deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Improving weather forecasts on sub-seasonal time scales

IR-Sat+Jet
Fig. 1: Meteorological situation during the Central European summer heat wave in July 2015, IR satellite image, blocking anticyclone (blue hatching), deflection of the jet stream (green contour), warm conveyor belt (blue-to-red trajectories).

Advances in numerical weather prediction currently push the weather forecast horizon into sub-seasonal time scales of several days to a few weeks. On these time scales so-called weather regimes – quasi-stationary, recurrent, and persistent flow patterns – govern the variability of the large-scale circulation. They modulate the character of daily weather for continent-size regions and prolonged periods. Therefore, weather regimes have strong implications for socio-economic sectors such as agriculture, transport, or renewable energies [1].

The correct prediction of weather regime life cycles still is a key challenge for current sub-seasonal forecasting systems because weather regimes are concurrently modified by processes on very different spatial and temporal scales: From a weather perspective, the life cycles of these regimes are influenced by meso- to synoptic-scale weather systems such as extratropical cyclones or convective systems. From a climate perspective, modes of the climate system such as the Madden-Julian-Oscillation or the state of the stratosphere are potential sources of sub-seasonal predictability for such regimes.

The newly established group “Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability” aims to provide a comprehensive investigation of the physical and dynamical processes that control predictability and forecast skill on sub-seasonal time scales, with a focus on the life cycle of large-scale flow regimes in the Atlantic-European region. In addition, the group explores novel probabilistic forecast products on sub-seasonal time scales in collaboration with official weather services.

An example of such a novel forecast product is shown for the “early heat wave” in Central Europe that peaked from 19. – 22. April 2018 (Figure 2). The overview regime plot indicates how likely a specific weather regime occurs within the subsequent 15 days (Figure 2a). The detailed regime product shows how well the different regimes are established in a probabilistic forecast (Figure 2b). In this case these forecast products correctly indicated – more than one week in advance – the actual transition from a “Scandinavian blocking regime” (ScBL) into a “zonal regime” (ZO) at the end of the heat wave (Figure 2c compared to Figure 2b). However, particularly such transitions from one regime to another are often not well predicted by current sub-seasonal forecast systems.

The group now investigates in detail how well sub-seasonal forecasting systems represent weather regime life cycles and their underlying physical processes on shorter synoptic time-scales as well as their modulation by slower climate modes, e.g. the Madden-Julian-Oscillation or the state of the stratosphere [2]. Working at the interface of these different spatial and temporal scales will not just improve the understanding of weather regimes but ultimately also contribute to the overarching goal of a seamless prediction of weather and climate.

The group is funded by the Helmholtz Association with a Helmholtz Young Investigator Group Grant for the project “Sub-seasonal Predictability: Understanding the Role of Diabatic Outflow” (SPREADOUT).

Link: Group: Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/english/7425.php

[1] C. M. Grams, R. Beerli, S. Pfenninger, I. Staffell, H. Wernli, Balancing Europe’s wind-power output through spatial deployment informed by weather regimes. Nature Climate Change. 7, 557–562 (2017).

[2] Papritz L., Grams C. M., Linking Low‐Frequency Large‐Scale Circulation Patterns to Cold Air Outbreak Formation in the Northeastern North Atlantic. Geophysical Research Letters. 45, 2542–2553 (2018).

[Working group: Large-scale Dynamics and Predictability]

Fig. 2: Example of novel weather regime forecast products. (a) Ensemble forecast initialised at 12 UTC 15 April 2018. Bars indicate relative number of members projecting in one of 7 weather regimes (colors) or no regime (grey). Bottom rows show the attribution of the ensemble mean, control, and high resolution (up to 240h) forecasts, respectively. (b) Ensemble distribution of projection in one of 7 weather regimes at each forecast step. Light shades indicate maximum and minimum projection, dark shades show the 75th and 25th percentile. Lines show the projection of the control forecast (bold solid), high resolution forecast (bold dashed, only up to 240h), and ensemble mean (thin dashed). (c) Actual verifying projection into 7 weather regimes in the 30day period starting on 7 April 2018.

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Verbessern von Wettervorhersagen auf sub-saisonalen Zeitskalen

IR-Sat+Jet
Abb. 1: Meteorologische Situation während der Hitzewelle in Mitteleuropa im Juli 2015: Infrarot Satellitenbild, blockierendes Hochdruckgebiet (blaue Schattierung), Ablenkung des Strahlstroms (grüne Kontur), „warm conveyor belt“ (blau-rote Trajektorien).

Fortschritte in der numerischen Wettervorhersage ermöglichen immer langfristigere Vorhersagen auf sogenannten sub-saisonalen Zeitskalen von einigen Tagen bis Wochen im Voraus. Auf diesen Zeitskalen bestimmen beständige, quasi-ortsfeste, und wiederkehrende Wetterregime die Variabilität der großräumigen Strömung. Diese Wetterregime bestimmen den Charakter des täglichen Wetters für eine längere Zeitperiode und für Gebiete der Größe Europas.  Daher beeinflussen Wetterregime zahlreiche gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten, wie z.B. die Landwirtschaft, den Verkehr oder die erneuerbaren Energien [1].

