Topics of the Working Groups

sprungmarken_marker_11022

Working groups

Status April 2021

This list is intended to provide an overview of some possible bachelor thesis topics at the IMK. If you are interested in certain research areas and topics that are not listed here, please do not hesitate to contact the working group leaders or scientists directly.

On these pages you will find the working groups of the departments IMK-AAF, IMK-ASF and IMK-TRO.

AG Blumenstock, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Thomas Blumenstock Tel. 22838, thomas.blumenstock∂kit.edu
Dr. Frank Hase, Tel. 22434, frank.hase∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
Evaluation of trace gases from MIR spectra from the measuring station at Campus North and discussion of the resulting time seriesT. Blumenstock, F. Hase

AG Braesicke, IMK-ASF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke, Tel. 22191, peter.braesicke∂kit.edu
PD Dr. Thomas Clarmann, thomas.clarmann∂kit.edu
Dr. Tobias Kerzenmacher, Tel. 28274, tobias.kerzenmacher∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
The unusual behaviour of the quasi-two-year oscillation (QBO) in 2016P. Braesicke, T. Kerzenmacher

AG Cermak, IMK-ASF and IPF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak, Tel. 24510/43675, jan.cermak∂kit.edu
Hendrik Andersen, Tel. 24304/44130, hendrik.andersen∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
Evaluation of satellite based cloud detection in desert regionsJ. Cermak
Spatial patterns of aerosol load from satellite dataJ. Cermak

AG Grams, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Christian Grams , Phone: 26544, grams∂kit.edu

Dr. Dominik Büeler, Phone: 26537, dominik.bueeler∂kit.edu

Dr. Julian Quinting, Phone: 26537, julian.quinting∂kit.edu

TopicsSupport

Dear students,

we always have some ideas for bachelor theses on current research topics from our group. Please just contact us directly.

Possible topics are:


"The influence of the Madden-Julian oscillation on weather regimes in the Atlantic-European region on time scales of several weeks to months."
"Can we better predict ground weather based on weather regimes?"
"Is there a link between Saharan dust outbreaks and forecast errors for Europe?"

For more information, check out our MSc/BSc group page: https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/9295.php

We look forward to hearing from you!

Christian Grams, Dominik Büeler, and Julian Quinting

AG Hoose, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Corinna Hoose , Tel. 43587, corinna.hoose∂kit.edu

AG Höpfner/Friedl-Vallon, IMK-ASF

Contact

PD Dr. Michael Höpfner, Tel. 25948, michael.hoepfner∂kit.edu
Felix Friedl-Vallon, Tel. 24834, felix.friedl-vallon∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
Analysis of different airborne and balloon-borne remote sensing experiments from the upper troposphere to the middle stratosphere and their interpretation e.g. by means of chemistry/climate models.M. Höpfner, G. Wetzel, W. Woiwode, S. Johansson

AG Järvinen/Schnaiter, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Martin Schnaiter, Tel. 24332, martin.schnaiter∂kit.edu
Dr Emma Järvinen, tel. 25971, emma.jaervinen∂kit.edu

TopicsSupport
Detection and characterization of ice particles in Arctic mixed-phase clouds - analysis of aircraft measurement dataE. Järvinen, M. Schnaiter

AG Klose, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Martina Klose, martina.klose∂kit.edu
TopicsBetruung
Can Haboob dust storms be realistically reproduced with convection-permitting modeling?M. Klose
Case study of an intense dust storm observed during a field campaign in Morocco.M. Klose

AG Knippertz, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz, Tel. 43565, peter.knippertz∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Andreas Fink, Tel. 48711, andreas.fink∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
Vertical structure of the tropical atmosphereA. H. Fink, M. Maranan
Case studies on the dynamics and predictability of winter stormsP. Knippertz, L. Eisenstein
A. H. Fink, M. Maranan

AG Leisner, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Alexei Kiselev, Tel. 26662, Email alexei.kiselev∂kit.edu
Dr. Ahmed Abdelmonem, Tel. 24520, ahmed-abdelmonem∂kit.edu
Dr. Nadine Hoffmann, Tel. 28689, nadine.hoffmann∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Thomas Leisner, Tel. 24865, Email thomas.leisner∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
Ice nucleation in supercooled seawater dropletsA. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann
Light scattering from levitated frozen water droplets with rough surfacesA. Kiselev
Influence of antifreeze protein on the growth of ice crystalsA. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann
Secondary ice production in seawater dropletsA. Kiselev, T. Leisner
Probing adsorption and deposition ice nucleation of water on the sapphire substrate using optical methodsA. Abdelmonem, T. Leisner

AG Möhler, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Ottmar Möhler, Tel. 24287, ottmar.moehler∂kit.edu

Dr. Larissa Lacher, Tel. 23979, larissa.lacher∂kit.edu

Dr. Kristina Höhler, Tel. 28690 , kristina.hoehler∂kit.edu

AG Pinto, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Joaquim G. Pinto, Tel. 28467, joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu
Dr. Florian Ehmele, Tel. 22844, florian.ehmele∂kit.edu
Dr. Patrick Ludwig, Tel. 24942, patrick.ludwig∂kit.edu
Dr. Hans Schipper, Tel. 28469, schipper∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
Spatial variability of seasonal precipitation statistics and trends in Central Europe using a large, century-long ensemble of regional climate models
Project: Extreme weather events under recent climate conditions (AON)
F. Ehmele
Large scale patterns (temperature, precipitation, jet stream) in PMIP3/PMIP4 LGM simulations P. Ludwig

H. Schipper

AG Saathoff, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Harald Saathoff, Phone: 22897, harald.saathoff∂kit.edu

TopicsSupport
Measurement of water isotopologues in and outside cloudsH. Saathoff

AG Schädler, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Marcus Breil, Tel. 24793, marcus.breil∂kit.edu

Dr. Gerd Schädler, Tel. 22085, gerd.schaedler∂kit.edu

TopicsSupport
Improvement of rainfall simulation in the Western Sahel by stochastic variation of root depthsM. Breil, G. Schädler
The effect of afforestation on the radiation budget in EuropeM. Breil, G. Schädl


AG Vogel, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Bernhard Vogel, Phone: 24233, bernhard.vogel∂kit.edu
TopicsSupport
Aerosol processes and interactions
Do Saharan dust outbreaks in spring affect weather predictability in Europe?Co-Supervision AG Vogel and AG Grams
Development of a simplified aerosol model for operational weather prediction applicationsB. Vogel
Optical properties of sub-grid clouds and their dependence on aerosolsB. Vogel
Chemical processing of aerosols during atmospheric transport B. Vogel, H. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour
How would the great green wall in Africa affect the dust emissions? B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour
Data processing and model validation
Validation of DWD desert dust forecast data using satellite and ground-based measurementsB. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour
Analysis of aerosol budgets and trends using model and satellite data B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour
Machine learning applications in aerosol modeling
Parameterization of aerosol emissions using artificial neural networkB. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour
Parameterization of aerosol properties and interactions using artificial neural network B. Vogel, A. Hoshyaripour