deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

DFG Collaborative Research Center “Waves to Weather” enters 2nd phase

Guests from Mainz and Munich in the entrance hall of KIT’s Presidium building during the international review meeting in March 2019

 

Our ability to predict the weather up to a week or more ahead saves our societies billions of Euros annually and protects human life and property. Increasing computing power and new observations have led to continuous improvements in forecast quality over many years, but still forecasts are sometimes strikingly poor. This is not just due to defects in our forecasting methods – in a chaotic atmosphere, some weather situations are intrinsically hard to predict. The great challenge today is to identify the limits of predictability in different situations and produce the best forecasts that are physically possible. This challenge is taken up by the Transregional Collaborative Research Center "Waves to Weather" (CRC 165, W2W; http://www.wavestoweather.de), which is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) since 2015 and has now received renewed funding for the next four years (2019–2023).

In Phase 1, fundamental discoveries were made regarding the mechanisms of error growth, and new methods were developed to measure the uncertainty resulting from incomplete knowledge of cloud processes. Innovative statistical and visualization tools were implemented to learn about uncertainty in ensemble prediction systems.

In Phase 2 researchers will attempt to identify the weather events where intrinsic limitations on predictability have greatest impact on forecast skill, and how we can best make probabilistic forecasts in situations where the overall predictability is low. New methods will be developed to combine statistical and dynamical information. A new research focus has been added to consider regime transitions at forecast lead times of up to a month.

"This collaborative project is unique in Germany, and perhaps in the world, because it brings fundamental research in atmospheric science together with state-of-the-art methods in visualization, statistics and machine learning and applies them to real-world weather forecasting problems" explains Professor Peter Knippertz from the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK). Prof. Knippertz adds that “W2W has become a key research activity for the institute with seven principle investigators and eleven PhD students/postdocs. In Phase 2, we will further intensify collaboration with mathematicians in the framework of the recently founded center MathSEE (http://www.mathsee.kit.edu). Researchers in Karlsruhe will concentrate specifically at the forecast of extreme and high-impact weather events such as heat waves, hail and windstorms, tropical cyclones and heavy precipitation.“ In addition to KIT, the consortium includes the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich (coordinating university), Johannes Gutenberg University (JGU) in Mainz, the Heidelberg University (RKU), the Technical University Munich (TUM), the German National Aeronautics and Space Research Center (DLR), and the Hamburg University (UHH).

Working groups:
Atmospheric Dynamics
Cloud Physics
Regional Climate and Weather Hazards
Atmospheric Risks
Junior research group: Clouds and storm tracks
Junior Investigator Group: Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

DFG TransRegio “Waves to Weather” beginnt 2. Phase

Gäste aus Mainz und München in der Eingangshalle des KIT-Präsidiumsgebäudes während der internationalen Begehung im März 2019

 

Unsere Fähigkeit, das Wetter bis zu einer Woche oder länger vorherzusagen, spart unserer Gesellschaft jährlich Milliarden von Euro und schützt Menschenleben und Eigentum. Zunehmende Rechenleistung und neue Beobachtungen haben über die Jahre zu einer kontinuierlichen Verbesserung der Vorhersagequalität geführt, auch wenn Prognosen manchmal noch auffällig schlecht sind. Dies liegt nicht nur an Fehlern in unseren Vorhersagemethoden, sondern auch daran, dass in der chaotischen Atmosphäre einige Wettersituationen an sich schwer vorherzusagen sind. Die große Herausforderung besteht heute darin, die Grenzen der Vorhersagbarkeit in verschiedenen Situationen zu identifizieren und die bestmöglichen Prognosen zu erstellen. Dieser Herausforderung stellt sich der Sonderforschungsbereich/Transregio "Waves to Weather" (SFB 165, W2W; http://www.wavestoweather.de), der seit 2015 von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert wird und nun in die nächste Finanzierungsphase (2019–2023) geht.

In Phase 1 wurden u.a. grundlegende Entdeckungen hinsichtlich der Mechanismen des Fehlerwachstums gemacht und neue Methoden entwickelt, um Vorhersageunsicherheit zu messen, die sich aus unvollständigen Kenntnissen von Wolkenprozessen ergibt. Zudem wurden innovative Statistik- und Visualisierungswerkzeuge implementiert, um die Unsicherheit in Ensemble-Vorhersagesystemen zu ermitteln.

In Phase 2 versuchen die W2W-Forscher(-innen) Wetterereignisse zu identifizieren, für die begrenzte Vorhersagbarkeit großen Einfluss auf die Vorhersagequalität hat, und wie wir am besten Wahrscheinlichkeitsvorhersagen in Situationen machen können, in denen die Gesamtvorhersagbarkeit gering ist. Neue Methoden um statistische und dynamische Informationen zu kombinieren sollen entwickelt werden. Ein neuer Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Betrachtung von Regimeübergängen in Vorhersagen von bis zu einem Monat.

"Dieses Verbundprojekt ist in Deutschland und vielleicht auch weltweit einzigartig, weil es Grundlagenforschung in der Meteorologie mit modernsten Methoden in den Bereichen Visualisierung, Statistik und maschinelles Lernen zusammenbringt und sie auf reale Wettervorhersageprobleme anwendet "erklärt Professor Peter Knippertz vom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK). Prof. Knippertz fügt hinzu, dass „W2W mit sieben Projektleitern/innen und elf Doktoranden / Postdocs zu einer zentralen Forschungstätigkeit des Instituts geworden ist. In Phase 2 werden wir die Zusammenarbeit mit Mathematikern im Rahmen des neu gegründeten Zentrums MathSEE (http://www.mathsee.kit.edu) weiter intensivieren. Die Karlsruher Forscher werden sich speziell auf die Vorhersage extremer und starker Wetterereignisse wie Hitzewellen, Hagel und Stürme, tropische Wirbelstürme und Starkniederschläge konzentrieren.“ Zum Konsortium gehört neben dem KIT die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (koordinierende Universität) , die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität (JGU) in Mainz, die Universität Heidelberg (RKU), die Technischen Universität München (TUM), das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und die Universität Hamburg (UHH).

Working groups:
Atmospheric Dynamics
Cloud Physics
Regional Climate and Weather Hazards
Atmospheric Risks
Junior research group: Clouds and storm tracks
Junior Investigator Group: Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability