Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Which are the large-scale processes that influence thunderstorm activity in Europe?

Research on extreme weather events and climate change has made significant steps forward in recent years. However, a better understanding of the influence of large-scale processes on thunderstorm activity is still required.

In Europe, severe convective storms and their associated ub-perils such as hail, convective wind gusts or tornadoes often cause considerable damage to buildings, infrastructure, agriculture, and ecosystem. Despite the high relevance of questions on the past and future development of such events, the role of natural climate variability and the influence of large-scale dynamic processes and mechanisms on such phenomena is still little understood. In order to close this gap in knowledge, the working group "Atmospheric Risks" at IMK-TRO has been working on this issue in several projects for several years.

Recently, a doctoral thesis showed that the annual variability of thunderstorms is related to the variability of the Atlantic sea surface temperature or different teleconnection patterns of the Northern Hemisphere (e.g., North Atlantic/East Atlantic Oscillation; Piper, 2017; Piper and Kunz, 2017; Piper et al., 2019). For example, the sea surface temperature over the Bay of Biscay influences the annual European thunderstorm frequency, with the strongest positive effect in France.

Several activities of the working group also investigated if certain weather regimes, such as blocking situations over Europe, have an influence on thunderstorm activity. Atmospheric blocking with a lifetime of several days to weeks is a quasi-stationary, persistent flow pattern in the mid-troposphere. This influences the low pressure activity in a certain region. Thus, an almost stationary, stable high in the troposphere at 5 to 10 kilometers leads to a blocking of the West wind drift. In the past, it has already been shown that such persistent weather situations are associated with the intensity and frequency of weather extremes such as cold spells, heat waves, or heavy rainfall events in regions upstream or downstream of the blocked area.

A first case study within the research activities of the working group indicated a connection between blocking and thunderstorms. For example, Piper et al. (2016) show that an exceptional sequence of severe thunderstorms, which caused several flash floods in Germany in May and June 2016 (e.g., Braunsbach flash flood), was favored by persistent convection-favouring conditions. This exceptional situation, which lasted for almost two weeks, was first associated with a Scandinavian and later with a European block.

Similar conditions prevailed during a three-week period in May and June 2018, when large parts of Western and Central Europe were hit by an exceptionally high number of thunderstorms, causing precipitation of up to 80 mm in one hour and several flash floods (Mohr et al. 2020). During this period, the large-scale atmospheric circulation, which was characterized by a block over northern Europe, influenced the atmospheric conditions relevant for the development of thunderstorms. The southwestern flow on the western flank of the blocking anticyclone initially induced the advection of warm, moist and unstable air masses. Due to the low pressure gradients associated with the block, these air masses were trapped over Western and Central Europe, remained almost stationary and prevented a significant exchange of air masses. Furthermore, the block increased the cut-off frequency in upstream regions, which was up to 10 times higher than the climatological mean (Fig. 1). Together with filaments with positive potential vorticity (PV), these cut-offs served as trigger mechanisms for the majority of thunderstorms. For the study period we found that more than 50 % of the lightning strikes could be associated with a nearby cut-off low or PV filament.

As part of a collaboration with the University of Bern, we also investigated if this correlation (blocking vs. thunderstorm activity) can also be observed over a long period of time.  Two areas were identified where the occurrence of a block significantly influences thunderstorm activity in Europe (Mohr et al., 2019). While a block over the eastern part of the North Atlantic leads to a northern to northwestern advection of dry and stable air masses to Europe at the eastern flank of the block and thus to convection-inhibiting conditions, a block over the Baltic Sea results in convection-favoring conditions (Fig. 2). Here, the south to southwest advection of warm, moist and unstable air masses – mainly from the Atlantic, but also from the Mediterranean or from eastern regions – on the western flank of the block over the Baltic Sea leads to optimal conditions for thunderstorm development over Western and Central Europe.

The working group is still currently working on this issue. Within the framework of the recently started project "Long-term variability and serial clustering of severe thunderstorms in a changing climate (VarCluST)", a sub-project within the BMBF joint project ClimXtreme, it is to be investigated which further processes on the large-scale scale still have an influence on thunderstorm activity and which changes in thunderstorm frequency and the relevant processes must be expected in the future. Furthermore, it will be investigated how observed clusters of thunderstorm events on scales of several days to weeks (called serial clustering) are specifically determined by large-scale mechanisms.

