Topics of the Working Groups

sprungmarken_marker_11022

Working groups

This list is intended to provide an overview of some possible bachelor thesis topics at IMK. If you are interested in specific research areas and topics that are not listed here, please do not hesitate to contact the working group leaders or scientists directly.

On these pages you will find the working groups of the departments IMK-AAF, IMK-ASF and IMK-TRO.

WG Blumenstock, IMK-ASF

Contact

Dr. Thomas Blumenstock Tel. 22838, thomas.blumenstock∂kit.edu
Dr. Frank Hase, Tel. 22434, frank.hase∂kit.edu
Topics Support
   

WG Braesicke, IMK-ASF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke, Tel. 22191, peter.braesicke∂kit.edu
PD Dr. Thomas Clarmann, thomas.clarmann∂kit.edu
Dr. Tobias Kerzenmacher, Tel. 28274, tobias.kerzenmacher∂kit.edu
Topics Support
The unusual behavior of the quasi-two-year oscillation (QBO) in 2016. P. Braesicke, T. Kerzenmacher

WG Cermak, IMK-ASF and IPF

Contact

Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak, tel. 24510/43675, jan.cermak∂kit.edu
Hendrik Andersen, tel. 24304/44130, hendrik.andersen∂kit.edu

Topics

Support

Evaluation of satellite-based cloud detection in desert regions
J. Cermak
Spatial patterns of aerosol load from satellite data
J. Cermak

WG Grams, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Christian Grams , Phone: 26544, grams∂kit.edu
Dr. Annika Ortel, Phone: 26537, annika.oertel∂kit.edu
Dr. Julian Quinting, Phone: 26537, julian.quinting∂kit.edu
Topics

Dear students,

we always have some ideas for bachelor theses on current research topics from our group. Please just contact us directly.

For more information, visit our MSc/BSc group page: https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/9295.php

We look forward to hearing from you!

Christian Grams, Annika Oertel and Julian Quinting

 

 

WG Handwerker, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Jan Handwerker, Phone: 22847, jan.handwerker∂kit.edu
Topic Supervision
Accuracy of Doppler lidar wind profile retrievals during the Swabian-MOSES measurement campaign (Description)

Philipp Gasch, philipp.gasch∂kit.edu

 

WG Hoose, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Corinna Hoose, Tel. 43587, corinna.hoose∂kit.edu
All topics can be worked on in German or English.

WG Höpfner/Friedl-Vallon, IMK-ASF

Contact

PD Dr. Michael Höpfner, Tel. 25948, michael.hoepfner∂kit.edu
Felix Friedl-Vallon, Tel. 24834, felix.friedl-vallon∂kit.edu
Topics Support
Analysis of various airborne and balloon-borne remote sensing experiments from the upper troposphere to the middle stratosphere and their interpretation e.g. by means of chemistry/climate models. M. Höpfner, G. Wetzel, W. Woiwode, S. Johansson

WG Järvinen/Schnaiter, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Martin Schnaiter, tel. 24332, martin.schnaiter∂kit.edu
Dr. Emma Järvinen, tel. 25971, emma.jaervinen∂kit.edu
Topics Support
Detection and characterization of ice particles in Arctic mixed-phase clouds - evaluation of aircraft measurement data. E. Järvinen, M. Schnaiter

WG Klose, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Martina Klose, martina.klose∂kit.edu
Topics Support
Flow around aerosol sensor M. Klose

Variability in mineral dust aerosol estimated from global model simulations: Contributions from natural and anthropogenic (agricultural) sources

M. Klose

Please find more information on our group page.

WG Knippertz, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz, Tel. 43565, peter.knippertz∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Andreas Fink, Tel. 48711, andreas.fink∂kit.edu
Topics Support
Vertical structure of the tropical atmosphere A. H. Fink, M. Maranan
Case studies on the dynamics and predictability of winter storms P. Knippertz, L. Eisenstein

WG Leisner, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Alexei Kiselev, tel. 26662, email alexei.kiselev∂kit.edu
Dr. Ahmed Abdelmonem, tel. 24520, ahmed-abdelmonem∂kit.edu
Dr. Nadine Hoffmann, tel. 28689, nadine.hoffmann∂kit.edu
Prof. Dr. Thomas Leisner, Tel. 24865, Email thomas.leisner∂kit.edu
Topics Support
Ice nucleation in supercooled seawater droplets A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann
Light scattering from levitated frozen water droplets with rough surfaces A. Kiselev
Influence of antifreeze protein on the growth of ice crystals A. Kiselev, N. Hoffmann
Secondary ice production in seawater droplets A. Kiselev, T. Leisner
Probing adsorption and deposition ice nucleation of water on the sapphire substrate using optical methods A. Abdelmonem, T. Leisner

WG Möhler, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Ottmar Möhler, Tel. 24287, ottmar.moehler∂kit.edu
Dr. Larissa Lacher, tel. 23979, larissa.lacher∂kit.edu
Dr. Kristina Höhler, Tel. 28690 , kristina.hoehler∂kit.edu

WG Pinto, IMK-TRO

Contact

Prof. Dr. Joaquim G. Pinto, Tel. 28467, joaquim.pinto∂kit.edu
Dr. Florian Ehmele, tel. 22844, florian.ehmele∂kit.edu
Dr. Patrick Ludwig, tel. 24942, patrick.ludwig∂kit.edu
Dr. Hans Schipper, tel. 28469, schipper∂kit.edu
Topics Support
Spatial variability of seasonal precipitation statistics and trends in Central Europe using a large, century-long ensemble of regional climate models
Project: Extreme weather events under recent climate conditions (AON)
F. Ehmele
Large scale patterns (temperature, precipitation, jet stream) in PMIP3/PMIP4 LGM simulations P. Ludwig

H. Schipper

WG Saathoff, IMK-AAF

Contact

Dr. Harald Saathoff, Phone: 22897, harald.saathoff∂kit.edu

Topics Support
Measurement of water isotopologues in and outside clouds H. Saathoff

 

WG Hoshyaripour, IMK-TRO

Contact

Dr. Ali Hoshyaripour, Tel. 23277, ali.hoshyaripour∂kit.edu
Topics Support
Aerosol processes and interactions  
How would the great green wall in Africa affect the dust emissions? A. Hoshyaripour
Mispredicted clouds during the Saharan dust outbreak in March 2021: role of dust-cloud interactions A. Hoshyaripour
Volcanic ash as ice nuclei: new parameterization A. Hoshyaripour
Validation of ICON-ART experiments during MOSES campaign 17-25 June 2021: aerosol size and optics A. Hoshyaripour
Validation of ICON-ART experiments during MOSES campaign 17-25 June 2021: ice nucleation potential of aerosols A. Hoshyaripour
Eruption of Tonga volcano January 2022 A. Hoshyaripour
Mixing of volcanic aerosols with Saharan dust during the La Palma eruption 2021 A. Hoshyaripour
Data processing and AI  
Validation of desert dust forecast data using satellite and ground measurements (with DWD) A. Hoshyaripour
Analysis of aerosol budgets and trends using model and satellite data (with DWD) A. Hoshyaripour
Parameterization of aerosol properties and interactions using artificial neural network A. Hoshyaripour
AI-based plume rise model for biomass-burning aerosols (with NASA) A. Hoshyaripour
Tracer transport with convolutional neural network (with DKRZ) A. Hoshyaripour