deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Mapping the complex rainfall seasonality of the Greater Horn of Africa

The Greater Horn of Africa (GHA) region encompasses a large part of tropical East Africa and includes the countries Sudan, South-Sudan, Somalia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenia, Uganda, Tanzania, Ruanda, and Burundi. The rainfall climatology of this region is one of the most challenging in the tropics, given its strong seasonal cycle and up to three rainy seasons in some areas. This complexity arises from the heterogeneous topography, the influences of the East African Lakes and Indian Ocean, as well as from large-scale remote phenomena like El Niño. Previous studies on observed or projected rainfall trends for the GHA generally focus on calendric 3-month periods (e.g. March to May, October to December), and thus partly neglect the complexity of the rainfall seasonality. In Seregina et al. (2018), a novel and flexible methodology was introduced to characterise more adequately the rainfall seasonality for GHA. Assessed are the onset, cessation and duration of the rainy seasons, as well as the associated uncertainties from measurements. The method is applied to the Climate Hazards Group InfraRed Precipitation with Stations (CHIRPS) satellite product and to an extensive rain gauge data set. For most of the study area, a strong agreement with the commonly used calendric rainy seasons is found. However, considerable deviations are identified for several rainy seasons and areas, which can exceed 30 days (cf. Figure). The specific regional atmospheric characteristics can strongly influence the start and end dates of rainy seasons, a fact that is disregarded by calendric definitions. Compared to the calendric definition, a clear added value is found for the new approach, as it can capture the local rainfall features, for example associated with the sea breeze circulation. In turn, this enables evaluations across rainfall seasonality borders. Thus, the more precise definition of the rainy season permits a consistent assessment of rainfall characteristics, like intensity and rainfall amounts, trends or temporal shifts of rainy seasons. This novel method can also potentially provide a more adequate calibration of climate model simulations thus potentially enabling more realistic climate change projections for the GHA, thus facilitating climate impact studies and the development of climate services for the region.
The NCL program code is available online and can be applied to other tropical regions.

Figure: Examples for the timing of the rainy seasons of the Greater Horn of Africa. (Left) average onset date during the northward progression, and (right) during southward progression in days since January 1st, estimated from the satellite product CHIRPS.

Reference: Seregina LS, Fink AH, van der Linden R, Elagib NA, Pinto JG (2018) A new and flexible rainy season definition: validation for the Greater Horn of Africa and application on rainfall trends. Int J Climatol doi:10.1002/joc.5856
The code for the calculations is available at: https://github.com/GHA-rainy-seasons2018/GHA_rainy_season_definition

[Working groups: "Regional Climate and Weather Hazards" and "Atmospheric Dynamics"]

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Kartierung der komplexen Niederschlagssaisons am Horn von Afrika

Die Region am Horn von Afrika umfasst große Teile des tropischen Afrika und besteht aus den Ländern Sudan, Südsudan, Somalia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Äthiopien, Kenia, Uganda, Tansania, Ruanda und Burundi. Das Niederschlagsklima ist aufgrund eines stark ausgeprägten Jahresgangs und bis zu drei Regenzeiten in einzelnen Gebieten eins der vielschichtigsten in den Tropen. Die einzigartige Komplexität lässt sich teilweise auf die heterogene Topographie, den Einfluss der ostafrikanischen Seen und des Indischen Ozeans sowie globaler Zirkulationsmuster wie El Niño zurückführen. Bisherige Studien der Regensaisons in der Region fokussierten sich jedoch im Allgemeinen auf dreimonatigen Zeiträume (z.B. März bis Mai, Oktober bis Dezember), und vernachlässigten damit teilweise die regionale und zeitliche Variabilität der Regenzeiten. In Seregina et al. (2018) wurde ein neuer und flexibler Ansatz zu einer adäquateren Beschreibung der Regensaisons am Horn von Afrika vorgestellt. Hierbei wurden die Anfangs- und Endpunkte von Regenzeiten, deren Dauer, sowie die dazugehörigen Unsicherheiten aus Niederschlagsmessungen abgeschätzt. Die Methodik wurde am Satellitenprodukt „Climate Hazards Group InfraRed Precipitation with Stations“ (CHIRPS), sowie an einer umfangreichen Sammlung von Stationsmessungen angewandt. Für den Großteil der Region wurde eine gute Übereinstimmung mit den kalendarischen Regenzeiten festgestellt. Dennoch wurden beträchtliche Abweichungen festgestellt, die mehr als 30 Tage überschreiten können (vgl. Abbildung). Bestimmte regionale atmosphärische Besonderheiten können die Anfangs- und Enddaten erheblich beeinflussen, was im kalendarischen Rahmen außer Acht gelassen wird. Verglichen mit dem kalendarischen Zeitraum bringt der neue Ansatz einen klaren Mehrwert, da er auch lokale atmosphärische Gegebenheiten, wie z.B. die Land-Seewind-Zirkulation, erfassen kann. Des Weiteren ermöglicht er eine Analyse des Niederschlags über die saisonalen Grenzen hinweg. Somit vereinfacht er eine konsistente Auswertung der Niederschlagscharakteristiken wie Intensitäten und Summen, Trends oder zeitliche Verschiebungen der Regensaisons. Diese neue Methode könnte außerdem für die adäquatere Kalibrierung von Klimasimulationen genutzt werden und damit zu realistischeren Projektionen und Abschätzungen von Klimaänderungssignalen am Horn von Afrika beitragen.
Der NCL-Programmcode ist online zugänglich und kann auch auf andere tropische Regionen angewendet werden.

Abbildung: Beispiele für den Zeitpunkt des Einsetzens der Regenzeiten am Horn von Afrika. (Links) Mittlerer Beginn der Regenzeiten während der Wanderung nordwärts und (rechts) während der Wanderung südwärts in Tagen seit Jahresbeginn abgeschätzt aus dem Satellitenprodukt CHIRPS.

Referenz: Seregina LS, Fink AH, van der Linden R, Elagib NA, Pinto JG (2018) A new and flexible rainy season definition: validation for the Greater Horn of Africa and application on rainfall trends. Int J Climatol doi:10.1002/joc.5856
Der Code für die Berechnung kann heruntergeladen werden unter: https://github.com/GHA-rainy-seasons2018/GHA_rainy_season_definition

[Arbeitsgruppen: "Regionales Klima und Wettergefahren" und "Atmosphärische Dynamik"]