Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Resolving Sahelian thunderstorms improves weather forecasts for Europe

The summertime West African Sahel has the worldwide highest degree of thunderstorm organisation into so called mesoscale convective systems. These long-lived, several hundred-kilometre elongated, fast moving systems contribute 90% to the rainfall in the region. All current global weather prediction and climate models represent thunderstorms using simplified parameterisations, which deteriorates the modelled distribution of rainfall from individual storms and the entire West African monsoon circulation.

To investigate if and how this misrepresentation of Sahelian convection affects global weather forecasts, we conducted two types of simulations using ICON, the forecast model of the German Weather Service (DWD). The first (called PARAM) uses a convection parameterisation for the whole globe. The other (called EXPLC) employs a refined horizontal grid over West Africa, meaning that the model captures more details on smaller scales allowing us to turn off the parameterisation. Consequently, Sahelian mesoscale convective systems can be realistically modelled and the impacts on the rest of the globe can be assessed. The results of this study were recently published in Nature Communications (Pante & Knippertz 2019).

Figure 1a shows that explicitly resolving convection reduces the large overestimation in rainfall over the Sahel seen in PARAM and leads to a more realistic diurnal cycle. This large improvement fundamentally changes the simulated meteorology over West Africa through a number of different mechanisms, as described in the paper. The improvements quickly spread out into the neighbouring Atlantic Ocean and then towards Europe on one hand and towards southern Africa and the Indian Ocean on the other hand. This happens along jets and so called waveguides, parts of the atmosphere where forecast information can travel quickly. Ultimately this improves 5–8-day weather forecasts in mid-latitudes, including in particular Europe (Figure 1b). The improvements are seen throughout the lowest about 20km of the atmosphere and in all key meteorological parameters (pressure, temperature, humidity, wind). The computational costs for these experiments are relatively moderate compared to other measures suggested to improve forecasts. The results should motivate operational weather services to target areas with known deficiencies in the tropics more directly.

 

 

 

Figure 1 a Diurnal cycle of precipitation in the Sahel. Simulations with explicit convection (blue) match much better with observations (black: satellite-based rainfall estimates) than simulations using a convection parameterization (red). b Forecast improvement over Europe. The root mean squared error (RMSE) is a standard measure of forecast performance. RMSE differences between EXPLC and PARAM reveal the beneficial effect (blueish colours) of explicit convection in the Sahel on 5–8-day weather forecasts over Europe. Geopotential (Z), closely related to atmospheric pressure, temperature (T), specific humidity (Q), wind speed (S) and wind vector (V) show positive response at five different vertical levels between 1.5 and 18 km altitude.

 

Working group: Atmospheric Dynamics
https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/5874.php
Authors: G. Pante and P. Knippertz
24 January 2020

 

Reference: Pante, G. and Knippertz, P.: Resolving Sahelian thunderstorms improves mid-latitude weather forecasts, Nat. Commun., 10, 3487, https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-019-11081-4, 2019.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Gewitter im Sahel beeinflussen Wettervorhersagen für Europa

Im westafrikanischen Sahel formieren sich sommerliche Gewitter so häufig zu sogenannten mesoskaligen konvektiven Systemen wie nirgends sonst auf der Welt. Diese langlebigen, schnell propagierenden Systeme erstrecken sich über mehrere hundert Kilometer und tragen 90% zum Niederschlag in der Region bei. Alle aktuellen Wetter- und Klimamodelle erfassen Gewitter durch vereinfachte Parametrisierungen, worunter die Qualität der simulierten Niederschläge einzelner Gewitterstürme und der gesamten westafrikanischen Monsunzirkulation leidet.

Um den Einfluss dieses Defizits auf die globale Wettervorhersagen zu untersuchen, haben wir eine Reihe von Experimenten mit ICON, dem Vorhersagemodell des Deutschen Wetterdienstes (DWD), durchgeführt. Wir haben dabei zwei Arten von Simulationen verglichen: die erste namens PARAM nutzt die Konvektionsparametrisierung global, während bei der zweiten namens EXPLC eine horizontale Gitterverfeinerung über Westafrika es erlaubt, Prozesse auf kleineren räumlichen Skalen zu erfassen, so dass die Parametrisierung abgeschaltet werden kann. Folglich können mesoskalige konvektive Systeme im Sahel realistischer modelliert und deren globaler Einfluss abgeschätzt werden. Die Ergebnisse wurden kürzlich in Nature Communications (Pante & Knippertz 2019) veröffentlicht.

Abbildung 1a zeigt wie die explizite Darstellung der Konvektion die starke Überschätzung von Niederschlag im Sahel in PARAM reduziert und den Tagesgang deutlich verbessert. Diese Verbesserung verändert die simulierte Meteorologie über Westafrika durch verschiedene Mechanismen, die im Artikel beschrieben werden. Die Verbesserung zeigt sich im Modell bald auch auf dem angrenzenden Atlantik und dann in Europa einerseits und im südlichen Afrika und dem Indischen Ozean andererseits. Die Ausbreitung geschieht entlang sogenannter Wellenleiter, Bereiche der Atmosphäre, in denen Information schnell transportiert werden kann. Im Endeffekt führt dies zu verbesserten 5–8-Tagesvorhersagen in den mittleren Breiten, insbesondere in Europa (Abbildung 1b). Die Vorhersagequalität wird in den untersten ca. 20km der Atmosphäre und in allen für die Meteorologie wichtigen Größen (Druck, Temperatur, Feuchte und Wind) verbessert. Die für diese Experimente zusätzlich benötigte Rechenzeit ist im Vergleich zu anderen Ansätzen zur Modellverbesserung moderat. Wir hoffen mit unseren Ergebnissen operationelle Wetterdienste dazu zu motivieren, sich noch stärker mit den bekannten Unsicherheiten der Modelle in den Tropen auseinanderzusetzen.

 

 

Abbildung 1 a Tagesgang des Niederschlags im Sahel. Simulationen mit expliziter Konvektion (blau) stimmen deutlich besser mit Beobachtungen (schwarz: Satelliten-basierte Niederschlagsschätzung) überein als Simulationen mit Konvektionsparametrisierung (rot). b Verbesserung der Vorhersagen über Europa. Differenzen im mittlere quadratische Fehler (gängiges Gütemaß für Wettervorhersagen) zwischen EXPLC und PARAM zeigen den positiven Effekt (blaue Farben), den explizite Konvektion im Sahel auf 5–8-Tagesvorhersagen über Europa hat. Geopotential (Z), eng verknüpft mit dem atmosphärischen Druck, Temperatur (T), spezifische Feuchte (Q), Windgeschwindigkeit (S) und -vektor (V) werden auf fünf Vertikalniveaus zwischen 1,5 und 18 km Höhe verbessert.

 

Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Dynamik  
https://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/5874.php
Autoren: G. Pante und P. Knippertz
24. Januar 2020

 

Literatur: Pante, G. und Knippertz, P.: Resolving Sahelian thunderstorms improves mid-latitude weather forecasts, Nat. Commun., 10, 3487, https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-019-11081-4, 2019.