References:

Mohr, S., Wandel, J., Lenggenhager, S., Martius, O. (2019): Relationship between blocking and warm season thunderstorms in western and central Europe. Q. J. R. Meteor. Soc., 145, 3040–3056, doi:10.1002/qj.3603.

Mohr, S., Wilhelm, J., Wandel, J., Kunz, M., Portmann, R., Punge, H. J., Schmidberger, M., Grams, C. (2020): The role of large-scale dynamics in an exceptional sequence of severe thunderstorms in Europe May/June 2018. Weather Clim. Dynam. Discuss., doi:10.10.5194/wcd-2020-1.

Piper, D. (2017): Untersuchung der Gewitteraktivität und der relevanten großräumigen Steuerungsmechanismen über Mittel- und Westeuropa. Wissenschaftliche Berichte des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie, Band 73, KIT Scientific Publishing, Karlsruhe, Deutschland, doi:10.5445/KSP/1000072089.

Piper, D., Kunz, M. (2017): Spatiotemporal variability of lightning activity in Europe and the relation to the North Atlantic Oscillation teleconnection pattern, Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., 17, 1319–1336, doi:10.5194/nhess-17-1319-2017.

Piper, D., Kunz, M., Ehmele, F., Mohr, S., Mühr, B., Kron, A., Daniell, J. (2016): Exceptional sequence of severe thunderstorms and related flash floods in May and June 2016 in Germany. Part I: Meteorological background. Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., 16, 2835–2850, doi:10.5194/nhess-16-2835-2016.

Piper, D., Kunz, M., Allen, J. T., Mohr, S. (2019): Investigation of the temporal variability of thunderstorms in Central andWestern Europe and the relation to large-scale flow and teleconnection patterns. Q. J. R. Meteor. Soc., 145, 3644–3666, doi:10.1002/qj.3647.
 

[Working Group: Atmospheric Risks]
Author: Susanna Mohr

20.03.2020

Fig. 1: Climatological mean of cut-off low frequency (black contours; every 2 %; for May/June 1981 - 2010) and anomaly during the study period (May/June 2018; coloured in % with reference to the mean frequency in May/June; data source: ERA-Interim; ©KIT/Susanna Mohr).

 

Fig. 2: Two areas (above) – one over the eastern part of the North Atlantic (left) and one over the Baltic Sea (right) – were identified as locations where blocking influences the occurrence of thunderstorms in parts of western and central Europe (above). Below is shown the associated statistical relationship using the odds ratio: blue colours show a decrease in thunderstorm activity by a block (e.g. a value of 0.5 means a 50% decrease in the odds ratio) and red colours an increase (e.g. value = 2 means a doubling of the odds ratio; ©KIT/Susanna Mohr).

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung

Welche großräumigen Prozesse beeinflussen die Gewitteraktivität in Europa?

Die Forschung zu Extremwetterereignissen und Klimawandel hat in den vergangenen Jahren große Fortschritte gemacht. Allerdings ist ein besseres Verständnis der Einflüsse großräumiger Prozesse auf die Gewitteraktivität noch immer erforderlich.

Schwere Gewitterereignisse und damit verbundene Wetterextreme wie Hagel, konvektive Sturmböen oder Tornados verursachen in Europas häufig erhebliche Schäden an Gebäuden und Infrastrukturen oder in der Landwirtschaft und dem Ökosystem. Trotz der hohen Relevanz der Fragen zur vergangenen und zukünftigen Entwicklung solcher Ereignisse ist die Rolle der natürlichen Klimavariabilität und der Einfluss durch großräumiger dynamischer Prozesse und Mechanismen auf solche Erscheinungen noch recht wenig verstanden. Um diese Wissenslücke zu schließen, widmet sich die Arbeitsgruppe „Atmosphärische Risiken“ am IMK-TRO seit ein paar Jahren in mehreren Projekten dieser Fragestellung.

Kürzlich wurde im Rahmen einer Doktorarbeit gezeigt, dass die jährliche Variabilität der Gewitterereignisse mit der Variabilität der atlantischen Meeresoberflächentemperatur oder verschiedenen Telekonnektionsmustern der nördlichen Hemisphäre (z.B. Nordatlantische/Ostatlantische Oszillation) zusammenhängt (Piper, 2017; Piper und Kunz, 2017; Piper et al., 2019). Beispielsweise beeinflusst die Meeresoberflächentemperatur über dem Golf von Biskaya die jährliche europäische Gewitterhäufigkeit, wobei hier der größte positive Effekt in Frankreich zu beobachten ist.