Dennoch ist es weiter eine große Herausforderung den Lebenszyklus dieser Wetterregime auf sub-saisonalen Zeitskalen korrekt vorherzusagen. Grund dafür ist das gleichzeitige Wirken meteorologischer Prozesse auf sehr verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen: Auf kürzeren Zeitskalen, werden Wetterregimelebenszyklen von Wettersystemen, wie etwa außertropischen Tiefdruckgebieten oder Gewittersystemen beeinflusst. Auf längeren Zeitskalen sind langsamere Elemente des Klimasystems, wie zum Bespiel die Stratosphäre oder tropische Konvektion (Madden-Julian-Oszillation), Einflussfaktoren für Wetterregime, die teilweise Vorhersagbarkeit für Wetterregime auf sub-saisonalen Zeitskalen geben.

Die neu am IMK-TRO eingerichtete Gruppe „Großräumige Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit“ erforscht die physikalischen und dynamischen Prozesse, die Vorhersagbarkeit und Vorhersagegüte auf sub-saisonalen Zeitskalen bestimmen. Dabei legt sie den Schwerpunkt auf den Lebenszyklus großskaliger Wetterregime im Atlantisch-Europäischen Raum. Darüber hinaus erforscht die Gruppe in Zusammenarbeit mit Wetterdiensten neue probabilistische Vorhersageprodukte für die sub-saisonale Zeitskala.

Im Folgenden wird ein erstes Vorhersageprodukt am Beispiel der frühen Hitzewelle in Mitteleuropa, die vom 19.-22. April ihren Höhepunkt erreichte, gezeigt (Abbildung 2). Die Übersichtsdarstellung zeigt zunächst wie wahrscheinlich ein spezifisches Wetterregime in den nächsten 15 Tagen auftritt (Abbildung 2a). Mehr Details liefert eine Darstellung, die anzeigt wie stark verschiedene Regime in einer probabilistischen Vorhersage ausgeprägt sind (Abbildung 2b). Im Fall der Hitzewelle im April 2018 zeigten diese Vorhersageprodukte korrekterweise den Übergang eines “Skandinavischen Hochs“ (ScBL) in ein „Zonales Regime“, und damit das Ende der Hitzewelle, bereits mehr als eine Woche im Voraus an (vgl. Abbildung 2c und 2b). Oft sind jedoch gerade solche Regimeübergänge mit heutigen Wettervorhersagesystemen überhaupt nicht gut vorhersagbar.

Die Gruppe untersucht nun im Detail wie gut sub-saisonale Wettervorhersagesysteme die Lebenszyklen von Wetterregimen darstellen. Insbesondere werden physikalische Prozesse auf kürzeren Zeitskalen,  sowie deren Veränderung durch langsamere Komponenten des Klimasystems wie der Madden-Julian-Osuillation oder der Stratosphäre [2] untersucht. Diese Grundlagenforschung an der Schnittstelle verschiedener räumlicher und zeitlicher Skalen, wird nicht nur das Verständnis von Wetterregimen verbessern, sondern auch zum übergeordneten Ziel von universellen Vorhersagesystemen für Wetter und Klima beitragen.

Die Helmholtz Gemeinschaft fördert diese Forschungstätigkeit als Helmholtz Nachwuchsgruppe “Sub-seasonal Predictability: Understanding the Role of Diabatic Outflow” (SPREADOUT).

Link: Gruppe „Großräumige Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit“ http://www.imk-tro.kit.edu/7425.php

[1] C. M. Grams, R. Beerli, S. Pfenninger, I. Staffell, H. Wernli, Balancing Europe’s wind-power output through spatial deployment informed by weather regimes. Nature Climate Change. 7, 557–562 (2017).

[2] Papritz L., Grams C. M., Linking Low‐Frequency Large‐Scale Circulation Patterns to Cold Air Outbreak Formation in the Northeastern North Atlantic. Geophysical Research Letters. 45, 2542–2553 (2018).

[Arbeitsgruppe: Großräumige Dynamik und Vorhersagbarkeit]

Abb. 2: Beispiele für neuartige Wetterregime Vorhersageprodukte: (a) Ensemble Vorhersage von 12UTC 15. April 2018. Die Balken zeigen die relative Wahrscheinlichkeit eines von 7 verschiedenen Wetterregimen an. Die unteren Zeilen zeigen jeweils an, welches Regime das Ensemble-Mittel, die Kontroll- und die hochaufgelöste Vorhersage vorhersagen (letztere nur bis 10 Tage im Voraus). (b) Ensemble-Verteilung der jeweiligen Ausprägung eines der 7 Wetterregime. Blasse Farben zeigen die jeweils stärkste und schwächste Ausprägung an, dunklere Farben das 25. und 75. Perzentil. Linien zeigen die Ausprägung in der Kontrollvorhersage (dick durchgezogen), hochaufgelösten Vorhersage (dick strichliert, nur bis 10 Tage), und im Ensemble-Mittels (dünn strichliert) an. (c) Tatsächlich aufgetretene Ausprägung der 7 Wetterregime vom 7. April bis 7. Mai 2018.