deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Desert Storms - Towards an Improved Representation of Meteorological Processes in Models of Mineral Dust Emission

Desert Storms - Towards an Improved Representation of Meteorological Processes in Models of Mineral Dust Emission
Contact:

Prof. Dr. P. Knippertz

Funding:

European Research Council (ERC)

Startdate:

2010

Enddate:

2015

Description of the project

This project is conducted in close collaboration with the University of Leeds (see http://www.see.leeds.ac.uk/research/icas/research-themes/atmosphere/groups/dust-storms/research-projects/desert-storms/). It aims at improving the way the emission of mineral dust from natural soils is treated in numerical models of the Earth system. Dust significantly affects weather and climate through its influences on radiation, cloud microphysics, atmospheric chemistry and the carbon cycle via the fertilization of ecosystems. To date, quantitative estimates of dust emission and deposition are highly uncertain. This is largely due to the strongly nonlinear dependence of emissions on peak winds, which are often underestimated in models and analysis data.<\p>

The core objective of this project is therefore to explore ways of better representing crucial meteorological processes such as daytime downward mixing of momentum from nocturnal low-level jets, convective cold pools and small-scale dust devils and plumes in models.<\p>

To achieve this, we are undertaking (A) a detailed analysis of observations including station data, measurements from recent field campaigns, analysis data and novel satellite products, (B) a comprehensive comparison between output from a wide range of global and regional dust models, and (C) extensive sensitivity studies with regional and large-eddy simulation models in realistic and idealized set-ups to explore effects of resolution and model physics. In contrast to previous studies, all evaluations are made on a process level concentrating on specific meteorological phenomena. Main deliverables are guidelines for optimal model configurations and novel parameterizations that link gridscale quantities with probabilities of winds exceeding a given threshold within the gridbox. The results have substantially advanced our quantitative understanding of the global dust cycle and will reduce uncertainties in predicting climate, weather and impacts on humans.<\p>

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

Desert Storms - Towards an Improved Representation of Meteorological Processes in Models of Mineral Dust Emission

Desert Storms - Towards an Improved Representation of Meteorological Processes in Models of Mineral Dust Emission
Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. P. Knippertz

Förderung:

European Research Council (ERC)

Starttermin:

2010

Endtermin:

2015

Projektbeschreibung

Dieses Projekt wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Leeds (siehe http://www.see.leeds.ac.uk/research/icas/research-themes/atmosphere/groups/dust-storms/research-projects/desert-storms/) durchgeführt. Es zielt darauf ab, die Behandlung der Emission von Mineralstaub von natürlichen Böden in Erdsystemmodellen zu verbessern. Staub beeinflusst Wetter und Klima auf signifikante Weise durch Auswirkungen auf Strahlung, Wolkenmikrophysik, atmosphärische Chemie und den Kohlenstoffkreislauf durch Düngung von Ökosystemen. Quantitative Abschätzungen von Staubemission und –deposition sind immer noch hochgradig unsicher. Dies ist zu einem erheblichen Teil durch die stark nicht-lineare Abhängigkeit der Emission von Spitzenwinden zu erklären, welche in Modellen und Analysedaten oft unterschätzt werden.

Das Hauptziel dieses Projektes ist es daher, neue Ansätze zu erforschen, wie man wichtige meteorologische Prozesse wie das Heruntermischen von Impuls aus nächtlichen Low-level Jets, konvektive Cold Pools und kleinskalige Staubteufel in Modellen verbessern kann.

Um dies zu erreichen unternehmen wir (A) eine detaillierte Analyse von Beobachtungen wie z.B. Stationsdaten, Messungen von Feldkampagnen, Analysedaten und neuen Satellitenprodukten, (B) einen umfangreichen Vergleich zwischen Simulationsergebnissen von einer ganzen Reihe von globalen und regionalen Staubmodellen und (C) ausgedehnte eigene Studien mit regionalen und Large-Eddy Modellen in realistischen und idealisierten Set-ups, um Effekte von Auflösung und Modellphysik zu erkunden. Im Gegensatz zu vorangegangenen Studien werden alle Evaluierungen auf Prozessniveau durchgeführt, indem spezifische meteorologische Phänomene getrennt betrachtet werden. Daraus entstehen konkrete Leitlinien für optimale Modellkonfigurationen und neue Parameterisierungen, die aus gitterskaligen Größen Wahrscheinlichkeiten der Überschreitung von Windschwellwerten ableiten. Die bisherigen Ergebnisse haben unser quantitatives Verständnis des globalen Staubzykluses  erheblich verbessert und werden somit Unsicherheiten in Vorhersagen von Klima, Wetter und Auswirkungen auf den Mensch reduzieren.