In mehreren Arbeiten der Arbeitsgruppe wurde außerdem untersucht, ob bestimmte Wetterregime wie beispielsweise Blockingsituationen über Europa einen Einfluss auf die Gewitteraktivität haben. Atmosphärisches Blocking mit einer Lebensdauer von mehreren Tagen bis Wochen ist ein quasi-stationäres, persistentes Strömungsmuster in der mittleren Atmosphäre. Dadurch wird die Tiefdruckaktivität in einer bestimmten Region beeinflusst. So führt ein nahezu stationäres, stabiles Hochdruckgebiet in der Troposphäre in 5 bis 10 Kilometern Höhe zu einer Blockierung des Westwinddrifts. In der Vergangenheit wurde bereits gezeigt, dass solche persistenten Wetterlagen die Intensität und Häufigkeit von Wetterextremen wie Kälteperioden, Hitzewellen oder Starkregenereignissen in Regionen flussaufwärts oder flussabwärts des blockierten Gebietes einhergehen.

Auch erste Fallstudien im Rahmen der Forschungsaktivitäten der Arbeitsgruppe deuteten auf einen Zusammenhang zwischen Blocking und Gewitterereignissen hin. Beispielsweise zeigen Piper et al. (2016), dass eine außergewöhnliche Abfolge von schweren Gewittern, die mehrere Sturzfluten im Mai und Juni 2016 in Deutschland verursachten (z.B. Sturzflut Braunsbach), durch persistente konvektionsfördernden Bedingungen begünstigt wurden. Diese außergewöhnliche Situation, die fast zwei Wochen anhielt, konnte zunächst mit einen skandinavischen und später mit einem europäischen Block in Verbindung gebracht werden.

Ähnliche Bedingungen herrschten auch während einer dreiwöchigen Periode im Mai und Juni 2018. Hier wurden weite Teile West- und Mitteleuropas von außergewöhnlich vielen Gewittern heimgesucht, die Niederschläge von bis zu 80 mm in einer Stunde und mehrere Sturzfluten verursachten (Mohr et al. 2020). Während diesem Zeitraum beeinflusste die großräumige atmosphärische Zirkulation, die durch einen Block über Nordeuropa gekennzeichnet war, die für die Gewitterentwicklung relevanten atmosphärischen Bedingungen. Die südwestliche Strömung an der Westflanke des blockierenden Antizyklons induzierte zunächst die Advektion warmer, feuchter und instabiler Luftmassen. Aufgrund der mit dem Block verbundenen geringen Druckgradienten wurden diese Luftmassen über West- und Mitteleuropa eingeschlossen, blieben fast stationär und verhinderten einen signifikanten Luftmassenaustausch. Zudem erhöhte der Block die Cut-off Häufigkeit in den stromaufwärts gelegenen Regionen, die bis zu 10 Mal höher war als im klimatologischen Mittel (Abb. 1). Zusammen mit Filamenten mit positiver potentieller Vorticity (PV) dienten diese Cut-offs als Auslösemechanismen für einen Großteil der Gewitter. Für den Untersuchungszeitraum fanden wir heraus, dass mehr als 50 % der Blitzeinschläge mit einem nahegelegenen Cut-off-Tief oder PV-Filament in Verbindung gebracht werden können.

Im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Bern untersuchten wir außerdem, ob dieser Zusammenhang (Blocking vs. Gewitteraktivität) auch über einen langen Zeitraum beobachtet werden kann.  Dabei konnte zwei Gebiete identifiziert werden, in denen das Auftreten einen Block signifikant die Gewitteraktivität in Europa beeinflusst (Mohr et al., 2019). Während ein Block über dem östlichen Teil des Nordatlantiks zu einer nördlichen bis nordwestlichen Advektion trockener und stabiler Luftmassen nach Europa an der Ostflanke des Blocks und damit zu konvektionshemmende Bedingungen führt, ergibt sich mit einem Block über der Ostsee konvektionsförderliche Bedingungen (Abb. 2). Hier führt die süd- bis südwestliche Advektion warmer, feuchter und instabiler Luftmassen – hauptsächlich aus dem Atlantik, aber auch aus dem Mittelmeer oder aus östlichen Regionen – an der Westflanke des Blocks über der Ostsee zu optimalen Voraussetzungen zur Gewitterbildung über West- und Mitteleuropa.

