europe

Supervision: F. Ehmele, J.G. Pinto

Project: Flood Risk for Central Europe (AON)

What lead to the strong snow accumulation in the northern Alpine ranges in January 2019?

Supervision: J.G. Pinto, A.H. Fink

Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

Characterisation of rainfall variability for Lake Victoria at the regional scale using a statistical-dynamical approach

Supervision: P. Ludwig, J.G. Pinto, A.H. Fink

 Project: CORDEX FPS ELVIC (CORDEX)

Analysis of the dynamics of windstorm Christian (27.-28. October 2013) using the ICON model and impacts over Europe

Supervision: H. Lentink, J.G. Pinto

Project: Windstorm Risk for Central Europe (AON)

The linkage of serial cyclone clustering and weather regimes (co-supervision by AG Pinto and AG Grams)

Supervision: C. Grams, J.G. Pinto

Project: Waves to Weather (DFG)

 

AG Ruhnke, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Björn-Martin Sinnhuber, Phone: 24735, bjoern-martin.sinnhuber∂kit.edu
  • Untersuchung der troposphärischen Ozonverteilung mit ICON-ART

            Supervision: R. Ruhnke

  • Analyse von Chemie-Klimamodellsimulationen im Rahmen der internationalen Chemistry Climate Modelling Initiative (CCMI)

            Supervision: B.-M. Sinnhuber

  • Entwicklung eines Gitter-Boltzmann dynamischen Kerns für das Wettervorhersagemodell ICON/ Development of a Lattice Boltzmann dynamical core for the weather forecasting model ICON (Description)

            Supervision: B.-M. Sinnhuber

 

WG Saathoff, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Harald Saathoff, Phone: 22897, harald.saathoff∂kit.edu
  • Masterarbeit: Bestimmung von Partikelbildungsraten und Partikelwachstumsraten aus Simulationskammerexperimenten mit organischen Aerosolen (Description)

  • Masterarbeit zur Untersuchung der räumlichen Verteilung atmosphärischer Aerosolpartikel mittels eines 3D-Scanning Aerosol LIDARS (Description)

  • Masterarbeit: Entwicklung massenspektroskopischer Methoden für die Analyse einzelner Aerosolpartikel (Description)

  • Masterarbeit zur Untersuchung der Verteilung von Aerosolpartikeln in und über der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht mit Drohnen- und LIDAR-Messungen (Description)

Supervision: H. Saathoff

 

AG Schädler, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Gerd Schädler, Phone: 22085, gerd.schaedler∂kit.edu
Dr. Marcus Breil, Tel. 24793, marcus.breil∂kit.edu
  • Bereich Paläoklima: Entwicklung und Anwendung einer Strategie zum Vergleich von modellierten Isotopendaten mit Proxy-Daten

  • Bereiche Paläoklima/Mittelfristige Klimaprognosen: Vergleich verschiedener Klassifizierungsverfahren für Wetterlagen     

Supervision:  G. Schädler

  • Verbesserung der Niederschlagssimulation im Westlichen Sahel durch eine stochastische Variation der Wurzeltiefen

             Betreuung: M. Breil, G. Schädler (Beschreibung zum Thema)

  • Die Auswirkung von Aufforstung auf den Strahlungshaushalt in Europa

             Betreuung: M. Breil, G. Schädler (Beschreibung zum Thema)

 

 

AG Sinnhuber, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Miriam Sinnhuber, Phone: 24908, miriam.sinnhuber∂kit.edu,

imk-asf.kit.edu/english/msk.php

  • Solare Aktivität im Sonnensystem und darüber hinaus: Modellstudien zum Einfluss von stellarer Aktivität auf die Atmosphären von Mars, Venus und terrestrischen Exoplaneten

            Supervision: M. Sinnhuber

 

AG Vogel, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Bernhard Vogel, Phone: 24233, bernhard.vogel∂kit.edu

Aerosol processes and interactions

  • Do Saharan dust outbreaks in spring affect weather predictability in Europe?

                        Co-Supervision AG Vogel and AG Grams

  • Development of a simplified aerosol model for operational weather prediction applications

                        Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Optical properties of sub-grid clouds and their dependence on aerosols

                        Supervision: B. Vogel

  • Chemical processing of aerosols during atmospheric transport

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, H. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

  • How would the great green wall in Africa affect the dust emissions?

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

Data processing and model validation

  • Validation of DWD desert dust forecast data using satellite and ground-based measurements

                       Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

  • Analysis of aerosol budgets and trends using model and satellite data

                       Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

Machine learning applications in aerosol modeling

  • Parameterization of aerosol emissions using artificial neural network 

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour

  • Parameterization of aerosol properties and interactions using artificial neural network 

                        Supervision: B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour