deutsch  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

DESERVE - The Virtual Institute DEad SEa Research VEnue

DESERVE - The Virtual Institute DEad SEa Research VEnue
Contact:

Prof. Dr. Ch. Kottmeier, Dr. U. Corsmeier, Dr. M. Nied, Dipl. Geoph. F. Lott, Dipl.-Met. J. Metzger

links:
Project Group:

IMK-TRO

Funding:

HGF

Startdate:

2012

Enddate:

2017

DeservlogoThe Dead Sea region faces big water-related challenges. Among them are sea level decline, desertification, flash floods, ascending brines polluting freshwater, sinkhole development, and the repeated occurrence of earthquakes. Climate change and extensive exploitation of groundwater and surface water even aggravate the situation. These challenges can be only mastered in an interdisciplinary research effort involving all riparian countries.

DESERVE is designed as a cross-disciplinary and cooperative international project of the Helmholtz Centers KIT, GFZ, and UFZ with well-established partners of the riparian countries. 

DESERVE is offering the unique opportunity to integrate the scientific results already achieved or presently elaborated in the Dead Sea region into a joint scientific approach based on earth, water, and environmental sciences. 

DESERVE is aimed at studying coupled atmospheric, hydrological, and lithospheric processes, such as sinkholes, flash floods, and earthquakes. This interdisciplinary research approach will contribute to a sound scientific understanding of the ongoing processes. Furthermore, it enables the development of prediction models, remediation strategies, and risk assessments with respect to environmental risk, water availability, and climate change. 

DESERVE is funded by the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centers.

  

Fig. 1: Evaporation measurements over the Dead Sea water body (© U. Corsmeier, IMK-TRO).

Fig. 2: Meteorological station in Jordan (© F. Lott, IMK-TRO).

Fig. 3: KITcube at Masada (© A. Wieser, IMK-TRO).

Within DESERVE, the research of IMK-TRO focuses on the operation of a long-term meteorological monitoring network in combination with intensive special observation periods, and numerical modelling to:

  • estimate Dead Sea evaporation which among others contributes to the Dead Sea water budget, impacts precipitation, and governs the intensity of Dead Sea haze;
  • quantify and characterize atmospheric aerosols, as well as regional and local wind systems applying LIDAR and radar systems;
  • simulate regional weather with COSMO and COSMO-ART to improve the process representation of evaporation, haze, and precipitation formation;
  • investigate the impact of global warming and regional land use change on the water budget components with high resolution regional climate simulations (COSMO-CLM);
  • perform seismic measurements to study if and to what extent the movement of the ground can be traced back to meteorological parameters, and thus to wind systems and atmospheric pressure variations.

Long-term meteorological monitoring

Since 2006, IMK-TRO operates two permanent meteorological stations, P88 and Masada, at the western Dead Sea coast. In March 2014, the stations were complemented by the first permanent meteorological station of IMK-TRO in Jordan. The build-up of a permanent meteorological station in Palestine is currently in preparation. Together, a network of permanent meteorological stations covering the Dead Sea region evolves. The instruments provide meteorological measurements of wind speed and direction, temperature, air pressure, air humidity, soil moisture and soil temperature, short and long wave radiation, and precipitation. View the measurements here.

Special observation periods

Following intensive preparations, the special observation period „Haze and evaporation at the Dead Sea 2014“ (HEADS 2014) started in early 2014. At three characteristic sites on the western coast of the Dead Sea (within vegetation, over bare soil, and directly at the shoreline), energy balance stations were installed for a one-year period. With high resolution instruments, meteorological measurements are performed and according to boundary layer theory, the latent heat flux (evaporation) and the sensible heat flux can be calculated. Due to predominant local wind systems, it is possible to estimate these variables within vegetation, over bare soil but also for the water body. View the measurements here

The highlight of HEADS 2014 is the operation of KITcube, an overall monitoring system for probing the atmosphere, at Masada (Israel) during two four-week periods in August 2014 (dry season) and November/December 2014 (wet season). With the KITcube, four-dimensional measurements of flow and stability are performed to investigate the formation and the life cycle of haze within the Dead Sea valley. To cover the entire Dead Sea valley, the KITcube observations are complemented by measurements at the eastern coast of the Dead Sea in Jordan. In addition, a temporary seismic array is deployed next to the meteorological station in Jordan. It consists of 15 high frequency and broad band seismic stations. Aiming to identify winds in seismic records and verify it with meteorological measurements, the array is situated at the edge of the Dead Sea valley, in the scope of circulation wind systems.

english  | Home | Sitemap | KIT

DESERVE - The Virtual Institute "DEad SEa Research VEnue"

DESERVE - The Virtual Institute "DEad SEa Research VEnue"
Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Ch. KottmeierDr. U. Corsmeier, Dr. M. Nied, Dipl. Geoph. F. Lott, Dipl.-Met. J.Metzger.

Links:
Projektgruppe:IMK-TRO
Förderung:

HGF 

Starttermin:

2012 

Endtermin:

2017 

DeservlogoDie Region des Toten Meeres steht vor großen wasserbezogenen Herausforderungen; unter ihnen der kontinuierliche Rückgang des Seespiegels, Wüstenbildung, Sturzfluten, die Verunreinigung von Süßwasser durch stark salzhaltiges Wasser und Abwasser, sowie schlagartig auftretende Erdfälle und Erdbeben. Zusätzlich tragen der Klimawandel und die umfangreiche Nutzung des Grund- und Oberflächenwassers zu einer Verschärfung der Lage bei. Die Bewältigung der genannten Herausforderungen erfordert einen interdisziplinären Forschungsansatz unter Einbeziehung aller Anrainerstaaten.

DESERVE ist ein disziplinübergreifendes internationales Forschungsprojekt der Helmholtz-Zentren KIT, GFZ und UFZ in Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungseinrichtungen der Anrainerstaaten des Toten Meeres.

DESERVE integriert dabei bereits geleistete und gegenwärtige Forschungsarbeiten aller erd- und umweltwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen am Toten Meer zu einem gemeinsamen Forschungsansatz.

DESERVE untersucht die gekoppelten atmosphärischen, hydrologischen und lithosphärischen Prozesse, wie Erdfälle, Sturzfluten und Erdbeben. Dieser interdisziplinäre Forschungsansatz trägt zu einem verbesserten Verständnis der ablaufenden Prozesse bei. Wodurch die Entwicklung von Vorhersagemodellen, Sanierungsstrategien und Risikobewertungen für die genannten Naturgefahren und die Wasserverfügbarkeit unter Einbezug des Klimawandels ermöglicht wird.

DESERVE wird durch die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren gefördert.

  

Abb. 1: Verdunstungsmessungen über dem Toten Meer (© U. Corsmeier, IMK-TRO).

Abb. 2: Meteorologischer Mast in Jordanien (© F. Lott, IMK-TRO).

Abb. 3: KITcube in Masada (© A. Wieser, IMK-TRO).

Die Forschungsarbeit des IMK-TRO im Rahmen von DESERVE umfasst den Betrieb eines dauerhaften meteorologischen Messnetzes in Kombination mit Intensivmesskampagnen und numerischer Modellierung. Die Ziele sind:

  • Messung der Verdunstung des Toten Meeres und Quantifizierung des Beitrags der Verdunstung zur Wasserbilanz des Toten Meeres sowie Quantifizierung ihrer Auswirkung auf die Bildung von Dunst und Niederschlag;

  • Quantifizierung und Charakterisierung der atmosphärischen Aerosole sowie regionaler und lokaler Windsysteme unter Anwendung von LIDAR und Radarsystemen;

  • Wettersimulationen mit COSMO und COSMO-ART mit dem Zweck das Prozessverständnis von Verdunstung, Trübung und Niederschlagsbildung zu verbessern;

  • Untersuchung der Auswirkung der globalen Erwärmung und regionaler Landnutzungsänderungen auf den Wasserhaushalt mittels hochauflösender regionaler Klimasimulationen (COSMO-CLM);

  • Untersuchung der Auswirkung von Windsystemen und Luftdruckschwankungen auf Erdbewegungen mittels seismischer Messungen.

Dauermessnetz

Seit 2006 betreibt das IMK-TRO zwei dauerhafte meteorologische Messstationen, P88 und Masada, an der Westküste des Toten Meeres. Im März 2014 wurde die erste dauerhafte meteorologische Messstation des IMK-TRO in Jordanien errichtet. Die Installation einer meteorologischen Station in den palästinensischen Autonomiegebieten ist in Vorbereitung und trägt damit zum Aufbau eines grenzüberschreitenden meteorologischen Dauermessnetzes in der Region des Toten Meeres bei. Gemessen werden Windgeschwindigkeit und Windrichtung, Temperatur, Luftdruck, Luftfeuchte, Bodenfeuchte und Bodentemperatur, kurz- und langwellige Strahlung, sowie Niederschlag. Die Messungen können hier betrachtet werden.

Intensivmesskampagnen

Anfang 2014 startete nach intensiven Vorbereitungen die Intensivmesskampagne „Haze and evaporation at the Dead Sea 2014“ (Dunst und Verdunstung am Toten Meer; HEADS 2014). Zunächst wurden an der Westküste des Toten Meeres an drei charakteristischen Standorten (innerhalb von Vegetation, auf nacktem Boden, und direkt am See) Energiebilanzstationen für einen Zeitraum von mindestens einem Jahr installiert. Die von den Stationen erfassten hochaufgelösten meteorologischen Messungen werden benutzt um unter Anwendung der Grenzschichttheorie, den latenten Wärmefluss (freigesetzt bei Verdunstung) und den fühlbaren Wärmestrom zu berechnen. Die Messungen können hier betrachtet werden.

Der Höhepunkt der Messkampagne HEADS 2014 ist der Betrieb des KITcube, eines Gesamtbeobachtungssystems für die Erforschung der Atmosphäre, in Masada (Israel) für jeweils 4 Wochen im August 2014 (Trockenzeit) und im November/Dezember 2014 (Regenzeit). Der KITcube ermöglicht die kontinuierliche Messung von atmosphärischer Strömung und Stabilität in Raum und Zeit und damit die Untersuchung der Bildung und des Lebenszyklus des Dunstes im Tal des Toten Meeres. Um das gesamte Tal des Toten Meeres abzudecken, werden die KITcube Beobachtungen durch Messungen an der Ostküste des Toten Meeres in Jordanien ergänzt. Zusätzlich wird ein temporäres seismisches Messfeld nahe der meteorologischen Station in Jordanien aufgebaut. Dieses besteht aus 15 Hochfrequenz-und Breitband-Seismometern. Das Ziel ist es verschiedene Windsysteme in den seismischen Daten zu identifizieren und mittels meteorologischer Messungen zu verifizieren. Dazu wird das Messfeld am Rande des Tals des Toten Meeres im Einflussgebiet der Windsysteme errichtet.