Auch aktuell widmen sich die Arbeitsgruppe noch der Fragestellung. Im Rahmen des frisch gestarteten Projekts „Langzeitliche Variabilität und serielles Clustering von schweren Gewittern in einem sich verändernden Klima (VarCluST)“, einem Teilprojekt in dem BMBF-Verbundprojekts ClimXtreme, soll untersucht werden, welche weiteren Prozesse auf der großräumigen Skale noch einen Einfluss auf die Gewitteraktivität haben und mit welchen Änderungen in der Gewitterhäufigkeit und der hierfür relevanten Prozesse in der Zukunft gerechnet werden muss. Weiterhin soll erforscht werden, wie beobachtete Cluster von Gewitterereignisse auf Skalen von mehreren Tagen bis Wochen (bezeichnet als serielles Clustering) durch großräumige Mechanismen speziell bestimmt werden.

Literatur:

Mohr, S., Wandel, J., Lenggenhager, S., Martius, O. (2019): Relationship between blocking and warm season thunderstorms in western and central Europe. Q. J. R. Meteor. Soc., 145, 3040–3056, doi:10.1002/qj.3603.

Mohr, S., Wilhelm, J., Wandel, J., Kunz, M., Portmann, R., Punge, H. J., Schmidberger, M., Grams, C. (2020): The role of large-scale dynamics in an exceptional sequence of severe thunderstorms in Europe May/June 2018. Weather Clim. Dynam. Discuss., doi:10.10.5194/wcd-2020-1.

Piper, D. (2017): Untersuchung der Gewitteraktivität und der relevanten großräumigen Steuerungsmechanismen über Mittel- und Westeuropa. Wissenschaftliche Berichte des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie, Band 73, KIT Scientific Publishing, Karlsruhe, Deutschland, doi:10.5445/KSP/1000072089.

Piper, D., Kunz, M. (2017): Spatiotemporal variability of lightning activity in Europe and the relation to the North Atlantic Oscillation teleconnection pattern, Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., 17, 1319–1336, doi:10.5194/nhess-17-1319-2017.

Piper, D., Kunz, M., Ehmele, F., Mohr, S., Mühr, B., Kron, A., Daniell, J. (2016): Exceptional sequence of severe thunderstorms and related flash floods in May and June 2016 in Germany. Part I: Meteorological background. Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., 16, 2835–2850, doi:10.5194/nhess-16-2835-2016.

Piper, D., Kunz, M., Allen, J. T., Mohr, S. (2019): Investigation of the temporal variability of thunderstorms in Central andWestern Europe and the relation to large-scale flow and teleconnection patterns. Q. J. R. Meteor. Soc., 145, 3644–3666, doi:10.1002/qj.3647.
 

[Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Risiken]
Autor: Susanna Mohr

20.03.2020

Abb. 1: Klimatologisches Mittel der Cut-off Häufigkeit (schwarze Konturen; alle 2 %; für Mai/Juni 1981 – 2010) und Anomalie in dem Untersuchungszeitraum (Mai/Juni 2018; farbig in % in Bezug auf die mittlere Häufigkeit im Mai/Juni; Datenquelle: ERA-Interim; ©KIT/Susanna Mohr).

 

Abb. 2: Zwei Gebiete (oben) – eines über dem östlichen Teil des Nordatlantiks (links) und eines über der Ostsee (rechts) – wurden als Orte identifiziert, an denen Blocking das Auftreten von Gewittern in Teilen West- und Mitteleuropas beeinflusst. Unten dargestellt ist der zugehörige statistische Zusammenhang mittels Odds Ratio: blauen Farben zeigen eine Verringerung der Gewitteraktivität durch einen Block (z.B. bedeutet ein Wert von 0,5 eine Verringerung der Odds Ratio um 50 %) und roten Farben eine Erhöhung (z.B. Wert = 2 bedeutet eine Verdoppelung des Odds Ratio; ©KIT/Susanna Mohr).