Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Regional decadal climate prediction for Europe 2019 - 2028

Klimaprognosen für Europa 2019

In February 2019 decadal climate predictions for the period 2019 – 2028 were published by the MiKlip project (https://www.fona-miklip.de/decadal-forecast/decadal-forecast-for-2019-2028/). This is the second time, after 2018, that this includes a higher resolution regional forecast for Europe. Over the last years, the BMBF research program MiKlip (medium-term climate predictions) has developed a forecast system for climate forecasts from one to ten years ahead. These forecasts close a gap between the short-term weather and seasonal predictions and long-term climate projections. The predictability is based on the fact that different components of the climate system (i.e. atmosphere, ocean, land-surface, ice) react with different delays to external forcings. Decadal prediction system use initial conditions of their ensemble forecasts derived from observations to exploit this “memory” of the climate system. The aim of the decadal predictions is not to forecast single days or months, as for the weather or seasonal predictions, but to predict the climatic tendencies over longer periods (e.g. 4-year means).

The MiKlip System (Marotzke et al., 2016) uses the earth system model MPI-ESM for the global forecasts. In addition, as a so far unique feature, the system encompasses a regional component, where a downscaling over Europe with a resolution of 25 km is performed with the regional climate model COSMO-CLM (Mieruch et al., 2014). The increased resolution should enable user-relevant applications of the forecasts. The development of this regional component was led by the IMK-TRO. The current predictions indicate that the 4-year mean temperatures during the next decade will be warmer by more than 1°C compared to the reference period 1980 – 2010 (Fig. 1), which means that this period will be among the hottest since the start of systematic observations. The temperature anomaly increases from West to East over Europe, with the strongest warming over Southeastern Europe.

The current regional and global MiKlip forecasts as well as additional information about the system and the project can be found at: https://www.fona-miklip.de/decadal-forecast/decadal-forecast-for-2019-2028/

References: MiKlip: A National Research Project on Decadal Climate Prediction. Marotzke, J.; Müller, W. A.; Vamborg, F. S. E.; Becker, P.; Cubasch, U.; Feldmann, H.; Kaspar, F.; Kottmeier, C.; Marini, C.; Polkova, I.; Prömmel, K.; Rust, H. W.; Stammer, D.; Ulbrich, U.; Kadow, C.; Köhl, A.; Kröger, J.; Kruschke, T.; Pinto, J. G.; Pohlmann, H.; Reyers, M.; Schröder, M.; Sienz, F.; Timmreck, C.; Ziese, M., 2016. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 97 (12), 2379–2394. doi:10.1175/BAMS-D-15-00184.1 The regional MiKlip decadal forecast ensemble for Europe: The added value of downscaling. Mieruch, S.; Feldmann, H.; Schädler, G.; Lenz, C.-J.; Kothe, S.; Kottmeier, C., 2014. Geoscientific model development, 7 (6), 2983–2999. doi:10.5194/gmd-7-2983-2014.

[Working group: Regional Climate and Water Cycle]

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Regionale dekadische Klimaprognosen für Europa 2019 - 2028

Klimaprognosen für Europa 2019

Anfang Februar 2019 wurden vom MiKlip Projekt Dekadische Klimaprognosen für den Zeitraum 2019 – 2028 veröffentlicht (https://www.fona-miklip.de/decadal-forecast/decadal-forecast-for-2019-2028/). Dies ist das zweite Mail, nach 2018, dass dabei auch eine höher aufgelöste regionale Prognose für Europa bereitgestellt wurde. Das BMBF Forschungsprogram MiKlip („Mittelfristige Klimaprognosen“) hat in den letzten Jahren ein Vorhersagesystem für Klimaprognosen von 1 bis 10 Jahren entwickelt. Diese Vorhersagen schließen eine Lücke zwischen den kurzfristigen Wetter- und saisonalen Vorhersagen und den langfristigen Klimaprojektionen. Die Vorhersagbarkeit basiert darauf, dass die verschiedenen Komponenten im Klimasystem (Atmosphäre, Ozean, Landoberfläche und Eismasse) mit unterschiedlicher Geschwindigkeit auf äußere Einflüsse reagieren. Dekadische Vorhersage-Systeme verwenden aus Beobachtungen abgeleitete Anfangsbedingungen ihrer Ensemble-Vorhersage, um dieses „Gedächtnis“ des Klimasystems auszunutzen. Anders als beim Wetter ist das Ziel bei dekadischen Prognosen nicht die Vorhersage für einzelne Tage oder Monate, sondern die Wiedergabe von klimatischen Tendenzen (z.B. 4-Jahresmittel).

Das MiKlip System (Marotzke et al., 2016) nutzt das Erdsystemmodell MPI-ESM für die globalen Prognosen. Als Besonderheit beinhaltet das System aber auch eine regionale Komponente, bei der mit dem regionalen Klimamodell COSMO-CLM ein Downscaling für Europa mit einer Auflösung von 25 km gemacht wird. Damit sollen stärker Nutzer-relevante Anwendungen der Prognosen möglich werden. Die regionale Komponente wurde federführend am IMK-TRO entwickelt. Die aktuellen Prognosen lassen erwarten, dass die 4-jährigen Temperatur-Mittelwerte über Europa in den kommenden 10 Jahren um mehr als 1°C über dem Mittel der Periode 1980 – 2010 liegen und damit zu der heißesten Periode seit Beginn von systematischen Messungen gehören werden (siehe Abbildung). Dabei nimmt die Temperatur-Anomalie über Europa von West nach Ost zu mit der stärksten Erwärmung über Südosteuropa.

Die aktuellen regionalen und globalen Prognosen sowie zusätzliche Informationen zu MiKlip und dem Vorhersage-System finden sich unter: https://www.fona-miklip.de/decadal-forecast/decadal-forecast-for-2019-2028/

 

Referenzen: MiKlip: A National Research Project on Decadal Climate Prediction. Marotzke, J.; Müller, W. A.; Vamborg, F. S. E.; Becker, P.; Cubasch, U.; Feldmann, H.; Kaspar, F.; Kottmeier, C.; Marini, C.; Polkova, I.; Prömmel, K.; Rust, H. W.; Stammer, D.; Ulbrich, U.; Kadow, C.; Köhl, A.; Kröger, J.; Kruschke, T.; Pinto, J. G.; Pohlmann, H.; Reyers, M.; Schröder, M.; Sienz, F.; Timmreck, C.; Ziese, M., 2016. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 97 (12), 2379–2394. doi:10.1175/BAMS-D-15-00184.1 The regional MiKlip decadal forecast ensemble for Europe: The added value of downscaling. Mieruch, S.; Feldmann, H.; Schädler, G.; Lenz, C.-J.; Kothe, S.; Kottmeier, C., 2014. Geoscientific model development, 7 (6), 2983–2999. doi:10.5194/gmd-7-2983-2014.

[Arbeitsgruppe: Regionales Klima und Wasserkreislauf]